Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cloynes Report, Christianity, etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

axer wrote: »
    anonymous? When I was a teen in secondary school we never had annonymous confessions. We would be face to face with the priest and I know that many priests give confessions to other priests in this manner also.

LOL, such was my paranoia and trust that all my admitted sins amounted to nothing more than not sweeping the floor when told, or washing the dishes, or being vaguely mean to someone with no details given. Then afterwards everyone would ask each other what penance the priest gave them. Ha! I only got one Hail Mary!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

robindch wrote: »
    I believe there's a legal requirement that citizens report crimes they're aware of, or of threats to commit crimes (remember during the Lisbon debate when a poster said they'd be voting on behalf of every (missing) person in the house he lived in and a kerfuffle was raised?)

My memory suggests that this was brought in about ten years back, particularly with reference to accountants being required to report suspicious accounts, but don't ask me to quote act + year though!
    MrPudding wrote: »
    I was always under the impression that, at least in the UK, if you knew of a child being abused you had an obligation to report it. Now I am not so sure.

Perhaps it is one of those things that they think is so obviously, I mean really, if you found out about a child being raped would you really only report it if you were legally obligated to...:confused:

MrP
    Well it would be interesting to clarify, as if there was no actual provision in law then it would be an odd anomaly that only priests were suddenly obliged to report crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Priests also have to be wary about this at confession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Dades wrote: »
    Well it would be interesting to clarify, as if there was no actual provision in law then it would be an odd anomaly that only priests were suddenly obliged to report crimes.
    So I have done a little bit of digging… This is relevant to the UK, but I think Ireland is similar, if not the same. I haven’t had time to research the Irish side fully. There is no requirement for an individual to report child abuse. However, some people may have a duty to report because of the type of job they carry out. So, if your job, or even voluntary work you carry out, entails a duty of care towards children then your employer, or club you are involved in, must have a child protection policy. It seems that this also brings with it a legal obligation to report abuse to suspected abuse.

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I believe there's a legal requirement that citizens report crimes they're aware of, or of threats to commit crimes (remember during the Lisbon debate when a poster said they'd be voting on behalf of every (missing) person in the house he lived in and a kerfuffle was raised?)

My memory suggests that this was brought in about ten years back, particularly with reference to accountants being required to report suspicious accounts, but don't ask me to quote act + year though!

It would appear that law isn't aimed at this kind of offence
    THE Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) declined to prosecute Bishop John Magee because a 1997 law under which gardai wanted him charged was "not broad enough" to deal with the cleric's alleged concealment.
    Legal sources say the DPP believed that any prosecution was likely to be challenged and immediately thrown out of court because the 'proofs' -- the evidence required to meet the charge -- could not be met.

It could not be proved that Dr Magee made a financial gain from withholding information from the authorities about a paedophile priest. The evidence he gave to the authorities stood in stark contrast to a version about the priest that he supplied to the Vatican.
    (my bold etc)
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/law-too-narrow-for-magee-prosecution-2823989.html

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

So, if your job, or even voluntary work you carry out, entails a duty of care towards children then your employer, or club you are involved in, must have a child protection policy. It seems that this also brings with it a legal obligation to report abuse to suspected abuse.
    Well I'm thinking you could lump priests in with groups who have a duty of care. Might not be so odd to "single" them out then if this is true.

Dades wrote: »
    Well I'm thinking you could lump priests in with groups who have a duty of care. Might not be so odd to "single" them out then if this is true.
    Exactly what I was thinking. In fact, I am pretty sure I recall one of the apologists on the other side mentioning child protection policies that were brought in. It just seems like they think having the policy is enough, they don’t appear to follow it.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Well, more precisely, pretending the law doesn't apply to you seems to do the trick:I'd like to hear Mr Clifford explain exactly why he thinks that Irish Law shouldn't apply to an Irish Citizen for events that took place in Ireland.

• Moderators Posts: 52,023 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Article in the Independent as to why the confessional seal must remain.

The writer makes it sound like if the law goes ahead to require mandatory reporting that priests will announce it to angry mobs. And that the law is the first step on the road to state fascism :rolleyes:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

koth wrote: »

The writer makes it sound like if the law goes ahead to require mandatory reporting that priests will announce it to angry mobs. And that the law is the first step on the road to state fascism :rolleyes:

Ah Mary Kenny. Just be thankful that she is too old to breed with David Quinn:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I was always under the impression that, at least in the UK, if you knew of a child being abused you had an obligation to report it. Now I am not so sure.

Perhaps it is one of those things that they think is so obviously, I mean really, if you found out about a child being raped would you really only report it if you were legally obligated to...:confused:

MrP

I know that when I was on probation (another proud moment for Strobe :rolleyes:) my probation officer said that anything I told her in confidence would stay between us, excluding me telling her I abused someone, was abused by someone or knew of someone being abused, as she was legally required to inform the Gardai in that situation. So for state employees at least there apparently already exists a legal obligation to report.

Ah Mary Kenny. Just be thankful that she is too old to breed with David Quinn:eek::eek::eek:

My first guess was Quinn. Forgot about Kenny. She's not as prolific in terms of pro-Catholicism claptrap, but by golly when she spouts it boy does she spout it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

I hate to say it but wouldn't someone please think of the children! FFS that idiot kenny is arguing that the abuser's right to confess confidentially (with the penance being a few hail marys) is more important than the abused child's right to not be abused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Penn

koth wrote: »

What a horrible, horrible article.

Firstly, her STD comparison is scaremongering. She's trying to make it out that if this law is passed, everything you say to any professional can become public. Ridiculous.

Secondly, I would commend and personally shake the hand of any person with paedophile tendencies who wanted to get treatment. I would drive them somewhere they could get help. So long as they had never acted on those tendencies. With Sarah's Law etc, surely you can't be placed on the sex offenders register if you haven't committed a sexual offence? Once again, scaremongering.

Thirdly:
    You might be encouraged to go to the law -- but that would be for your own conscience to decide.

If paedophiles abuse a child, certainly they have broken the law and should be charged.

Yet, individuals with a paedophile orientation also need treatment.

The priests who abused children were not encouraged to go to the law. They were hidden by bishops and their own organisation. And it shouldn't be for your own conscience to decide. If you committed these acts, there is something fundamentally wrong with your conscience. Yes, people with a paedophile orientation do need treatment, whether they have acted on that orientation or not. But if they have acted on that orientation and abused a child, they have broken the law and should be charged, regardless of whether or not they admitted it in a 'Secrets Box'.

The article is a bunch of over-dramatic, scaremongering nonsense. She doesn't even seem to be trying to defend the Catholic Church. She's trying to defend people's rights to break the law and have someone to confess to in order to help clear your conscience a bit or take the weight off your shoulders without the fear of being arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Is there a risk of some priests becoming heros/martyrs to a large element if they refuse to disclose their info?

eoin5 wrote: »
    Is there a risk of some priests becoming heros/martyrs to a large element if they refuse to disclose their info?

I'd say the opposite to be honest. If they're found to have refused to disclose their info, the important thing about that which would stick in most people's minds is that that info was about someone who confessed to abusing a child, and may have continued to do so after the confession took place. It's the same with the article posted a few posts back, priests aren't going to be forced to reveal everything someone confessed to them, only matters relating to child abuse. I don't think anyone would applaud the priest for refusing to reveal that information. Quite the opposite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Barrington wrote: »
    I'd say the opposite to be honest. If they're found to have refused to disclose their info, the important thing about that which would stick in most people's minds is that that info was about someone who confessed to abusing a child, and may have continued to do so after the confession took place. It's the same with the article posted a few posts back, priests aren't going to be forced to reveal everything someone confessed to them, only matters relating to child abuse. I don't think anyone would applaud the priest for refusing to reveal that information. Quite the opposite.
    Oh but there will be some. There a lotta hard core Catholic out there.......:eek:
    I can point you in the direction of some on Boards

Oh but there will be some. There a lotta hard core Catholic out there.......:eek:
    I can point you in the direction of some on Boards

Oh yeah, there'll always be some (And Hello if you're reading this), but hero/martyr? There'll still be far more who would see him as a villain than a hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Oh yeah, there'll always be some (And Hello if you're reading this), but hero/martyr? There'll still be far more who would see him as a villain than a hero

I really hope so, I think some people take the sacrement thing so seriously that they wouldn't even want to hear what the rest of the story is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0719/1224300946807.html
    Church's solicitor guarded every angle
    A NAME that crops up with conspicuous frequency in the Cloyne report, when it comes to “restraint” on the part of Catholic Church authorities in co-operating with State inquiries into child sex-abuse allegations, is that of solicitor Diarmuid Ó Catháin.

This is the same Ó Catháin who advised Cardinal Desmond Connell when in 2008 he initiated High Court action against his successor as Archbishop of Dublin, Diarmuid Martin. That was an attempt to restrain Archbishop Martin from handing over documents to the Murphy commission which the cardinal deemed confidential to himself personally. Cardinal Connell later dropped the action and the documents were handed over.

This is the same Ó Catháin who attended a controversial meeting in Limerick on March 30th, 2006, as a member of the interdiocesan case management advisory committee of Cloyne and Limerick dioceses. Set up in 2005, this committee advised then bishop of Cloyne John Magee and then bishop of Limerick Donal Murray on handling allegations of clerical child-sex abuse.

At that meeting Ó Catháin and two priests representing Limerick diocese met 37-year-old Peter McCloskey, who alleged that in 1980 and 1981 he was repeatedly raped by a priest in Limerick. Bishop Murray later issued a statement saying he “completely accepts the truth” of McCloskey’s allegations.

Deirdre Fitzpatrick, then of the One in Four group, accompanied McCloskey at the meeting and recalled he was “very distressed and disappointed” afterwards.

She was critical of Ó Catháin for suggesting the diocese could sue McCloskey for costs should he proceed with court action. Three days later, on April 1st, 2006, McCloskey died by suicide.

Ó Catháin was solicitor for Cloyne diocese. Msgr Denis O’Callaghan was child protection delegate there. Both were on the interdiocesan case management advisory committee of Cloyne and Limerick dioceses, set up in 2005. This, the report said, “was not appropriately constituted” as Msgr O’Callaghan and Ó Catháin’s other roles “made it virtually impossible for them to give the sort of independent advice which the bishops needed”.

A member of this committee said the meetings were dominated by Msgr O’Callaghan, Ó Catháin and the priest delegate from Limerick. “It was not permissible to express a contrary opinion,” he told the commission.

The Cloyne priest delegate from 2008 to June 2010, Fr Bill Bermingham, told the commission Ó Catháin “did not agree with the procedures and policies underlying the [Bishops’ 1996 Framework] document”, as the report put it.

Ó Catháin told the commission he had reservations about the mandatory reporting element of the document the bishops had adopted “despite his expressed views to the contrary”. He said he saw no conflict in his being a member of the case management advisory committee while acting as solicitor for the diocese in clerical child sex-abuse cases.

An indication of Ó Catháin’s approach can be gleaned from the case of Fr Drust. An allegation was made in 2002 by “Ula” that she had been sexually abused by the priest between 1967 and 1971. In 2003 gardaí sought a statement from Bishop Magee. Ó Catháin told the commission he explained to a Garda sergeant investigating the case that “if a matter was discussed in confidence with a bishop, the bishop could not disclose the confidence without first getting, obtaining, the consent of the person who had reposed the confidence”. He told the sergeant, as he recalled it for the commission, he believed “it was in the interests of the common good that Magee should not be asked to make a statement”.

When, later, the sergeant met Bishop Magee, he was assured of total co-operation. It was not to be the case. Through a solicitor, Bishop Magee declined to make a statement or to supply a copy of Ula’s handwritten account. His solicitor said the document was “a church document and hence confidential”. Bishop Magee would not make a statement “in consideration for the public good and the maintenance of the confidentiality of the church”.

In the case of Fr Brendan Wrixon, accused of abuse by “Patrick”, Bishop Magee gave two accounts of a meeting he had with the priest on September 22nd, 2005. An accurate account, where the priest admitted guilt, was sent to Rome and a fictional one, where he denied the allegations, was for diocesan records. When asked by the commission why he prepared two accounts, Bishop Magee said he had inquired from Msgr O’Callaghan and Ó Catháin about his correspondence to the Vatican and “was assured it was a privileged relationship and. . . would not be discoverable. . . ” He found out later this was not so. According to the report Ó Catháin told the commission he had “no recollection of Bishop Magee consulting him directly about this issue. . . ”

In the summer of 2008, the case management committee reacted vigorously to draft findings of the church’s child protection watchdog – its National Board for Safeguarding Children – that child protection practices in Cloyne were “inadequate and in some respects dangerous”. On July 9th, 2008, it sent a forcefully-worded letter to the board saying: “If you issue this report in its present form or include its distortions in your forthcoming annual report, we shall have no choice but to seek remedies in either ecclesiastical or secular courts or both.” Among the signatories were Msgr O’Callaghan and Ó Catháin.
    The bolded part above just stuck out for me.

This guy has no morals or compassion. I believe he was actually fired in 2009 by the Cloyne dioceses and before that by the limerick dioceses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

I think power and the subsequent abuse of the powerless particularly children is an intrinsic part of christianity as we know it.
    Earlier i posted this image in another lets say religious forum where people would be more familiar with the imagery and needless to say the arguments are around the age of the child and the willingness of both the victim and the perp and the real spiritual message of it all.
    Sounds like some arguments Ive been hearing recently on the difference between pederasty and paedophilia.
    It might be worth having a look at the image here on A&A as I think its very powerful and says so much about how religion can particularly when young desenstise us to abuses happening.
    We learn to explain away what we see and to accept explanations that take away from our natural horror and revulsion.

Anyway here we have Abraham the father of three religious systems - Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
    The message of the story seems to be that anything, any act, can be excused and overlooked and indeed justified, if it is in service to the central theme of obedience to authority.
    Abraham is the first grand patriarch the model for all authority and heirarchies.
    This story has been a favourite theme of artists and religious teachers for centuries.
    I would consider this image and story to be the foundation stone of institutional child abuse within both the church and the family.
    Its erotic potential was seldom missed by artists and seemed to have been appreciated by their religious patrons.
    Abraham3Isaac.jpg

I was accused elsewhere of imagining the erotocism and of being sick and needing medical help :rolleyes:
    Although here I dont think there will be too much surprise or need for convincing that this subject was being dealt with as an erotic subject here is another image. Just in case
    abraham.jpg

Those would be right thinking members of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Read that O' Catháin piece above while sitting in the lovely sun of Eyre Square, was just about able to keep my good mood after it.

Breathtaking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Michael Nugent

How can we believe, without corroboration, anything that members of the Irish Catholic Hierarchy say in cases where it is in their interest to mislead us?

That is surely the central question that arises from the Cloyne Report, especially when seen alongside the previous revelation that Archbishop Desmond Connell of Dublin was happy to deliberately mislead people by a process that he described as ‘mental reservation’.

Putting aside the content of the sexual abuse allegations, which are of course shockingly serious, the Cloyne Report reveals that various permutations of the Cloyne Diocese, Bishop John Magee and Monsignor Denis O’Callaghan “positively lied” [21.79], “positively misled” [21.79], “deliberately misled” [21.91], deliberately created two different accounts of the same meeting, a true one for the Vatican and a false one for the local diocesan files [1.48], gave false assurances to the Government Minister for Children and the Health Service Executive [1.77], “tried to bury the matter” of the requirement to report “evidence of a vicious sexual assault” [16.19], advised that statements to the gardai should be “minimal” [9.84-85], failed to give its own advisory committees full information [1.36], “put out an erroneous view” about a report [1.40], produced crucial documents that were wrongly dated [12.29], held three different versions of one meeting in diocesan files [21.27], and misled people in at least 35 ways which I detail below.

Here's my overview of the Cloyne report's findings about this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Vincent Twoomey, an opinion-former in catholic circles, has called for most of the country's bishops to resign:

http://www.irishcatholic.ie/site/content/pre-2003-bishops-should-all-quit-fr-twomey

Meanwhile, FG Senator Martin Conway, called for the lot to resign:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0721/cloyne.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Just read the transcript of Inda's address to Rome. Who'd ever thought a politician could plain-speak for that length of time and hit the bull between the eyes whilst doing so.

Ex-communication to follow?

Just read the transcript of Inda's address to Rome. Who'd ever thought a politician could plain-speak for that length of time and hit the bull between the eyes whilst doing so.

Hopefully.

MrP

He should be so lucky.

I was hovering over on the other forum and I read that excommunication does not render you non-catholic, apparently.

Can someone clarify this for me please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

CiaranMT wrote: »
    He should be so lucky.

I was hovering over on the other forum and I read that excommunication does not render you non-catholic, apparently.

Can someone clarify this for me please?

An excommunicated person is still Catholic and is still expected to go to mass but can't recieve the sacraments. It is basically the religious equivalent of flying Ryanair, worship without the frills.

Once they seek forgiveness for their wrongdoing they get bumped up to first class on Etihad Airways.

An excommunicated person is still Catholic and is still expected to go to mass but can't recieve the sacraments. It is basically the religious equivalent of flying Ryanair, worship without the frills.

Once they seek forgiveness for their wrongdoing they get bumped up to first class on Etihad Airways.

What a daft system.