Croagh Patrick............any boardsies climbed it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Here's a link to our annual race up it

http://www.imra.ie/events/view/id/837/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

mel.b wrote: »
    I'm completely unfit and overweight...
    Ahhhhh... Did you let yourself go after the Spice Girls split up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Only once. Took it out of me, so I don't think I'll be doing it again, even though it's practically in my back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

probably done it about 30 times over the last 7 years, i find its great at different times of the year, Its a good day out.

Friend of mine has aimed to do it once a month for the last number of years. all that has prevented him doing so is the odd crazy day in winter

its a special place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,749 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I climbed it once. I reached the top in 45 minutes. If I tried it now it would take me at least double that. On the day I climbed it was 24c, and i passed this guy on my way down who was climbing it in a suit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Climbed it with my dad a couple of years ago. It really attracts a lot of different kinds of people like the OP outlined. Was not that difficult to climb, only gets slightly difficult near the top but not too challenging. It was an enjoyable experience and was very scenic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

I only ever did it once. It can be a surreal experience allright. Seeing whole families climbing up it and then passing all the injured ones warped in foil blankets waiting for the mountain rescue folks.

Yep, bare foot. Was promised a great view at the top but clouds settled in and saw nothing.

If I do it again it'll be while wearing footwear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

theteal wrote: »
    what does a cult have to do with it??

have done it a fair few times from the front and the back. the front (tourist trail) takes about an hour longer. the back is more of a hike as there's no path. the cousin said mass on it one of the times - I didn't spontaneously combust!

ill get the lads to give it a bash when on our next surf trip west

Thats the old pagan route. Those guys werent in to misery and suffering quite so much as these new Johnny Come Lately's:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Last 1/3 is hardest as the surface is loose scree. I often wonder how they get the loo paper to the toilets at the top and where exactly the sewer pipes go to..how sad am I?

I grew up in that part ofd the country and used to climb it several times per year. Never for religious reasons but for the view, the crack (Camped on it and got teenaged drinking pissed) and for the exercise. I've done the known touristy route, the pagan route and a few routes with an ordinance survey map. The easiest was in snow as there was great grip and a soft landing!
    Twenty years later myself and some friends of a similar vintage arrived back there with me giving it lots of bravado and it nearly bloody killed me!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Climbed it as a child. Wouldn't be my favourite Irish mountain, far too crowded but it's nice enough in its own way I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I climb it so I can avail of the "excellent" toilet facilities located half way up and at the top.

jaysus, they cant be beat...

Climbed it as a child. Wouldn't be my favourite Irish mountain, far too crowded but it's nice enough in its own way I suppose.

Its only crowded on 'Lets be miserable, butcher our feet and p1ss off the mountain rescue team for Jebus" day.:D
    Avoid that day and the Sunday before or after it and its usually fairly quiet. Or try the inland track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Kojak wrote: »
    I climb it so I can avail of the "excellent" toilet facilities located half way up and at the top.

jaysus, they cant be beat...

I was bursting for a ****e there last year on my way up... When I got into the toilets.. I didn't need a ****e anymore after looking around the door. Held it in until I got home they were so wretched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I wouldn't go near Croach Partick because of its connection with the Roman Catholic Church and pagan rituals. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

How did they get planning permission for that house up at the top?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Kojak wrote: »
    How did they get planning permission for that house up at the top?

I believe its a church. I climbed it years ago with an ex. Nothing special about ti really. Nice views from the top, but there are too many people going up and down it the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Climbed it twice, once as an embarrassed teenager with my father and the second in my twenties while on a drunken weekend away . Both climbs 'just cause it's there'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭robman60

I live within a few miles of the mountain and have ascended it three times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Did it about a month after I turned 16 for my Bronze Gaisce. Nearly killed me! Nothing worse than thinking 'I'm nearly there' then realising there's another peak to the mountain! I also nearly fell down it up near the top! Lost control of my feet and slipped! Could have been a gonner :P At least I can always say I did it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

22 years since I done my one and only climb up there and now this thread has put the idea back in my head :D
    Can you climb this any day of the week or what's the craic with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

hiscan wrote: »
    22 years since I done my one and only climb up there and now this thread has put the idea back in my head :D
    Can you climb this any day of the week or what's the craic with it?

It's closed on Tuesdays & every Sunday whenever there is an 'r' in the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

A few of us carried mountain bikes up on our backs and cycled down it in the 90's, it was exciting.

Climbed in February another time with snow on the cone, it leveled out the scree but there was the added problem of cold feet. There wasn't much call for snow boots in Ireland back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

It's closed on Tuesdays & every Sunday whenever there is an 'r' in the month.

I forgot where we were,I was so long reading the thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

a sunny day makes the climb worth while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Never did the climb, but all the relations did. Those from Clare anyway.
    What's the benefit?
    Is it like Lough Derg?
    Or as someone said like a Camino?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Shelga

Have climbed it twice. Last time was when I was 16 with my parents. We stayed up too long and it was getting dark as we descended- my mother broke her ankle and we had to call mountain rescue. :o

A-maz-ing views from the top on a clear sunny day though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

a sunny day makes the climb worth while.
    Nice picture, that's halfway up for anyone that hasn't done it.