Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Catholic Church claims it is above the law

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Well noticing the lack of a decent garda investigaton up to now and the lack of prosecutions the dpp went ahead with they do seem to be above the law which the state seem to endorse.

Hear hear. Couldnt agree more.
    The Churches grip on society, state and politics has not quite been released but we are nearly there.
    It was difficult under FF and even more difficult to investigate what does not get reported.
    The only way is up eh?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

This is the arse-kicking the Vatican should have got 10-15 years ago when all this shyte started to come out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Great stuff from our elected leader!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The Churches grip on society, state and politics has not quite been released but we are nearly there.
    It was difficult under FF and even more difficult to investigate what does not get reported.

Very true man thanks. One of the mothers of a victim of brendans smyth reported to the garda. The mother went down and asked why hasnt anything been done. The garda (now of of the highest ranking members of the garda) lost the file. A grown man who a brave victim confided in about being raped lost the file. The victim commit suicide. Because of this gaurd "losing the file"/lacking a spine brendan smyth tore the soul out of more children.

The church didnt report these abuse cases but a lot of the vicitms did. Mebers of the garda the dpp who did nothing enabled this rape. Newsnight reported this.

To say a good word about the gaurds who did try and prosecute they had dog sh"T put threw their letter box because of it a lot of the time. Further more gaurds who tried to prosecute a bishop had the file ignored by the dpp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Very true man thanks. One of the mothers of a victim of brendans smyth reported to the garda. The mother went down and asked why hasnt anything been done. The garda (now of of the highest ranking members of the garda) lost the file.

We need to name and shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

This is the arse-kicking the Vatican should have got 10-15 years ago when all this shyte started to come out.
    Great stuff from our elected leader!!!
    Hear Hear ...he said what needed to be said and anybody who thinks different can go fcuk themselfs .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I think I, and all right thinking Irish People stand four-square behind our Taoiseach after his speech in the Dail today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Enda says he is a 'Practising Catholic'. Someone here should tell him he should leave the Catholic church as he is condonong abuse by staying, well that is the argument some made here...

He is the head of government, and while what happened in Cloyne deserves condemnation, where is the Dáil when it comes to condemnation of the role of the state in abuse of people?
    24 years with 8 suspended for a woman who beat her children and it continued for 9 years after it came to the attention of the HSE.
    The gardai notified about abuse in Cloyne but not dealt with as the information is left in a drawer.
    A school where the judge said the Gardai would have known a child abuser was working.
    The state who put put people into institutions where they inspected them where people were abused.

Has the state learned anything from all of this? the Dáil is doing a mighty fine job in focusing on one institution where people failed when it came to child protection.
    The Dáil makes me sick as it seems fine for the state to allow abuse to continue and I don't see anyone made accountable, just all talk when it comes to the state or church abuse with laws that don't work and with not enough people to deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Min wrote: »

Welcome back!

Any chance of a reply regarding your false claims earlier in the thread?

Enda says he is a 'Practising Catholic'. Someone here should tell him he should leave the Catholic church as he is condonong abuse by staying, well that is the argument some made here...

He is the head of government, and while what happened in Cloyne deserves condemnation, where is the Dáil when it comes to condemnation of the role of the state in abuse of people?
    24 years with 8 suspended for a woman who beat her children and it continued for 9 years after it came to the attention of the HSE.
    The gardai notified about abuse in Cloyne but not dealt with as the information is left in a drawer.
    A school where the judge said the Gardai would have known a child abuser was working.
    The state who put put people into institutions where they inspected them where people were abused.

Has the state learned anything from all of this? the Dáil is doing a mighty fine job in focusing on one institution where people failed when it came to child protection.
    The Dáil makes me sick as it seems fine for the state to allow abuse to continue and I don't see anyone made accountable, just all talk when it comes to the state or church abuse with laws that don't work and with not enough people to deal with it.

Heres an idea. Start a thread about the HSE and State record on abuse. Its not relevant here

and youre only using it to defend whats left of your crumbling cults grip on irish society

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Welcome back!

What false claims?

Heres an idea. Start a thread about the HSE and State record on abuse. Its not relevant here

and youre only using it to defend whats left of your crumbling cults grip on irish society

Hang on a minute how the state acted on the church victims who reported it to them is highley relevant.

How on earth is that not relevant to the victim? The abuser commited the vile act, the church covered it up and the gaurds the vicitm reported it to ignored him. Its not an either or case eg the church or state they both acted disgracefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

I read similar words from the Church's unofficial spin doctor David Quinn in last Friday's Indo. They made me want to vomit and funnily enough your words are having a similar effect.

The worm has turned my friend, learn to accept it.

Why don't you start it, rather than telling me what to do, Enda the two faced Taoiseach (proven by Roscommon hospital) and his two faced partners in government have been deadly silent when it comes to the state's role in allowing abuse.
    Abuse is abuse no matter where it comes from and the state seems to make itself the most unaccountable of all when it comes to abuse, it is good we had state inquiries into the church but why Enda...none into the state's role?
    Afraid of paying more compensation?

I am not a member of a cult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

Inda, put down that Dan Brown book. It's got too many big word init for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I might be wrong but ain't this a thread about the priests and their crimes and not any fcuk up by the HSE.
    I just hope today is the start of stripping the catholic church of all assets and that we might see some of the men of god do jail time and become prison bitches.

I read similar words from the Church's unofficial spin doctor David Quinn in last Friday's Indo. They made me want to vomit and funnily enough your words are having a similar effect.

The worm has turned my friend, learn to accept it.

So if you are abused by the church it is only worthy of condemnation???

If the state knew of it and didn't do the right things well thats ok, state abuse is better than church abuse?

Priests bishops and the rest need to go to jail for this its not good enough and went on too long. The church and state need to be seperate at this stage.

Show Time wrote: »
    I might be wrong but ain't this a thread about the priests and their crimes and not any fcuk up by the HSE.
    I just hope today is the start of stripping the catholic church of all assets and that we might see some of the men of god do jail time and become prison bitches.

So you want people raped over this?

I take this is what you mean by prison bitches.

I am not a member of a cult.
    Yes you are.
    Brain washed from an early age with bulls**t about holy bread and wine turning to blood and virgin births.

For some of those fcukers turn about would be more then fair play.

To be honest min whatever happens to an abuser in prison is not going to cost me sleep at least this time it will be someone his own size he has to deal with. Instead of desstroying a kid for life.

Welcome back!

What false claims?

About the catholic church being based on the teachings of Jesus and about many of the rules being his teachings even though they're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

And to think these were the fcukers dictating to Irish people about morality for decades. Preaching against the evils of divorce, condoms and sex before marriage. If one good thing can come of this, it will be the implosion of that vile organisation.

About the catholic church being based on the teachings of Jesus and about many of the rules being his teachings even though they're not.
    Some how i don't think when the son of a carpenter from Nazareth decided to turn the other check he did not envision young children having their childhood taken from them in his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ah David Quinn logic(sic)

Priests are no more likely to be a pedophile than anyone else- David this may be true but they are far more likely to abuse a far greater number of children and use their position of power (Primary Schools etc) to gain access to them. They have been far more protected by the Church than other abusers. Others have to answer to the Law of the Land, not Canon Law.

Min makes the point about other abusers, some of lay abusers are facilitated by organisations claiming to be 'Christian' as was the case of that horrific torment reigned on the children of that awful couple in the West some years back.

How many guards were visited by Parish Priests with the might of the bishops crozier behind him encouraging cases to be dropped... (As was the case in Wicklow sons years back) The guard and his family were driven from the village and the priest was finally prosecuted in the UK and Garda was exonerated.

We as a nation are trying to combat child abuse at every fasit, religious, institutional and familial. But previously this was hampered by those that wished to pursue their own agenda, for whatever their reasoning, my belief that it would give credence to victims' pleas and uncover what is now being exposed.

The Catholic church should stop playing the victim and perhaps start repaying the real victims, those that were abused though their disgraceful neglect and compliance

Show Time wrote: »
    Some how i don't think when the son of a carpenter from Nazareth decided to turn the other check he did not envision young children having their childhood taken from them in his name.

I agree. The post was aimed at Min's contribution earlier where they pretended that Jesus said stuff that was actually said by others, and their overlooking what Jess said should happen to those who hurt kids.

If the state knew of it and didn't do the right things well thats ok, state abuse is better than church abuse?

Not meaning to go down the bizzarre "blame the brits" route which pops up in every corner of boards.......but..... Min I have to ask you. Since the day Ireland became the state you keep rightly bashing (but in the wrong thread) we replaced foreign rule with religious rule and this is directly responsible for the malfunctions in the law. Every aspect of irish society was until recently subservient to the Church . WE are finally emerging. Endas stance demonstrates this.
    But all you are doing is defending your cult by finger pointing and saying over and over and over "But but but but they were doing it as well!!!!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,580 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

While i agree that Enda Kenny was right to chastise the Vatican over their lies which caused the suffering of children BUT what about his own organisation's lies that will cause the suffering of many in Roscommon ?

The Vatican retained power by hiding their guilt and lying just as Ebda gained power by lying and making false promises.

They are all hypocrites in my opinion. They all protect the so-called high and mighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Don't be so fecking patronising.

Coming on here and sticking up for a church that is rotten to its core takes some doing. Are you not utterly ashamed and embarrassed to belong to such an organisation?