Is ireland Available to defend itself?

• 17-07-2011 10:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

At the moment, Do we have the capability to protect our airspace? Answer: No

Stupidly Goverment's didn't invest much In the Defence force's, Thats why we have Aircraft Slower then WWII Spitfire's, As our main "attack aircraft".

I Thougth we Just got a Bailout of 85 Billion?, Surly The goverment could buy some Harrier jets That were scrapped from the RAF? They couldn't be dear to buy.

We have a active army of around 8,500 - 9,000, They dont have much equipment if you ask me, They have some small tank's, and maybe some other not very useful weapons.

The navy over the years, is the only Branch of the Defence force's That has been invested in, We currently have 8 Navy ship's defending out water's, But They cant fire Missile's, Only use gun's.

I Know you may be thinking, "Why do we need all this?", But seriously 21st century, We need a proper air force, And a proper navy, To actually DEFEND our airspace + Costal water's.

If you type in on google - "Russian bomber entering uk airspace" A Load of news reports from this year and last year will appear, A Russian bomber even went over The republic, Or somewhere near irish airspace.

So Do you think we need a proper Air force and navy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

awww....not again...........:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Maybe we could just throw apostrophe's at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

Because fùck poor people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Do you mean "able"? If you mean available, then no, we're busy, invaders will have to take a seat and wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

The Russians are comming :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Eh, have you not heard of the FCA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

We're a neutral country. We don't go to war - we are not a threat. No need to attack us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

Is ireland Available to defend itself?

Nah we're too busy drinkin' and whorin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

We're a bit busy at the moment. Please postpone your barrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

It would cost an absolute fortune and we still wouldn't be able to "defend ourselves". What's the point in buying a pea gun which we can't afford when everyone else have cannons?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If someone really wanted to invade Ireland, they could do so within 24 hours I suspect.
    There is no point in Ireland even trying to keep up militarilly with anyone.
    The items we do possess no doubt are there for good reason - but lets not start thinking we can take on the big boys and all the spending in the world - if we could afford it - we could possibly do, is not going to make much difference to that fact.

Heck, Australia or Argentina could invade us for all we could spend - and thats just starting with the "A's"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Not this crap again!!

I suppose a "Dublin Vs Culchies" thread will be started next!

The Russians are comming :eek:
    Lucky sods, they must have got their leg over!

benwavner wrote: »
    ...I suppose a "Dublin Vs Culchies" thread will be started next!
    Now you've just put a thought in someones mind...

....Wait for it... 3...2...1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I certainly hope the OP isn't in the defence forces. If he can't spell on an internet forum what hope has he got of not accidentally wiping out a smaller county with a laser-guided bomb?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

RobitTV wrote: »
    At the moment, Do we have the capability to protect our airspa

Stupidly Goverment's didmuch In the Defence force's, Thats why we have Aircraft Slowepitfire's, As our main "attack aircraft".

I Thougth we Just got a Bailouto
    We have a active army of around 8,500 - 9,000, Tdont have much equipment ile's, Only use gun's.

I Know you may be thinking, "Why do we need all this?", But seriously 21st century, We nter's
    mber entering uk airspace" A Load of news reports from this yeear will appear, A Russian bomber even went over The republic, Or somewhere near irish airspace.

So Do you think we need a pnd navy?

Can't afford it ........ blah, blah. I think it's time we sold off some state assets to buy stuff. Might aswell start with Parnell St in Dublin CC. It's full of foreigners anyway. Then Wicklow. No-one likes Wicklow people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Nothing to defend, the money's fuckin gone thanks to financial unsurgents.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

The defence forces is probably close to bottom in the list of what the government couldve used the bailout money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

sdeire wrote: »
    I certainly hope the OP isn't in the defence forces. If he can't spell on an internet forum what hope has he got of not accidentally wiping out a smaller county with a laser-guided bomb?

Wow we have Laser-guided bomb's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭davetherave

It's all well and good buying cheap harriers but you then have the costs of retraining pilots to fly them, groundcrew to mantain them and the cost of getting spares. And just to bepedantic we have an air corp,not an air force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Sure thats what europe wants to see. Give a country a bailout and they "invest" it in weaponary :rolleyes: Maybe could liberate the North with them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Those sneaky f*kin russians! If we can play cool till autumn then we can harvest all the conkers and give'em what's for.

I say we should invade Rockall!
    Yea - lets show the world our military might! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's all well and good buying cheap harriers but you then have the costs of retraining pilots to fly them, groundcrew to mantain them and the cost of getting spares. And just to bepedantic we have an air corp,not an air force.

Almost air corpse:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

In the HIGHLY unlikely event that we are ever targeted for an invasion, realistically, guerilla warfare would be our best defence. We dont have enough troops or equipment to launch a signifigant counter assault.

We would mainly be using delay operations/ raids/ sabotage and ambushes. Despite popular widespread ignorance and negative assumptions of our DF we are well trained. Our biggest weakness is lack of naval and air defence.

Our ground troops could be the best trained in the world with the best equipment, but it's of no use if they are being wiped out by bombers or long range missiles deployed from ships.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

I don't think it will be an air strike.
    I think they'll come at us through our water supply.

RobbitTv, have you ever seen a commie drink a glass of water ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Full.Duck

Not a chance in hell. I live near the curragh camp and few of the lads there say if we did go to war we would have enough ammuntion to last 2 hours.

Cant tell you if thats true or an urban myth, but hey we are irish so id well believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,453 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

RobitTV wrote: »
    At the moment, Do we have the capability to protect our airspace? Answer: No
    Stupidly Goverment's didn't invest much In the Defence force's, Thats why we have Aircraft Slower then WWII Spitfire's, As our main "attack aircraft".

Simples..Our defence forces are geared for dealing with an internal insurrection,not an external threat.
    I Thougth we Just got a Bailout of 85 Billion?, Surly The goverment could buy some Harrier jets That were scrapped from the RAF? They couldn't be dear to buy.

It would have been an ideal aircraft for the ROI,no need for large runways,capable of being hidden in a large barn,and easily serviced in the field.
    Buying a jet fighter system is not like buying a car.You need to buy the ancillary equipment and its maintenance equipment and parts for every system of the airframe.IOW weapons system needs spare parts,and servicing parts ,radar needs its spares etc.Trouble is alot of those parts are out of stock and not made anymore or available to make it a viable defence system.As well as that in what version do you want it?Air to air combat aircraft,ground attack aircraft,all weather capability?Each costs a few million euros per system.
    We have a active army of around 8,500 - 9,000, They dont have much equipment if you ask me, They have some small tank's, and maybe some other not very useful weapons.
    Just what is really needed if us peasents might get too uppitty,nothing else.

The navy over the years, is the only Branch of the Defence force's That has been invested in, We currently have 8 Navy ship's defending out water's, But They cant fire Missile's, Only use gun's.
    Again,just what is needed for costal patrol and fishing protection and drug interdiction.not much else.

I Know you may be thinking, "Why do we need all this?", But seriously 21st century, We need a proper air force, And a proper navy, To actually DEFEND our airspace + Costal water's.

Against whom or what??We cant afford a proper viable defence force to make a viable conventional fight against anyone in Western Europe, bar maybe the Vatican or Luxembourg,and they are unlikely to invade us forawhile.Nor are the Russians likely to drop in anytime soon.

If you type in on google - "Russian bomber entering uk airspace" A Load of news reports from this year and last year will appear, A Russian bomber even went over The republic, Or somewhere near irish airspace.

So Do you think we need a proper Air force and navy?[/QU
    Thats NATOs and the UKs problem.
    Not that we should be worried about Putin giving his aircrews in outdated aircraft that were totally obsolete 30 years ago and no match for anything we can put up within minutes and we can spot taking off within minutes from their bases,somthing to do. It is Putin and his puppett pandering to the Russian nationalistic element of the military industrial complex.

Thing is,there is no point in us having a larger army as no one is planning to invade us,we couldnt afford one anyway in this depression.The only thing that is a possible threat to Ireland is a major uprising or civil unrest,and it is capable of handling that.As for the odd Russkie Bear lumbering about in the atlantic of the west coast,we have the UK and the RAF to deal with that.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

ireland's army is 0.00185% of the entire population
    britain - 0.00229%

not exactly much more is it??? seeing as Britain are involved in Iraq, Afghanistan etc etc

america - 0.00365% double ours but I think america have more to defend that us in fairness...

Who's gonna attack us anyways... if any half arsed army wanted to take over Ireland they'd be able to regardless of how many planes or tanks we had...

unless Lichtenstein or someone tried to attack us we'd have no hope anyway because our population is so small to begin with...

besides say if we had 5 planes - how much would that cost??? and how many army's are going to be stopped by our 5 planes :rolleyes: complete waste of money basically...

if russian or chinese planes fly over our airspace let them at it I say - what are we gonna achieve by trying to attack them or chase them... what if they attack back and gets us in a war - well we're gonna be bet aren't we...

if we just let them well then there's no war... and who looses out ?????

buying planes and tanks and all that craic for Ireland is a waste of time.. all we need an army for is to stand guard around banks when there moving money and the likes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

tis grand....sure we belong to the germans now