Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Should Limerick Offer Replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭shawnee

rpurfield wrote: »
    see this is the problem the whole leinster final thing has caused last year.i didnt see the kildare fans crying for a replay despite a dodgy free against dublin.if we were to replay every game with dodgy decisions in the championship would never be over.chalk it down to experience and move on.

While I do feel sorry for Wexford and it seems unfair to lose a game buy a questionable point. The ref was ideally placed to see if the ball was over or wide. In my opinion the umpire is not in the ideal location to judge. The Sunday game showed the refs position and he made his decision and I believe it was the correct one.
    The quality of the umpires in gaa games is questionable and always has been but the ref has the final decision.
    Limerick footballers have been at the receiving end of several dodgy decisions and have had to take it on the chin.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Ironic that it's the same referees who've been caught up in this year's controversy:

Cormac Reilly x 3 (Dick Clerkin sending off, Dublin free v Kildare and is it/isn't it Waterford penalty v Limerick)
    Syl "Squareball" Doyle (Meath v Kildare, Derry v Kildare - hmm a pattern emerges)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Not to hijack a thread, but for the purposes of clarification - Are Marty and Michael Duffy related - know they're both out of the same club in Enniscrone ?

I think there's a panel of 18 refs for the SFC .... I'd defo have Marty in the top 18 at number 18 .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Not to hijack a thread, but for the purposes of clarification - Are Marty and Michael Duffy related - know they're both out of the same club in Enniscrone ?

I think there's a panel of 18 refs for the SFC .... I'd defo have Marty in the top 18 at number 18 .....
    I think they're brothers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

I wouldnt be worrying about that examiner report browny. there isnt a source of any credibilty that any 'chiefs' are looking to do anything about it. to be honest, it suits our chairman that we are out. the thing about twitter, is that the lads are treating it like text messages to each other, but the whole country is reading them.

Looking at the replay, I'm not sure if our goal was dodgy or not. at the game, I thought it was, but it looks like on the replay a handpass was blocked, but a view from behind the goal would be better to see it. Fahy was useless, bad on both sides, and whilst Limerick may have got the rub of the green that night, they deserved it for being in contention at that stage. a man down, and in injury time, they got the goal they needed and drove on. It was never a free, and the point itself is debatable, but at the end of it all, ye will be playing in the 1/4 final in Croke Park and rightly so. there was 70 other minutes played in that game, one score shouldnt be the factor in our loss.

I dont think I have heard any other Wexford poster on here, or speaking to anyone at all, saying we should get a replay or any such nonsense. most people I have spoken to are saying how bad the team were and arent really furious over the last minute at all, moreso the lack of hunger and desire in the team when it was really needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ellduderino

If Meath didn't offer a replay ti Louth last year, I doubt Limerick are going to give one to Wexford this year, unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

dcr22B wrote: »
    I think they're brothers.
    Cheers thanks

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Browney7 wrote: »
    http://examiner.ie/sport/gaa/football/model-chiefs-consider-next-move-162079.html

Haven't they a lot to be doing:rolleyes: Will they have a look at the Wexford goal while they are at it I'd know? I agree the ref left a lot to be desired but the refs word was good enough for the sending off when the footage wasn't conclusive yet is word his worth fu*k all when it comes to a score where the footage is inconclusive.

Limerick have been on the receiving end of controversy in the past in the last few years. Munster final in 09 Cork were given a penalty for God knows what when they were out of the game in the first half. Played Meath and we had a point ruled out for Lucey taking five steps in the last minute whilst being pulled and dragged. Then we played Kerry in Killarney last year and Tom Se was acting like a spolit child on the field and should have been sent off but only received retrospective punishment after the game. He walloped Steven Kelly with about 45 minutes to go in the game. Then against Cork Seanie Buckley was through on goal and got a push in the back causing him to hit the bar. The calls for a replay were deafening from Limerick so they were:rolleyes:

I don't wish to tar all Wexford fans as being sore because in fairness to the vast majority of Wexford fans on here they have been gracious and wished us well. Masterson would do well to shut the fu*k up. Wexford wouldn't have been in the qualifiers if it wasn't for him and he gave Limerick 2 points on a plate from dodgy kickouts and waved Ian Ryans first debatable point wide in the face of the umpire.

http://examiner.ie/sport/gaa/football/lavin-lets-rip-at-critics-162056.html

This article shows the belief the boys have in themselves and what they are trying to do. I hope we keep getting disrespected because its giving valuable fuel to the fire

Well that's a pure load of bollox! So Wexford should be punished because Limerick haven't had any luck in the past few years?

Your comments on Masterson are uncalled for, and anything he said wasn't against Limerick, but against the atrocious reffing, and dead correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

wixfjord wrote: »
    Well that's a pure load of bollox! So Wexford should be punished because Limerick haven't had any luck in the past few years?

Your comments on Masterson are uncalled for, and anything he said wasn't against Limerick, but against the atrocious reffing, and dead correct.

Point being that mistakes are made all the time and we didn't go looking for replays. We took our bad luck and moved on.

No one can say for definite if it was a point or not. Just because there is a bit of doubt about a score, one Umpires point of view should hold credence over the ref and the other umpire? Wexford should have had the game killed off and they didn't. I don't think it was a free either but the ref thought he saw a push in the back. At the time I thought it was a free too but had the hindsight of replays. The ref got a lot of close calls right in my book. I didn't see the sending off incident but he had the balls to send off Tom Lee. The free just before half time being one of them It was clearly outside the box. He should have booked Johnny Mc but he didn't. I don't know why he didn't.

My point on Masterson is who is he to call out umpires and refs when he was trying to influence umpires himself when Ian ryan shot for goal and went over the bar? I did feel he was disrespectful to Limerick when he was going on about we are training all year and making sacrifices. Did Limerick just stumble out of a bar in Portlaoise or something. If Masterson put as much effort into his last two performances as he did into the complaining after the game then maybe wexford would have come out on top and he wouldn't have made those mistakes.

Point being that mistakes are made all the time and we didn't go looking for replays. We took our bad luck and moved on.

No one can say for definite if it was a point or not. Just because there is a bit of doubt about a score, one Umpires point of view should hold credence over the ref and the other umpire? Wexford should have had the game killed off and they didn't. I don't think it was a free either but the ref thought he saw a push in the back. At the time I thought it was a free too but had the hindsight of replays. The ref got a lot of close calls right in my book. I didn't see the sending off incident but he had the balls to send off Tom Lee. The free just before half time being one of them It was clearly outside the box. He should have booked Johnny Mc but he didn't. I don't know why he didn't.

My point on Masterson is who is he to call out umpires and refs when he was trying to influence umpires himself when Ian ryan shot for goal and went over the bar? I did feel he was disrespectful to Limerick when he was going on about we are training all year and making sacrifices. Did Limerick just stumble out of a bar in Portlaoise or something. If Masterson put as much effort into his last two performances as he did into the complaining after the game then maybe wexford would have come out on top and he wouldn't have made those mistakes.

one person on here has broached the subject of a replay. everyone else has said it is nonsense.

Masterson wasnt saying anything about Limerick, he was calling out the refs and umpires. his points, and the points others are making about the referee have nothing to do with Limerick. he made awful decisions, it wasnt your fault he made them. no one has once critcised Limerick or said anything bad about them. most people I saw at the game either wished them well or have said so since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

bruschi wrote: »
    one person on here has broached the subject of a replay. everyone else has said it is nonsense.

Masterson wasnt saying anything about Limerick, he was calling out the refs and umpires. his points, and the points others are making about the referee have nothing to do with Limerick. he made awful decisions, it wasnt your fault he made them. no one has once critcised Limerick or said anything bad about them. most people I saw at the game either wished them well or have said so since.

I agree with this. I dont see how this is an attack on Limerick at all browney, you are definitely way off the mark. Say what you want about about Masterson doing this an that but he was dead right about the officials, they were a complete joke. Masterson never mentioned anything about a replay either.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Mate you're talking pure ****e! What Masterson said had nothing to do with Limerick, as I've already said, and which you would see if you'd seen the interview. No Wexford fan or player wants a replay, and nobody has taken away from Limerick, I'm personally delighted for them, but that was an awful, awful reffing performance, and we have a right to be aggreived.

As for your personal abuse of Masterson, well, I think that sums you up tbh.

Fact is, the ref got two crucial calls wrong (the free and the amount of injury time), and gave a crucial point, seemingly on the basis of which umpire could shout louder. Both of these added up to putting Wexford out of the championship, and the players are dead right to be annoyed.

One things for sure, he certainly won't be reffing Wexford again after the backlash from the players on Twitter.

wixfjord wrote: »
    Mate you're talking pure ****e! What Masterson said had nothing to do with Limerick, as I've already said, and which you would see if you'd seen the interview. No Wexford fan or player wants a replay, and nobody has taken away from Limerick, I'm personally delighted for them, but that was an awful, awful reffing performance, and we have a right to be aggreived.

As for your personal abuse of Masterson, well, I think that sums you up tbh.

Fact is, the ref got two crucial calls wrong (the free and the amount of injury time), and gave a crucial point, seemingly on the basis of which umpire could shout louder. Both of these added up to putting Wexford out of the championship, and the players are dead right to be annoyed.

One things for sure, he certainly won't be reffing Wexford again after the backlash from the players on Twitter.

Don't know what you mean by "that sums you up". Do you think I'm reveling in this? I'm frustrated by this farse aswell. No one is talking about the game. 37 scores with 27 of them from play. People are just talking about the refereeing and that's frustrating.

My point on Masterson is who is he to question umpires and influence decisions when he himself tried to influence an umpire to wave a ball wide. Ian Ryan's shot for goal was a point and the ref saw it go over. The Umpire tried to duck out of the way and hadnt made up his mind. Masterson then proceeded to get in his face to try and influence him to wave it wide and he duely did. The ref then told the umpire to put up the flag and rightly so. The footage from the Sunday game shows 2 Limerick players running in and insinuates they changed the umpire's mind. The referee had already told him to put up the white flag.

So did Masterson genuinely think it was wide and was trying to give the umpire a hand or was he trying to influence the umpire in a debatable 50/50 decision to try and cheat Limerick out of a legitimate point? He then can't accept an honest decision from the referee and his other umpire. The ref felt it was a point. The umpire with the white flag thought it was a point. The umpire under the ball thought it was wide. That's 2 out of 3 officials that have a say in the awarding of the point. Some people on the far side thought it was a point and some thought it was a wide.

I feel I've a legitimate gripe with Masterson's behavior on Saturday night. You feel it's not legitimate. I ain't going to back down and neither are you so I'm leaving it there.

I've no idea if it was a point or not because I was in the stand. I saw one umpire waving it wide and one waving it a point straight away. The ref has the final say on scores. So what would have happened if the other umpire said what he thought. We'll never know. Who would have come out on top in extra time. I don't have a crystal ball. 66.66% of the officials involved thought it was a point. That's good enough for me to be honest.

I accept your comments that no one wants a replay. Fair enough.

As for the comments on Twitter. I'm sure Croke park will be delighted with their give respect, get respect campaign. I felt the ref favoured Limerick slightly more in the game but he made a few decisions that went against Limerick aswell. The Wexford goal being one of them. Maybe you felt he was in the right there. I felt he was wrong. I'm going to leave it there now anyway.

Fair enough guys. I accept he wasn't bitter toward Limerick with his comments but on first reading I felt they were disingenuous but he was questioning the ref.
    I agree with this. I dont see how this is an attack on Limerick at all browney, you are definitely way off the mark. Say what you want about about Masterson doing this an that but he was dead right about the officials, they were a complete joke. Masterson never mentioned anything about a replay either.

You're right he never mentioned a replay. Fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

Don't know what you mean by "that sums you up". Do you think I'm reveling in this? I'm frustrated by this farse aswell. No one is talking about the game. 37 scores with 27 of them from play. People are just talking about the refereeing and that's frustrating.

My point on Masterson is who is he to question umpires and influence decisions when he himself tried to influence an umpire to wave a ball wide. Ian Ryan's shot for goal was a point and the ref saw it go over. The Umpire tried to duck out of the way and hadnt made up his mind. Masterson then proceeded to get in his face to try and influence him to wave it wide and he duely did. The ref then told the umpire to put up the flag and rightly so. The footage from the Sunday game shows 2 Limerick players running in and insinuates they changed the umpire's mind. The referee had already told him to put up the white flag.

So did Masterson genuinely think it was wide and was trying to give the umpire a hand or was he trying to influence the umpire in a debatable 50/50 decision to try and cheat Limerick out of a legitimate point? He then can't accept an honest decision from the referee and his other umpire. The ref felt it was a point. The umpire with the white flag thought it was a point. The umpire under the ball thought it was wide. That's 2 out of 3 officials that have a say in the awarding of the point. Some people on the far side thought it was a point and some thought it was a wide.

I feel I've a legitimate gripe with Masterson's behavior on Saturday night. You feel it's not legitimate. I ain't going to back down and neither are you so I'm leaving it there.

I've no idea if it was a point or not because I was in the stand. I saw one umpire waving it wide and one waving it a point straight away. The ref has the final say on scores. So what would have happened if the other umpire said what he thought. We'll never know. Who would have come out on top in extra time. I don't have a crystal ball. 66.66% of the officials involved thought it was a point. That's good enough for me to be honest.

As for the comments on Twitter. I'm sure Croke park will be delighted with their give respect, get respect campaign. I felt the ref favoured Limerick slightly more in the game but he made a few decisions that went against Limerick aswell. The Wexford goal being one of them. Maybe you felt he was in the right there. I felt he was wrong. I'm going to leave it there now anyway.

Its intersting that Adrian Flynn said on his twitter page that referee actually waved it wide rather than what the sunday game analysts said. I watched the highlights again and adrian flynn is actually standing beside the ref but the ref then goes out of shot. Hard to know what went on between these officials.

2 quick points, because as you say, the whole aftermath of this game has been about officials and not what was a very enjoyable and sporting contest.

If you have an issue with Masterson waving a ball wide trying to convince the umpires, then surely you have as much of a grievance against the Limerick players who ran in on 2 occasions getting in the umpires face trying to convince him it was over.

and secondly, 66% is not good enough. regardless of the game and the outcome, the umpires and ref should be 100% on scores, especially on ones that are important and decide an outcome of a game. the main job of an umpire is to award scores, and if they cant get it right, then there is a serious problem, but we already know this and this game further highlights the inadequecies that are currently in our games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

wingnut wrote: »
    Also what was with the extra time. 4 minutes announced, Masterson getting treatment for most of it and 2 minutes played. Joke.

With all the talk about whether it was a point or not (I didn't see it so can't comment) the injury time situation seems to be overlooked.

Did it genuinely happen that 'a minimum 4 minutes' was announced and yet the referee blew up on 72 minutes.

Would have thought if its true that this would be the major reason to push for a replay as the ref has made a clear timing error, precedent with the famous Offaly hurling situation.

With all the talk about whether it was a point or not (I didn't see it so can't comment) the injury time situation seems to be overlooked.

Did it genuinely happen that 'a minimum 4 minutes' was announced and yet the referee blew up on 72 minutes.

Would have thought if its true that this would be the major reason to push for a replay as the ref has made a clear timing error, precedent with the famous Offaly hurling situation.

no, there was nearly 5 minutes extra on the clock, but the ball was only in play for about 2 of it, if that, what with Masterson down injured, the argument over the point and then no football to play with. bad time keeping from the ref, but nothing to be demanding replays over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Squareball2010

no, there was nearly 5 minutes extra on the clock, but the ball was only in play for about 2 of it, if that, what with Masterson down injured, the argument over the point and then no football to play with. bad time keeping from the ref, but nothing to be demanding replays over.

As a neutral which is probably unusual in this thread I'd just like to say congrats to both teams on what was a terrific game of football as was said on the Sunday Game. It had everything really including a bit of good healthy controversy which it is a shame will now be what this game is remembered for.

To be fair Wexford have only themselves to blame being up 3 pts heading into injury time and still managing to lose the game! As for the 2 points that raised the bits of controversy (to put them mildly) I would say it is the UMPIRES who have let down the referee Mr Fahy very badly in this game and if I was him I'd be very disappointed with their performance and lack of team work for both incidents.

The first point...the umpire didnt know whether it was or wasnt over as he seemed to duck outta the way of the ball...UNDERSTANDABLE...so at first he does nothing and looks to the ref for support/assistance. All of a sudden he crumbles under the pressure and very very unsure he waves wide TWICE under the influence of Masterson! Next thing 2 limerick players run in....he waves the flag! Comical....and very suspect umpiring! He hadnt a clue yet waved it wide twice! Point given CORRECT DECISION

The second point...firstly the free looks soft but so be it a frees a free. Now looking at our umpires again...positioning no.1 would be suspect...standing beside the posts! One should be behind the goal at least and tracking the balls progress! Ball appears to go over the post and looks to be inside (cant be sure) but the ref is in a superb position and if he says a point then I'm happy with that! Again its his umpires that f** the hole thing up...one waves wide the other the flag! Did they look at each other? NO. Communicate? Ha NO. There is nothing worse than two umpires disagreeing in big games...it looks bad and puts the ref in an awful situation. Umpires are in a team of 2....and its about time they started working as a team!! Each has their own side to call and they are there to help one another out not make each other out to be pure donkeys and the referee along with them!

As a neutral which is probably unusual in this thread I'd just like to say congrats to both teams on what was a terrific game of football as was said on the Sunday Game. It had everything really including a bit of good healthy controversy which it is a shame will now be what this game is remembered for.

To be fair Wexford have only themselves to blame being up 3 pts heading into injury time and still managing to lose the game! As for the 2 points that raised the bits of controversy (to put them mildly) I would say it is the UMPIRES who have let down the referee Mr Fahy very badly in this game and if I was him I'd be very disappointed with their performance and lack of team work for both incidents.

The first point...the umpire didnt know whether it was or wasnt over as he seemed to duck outta the way of the ball...UNDERSTANDABLE...so at first he does nothing and looks to the ref for support/assistance. All of a sudden he crumbles under the pressure and very very unsure he waves wide TWICE under the influence of Masterson! Next thing 2 limerick players run in....he waves the flag! Comical....and very suspect umpiring! He hadnt a clue yet waved it wide twice! Point given CORRECT DECISION

The second point...firstly the free looks soft but so be it a frees a free. Now looking at our umpires again...positioning no.1 would be suspect...standing beside the posts! One should be behind the goal at least and tracking the balls progress! Ball appears to go over the post and looks to be inside (cant be sure) but the ref is in a superb position and if he says a point then I'm happy with that! Again its his umpires that f** the hole thing up...one waves wide the other the flag! Did they look at each other? NO. Communicate? Ha NO. There is nothing worse than two umpires disagreeing in big games...it looks bad and puts the ref in an awful situation. Umpires are in a team of 2....and its about time they started working as a team!! Each has their own side to call and they are there to help one another out not make each other out to be pure donkeys and the referee along with them!

would agree with that squareball. the first dubious point shouldnt have even been dubious. ridiculous action from the umpire. but it was a point in the first half which apparently was well wide that riled up people on the stand side.

but the main thing, is the bit in bold above. Wexford have only themselves to blame, and the majority of people accept that. its a shame that Limericks win is tainted with controversy, because they put in a spirited performance, and it is that which should be the main talking point, not bad refereeing and dubious points awarded/not awarded by poor umpiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

and secondly, 66% is not good enough. regardless of the game and the outcome, the umpires and ref should be 100% on scores, especially on ones that are important and decide an outcome of a game. the main job of an umpire is to award scores, and if they cant get it right, then there is a serious problem, but we already know this and this game further highlights the inadequecies that are currently in our games.

Thats it. The old rule that exists in every sport, if youre not 100% sure, dont give it. The good old RTE camera work leaves it up in the air as it isnt clear cut whether it was over or wide but unless both umpires signal a point, or else the ref is absolutely certain it was a point, he shouldnt give it. There is alot of turn on the ball so having watched it a few times I still find it impossible to say one way or the other. As for a replay being offerred, in a perfect ultra-sportsmanship world maybe but it obviously wont happen. The incident in the Leinster Final last year was a fairly clear cut "if the goal wasnt given, the result would have been reversed" scenario where as this isnt as the scores were level. So if Louth werent getting a replay there isnt a hope in hell here. And for Limerick, whats more important, a pat on the back for being good sports by offering a replay or progression in the championship?