What do you think of your housemates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭rebel without a clue

moved house 5 times in 6 years. moved in with strangers every time (had no choice). i think people should be friendly but at the same time keep their distance for maybe the first 6/7 months. you could see what way the flow of the house is and how they interact with eachother, how often mates call to house etc. iv learned this over time and now i think im settled in this house and can call the housemates my friends at this stage. there are 2 tv rooms also, so theres never a row over tv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

orourkeda wrote: »
    Aren't we the fancy bollocks?

Well I'm definitely a bollox but not fancy as it's free :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

You might win on the TV front, but it sounds like the real irritation is the guys continuous presence. I don't know how you could go about telling somebody who is paying rent that they have to leave from time to time without sounding completely out of order, no matter how irritating they are.

Exactly my point! I would just love it if he was to go off and meet friends or go to a match or something instead of being thrown on the couch 24/7...I actually don't mind not watching the television as I hardly ever watch it so there is no point getting a second one for the house. Continuous presence is the killer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

I used to live with a Polish guy who would steer virtually every conversation we had to the subject of communism.

Me: 'Hey man, how was your day?'
    Polish guy: *depressed voice* '****ing bureaucrats at work remind me of back in Poland in 80s' (The guy was 24 when I was living with him, so he would have been about 3 under the communist regime in Poland)

He was also messy, loud and frankly a bit dull. And a communist.

Saila wrote: »
    like I said grow pair

say no, how hard is that? and mean it, dont make it sound like a question!
    I can guarantee you if I was you I would be getting to watch my tiny bit of tv if he gets it the rest of the time, spell that out to him

Really not worth the hassle! I just leave him at it but each time I see him I die a little inside...every weekend wasted watching crap on the telly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Sick to death of mine, lived with him now for 2 years. it's ok during the college year when it's four us but there's only 2 of us for the summer. He smokes in the house, which I don't like but tolerate, but he's probably the most ignorant smoker I've met, I've met very few smokers who don't have the common courtesy not to light up in the room if their non-smoking housemates are eating or cooking, but he has to be told everytime. If he listens to music it has to be so loud it interferes with everyone else in the house, he bitches constantly about his life and how much he dislikes just about everyone he knows, he's rude and disrespectful, if no-one is around he's depressed and grumpy, if people are around he tries to be funny by ripping the piss out of people but is not funny, if any playful banter is directed at him he sulks. He also needs/seeks attention like some depraved child, he will walk into the room start making loud gagging noises and pretend to perform oral sex on an invisble knob, or pretend to perform anal sex with an invisible woman while making disparaging remarks about women. I could go on more. I dislike him immensely.

Why are you still living with this guy? Surely the whole point of renting is that you have the option of moving out when you want to. Life's too short to be dealing with idiots like yer man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭rebel without a clue

daddydick wrote: »
    Exactly my point! I would just love it if he was to go off and meet friends or go to a match or something instead of being thrown on the couch 24/7...I actually don't mind not watching the television as I hardly ever watch it so there is no point getting a second one for the house. Continuous presence is the killer!!

he mightened have any mates. seriously. a guy i know moved to dublin 2 years ago, job is full of old foggies and doesnt know anyone else up there. think thats what he does every evening too. comes home every second weekend then. hes lonely.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,054 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Why are you still living with this guy? Surely the whole point of renting is that you have the option of moving out when you want to. Life's too short to be dealing with idiots like yer man

Yea I know, but the landlord's been really good to me and it's really close to the college, I have options in september to move in with some mates but it would mean having to be driving distance from the college. We'll see, I might stick it out for another year and then GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

I lived with a couple from December to March of this year. They were always either rowing or shagging.

One night, while watching telly, he got up and went to his room. She followed him. He tried to kill her. Had to go in and break the fight up.

So, he flees the house but comes back two hours later and tries to set the house on fire while we were inside.

I win.

TL;DR: housemate tried to kill his gf, and then tried to kill us all by burning the house down.

he mightened have any mates. seriously. a guy i know moved to dublin 2 years ago, job is full of old foggies and doesnt know anyone else up there. think thats what he does every evening too. comes home every second weekend then. hes lonely.

I know this happens but I have met this guys mates a few times and they seem bang on, he's a randomer so didnt really know what to expect when he moved in but seriously, if you don't want to meet up with you mates go to the gym, go for a walk, climb a mountain, go for a swim etc etc do something in the great outdoors while you still have youth on your side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

And a communist.

Better dead than red!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

IsMiseLisa wrote: »
    I lived with a couple from December to March of this year. They were always either rowing or shagging.

One night, while watching telly, he got up and went to his room. She followed him. He tried to kill her. Had to go in and break the fight up.

So, he flees the house but comes back two hours later and tries to set the house on fire while we were inside.

I win.

TL;DR: housemate tried to kill his gf, and then tried to kill us all by burning the house down.

:eek::eek::eek:

Jesus, I though my ex-housemate's BF was bad! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yea I know, but the landlord's been really good to me and it's really close to the college, I have options in september to move in with some mates but it would mean having to be driving distance from the college. We'll see, I might stick it out for another year and then GTFO.

I understand. In college I was living with an idiot as well. Always used to play rubbish loud dance music, (often after coming home drunk at 3am), used to bring his skanger friends up from the hometown and they'd take over the entire house for the weekend and used to come out with some real creepy racist horsesh1t as well. Had the option of moving out early but didn't bother, only had a few months left in the term. Sometimes it's easier to put up with them and completely cut your ties afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

i have five housmates, one steal alot of toilet paper, tea bags, razors, biscuits, butter bread, and bring home a load of washing every week, he lives in a flat, one rants on about nothing being right, another, take over the remote control of telly, another dont know where the sink is, cups every where, another just does not give a ****e, they all know how to have a good time, god help me they are my family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Aw man, I'm in a houseshare and I have amazing housemates who are life long friends. And then he moved in. Jesus. Fcuking. Christ.

Abnormaly lazy!!!! Never cleans up after himself. Works from home and when i come home from work he's sittin in the same place as when I left!!! Goes and buys cakes from the 24 hour shop about at about 2am and leaves his mess around the sittin room. NEVER have i seen him pick up a dish let alone wash one.

He once left his weekend bag in the sitting area after coming back from home for a weekend. The next day his nag was stil there but his clothes were all around the room?! I fooked them at his bedroom door in the end.

Fcukin hell, I'm gettin angry just thinking about it :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

:eek::eek::eek:

Jesus, I though my ex-housemate's BF was bad! :eek:

Yep. He wasn't even technically my housemate 'cause he paid no rent. Landlord knew he was there and all. She wasn't chuffed when the gardai rocked up investigating claims of assault and attempted murder.

Housemate tried to move him back in a month later when she found out she was preggers.

It was a crazy few months. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I like my housemates, I knew them all before I moved in with them.

Although we did have hippies living with us for a month and they were a pain in the ass. They would stay in their bedroom and just sing songs and play guitar the whole time. They had to be told to stop playing very early one morning, it just got out of hand. There is still a smell coming from the room they stayed in and they have been gone a month, it has even been cleaned out.

One of the days they took my housemates bike without asking to take it, they never cleaned up after cooking often taking over 3 pots with leftover food that they never bothered to eat, there was some words over that let me tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Sibylla wrote: »
    I'm moving in with three new people in a house share for college in September. I was very unlucky last year. One locked herself in her room 24/7 and the other used to steal everyone's food. The other two were grand! :p
    I know people who have made lifelong friends with housemates and other who detest theirs. What have your experiences been and what do you think of your current housemates? Thanks

Ideal housemate, to be honest :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I've had housemates before and I fucking hated it. Live alone now so it's all good.

It isn't that I hated the people - one was a good friend of mine - but I likes my space!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Dont get along with my housemates. One behaves like a 5 year old, 2 are grumpy mother fúcks who I cant spend more than 5 seconds with, the other one is ok...ish'. I've been lookin to move out on and off every since I moved in. Its gotten to the point where I just dont give shít about what they say or do. If I see them I just say hello and allow the silence to engulf us. If anyone is looking for someone to move in with them in the dublin area they're laid back and sound holla back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Novella wrote: »
    I've had housemates before and I fucking hated it. Live alone now so it's all good.

It isn't that I hated the people - one was a good friend of mine - but I likes my space!
    If I could afford to I'd live alone for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

I dont really get on with mine.
    One acts like a baby and is crying all the time, sometimes I even have to change him.
    One keeps ordering me around the whole, like you'd swear she was my mother.
    There's another guy that lives with us. We got on pretty well. He's been like a father to me for years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

I had a housemate who had such aggressive sex that she had to push her bed away from the wall so that the headboard wouldn't bang violently and wake everyone up.

But overall, a nice girl :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

daddydick wrote: »
    Really not worth the hassle! I just leave him at it but each time I see him I die a little inside...every weekend wasted watching crap on the telly!

I'd feel sorry for the guy to be honest, leave him with the only thing he has if you're not bothered about the tele.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Laisurg wrote: »
    I'd feel sorry for the guy to be honest, leave him with the only thing he has if you're not bothered about the tele.

Make him watch Yes Man or at least this scene from it:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Where to start?

First year of college - 3 housemates.
    Girl 1 - ended up being my best friend. I loved her dearly. The best craic ever.

Girl 2 - bit of an eejit but we got on alright. We went out together, drove around together, went to the local together, ect. She moved out at Christmas so, enter ...

Girl 3. Or should I say "woman".
    To say this woman was bizarre would be a total understatement. She was about 50. Living with two students. Raging alcoholic. Would polish thru a bottle of wine and half a bottle of whiskey per night. The first night she stayed she was violently ill, after drinking an entire bottle of whiskey she brought home from duty free. Sick in her room, sick in the hall. Sick in the bathroom.
    Proceeded to clean up the bathroom vomit using her knickers. And left the vomitty knickers on the bathroom floor.

Used to tell me she loved me, called me little angel, barged into my room on Saturdays to tell me it was 12/1/2 pm and time to get up.

Used to demand to know where we were going and when we would be back.

I was in bed one evening and woke up to hysterical roaring. Stuck to the bed in fear someone broke in, I hear gems such as "Ill get the FBI after you - you c**t", "I'll sow your bits together" "JP Mc Manus pays no bills in this residence", and kept referring to herself as "denis hogans grandaughter" -- "nobody speaks to denis hogans grandaughter like this".

This went on for over twenty minutes. Petrified - I called my other housemate and she came straight home, where crazypants acted completely normal.

The same type of phonecall woke housemate couple mornings after, at like 6am.

One morning, about 5, housemate got up to go to work. Went downstairs and there she was, sitting in the dark, rambling on to herself about taking a "swing of golf".

Another night I drove back from home, getting to the house at 2 am or so, pitch black. Leave my bag down - open the door and nearly dropped dead from fright. She was standing in the dark, drunk, right in front of the door when I opened it, staring straight at me.

I ended up so frightened of her that I wouldn't stay in the house by myself. If my housemate went soccer training, I went with her.

Eventually the landlord kicked her out - but the months she was there were unbearable. I have more horrid housemates but I think she's right up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I CANT STAND THEM

I live with my family :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Where to start?

First year of college - 3 housemates.
    Girl 1 - ended up being my best friend. I loved her dearly. The best craic ever.

Girl 2 - bit of an eejit but we got on alright. We went out together, drove around together, went to the local together, ect. She moved out at Christmas so, enter ...

Girl 3. Or should I say "woman".
    To say this woman was bizarre would be a total understatement. She was about 50. Living with two students. Raging alcoholic. Would polish thru a bottle of wine and half a bottle of whiskey per night. The first night she stayed she was violently ill, after drinking an entire bottle of whiskey she brought home from duty free. Sick in her room, sick in the hall. Sick in the bathroom.
    Proceeded to clean up the bathroom vomit using her knickers. And left the vomitty knickers on the bathroom floor.

Used to tell me she loved me, called me little angel, barged into my room on Saturdays to tell me it was 12/1/2 pm and time to get up.

Used to demand to know where we were going and when we would be back.

I was in bed one evening and woke up to hysterical roaring. Stuck to the bed in fear someone broke in, I hear gems such as "Ill get the FBI after you - you c**t", "I'll sow your bits together" "JP Mc Manus pays no bills in this residence", and kept referring to herself as "denis hogans grandaughter" -- "nobody speaks to denis hogans grandaughter like this".

This went on for over twenty minutes. Petrified - I called my other housemate and she came straight home, where crazypants acted completely normal.

The same type of phonecall woke housemate couple mornings after, at like 6am.

One morning, about 5, housemate got up to go to work. Went downstairs and there she was, sitting in the dark, rambling on to herself about taking a "swing of golf".

Another night I drove back from home, getting to the house at 2 am or so, pitch black. Leave my bag down - open the door and nearly dropped dead from fright. She was standing in the dark, drunk, right in front of the door when I opened it, staring straight at me.

I ended up so frightened of her that I wouldn't stay in the house by myself. If my housemate went soccer training, I went with her.

Eventually the landlord kicked her out - but the months she was there were unbearable. I have more horrid housemates but I think she's right up there

Who do you think you are giving out about Denis Hogans granddaughter on the internets. No one talks like that about Denis Hogans granddaughter.

Why I oughta *shakes fist and swigs whiskey*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

guitarzero wrote: »
    Dont get along with my housemates. One behaves like a 5 year old, 2 are grumpy mother fúcks who I cant spend more than 5 seconds with, the other one is ok...ish'. I've been lookin to move out on and off every since I moved in. Its gotten to the point where I just dont give shít about what they say or do. If I see them I just say hello and allow the silence to engulf us. If anyone is looking for someone to move in with them in the dublin area they're laid back and sound holla back.

mine are similar....as I type two of them are punching each other around the house,the other has gone to work in a huff...the two are fighting over a "transformer figure"..granted they are brothers and the other one is my wife...

Mostly good experiences. Had a really selfish flatmate from Northern Ireland in college who saw nothing wrong with coming in with all her mates at 5am, pissed, and putting music on full blast when the rest of us had college at 9am the next day. She used to smoke in the flat and use our cups and bowls as ashtrays, never took out the bin or did any kind of cleaning. I thought she was nice enough at first but her selfish behaviour ended up driving me round the bend and we fought for a whole year.

Lived with a total nutjob in Belgium who seemed to just resent me living there. I disliked her so much that I just stayed in my room almost all the time, but she huffed and puffed if I wanted to do anything in the flat, like wash my clothes or watch TV. She made me feel like I was in her way all the time. Once she complained that I put the bathroom light on at about midnight (when I got in) to brush my teeth because the light shone into her room. She actually suggested that I brushed my teeth in the dark. She also used to put the keys in the lock at night and lock me out, then complain when I rang the doorbell to get back in and she had to get up. Total fcking nutcase. She was black and had some major issues with that and she resented me for being white. I wasn't allowed to complain about anything because I should have felt lucky that I was white. Anything I had, she had worse. Once I put something on Facebook about having a bad day and being exhausted (I have a chronic illness and most of my friends know that) and she wrote a really bitchy comment on it. Yet when she had a cold, it was the end of the world. I really hope she's having a miserable life and living with someone as rude and nasty as she is, the horrible bitch.