Walking past strangers - Protocol

• 12-07-2011 10:34AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

You're out having a walk, walking the dog whatever on a country road or in a park..you approach a stranger walking the other way do you say......

Hello, Hi, How ya, Hows the going or do you nod your head in they're direction or are you one of those cold cards who look straight ahead not registering a look or a word.

what do you do.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Just smile, say howya doing? and keep going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I live in a fairly quiet suburb so would generally say hello to most people who walk by. Wouldn't do it anywhere else though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

I just nod the head,you know you are no longer a teen scrote and old people have accepted you when they look you in the eye and say hello:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Just walk on by, same way when I sit on a bus/train I don't make conversation with somebody I don't know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Look whos talking

Smile at them but walk a little faster :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

I usually just smile, wait to see what they do and then do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

Take my hand out of my pockets and ask them if my fingers smell of cheese......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

kfallon wrote: »
    I don't make conversation with somebody I don't know!

Forever alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I usually go for the full on embrace and kiss on both cheeks. The I’ll hold their face up close to mine and peer meaningfully into their eyes for a few seconds in silence before continuing on my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Strangers are grand. It gets tricky when you're walking by someone who you think you kind of know but you're not sure how well they know you.

Jaysus the awkwardness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Dermo wrote: »
    Forever alone

You make conversation with everyone you walk past?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I think the whole look straight ahead not registering a look or a word thingy is getting more common a sign that we're getting less friendly as a nation.

I mean i just hate it when you say hello to someone and they just walk bye without so much as a nod ggggrrrrr!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Bit of a shock to the system when you return to your local town after living in a large city for a while and every Tom, Dick and Harry is saying Hello as they walk past you on the street. Brought a smile to my face though as I usually walk around with an angry get the feck out of my way head on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    You make conversation with everyone you walk past?!

No, but I do talk to some people I don't know. I use it as a way of meeting new people and building friendships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

fryup wrote: »
    You're out having a walk, walking the dog whatever on a country road or in a park..you approach a stranger walking the other way do you say......

Hello, Hi, How ya, Hows the going or do you nod your head in they're direction or are you one of those cold cards who look straight ahead not registering a look or a word.

what do you do.....

AHOW!!!!!

Or

SQUAW!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

*Nod* "How's things?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I scream, spray them with mace then run off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I usually go for the full on embrace and kiss on both cheeks. The I’ll hold their face up close to mine and peer meaningfully into their eyes for a few seconds in silence before continuing on my way.

are you David Norris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

This is a very Irish thing. When I first moved here to Finland, I'd often be walking on a small forest path between the shopping centre and where we lived at the time. I'd always say hello or give them a nod like I always did when living in Ireland. The looks that I got from people thinking I was completely away in the head for actually acknowledging that they existed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Apart from the country/city thing, it depends on county as well. Some are far more open to it than others. For example, you cant go anywhere in wexford without people saying "howsa goin", while in waterford you might get a nod but more usually get ignored. :D

I usually see if they're making eye contact on the approach, if not then I just do the same. If they are, then I make this weird closed mouth smile, raise my eyebrows fully and say something slightly incoherent, often inaudibly like "Hower....ello"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A nod and a how'r'ya/bonjour/hello, how's it going. In Ireland, England, France, and the USA.

In France most people give a response. In England, the same.

The only place I don't do as much whilst walking around the one street on Belfast city (where Auntie Annies and the cinema is located). I get a bad vibe, with people ignoring everyone else. Do it everywhere else (in both sections of the community), and in/near the metal pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I nod in places like dublin, in smaller towns i say hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Depends where I am. Say hello in some places, not in others depending on the vibe of the area I'm in. Have gotten a few funny looks in Dublin for it, but some places down the country it would be second nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

Dont nod at a junkie. He'll come over and try to get a euro for a hostel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Depends on how I'm feeling and what they're doing. For example, if they're walking with the head down and iPod on I'm not going to attempt to do anything to gain their attention. But if they're walking along, make eye contact I might smile, nod, say "Hi", "Hello" or on the very rare occasion "How's it going?". It's just a nice, friendly thing to do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

i say hello then blast um with p*ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I just blatently ignore them - I didn't go for a walk so I could start talking to some weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I nod or smile at women, I cup the men's balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Teddy455

I say Howya Keeeed!(They usually give me some strange look.) and then take a water balloon out of my ass pocket and chivalrously discard it in to the back of there head and I scatter as quick as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭robman60

I always just say "hiya" in a kind of half-hearted way. When I get no reply I wonder if I'm even heard!