If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RAW 25/7/11 Thread - New Champion Crowned? *Spoilers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭bradlente

Omg hahahahaha :pac: yep steller as **** right there.

It wasn't far off imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

“Cult of Personality” renders all complaints about this angle null and void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭ciano316

WWE must of paid a pretty penny to get his ROH music.. Quality ending to RAW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

bradlente wrote: »
    It wasn't far off imo

Apart from the end none of it was anything new or improved.

Cena winning the title after rey winning it on the same night proved that.

There whole little wwe title tournment and having Rey win it was a total waste of time. Nothing good came from this weeks raw apart from the fact we may just have a great feud punk and cena for summerslam.

So maybe one half decent match and about two minutes of entertainment on raw this week not near ''steller''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ElasticMan

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    I think I was more sad to see Punk then happy. :confused:

The return of the almighty king of negativity.

This thread wasn't negative enough without you here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

whats in it for punk in a title vs title match? if he wins and runs away do they just make another belt? DUMB AS ****

unless he has loads of terms and conditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

GTR63 wrote: »
    Punk back already seems to go against what everyone was saying

The pseudo wrestling snobs Painted themselves into a corner on that one alright.

They should have had hi come in through the crowd really. But they'll probably just drop that whole angle now and build another doomed to failure feud around John Cena.

It definitely is a bit rushed,But hes so over now of course they're gna jump on it as soon as they can.If anyone can work out a good way to put Punk back on telly without contradicting the storyline it'll be Punk himself.

Lovely little Angle though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,324 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

partyndbs wrote: »
    whats in it for punk in a title vs title match? if he wins and runs away do they just make another belt? DUMB AS ****

Its a bit harsh to call bull**** on the angle, he has only just returned, lets see what happens in the next few weeks.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,903 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

ElasticMan wrote: »
    The return on the almighty king of negativity.

This thread wasn't negative enough without you here!
    It was a good moment for sure but I was hoping he'd stay off of WWE screens for a little longer and continue f*cking sh*t up elsewhere.

Funny how you pick on me as being the most negative, seeing the forum we're in and the level of negativity in here tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

I was actually really hoping Punk would return with this :(. I honestly think WWE have made a mistake bringing Punk back so soon, when they played Cult of Personality I honestly thought it was just a tease. And the show would end with no Punk, and would leave the majority of the WWE universe totally confused( as most wouldn't have a clue it was one of his ROH themes) and then the internet would explode in collective orgasims.. But because no one in the audience knew the song, it made his return less special in my honest opinion.. The pop shouldve blown the roof off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

It would be great if this was repeated every time Cena defends the title for the next few weeks beyond Summerfest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I was actually really hoping Punk would return with this :( .

Which would make no sense

Cena winning the title after rey winning it on the same night proved that.

There whole little wwe title tournment and having Rey win it was a total waste of time. Nothing good came from this weeks raw apart from the fact we may just have a great feud punk and cena for summerslam.

So maybe one half decent match and about two minutes of entertainment on raw this week not near ''steller''

Fair enough,Thats your opinion.

I thought the 1st match was great,HHH's bit was decent bringing back J R and setting up R-Truth Morrison for a big feud.Miz had a cracking promo and the main event was really enjoyable followed by the "lolwut!?" markdom at the end.

The rest of it was by no means dire and all the stuff I mentioned above furthers the progress of possible storylines for next week.

All in all a great Raw for me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Are WWE playing up to internet fans a bit too much,the fans hadn't a clue who music it was & when Punk came out it was oh its you rather than Holy Sh*t he's back its CM Punk

bradlente wrote: »
    Fair enough,Thats your opinion.

I thought the 1st match was great,HHH's bit was decent bringing back J R and setting up R-Truth Morrison for a big feud.Miz had a cracking promo and the main event was really enjoyable followed by the "lolwut!?" markdom at the end.

The rest of it was by no means dire and all the stuff I mentioned above furthers the progress of possible storylines for next week.

All in all a great Raw for me:)

Glad you enjoyed it so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

rovert wrote: »
    Which would make no sense

Whys that exactly?

There was no need at all to bring Punk back for that. A pointless attempt to get people to tune in next week and no real content added, no promo, no match, just one minute of Punk. It should have been substantial when Punk returned, now they've just ruined it.

Liam O wrote: »
    There was no need at all to bring Punk back for that. A pointless attempt to get people to tune in next week and no real content added, no promo, no match, just one minute of Punk. It should have been substantial when Punk returned, now they've just ruined it.

I agree they had time to at least have him follow up and say something.
    An entertaining and solid promo and how Cena winning the title back showing the wwe is same old same old would of been a perfect way to finish.

Liam O wrote: »
    This. Substantial is the word I was looking for. Something that made you jump out of your seat at the sight of Punk back on screen. A time that felt right to see Punk back in the WWE ring. This just wasn't it.

They rushed it but they would of at least gotten away with it had they followed it up with Punk giving a very strong promo. With all the time they wasted on other **** tonight let alone the amount of ads they would of had plenty of time for Punk to interupt Cena come out and well tell it like it is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Dr. Ring

I disagree. Bar last week, I cant remember the last time RAW had so much in-ring action. Plus, JR is back, and ZACK RYDER is on TV. WWE are listening to us. Slowly but surely we're turning the tide :D

Even if they had closed Raw with Cena lifting the title and just left it for opening promo next week for Punk to interrupt him it would have been so much better and after a week where a lot of people (I wasn't really fussed) would have been giving out about a rubbish Raw and the return of Super Cena etc. it would have had a much greater impact. The crowd were rubbish tonight anyway, wouldn't have been much of a loss to them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Dr. Ring

I agree they had time to at least have him follow up and say something.
    An entertaining and solid promo and how Cena winning the title back showing the wwe is same old same old would of been a perfect way to finish.

But there-in lies the hook: There's always next week ;)

Dr. Ring wrote: »
    I disagree. Bar last week, I cant remember the last time RAW had so much in-ring action. Plus, JR is back, and ZACK RYDER is on TV. WWE are listening to us. Slowly but surely we're turning the tide :D

Two maybe three matchs that where given any kind of proper time.
    The rest was filler.

They rushed it but they would of at least gotten away with it had they followed it up with Punk giving a very strong promo. With all the time they wasted on other **** tonight let alone the amount of ads they would of had plenty of time for Punk to interupt Cena come out and well tell it like it is...
    Have him off in the distance, somewhere up with the crowd, sat down with his legs crossed with a megaphone chanting something. He wouldn't even have needed to shoot a promo for it to work with a better effect then having him walk straight down the ramp as if he didn't 'leave the company' with the WWE title.

Dr. Ring wrote: »
    But there-in lies the hook: There's always next week ;)

True but why rush him back after all thats happend then?? Why not just wait for next week or week after to bring him back and instead leave us tonight with a teaser of a possible return.

Have him off in the distance, somewhere up with the crowd, sat down with his legs crossed with a megaphone chanting something. He wouldn't even have needed to shoot a promo for it to work with a better effect then having him walk straight down the ramp as if he didn't 'leave the company' with the WWE title.

Ya to me it didnt give off the vibe he ever ''left''.

They where not aloud mention his name tonight yet he manages to just stroll down the ramp at the end of the show like he was never gone :pac:

Threw the crowd would of had much better affect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Really enjoyed that RAW. Some lovely matches. A very entertaining divas match. People are entitled to bitch about Punk being brought back so soon but I feel its overly negative. They had the perfect build to the MITB match so they'll hardly **** this up after a week. I'm sure everybody is intrigued for next week so they've done their job. The ROH music was a nice touch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

ye ye 'great' raw wheatver :rolleyes:

what i want to know is why r they crowning a new champion when they have resigned punk? who writes this ****? punk is champion, cena is number 1 contender mayb, but cena and punk both as wwe champion :confused: