Are you close to your pets?.

• 24-07-2011 06:45PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

I find this odd,or maybe im odd in this aspect,i don't understand why people would have a remembrance page or remember a date on when their cat or dog died,i would remember a human more than cat or a dog that got run over by a car years ago.

what about you?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

My dog is a bit of a loner,keeps to himself mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

i don't have a pet :( but if I did and they died I wouldn't make a remembrance page no.. I'd just go and buy another one or get one at the dog pound or wherever you get pets for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messi2

My cat is cooler than a fair amount of people I know.
    I would be far more sad if he died before some people I know.
    Strange but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Somebody made my dog a facebook page. I dont know who yet, but I havent seen her near a keyboard anyway. :D
    No remembrance days etc for my last dog, but both dogs were/are part of the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I haven't had a pet since my family dog that we had when I was five until I was 17. I loved her so much and, if there's a Heaven, I hope to see her there with her tail wagging.

How can you not love your pet???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

My dog is my very best friend :)

Always happy to see me and spend time with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

My dog is a bit of a loner,keeps to himself mostly.

That's because he saw you eat the pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

The cat despises every single one of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Elevelyn

My dog died a year ago in september, really loved her and miss her loads, won't make a page for her or anything but I know I'll be sad on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Jack died and I was sad. We buried Jack in the back yard down by the little fountain he loved to drink water from. I felt very sad knowing that I'd never see him again.

Jack was my friend and he was a cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Our cat was a hussy and a hoor!
    Found her as a stray, took her in, food & shelter & vet, everything she could want
    And now moved in with the neighbours, she even has a new name. What a user

Love my dog though and yes, my best friend. :)

Cats are the worst animals in the world.

Give me a dog any day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Cats are the worst animals in the world.

Give me a dog any day :)

the only good thing for a cat is a pillow case, bricks and the nearest canal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I still miss the dog I had as a kid and always will. I've had other pets since and loved them, but it wasn't the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Cats are class,our last cat used to fetch like a dog,follow me to the bus stop,catch and torture mice,butterflies and worms and she even pissed on a annoying hanger on who slept on our couch after a party.

She got hit by a car one day and one of the neighbors found her lying lifeless on the side of the road,really miss her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I wouldn't set up any web pages, but both my husband's cats were cremated when they died (we didn't own our house back then, and burying them in a garden that didn't belong to us just felt wrong), and are in little carved wooden casks in the shape of cats on our mantlepiece.

I'll remember those cats before I remember a lot of humans. I honestly don't feel that there's anything wrong with mourning for a creature that shared you life with you for decades?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I can comfortably say that when my dog dies, I will miss her more than any human that has died so far in my life, and probably a lot more after.

She has slept on my bed since I got her 7 years ago, and I'm always around her. My girl friends know that where I go, if it's possible, she goes, and it's widely accepted that she's part of 'girls nights' if they're taking place at my house. And I judge guys and potential relationships on whether or not they get on with her. She's a feisty cocker spaniel, so she's a bit mad, and I have no time for relationships where the guys can't handle her or are slightly afraid of her.

She's family to me, shares my sense of humour and is always up for whatever I want to do. Plus she can be a moody little so and so, and gives the best 'you've made me sad now' faces if I don't give her something she wants. She's a sneaky, hyper, manipulative little wagon, and I love all the tricks she plays on me, and when she's being bold and knows it! It's all the ridiculous little daily things she does that keep me smiling and happy.

I really don't understand how people can't have a connection with their pets.

If ye all think that's sad, quite frankly, I don't give a shite :p

My dog is in the kitchen, so I'm relatively close to her, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

I had to have my dog, Butch, put down last year. He was riddled with cancer so it was the right thing to do but it was heart breaking all the same. He was my best friend for ten years and I'll never forget or stop missing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I had a jack russell who died last october, we had her for 16 years and she was a fantastic friend, loved her to bits.

The dog I have now is a complete and utter nutcase. He's a Golden Labrador, absolutely beautiful. He is only 10 months old but weighs at least 7 stone, he has admirers that bring him food to the gate (we live on a main road) even a woman that will buy him bags of treats to give to us to give to him. Its madness. But I do love him he's so happy to see me anytime i go back home. Don't know what I'd do without him to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Had a persian tomcat that I loved more than most people. Stomach was in bits when he died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I can comfortably say that when my dog dies, I will miss her more than any human that has died so far in my life, and probably a lot more after.

She has slept on my bed since I got her 7 years ago, and I'm always around her. My girl friends know that where I go, if it's possible, she goes, and it's widely accepted that she's part of 'girls nights' if they're taking place at my house. And I judge guys and potential relationships on whether or not they get on with her. She's a feisty cocker spaniel, so she's a bit mad, and I have no time for relationships where the guys can't handle her or are slightly afraid of her.

She's family to me, shares my sense of humour and is always up for whatever I want to do. Plus she can be a moody little so and so, and gives the best 'you've made me sad now' faces if I don't give her something she wants. She's a sneaky, hyper, manipulative little wagon, and I love all the tricks she plays on me, and when she's being bold and knows it! It's all the ridiculous little daily things she does that keep me smiling and happy.

I really don't understand how people can't have a connection with their pets.

If ye all think that's sad, quite frankly, I don't give a shite :p
    You really need to get out more :rolleyes:

Well, look at this now - 3 months ago he can't get a number off a girl who's hopping him on the forecourt and has has to come to AH for advice, now he's Brian bleedin' Travolta dishing out the love advice!

That was last month!

It was, wasn't it? Jaysis, that seems so long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Only seems like yesterday

Bllleeeeuuuurrrgghhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

My dog rarely leaves my side when I'm at home. If I try to keep him in the hall he'll literally dig his way through the door until I let him in, and regularly steals and stockpiles my socks in various parts of the house.. I love him to bits though :o

This is him - http://i53.tinypic.com/2utgkt3.png

Have a couple of lambs too atm.. I'm gonna eat them soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Do I like my dogs? The ones I feed, walk and take care of every day? The same ones I paid €400 (each) for and spend €52 a month on their food alone? The dogs who jump up and run over to me when I open the front door, drop a toy at my feet for me to play with them, put their head in my lap if they see I'm upset?

Can't stand the ba$tards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I find this odd,or maybe im odd in this aspect,i don't understand why people would have a remembrance page or remember a date on when their cat or dog died,i would remember a human more than cat or a dog that got run over by a car years ago.

what about you?.

My dog is a whore.