Oxegen/Witness Drug Seizures/Offences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Me brother got caught with Gary Abletts and received a fine.. one of me other mates got reefed with some smoke.

Sometimes you can be lucky and they just take it off you, but I suspect some of the coppers working the concerts would hold the views some of the less informed posters here would and just love to stick it to the "druggies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

That is such an urban legend. When I was a mad drug user back in the day, other drugs were never pushed on me, not once, not ever. As for special prices, maybe I went to the wrong dealers.

I’ve been a daily weed smoker for about 15 years now – I’ve bought weed in most countries in Europe and many cities in Ireland and know every drug dealer in my area. Not once have I been ‘pushed’ drugs. I’ve went looking for others drugs, but people seriously need to start realising this whole gateway thing is a myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

RichieC wrote: »
    Me brother got caught with Gary Abletts and received a fine.. one of me other mates got reefed with some smoke.

Sometimes you can be lucky and they just take it off you, but I suspect some of the coppers working the concerts would hold the views some of the less informed posters here would and just love to stick it to the "druggies"
    some of the guards at those things are druggies and it's nothing more than a lucky dip for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Naikon wrote: »
    These drug laws are FAR too draconian. Dealing large amounts - maybe, but smoking a few harmless cannabis joints or whatever - no. It's beyond fcuking stupid imo.

Alcohol is FAR worse when you compare long term abuse in comparison to something like cannabis. Don't see too many joint smokers smashing up Temple Bar of a saturday night either.

But you could never teach the sheep here that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

ScumLord wrote: »
    some of the guards at those things are druggies and it's nothing more than a lucky dip for them.

Call me crazy but I'd rather be nabbed by them than the pious arsewipes like the anti fun brigade here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I think what concerns the law makers in Ireland is that cannabis is considered a gateway drug to other drugs. When people go to secure a hash deal often ( I am told ) the seller or pusher might have more illicit drugs to sell e.g. cocaine, ecstasy tablets LSD or even smack but to name few. And pushers being pushers would offer some fantastic bargins just to get the user started ( hooked ) on something new.
    Doesn't really happen like that.

Closest I've seen is maybe a dealer mentioning that he might have pills next week or whatever, but nothing's ever "pushed".

Nice to see the bi-weekly drug thread in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I’ve been a daily weed smoker for about 15 years now – I’ve bought weed in most countries in Europe and many cities in Ireland and know every drug dealer in my area. Not once have I been ‘pushed’ drugs. I’ve went looking for others drugs, but people seriously need to start realising this whole gateway thing is a myth.

Some very intresting facts in here if you could be bothered to read it http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gateway_drug_theory

eg
    In 2006, the Karolinska Institute in Sweden used twelve rats to examine how adolescent use of cannabis affects subsequent abuse of other illicit drugs. The study gave six of the twelve "teenage" (28–49 days old, or 6.6–10.4 in human years) rats a small dose of THC, reportedly equivalent to one cannabis joint smoked by a human, every three days. The rats were allowed to self-administer heroin by pushing a lever and the study found the rats given THC took larger doses of heroin (but no such effect was found for amphetamines).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

DUDE! I want to party with those mice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

ap1986 wrote: »
    serves you right.a drug is a drug no matter what form it is.There were 90 people arrested in oxegen this year will people ever realise you dont need drugs to have a good time.FYI yes i did attend oxegen and had a fantastic time....without drugs

*bashes bible*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Some very intresting stuff here if you could be bothered to read it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gateway_drug_theory

I don't need theories or studies, I did my own. It was called growing up and living as a young un.

Of all my friends who took drugs, and there were many. None went on to develop addictions to hard drugs. Some of them even have kids now and hold down jobs.

Funnily enough, 2 guys I went to school with are now out and out alco's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

So then that test was carried out on monkeys to make it more accurate, then a study of humans was done to show a definite link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

im just sayin there was a heineken bar down there because alcohol is legal.drugs aint.boom!!!!!!

So basically you are backtracking on your original statement and you now feel a drug is not a drug?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

RichieC wrote: »
    Call me crazy but I'd rather be nabbed by them than the pious arsewipes like the anti fun brigade here :)

Is hypocrisy at its finest, Lots of the Anti Fun Brigade in this country are regular church goers so beat them at their own game and respond how they have supported the biggest organised criminal gang in this country in its abuse and cover up of heinous crimes perpetrated against innocent children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Another drug thread. Fantastic. Just to rush through the next 5 million pages on this topic here you go -

WEED IS A GATEWAY DRUG!!!

Alcohol is far more dangerous..

I'm stoned right now!

You don't need drugs to have fun!

Oxegen is a load of ****e!!

Blast the DS with pish!!

I've tried everything from meth to licking toads and weed is a bitches drug anyway!

Rabble rabble rabble!!!!

For the sake of staying on topic, the first time I went to Oxegen/ Witness when I was younger (*sniff*), was caught by a guard with a toot and all he did was ask if I had more on me, I said no (whilst shitting myself), he said "grand so, keep a lid on it" and walked off with hands in his pockets. Ha, guess I was lucky but I never knew they were so strict up there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Lumbo wrote: »
    Did I punch you in the face when you tried to pull that trick at EP 05?
    Possibly. I don't really remember as I was washing-machined on other people's drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

lando griffin, wikipedia?

not the most reliable source is it. i am sure there are many pages on wikipedia contradicting each other on the subject of drugs. i see where you are coming from but i have to disagree. i dont feel that cannabis is a gateway drug i just feel that the people that are willing to take hard drugs are most likely also willing to take cannabis.i do not consider there to be a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

NoDice wrote: »
    Another drug thread. Fantastic. Just to rush through the next 5 million pages on this topic here you go -

WEED IS A GATEWAY DRUG!!!

Alcohol is far more dangerous..

I'm stoned right now!

You don't need drugs to have fun!

Oxegen is a load of ****e!!

Blast the DS with pish!!

I've tried everything from meth to licking toads and weed is a bitches drug anyway!

Rabble rabble rabble!!!!

For the sake of staying on topic, the first time I went to Oxegen/ Witness when I was younger (*sniff*), was caught by a guard with a toot and all he did was ask if I had more on me, I said no (whilst shitting myself), he said "grand so, keep a lid on it" and walked off with hands in his pockets. Ha, guess I was lucky but I never knew they were so strict up there now.

You forgot "All of Ireland's economic woes will be over the second drugs are made legal and are taxed"

(I'm actually for legalisation, decriminalising etc but too many people have the above view about what will happen)

charlemont wrote: »
    Is hypocrisy at its finest, Lots of the Anti Fun Brigade in this country are regular church goers so beat them at their own game and respond how they have supported the biggest organised criminal gang in this country in its abuse and cover up of heinous crimes perpetrated against innocent children.

Not to drag this off topic but that's complete nonsense.

I buy drugs off a drug dealer, I am supporting criminal behaviour.

My Mother goes to mass on a Sunday is not supporting a Paedophile ring. well, not knowingly any way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

you dont need drugs to have a good time.

Eh, yes you do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Dermo wrote: »
    You forgot "All of Ireland's economic woes will be over the second drugs are made legal and are taxed"

(I'm actually for legalisation, decriminalising etc but too many people have the above view about what will happen)

How silly of me. Thank you good sir. I'm tempted to edit the post too now. Ha ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I don't need theories or studies, I did my own. It was called growing up and living as a young un.

Of all my friends who took drugs, and there were many. None went on to develop addictions to hard drugs. Some of them even have kids now and hold down jobs.

Funnily enough, 2 guys I went to school with are now out and out alco's.

Ah now, stop talkin' sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

A friend of mine was nabbed with a half ounce of weed at Oxegen last year, and subsequently ended up in Naas court as a result.

From the cases heard before him on the day - all for minor possession - my friend knew the judge was an absolute Nazi.The Garda who'd arrested him obviously knew this as when it was my mate's turn to be heard, the cop said that he'd been found with €5 of cannabis on his person ( a half ounce is worth over €100). The judge gave him some long. authoritarian spiel about the perils of drug use, ending with the wise words (and I quote almost verbatim): "You may think it's cool to try pot for your first time at Oxegen (my mate had been smoking for over five years), but do you think it ends there? One day you're smoking a joint, the next you're round at Jono's barbecue and you're taking heroin!" He got landed with a heft €600 fine, but wasn't convicted.

Heroin ****ing barbecues? After hearing this, it no longer surprised me when I read about violent scumbags getting repeatedly slapped on the wrist and allowed to persistently reoffend. It scary to think how laughably out of touch with reality some of our adjudicators might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

The real question should be, how can you go to a festival and not take drugs?
    Imagine going to EP without pills.:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

mikom wrote: »
    Ah now, stop talkin' sense.

Sense shouldn't be brought into a topic about drugs. Doesn't make for such funny reading, then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Some very intresting facts in here if you could be bothered to read it http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gateway_drug_theory

eg
    In 2006, the Karolinska Institute in Sweden used twelve rats to examine how adolescent use of cannabis affects subsequent abuse of other illicit drugs. The study gave six of the twelve "teenage" (28–49 days old, or 6.6–10.4 in human years) rats a small dose of THC, reportedly equivalent to one cannabis joint smoked by a human, every three days. The rats were allowed to self-administer heroin by pushing a lever and the study found the rats given THC took larger doses of heroin (but no such effect was found for amphetamines).
    I've heard of similar results with tobacco. It was claimed tobbacco causes a permanent change in your brains chemistry that makes you more susceptible to addiction not just trying other drugs.

I don't see how that test really proves anything, rats who had been introduced to drugs earlier took more drugs than the rats that where making their début on Heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

When people go to secure a hash deal often ( I am told ) the seller or pusher might have more illicit drugs to sell e.g. cocaine, ecstasy tablets LSD or even smack but to name few. [/FONT]
    Told by whom? LSD is about as non-addictive as a psychoactive gets. You're just naming arbitrary illegal substances without actually knowing what they do, aren't you?

The real question should be, how can you go to a festival and not take drugs?
    Imagine going to EP without pills.:eek::eek:

Wha?? They take pills at EP?

Going this year, will have to keep my eyes *WIDE* open for that kind of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

im just sayin there was a heineken bar down there because alcohol is legal.drugs aint.boom!!!!!!

In no way did that comment necessitate a "boom". We hereby request that you retract the "boom" immediately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭lazlo

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Told by whom? LSD is about as non-addictive as a psychoactive gets. You're just naming arbitrary illegal substances without actually knowing what they do, aren't you?

I'm hooked on LSD. I just can't get enough... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Fremen wrote: »
    In no way did that comment necessitate a "boom". We hereby request that you retract the "boom" immediately.
    In fairness, the "boom" is the least ridiculous of that poster's contributions to this particular thread.