Croagh Patrick............any boardsies climbed it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Absurdum wrote: »
    I'll tell you what's pointless; swimming. Only useful thing that does is prevent drowning.

I would have thought swimming was more to do with staying afloat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Admittedly Croagh Patrick is higher with more spectaular views, but for those seeking something similar but less challenging, I'd recommend Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park, near Letterfrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Went up Croagh Patrick when I was much younger. Would love to do it again but I have developed a shockin' fear of heights over the past few years, it's a bastard.
    Admittedly Croagh Patrick is higher with more spectaular views, but for those seeking something similar but less challenging, I'd recommend Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park, near Letterfrack.

Went up a bit of that and it was too much for me. Although the wind was exceptionally strong that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

You don't climb Croagh Patrick because there's no actual climbing involved. You just simply walk up it and slip and slide back down again.

Fixed that for you.

But yeah, done it twice and am definitely planning a third time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Climbed it twice.

First time was painful, i wasn't expecting it to be as hard as it was.

Second time i was fitter and got up and down no prob, still knowing what how much there was to go etc made it hard. I was like, halfway there, 3/4 of the way the, 7/8 there.....

Doing it again in August.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Yep, last year. Walked up it and ran down, it's not really a climb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Kojak wrote: »
    How did they get planning permission for that house up at the top?

On a sunny day, if the sun was reflecting off the church, we used to tell anyone that asked that it was a car turning up there. Americans used to fall for it at least.

I used to live only a few km from it and have climbed it loads, I haven't been up it yet this year. There are 3 races on it each year now, with IMRA, Gaelforce and Sea2Summit, so there are more people on it than ever.

Next week is Reek Sunday, so it will be mayhem here. Normally a sh1te day and people going up totally unprepared.

Two or Three years ago, Mountain Rescue had to take 3 kids off it who were found at the base of the cone pissed wet due to the lashing rain, only wearing t-shirts and shorts, their parents had left them there and continued on themselves. Crazy stories like that each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Last 1/3 is hardest as the surface is loose scree. I often wonder how they get the loo paper to the toilets at the top and where exactly the sewer pipes go to..how sad am I?

When I went up ,there was three lads at the top with a donkey.They were doing some building repair work,on the outbuildings.One of the workers was selling drinks and snacks.So loo paper probably goes up the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

It's closed on Tuesdays & every Sunday whenever there is an 'r' in the month.

What I meant to say was,can you just hit off and climb it any time you want or do you need permission first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

hiscan wrote: »
    What I meant to say was,can you just hit off and climb it any time you want or do you need permission first?

whenever you want really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Beautiful views from the top, but an awful hill to climb. Holy joes throwing their rubbish everywhere (jesus, they carried a full bottle of water to the top, why can't they carry an empty one down), people coming down the hill expecting everyone struggling up to get out of their way and pig ignorant fat yokes walking three abreast blocking everyone else behind them. I hate it, there's hundreds of other mountains in Ireland to explore which are challenging and enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Yes :D I'd do it again as well :) Lovely view from the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

hiscan wrote: »
    22 years since I done my one and only climb up there and now this thread has put the idea back in my head :D
    Can you climb this any day of the week or what's the craic with it?

Yeah you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭markievicz

I've done it every year since I was 16 (I'm nearly 23 now). It's nice just to go somewhere outside my own county for the day and I get to do some excercise at the same time!

First time I climbed it was torture! It was a group thing my year in school done just before the Leaving Cert started. Totally unprepared thinking it would be a doddle, was smoking going up it to begin with, got to the toilets halfway up (which from the bottom of the hill looked like the top!) nearly died I was so out of breath got sick and everything! Got to the top in the end and the views are just amazing. The run back down (which cannot be avoided, you will find yourself automatically running down) is cool too. Lesson learned; never try to be cool smoking a fag while climbing Croagh Patrick......it will never end well!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

hmmm wrote: »
    Beautiful views from the top, but an awful hill to climb. Holy joes throwing their rubbish everywhere (jesus, they carried a full bottle of water to the top, why can't they carry an empty one down), people coming down the hill

technically a hill has to be below 1000 feet

i climbed it last year on reek sunday, we said we would if roscommon won the connacht title the week previous (which they did :D) we didn't start climbing till about 6pm and the weather was awful, it was foggy, windy and raining, you couldn't see more than 10 feet in front of you so the climb up was extremely difficult, as i am quite a bad asthmatic the weather was playing f**k with my lungs on the way up, the good thing was at that time most of the pilgrims had gone home so only a few straglers climbing at that time, coming down was easy outside the loose rocks near the top, with it being wet and muddy it makes that part quite dodgy, i can easily see how people break legs and other limbs up there, i was talking to one man near the top and he said it was the worst weather he had seen in 40 years climbing.....lucky us

would like to do it again on a sunny day where you could appreciate the view on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

No. But I plan to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭RHJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭clikityclak

Climbed at the start of June, am relatively fit but it's tough enough! I found the middle part the worst then you can kind of re energise on the flat before the last pull up.
    It had been pissing rain on the drive over, but totally cleared up once we started and the view was unbelievable-definitely worth the effort!
    The sheep at the top are mad for food, stealing jaffa cakes of kids and the likes.
    Great sense of comradery going up and coming down, it's nice the way everyone says 'you're nearly there...' when passing by.

Def a fun date :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I've climbed it a few times, the view from the top is amazing on a fine day :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I did it with two friends in the "quiet" season and it was great fun. The biggest shock for me was when I got to the top I pulled out my phone to ring my sister in London to tell her only to find that my battery had died. I didn't know that altitude can kill your battery.

Well worth the experience. It was tougher coming down then going up. For 3/4 's of the way it's a steady climb up a boggy hill but the last part is climbing over rocks. When we were coming down it was very foggy and giving how steep it is, I wasn't surprised to see a few gob****es falling head over heels.

One thing I didn't like was people bringing little kids. That climb is no place for them. We passed a few would had kids as young as four and it was just wrong. For an adult the climb is long enough but it's your choice to be there and if it's too much you can turn around and go back. I saw some little kids in tears who hadn't reached the summit yet and their parents didn't give a doo doo. They yelled at them to keep going and I'm sure on some level they thought they were building nice memories for their kids for when they were older. I'm sorry but if you want to climg Croagh Patrick and you have little kids, please pay for a babysitter to watch them and don't drag them up a mountain where they will become tired, crabby and be a danger to themselves and others. It's a dangerous situation and why on earth you would bring young children is beyond me but apparently some parents think it's perfectly acceptable to do this.

Having said this, it was a great day and I would encourage people to do it on days that aren't so tourist heavy. I saw a couple of people fall and nearly fell myself and can see how accidents could happen easily.

PS if at the beginning of your climb you are offered a stick to rent or buy, take one, it makes the journey a LOT easier! :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Disleksic

RHJ wrote: »

Wear a condom. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    PS if at the beginning of your climb you are offered a stick to rent or buy, take one, it makes the journey a LOT easier! :p:D
    Base of climb?

These walking poles are wayyyyy better.

Disleksic wrote: »
    Wear a condom. :D
    The Lubbed route is easiest..:P

Base of climb?

These walking poles are wayyyyy better.
    It's Croagh Patrick, not Mount Everest. A good sturdy stick is all you need!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

You don't even need that - given the fact its not Mount Everest, all you need to use ia a toothpick

Kojak wrote: »
    You don't even need that - given the fact its not Mount Everest, all you need to use ia a toothpick
    Each to their own. I found the stick helpful, especially coming down.

Have you ever used the Poles? There's no comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Latvians are much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

LOL LOL LOL
    Major challenge.
    Climb.
    Rigours of altitude.
    Misery
    Torture.

Get a grip.
    Its a fairly easy walk up a hill, with stunning views of clew bay and nice scenery.
    There is nowhere in Ireland where the effects of altitude are actually serious.
    I've done it a handful of times because I love hillwalking and nature.

Those poles are nearly 30 euro :eek: My stick was only a couple. You were robbed! :p