Are the gardai beating the sh1t out of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Biggins wrote: »
    Gawd, this regurgitated topic yet again for the umpteenth time.
    What the hell happened to originality in this country? Christ!

People will always find something to complain and generalise about, if not the church then the Gardai or the economy or politicians etc.

It really gets tedious though.

Tehachapi wrote: »
    I hope so too, that's not the intention anyway. I actually have a lot of respect for the gardai and the work they do given their resources. But if there's a few bad apples participating in a culture of illegally beating people up - they should be exposed, fired and never allowed work with the public again.

I agree but you and I both know these threads only go one way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

If the lads and ladies in blue are kicking the crap out of a durt burd then no harm done as long as they are not caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Show Time wrote: »
    If the lads and ladies in blue are kicking the crap out of a durt burd then no harm done as long as they are not caught.

Better yet is collective responsibility meaning that none are responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

reminds me of the student protests last year, with the gardai assaulting peaceful protesters because they were unlucky enough to be between the Gardai and the idiots from Eirigi.
    no wonder there's no protests of any substance in this country, because if you try to exercise your democratic right you get a battering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Do we really need another Garda bashing thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

personally I think the gardai aren't doing enough bashing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

People will always find something to complain and generalise about, if not the church then the Gardai or the economy or politicians etc.

It really gets tedious though.

Then don't read them! Surely if only innovative, exciting, ground-breaking threads were allowed open, boards.ie would lose around 95% of it's content :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

super-rush wrote: »
    4 people in a year. Its an epidemic Joe.

make sure you don't get arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

El Siglo wrote: »
    If they are beating up people, fair play
    Ohmigod ur *so* cool!
    Do we really need another Garda bashing thread?

Do Gardaí really need to be bashing people?

Any civilian can kick the crap out of someone for breaking the law, professional law enforcers are trained to and paid to know better. Anything less is not acceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 n1mr0d

Brilliant. Sure all them children the priests molested were usually from 'women of low repute' and 'bad families' so no harm done there either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

mikemac wrote: »
    Oh I know the kind of bias that goes on over on Indymedia

I'm just giving an example to the OP

In my opinion the gardaí, have no case to answer, they found him unconcious and rushed him to hospital

And this is nonsense from the family. People have committed suicide and people around them are shocked and never expected it.

The coroner made a verdict and that's fine by me.
    Just it was a long and contentious case and a good example for the thread, that's all

Apologies, I didn't read your post thoroughly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I flicked on to breakingnews.ie and saw that story and thought the exact same as you op - there seems to be awful increase lately in the amount of people dying in police custody

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Then don't read them! Surely if only innovative, exciting, ground-breaking threads were allowed open, boards.ie would lose around 95% of it's content :pac:
    ...But be damn bit more interesting instead of the same old, same old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

amacachi wrote: »
    Better yet is collective responsibility meaning that none are responsible.
    All some of the little sh**s walking the streets need is a good proper hiding, Enough of a one to make them think twice before they step out of line again.

We should go ahead and do that but I'm sure there's a few hundred thousand people around the country who'd be happy to do it for free, no need to pay people and also give them immunity to act out their fetishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭animan

Tbh I think i'd prefer a hiding than getting a criminal record. For something small of course. Bruises go away a criminal record doesn't. Also I could just tell my mammy I was in a fight not up to divilment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Biggins wrote: »
    Gawd, this regurgitated topic yet again for the umpteenth time.
    What the hell happened to originality in this country? Christ!

Your posts complaining about the lack of originality in threads is, ironically, becoming quite repetitive and unoriginal.

It's obviously a bullcrap thread, based on zero evidence and devoid of logic.. but I don't remember ever seeing a thread about this before. If you don't like a topic either ignore it or report it as an attempt at flame-baiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

No, what they need is proper sentencing. If someone shows up in court with 124 previous convictions - give them 10 years mandatory, no bs suspended sentences. People criticize the USA for it's high prison population, but having lived there I can tell you there are a LOT less criminals walking the streets than here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...If you don't like a topic either ignore it or report it as an attempt at flame-baiting.
    You right - I will.
    ...It's obviously a bullcrap thread, based on zero evidence and devoid of logic...
    I agree there too.

People criticize the USA for it's high prison population, but having lived there I can tell you there are a LOT less criminals walking the streets than here.

4 times higher intentional homicide rate than here as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

I have found that the gardai are very aggressive and often unhelpful. Truly useless police force and I have never been in trouble for anything not so much as a parking ticket.

deisedave wrote: »
    I have found that the gardai are very aggressive and often unhelpful. Truly useless police force and I have never been in trouble for anything not so much as a parking ticket.

If you have never had dealings with them how can you possibly know this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

It really depends on the guard, I've seen some guards who appeared to be reluctant to get physical unless it was needed, others that just didn't look bothered and then I've seen some that just appear to want to beat up virtually anyone that they can get away with assaulting.

I have only ever had one incident with the Gardai. During this incident I was lied to and told they had me on cctv doing this incident, Really aggressively threatened and intimidated, they wore jackets to hide there numbers and told me if i asked them for there numbers once more " I would be sorry". Now I am no angel but I have never came to the attention of the Gardai ever so I think its unfair the way I was treated and apparently it is not uncommon. I really have no faith in our police force and I feel when in the UK there force is much better and more polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

You don't have to be in trouble with the Gardaí to have dealings with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭davetherave

Jess16 wrote: »
    Do Gardaí really need to be bashing people?

Do you have proof that the Gardaí are actually bashing people?? That is a pretty big accusation.... :rolleyes:

I have only ever had one incident with the Gardai. During this incident I was lied to and told they had me on cctv doing this incident, Really aggressively threatened and intimidated, they wore jackets to hide there numbers and told me if i asked them for there numbers once more " I would be sorry". Now I am no angel but I have never came to the attention of the Gardai ever so I think its unfair the way I was treated and apparently it is not uncommon. I really have no faith in our police force and I feel when in the UK there force is much better and more polite.

That was one incedent, you can't assume its representative of them as a whole.

And when they found the person who actually did the incident in question, I got no apology and when I rang up the next morning to complain I was told there was no incident of this on record:rolleyes:

Jess16 wrote: »
    You don't have to be in trouble with the Gardaí to have dealings with them

That's true, yes.