What can you cook best?

• 15-07-2011 12:23PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

A bit self explanatory tbh but whats your piece de resistance? What would you make if you had but 1 meal to show off with.

For me its 2 rather simple foods, Ya could barely call them dishes that I have off to a fine art. I've just had one: Poached eggs with bacon on toast. Little drop of vinegar in the water just as its boiling, give it a stir, drop the eggs in and leave on the heat for about a minute. Turn off the heat and let them finish in the heat of the water for 2.5mins or so. They should be just at that lovely point between completely runny and starting to set. Delicious.

And ya cant bate a nice steak. For me it's a nice bit of Angus Sirloin. Rub it with olive oil on both sides and season with a bit of salt and pepper. Into a nice hot pan. 3 mins each side. Take it off. Wrap in tinfoil and fry up a few shallots and chestnut mushrooms. Simple and delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Frozen pizza. I read the back of the box and put the pizza in the oven on the gas mark for the advised time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I make a mean lasagne. All from scratch too.. I even bought a yoke for making my own pasta sheets :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Home made chips. don't know how or why but my gf reckons they are a gift from god. I think they are normal but everyone I give them to say they are amazing so that would be mine

chicken stir fry i suppose, with mixed spices or with homemade curry sauce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Pasta Carbonara

or my peppered steak with creamed potatoes and pea jus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

A mixed grill of bacon ,sausage ,tomatoes ,mushroom,beans,egg ,hash brown.

A sunday roast of either chicken ,lamb or beef .

Pasta and mixed salad dish's .

Egg or cheese sandwich with salad ,onions ,tomatoes is a favorite to .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I make a nice chicken tikka masala from scratch (it always gets me out of the doghouse as well), make a nice lasagne as well, its not a patch on me ma's but she doesnt use boards!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I make a mean lasagne. All from scratch too.. I even bought a yoke for making my own pasta sheets :cool:

Best lasagne I have ever had was made from the recipe on the back of the Roma lasagne sheet pack. Whenever I have made it for friends they have raved about, it so it has become a personal favourite. Made from scratch too, well, not the pasta.

Made a very simple dish of chicken thighs, garlic, lemon, red onion and rosemary the other day. Just bunged it all in the oven and it came out delicious. Will be making that again. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Mexican beef casserole with red peppers. Also make a mean mac cheese:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Boiled eggs and toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Only recently started cooking myself. Someone was kind enough to give me a lil push in the right direction and encouragement/pointers. Surprising easy in the end, always assumed cooking was something I wouldn't be capable of.
    Anyway! I personally think I make a mean pasta carbonara dish. A lil dash of wine into it too for good measure (why not!)
    Making me hungry now even thinking of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Roast Chicken with Potatoes and Carrots or Spaghetti with meat sauce for savory and generally pretty good at cakes and sweets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Shepherd's pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

My signature dishes are Eggs Benedict with homemade hollandaise, fillet steak baguettes with paprika and caramelised onions and butterscotch crepes with vanilla cream. I'm officially hungry :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

dinner wise, I make a mean chicken caesar salad.

My best food though is my carrot cake.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Pot Noodles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

- Chicken Carbonara and Garlic Bread
    - I make a pretty good stir fry, chicken and black bean sauce
    - Quiche
    - Banoffi Pie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Beans on toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Not a great cook anymore but I must have been really good when I was younger cos I have loads of memories of me Ma saying to me, "Jaysus son, you made some meal of that!!!" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

coco_lola wrote: »
    - Banoffi Pie
    I wanted banoffee the other night but had no condensed milk so what I used instead was butterscotch angel delight. It was lovely and made it much lighter and I'd contemplate not going back to the toffee at all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I cook a mean roast chicken, but my best dish is fish pie. I do a killer fish pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Favourites that friends ask for again and again...

Pepper Brandy (or sometimes good quality whiskey) and cream sauce.
    Served with steak, this is an artery closer and can be a fire hazzard (there are scorch marks around the cooker area from all that high flame reducing) but it is soooo good! (serve with good red wine)

Satay Sauce
    The obscene amount of chillies in this are hot, but I need to keep my cool as there are so many ingredients to remember! Served either as a sauce based dish or else as chicken satay skewers. (best served with beer)

Traditional English Roast
    Good quality beef, goosefat roast potatoes and all the vegetables, my Sunday roast is a firm favourite with friends as I have been blessed with luck when it comes to Yorkshire Pudding making. (serve with heavy claret)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Jess16 wrote: »
    My signature dishes are Eggs Benedict with homemade hollandaise, fillet steak baguettes with paprika and caramelised onions and butterscotch crepes with vanilla cream. I'm officially hungry :pac:

My favourite of favourites... can never get anyone to do it as I am the only one I know who makes hollandaise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Smoking hot pan with a nice thick fillet steak well seasoned on both sides. 2 minutes on either side and leave it rest. Shot of brandy into the pan - stand back - some crushed peppercorns, a glug of cream.... perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I don't cook; I'm cooked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Seafood pasta in a creamy white wine sauce.

And I do a great roast chicken and stuffing dinner. Or honey and mustard glazed ham.

And I'm really good at soups, french onion, potato & leek, cauliflower & brocolli.

And apple tart, with apples from the garden and pastry made from scratch.

I'm a good cook but I hate the cleaning up afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

kylith wrote: »
    I cook a mean roast chicken, but my best dish is fish pie. I do a killer fish pie.

Is it made with Piranhas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Éclairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I make a good halloumi, sweet potato and rocket salad - I make the dressing too (big achievement for an average cook like me).

I also make a really cool chocolate log cabin that never fails to impress. It takes about 12 hours to make and contains about 10,000 calories but it'd last you most of Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

blaze1 wrote: »
    I make a nice chicken tikka masala from scratch (it always gets me out of the doghouse as well), make a nice lasagne as well, its not a patch on me ma's but she doesnt use boards!!

lads can i move in with ye???:D