Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Tonight was fine Eamonn. Legs were sore but was expecting that.
    3.54 on a clammy evening with lots of rain. Ran with tom enright for 18 miles until he needed the bog. Ran between runners after that to the finish. Knee is in good nick. Course is undulating enough but not hard.
    Winner first night mick rice at a jog 2.58:-)
    1 dropout already from the 5in5. It never ceases to amaze me when people do there sort of races and go out to fast at the start. Loads of that tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Good man, a big feat. Keep up the good work, and all the best for the rest of them.

PS Well done on the 100km run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    1 dropout already from the 5in5. It never ceases to amaze me when people do there sort of races and go out to fast at the start. Loads of that tonight.

Well done yesterday and best of luck for the rest of them. And the funny thing about the above is these guys are the ones that do loads and loads of marathons. You'd think they'd learn to pace themselves.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Well done yesterday and best of luck for the rest of them. And the funny thing about the above is these guys are the ones that do loads and loads of marathons. You'd think they'd learn to pace themselves.
    myself and tom started at 8.45 pace and were last for a few miles. Its amazing to be honest. Lots of there are doing 1 or 2 fair enough. Loads doing the 5 though and finished in bits. Does not bode well for some of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

everyone hold off on the praise till he does the five :)

2 down 3 to go:-)
    tonight was weird in some ways. Lost my amigo tom in the first mile. Luckily Paul brunnock who i ran 35 miles with in portumna fancied 9 min mile pace.
    Rain rain and more rain. First 2 laps grand, just a bottle of lucozade and rice cakes each lap. 3rd lap started to feel a little tired but nothing that was going to derail me. 4th lap legs are in faboulous condition, cant ask any more of them. Laps were hovering around 9 min miles and we were having good crack. A guy called Steve ran with us the whole race but started to suffer very late on so as you often see in there sort of races we slowed to ease his pain. 3 of us crossed the line together in Hollywood fashion. Very very tough out there tonight. Happy with 3.57:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Well done, good luck with number 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭ger664

Enjoyed the first lap with you tonight best of luck for the other 3.

Yeah well done on the increased pace. Good running on a hard night.

3 down and 2 to go. Getting stronger. 3.49 big negative split. Tried to apdat the guy who is in the lead for best average in the 5in5. Kinda worked, put 7 mins on him in the last lap. Last 10k in under 50 mins. Garmin out of charge so ken paced me. He was strong tonight. Im in second place now but my right ankle is in bits. We will you have to see how it is in the morning.

Different course today. Very very hot, well over 20 degrees. Ankle is like a baloon. Set off with the average leader in the 5in5 and was drinking 1 litre plus per lap but was sweating profusly. Started to creak at 16 miles and the 2 boys i was running with put 2 mins on me. They had dropped their pace and it was 2 tastey for me. Struggled till the end of 3rd lap. Took the kitchen sink. 2 gels, 2 salt tablets, 2 pain killers and 1 litre of energy drink. Caught the average leader and stuck about 2 mins on him i think. Finished strong for 3.53 in bad conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Different course today. Very very hot, well over 20 degrees. Ankle is like a baloon. Set off with the average leader in the 5in5 and was drinking 1 litre plus per lap but was sweating profusly. Started to creak at 16 miles and the 2 boys i was running with put 2 mins on me. They had dropped their pace and it was 2 tastey for me. Struggled till the end of 3rd lap. Took the kitchen sink. 2 gels, 2 salt tablets, 2 pain killers and 1 litre of energy drink. Caught the average leader and stuck about 2 mins on him i think. Finished strong for 3.53 in bad conditions.

Jesus man, you're a machine only 12ish hours after you're last one :eek:. How far behind the average leader are you now?

About 9 mins now i think. In some ways its **** all but if he is feeling good Ive no chance of beating him by that much.
    Haha i forgot to say i was twisted last night. Had about 10 pints. Drinking till 3 in the morning:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Haha i forgot to say i was twisted last night. Had about 10 pints. Drinking till 3 in the morning:-)
    We work hard, we play hard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Fair play Frank... Serious achievement... Keep her lit.... And then when ur finished take a bloody break for a while and recharge ur batteries ;)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

not sure if ill me online for the next few days - so hope the last one goes well buddy! Savage stuff.

Decided to take it handy from the start when the overall leader took off like a freight train. 3.36 he ran, if is am absolute animal. Ill do a report about all the races when i get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Well done Frank, Great achievement. Get yourself sorted for Belfast now. Don't fancy giving you a piggy back around the track.

About 50/50 for belfast now probably now bud. Ankle is like a baloon.
    If i can get there i will, count on it.

Sixmlebridge 5in5

Had decided to do this about 6 months ago when tom enright had told me they were organising it. How hard can 5 marathon in 5 days be?. Sure i was doing 2 or 3 long runs some weeks traiining for conn ultra and later for the 100k, so i didnt think this would be much of a stretch. The 100k in portumna absolutly destroyed me and gave me a bad left knee. 2 sessions with the physio and 9 days rest was my only hope to be ready for this but i didnt think it was looking good.

Arrived down on the wednesday only 90 mins before the first race. Booked into the b and b and went to get some supplies. My strategy for this race would be 9 min miles and see how the knee felt. 4 bottles of lucozade and 4 gels would be consumed food wise but i didnt forsee any major problems unless the knee acted up. Got around to the registration and loads of hellos a bit of banter and a couple of speeches and we were at the starting line. Looking around i could see mick rice and a few other speedy looking people but i would have my own strategy and would not be influenced by fast starters. The course was 4 x 10.55k laps that passed your bag every lap so it was handy. This and the next 2 would be 6pm start so i decided to wear and illumonus yellow bib.

We got going and boom myself and tom enright who were both chasing 5 sub 4s were in last place. Never ceases to amaze me how many people go out way to fast. I knew i would be seeing most before the end and hoped mick wouldnt lap me tbh. We settled in and it was pretty uneventful tbh. Lots of banter and i was getting a feel for the course. Because there was no marshalls at the turns i was trying to get it down in case i was running on my own later. Myself and tom ran together for about 18 miles when he needed to bog and i was to far ahead of him for us to reunite so on the last 10k lap i decided to speed up a little bit as i was fairly hungry at this stage. Caught person after person who urged me to go on because they were in bad shape. All the fast starters felling the pain at this stage. I got a fair bit of leg soreness in the last 10.5k but i knew this was down to the 100k in portumna more than anything else so it didnt worry me. Race finished in 3.54 and i was happy enough. Mick rice 2.58 (jesus). Had a good bit of grub and 1 pint and went to bed. Got a half decent sleep and woke at 10 for my breakfast. Nice fry and back to bed. Back up at 2pm. Couldnt have asked for better prep for that night race.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98436993

6pm flew around and de ja vous we were at the starting line but this time with a much smaller filed of about 12 people. The novelty had worn off and we were getting down to business. There was actually a few drop outs on the first night. Myself and tom had agreed to go for another sub 4 with my running mate for 35 miles in portumna paul brunnock who was down for this race only (Didnt pan out that way). We got to the first corner and the fast starters of the first night were gone and everyone settled in which was nice to see. Got chatting to paul and he was asking how the legs felt after last night. Grand i said, then i realised where is tom. Dropped off the face of the earth. We had a nice little group of 4 for the first lap and were ticking along at 9 min miles. Myself, paul a guy called steve and ger664 of of boards. I realised after the first lap i had forgtten my gels but had 4 x 500ml of lucozade so wasnt to bothered. How much could it effect me? Ger headed off after the first lap to pursue 8 min miles till the end (fair play) so we were down to 3 I realsied approaching the last k in the second lap i felt absolutly ****. Coudnt put my finger on it but i felt really bad. The third chap in the group was fairly quiet and there wasnt much banter. My breathing became a bit laboured and i thought i was in trouble. I needed more energy than the lucozade could provide if i was going to get in under 4 hours. The weather was absolutly brutal at this stage also. Torrential rain that continued for the whole race. I dug in my bag at half way for something to eat. I had 3 chocolate rice cakes so i took them with me and eat them over the next mile. Felt even worse after eating them to be honest. The legs were hurting kinda bad at this stage so it was into survival mode. The third lap went by and drank 4 cups of powerade and grabbed my last bottle of lucozade. I ticked the miles of and realised after about 22 miles the third guy in out group was hanging on by a thread. At this stage i knew i was ok for 4 hours and i had recovered a little so we slowed a little for him to get to the end with us. We crossed at 3.57 and i had to lay on the ground. Very bad sign of things to come i thought. For the first time i was worried about the next days race. I was depleted of energy. I ate about 15 slices of cake at the finish and was still hungry. I had gotten my nutrition all wrong. Mistake i would not make again.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98436980

Friday rolled around and i got another decent sleep that night, woke for my breakfast and went back to bed in the afternoon for a nap. Ken byrne was down for tonights race and just as well as i forgot the cradle of my garmin so it was out of power. I had something to eat an hour before the race and packed my gels safely. Didnt want a repeat of last nights maddness. Afew more peole down for this one. Myself ken and dennis looney decided on 9 min miles or so i thought. We set off with iveagh jameson just behind us. He had the fastest average time in the first 2 races and i thought if i could keep him behind me it would be nice. We got a mile in and i thought, jesus this is a bit tastier than 9 min miles. My right ankle was killing me. No bother from it even at the end of last nights race. I thought sure ill run it off. Just curious i asked for a mile 1 split. 8.3x i was told. Ahh ffs lads i said to much laughter. Ok we will slow down. Seocnd mile split more of the same and im doing my nut at the lads. I decide to say adios as the lads are as fresh as a daisy and this is the pace they will maintain i reckon. I dropped back to the next little group which contained iveagh and connor. Ran a few miles with the lads who are on 9 min mile pace. Bit of banter and hellos ect... and we get about 6 miles in and the lads inform me the last lap was 9.22 and i thought jesus from 1 extreme to the other. Dennis and ken had gotten about 90 secs ahead of me at this stage but i made a desision to catch them. For the first time of the week i would see how the legs would hold up with a bit of speed. Dropped the pace down to about 7.45 a mile and eat up the ground on the 2 lads. Took me 2 miles to catch them and actually felt great. Took 500ml of lucozade and a gel and we settled into a pace just under 9 min miles. Thats more like it i thought. The legs aside from the right ankle felt grand. Dennis bailed over a fence for an emergency pit stop and that was his race over with stomach problems shortly after. We completed another lap and started the last and ken was full of beans. I had taken gels at 5,10, 15 and took another at 20 and i had 1 ken gave me for 22.5. As we started the last lap iveagh pulled up beside us. Serious increse in pace from him but he didnt look the best coming into the lap start point. I had a quick pitstop at about 21 miles and ken was still full of energy and i said to him go for it. Do whatever pace you can maintain till the finish and if im in trouble ill let you know. The pace dropped below 8 min miles and i felt ok. Took last gel at 22.5 as planned and a couple of miles just over 8 mins and 1 at about 7.50 but felt ok. We came near the finish and ken got a small cramp but we kept up a decent pace and last lap 8.11. Finished in great nick. Not even breathing and not hungry, not even thirsty. Got the nutrition spot on today. We finished in 3.49. We stood there and waited for the other lads to finish. Iveagh finished in 3.55 i think and i hoped this was the start of things to come (haha). This is were the maddness starts. As ken was only down for one night it was party time. Quick shower and a bite to eat and drinking time. Suffice to say laws about drinking down the country are very lax and i had about 10 pints and we were drinking till 3 in the morning. Ken got a takeaway for 4 cans after about 15 pints. Off to bed and was just falling asleep when i heard a bang on my door. Ken wanting to know if i had a telly in my room. No **** off was my reply haha.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98437528

Got about 4 hours sleep and woke for breakfast at about 9. Had breakfast with ken and he headed off about 10. This was always going to be the hardest race of the week. First daytime race with a 14 hour turnaround and a small hangover. To make things worse it was on a different course which was about 10 miles away. The other start is 1 min from my b and b. I had bummed a lift which was collecting me at 11 for the 12 start. I had heard it was going to be a scorcher today and the night before the rain had gone and it was kinda clammy but nice. I thought that was a precursor to an absolute scorcher and i was right. Right time to adapt. I brought 4.5 litles of lucozade with me and 5 gels, ecectrolytes in the lucozaze and iburprofen. It was absolutly boiling when we got to the start. Sorted out my stuff near the lap turnaround and chatted to paul brunnock who had decdied to come back with his grilfriend to do the weekend double. Did the rounds and had the crack with alot of the 100 marathon club lads. All the kamikazees from wednesday night were back and having great crack. I had a little laugh to myself about the carnage i reckened would ensue. We started and myself and iveagh settled in at around 9 min miles pace just behind paul and another chap. Legs were screaming and the right ankle which was badly swollen at this stage. This course was out and back 4 times. I started with 500 ml of lucozade in each hand and i was milling throught it. I was sweating like ive have never sweated. We got to the end of the first lap. No real chance to get lost so happy days on that front. First lap over and i grabbed my 1 litre of luozade again. Drank 1 bottle in 1 go and kept the other for sipping. Near enough to half way intothe second lap and nearing the turnaround point i saw ruthanne sheehan and she looked badly dehydrated. Drenched in sweat and looking abit distressed. Before i knew it i had given her my 500ml of sports drink. She needed more than me. Struggled for the next 4 miles without anything tbh and was very relieved to get to half way and the changover point. Got my 1 litre and drank half. 2 slat tablets, 2 gels and 2 pain killers. Legs were creaking to be honest. If i could with stand the pain i would be ok for sub 4 and a decent finish but it was getting very very painful. The lads i was running with decided to incrase the pace about 17 miles and i wisely drop off the back of them. They slowly pulled away but not any major distance. This was the first real time of the week i would run solo. Head down ignore the pain keep it steady. Even though i was in a fair bit of pain i had increased the pace to keep the lads within a couple of hundred metre. Got to the chanover point and caught the 2 lads refueling. 2 gels , 1 litle lucozade and 2 salt tablets. We were strung out at this state. Paul 100 metres ahead of iveagh and me 100 metres back. It got so hot on the last lap my foot got stuck on the road. The tar was ****ing melting. Got to the turnaround point on last lap and all the gels, painkillers and hydration i had taken all kicked in together. Felf strong. Pulled leven with iveagh about 24 miles and passed him. 8.15 in mile 25-26 and 6.53 a mile for the last .3 of a mile.. Very very hard day. 8 drop outs from a field of about 20 that day. Straight back to sixmilebridge for grub and sleep. Spent most of that day sleeping. Had 5 pints throughout the day watching gaa ect.. in the boozer and went to bed around 1 am but had slept about 4 hours during the day
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98437510

Woke up on the last day and very little pain in the legs esp the right ankle. Had been taking anti inflamitries for 2 days which had done the trick i think. Had a very light breakfast of cereal and walked to the start an hour early. The weather was alot better. Still a small bit hot but nice and overcast with a small breeze keeping it mild. All sorts of tactics were running through my head. Had agreed to run with paul brunnock again just under 9 min miles. Even he was feeling bad at this stage:D If iveagh started slow and looked rough i had decided to empty the tank in every way. Risk a major blow up to get ahead of him. I needed about 12 min by my calculations. A few more new people down for the last one and more banter and craic. We started, iveagh started off like a freight train well under 8 min miles. Right plan b, finish in good nick and keep something for the 24 hours in belfast. Just under 4 hours would be the order of the day to get my origional goal. 4 x 500ml locozade with electrolytes and 4 gels would be consumed. A new problem raised its head during the first lap. Right knee was very painful. My right foot had swollen and i couldnt tie my lace on that shoe but it wasnt that painful. First lap it got a bit hot so ditched the running top and put on a very light comprssion top. We had company for the first lap or 2 but they dropped out steady enough and the kamikazees were out in force again. Most would be picked off throughout the day. To be honest aside from the right knee the last day was very uneventful. Halway in 1.58 bang on and i knew i was grand for sub 4. We coasted through the third lap and i got to the changover point and i went to grab my last 2 gels and last bottle of lucoazde and someone had moved my bag. Are ouy ****ing serious i thought. Noone has touched my **** all week and someone decides to move it on the very last lap of the last day. Found it eventually and grabbed my stuff. Took me a half a mile to catch paul and we laughed about it eventually but i didnt find it funny at the time i can asure you:D
    We were absolutly coasting at this stage and we dropped the pace to about 8.40 a mile and picked off the miles and the runners alike. Even lapped a few. I remember coming into the last mile and all i could think was, i cant wait to get home haha. 5 days is a long time to spend soemwhere and esp putting yourself throught the stuff we were doing. Should be some good photos of me finishing. Got to the finish and there is iveagh showered, feed and looking like he had just woke up from a relaxing nap. Hats off to him to be honest. He destroyed the field on the last day. We waited for everyone to finish and there was an award ceremony where every that did the 5in5 got 5 nice picture frames with medals in each 1. Each one had a different picture of the village. Nice momento to be honest. Got a lift the train station of paul brunnock and his girlfriend and got home within a couple of hours which was nice..
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98437499

Things i have learned from this are i can go alot further in alot more pain than i thought i could. I have better endurance that i though i had. I reckon i was good for 10in10 the way things stand. Weathed or not they would all be under 4 is up for debate but deffo another few at that pace in me.
    24 hour race in belfast now coming up. Hope i can get rid of whatever niggles i have and do myself justice. All out for 100 miles:D
    Last 3 races even the hot one on day 4 were negitive splits. 4 mins negitive split on day 3

Sixmlebridge 5in5

Had decided to do this about 6 months ago when tom enright had told me they were organising it. How hard can 5 marathon in 5 days be?. Sure i was doing 2 or 3 long runs some weeks traiining for conn ultra and later for the 100k, so i didnt think this would be much of a stretch. The 100k in portumna absolutly destroyed me and gave me a bad left knee. 2 sessions with the physio and 9 days rest was my only hope to be ready for this but i didnt think it was looking good.

Arrived down on the wednesday only 90 mins before the first race. Booked into the b and b and went to get some supplies. My strategy for this race would be 9 min miles and see how the knee felt. 4 bottles of lucozade and 4 gels would be consumed food wise but i didnt forsee any major problems unless the knee acted up. Got around to the registration and loads of hellos a bit of banter and a couple of speeches and we were at the starting line. Looking around i could see mick rice and a few other speedy looking people but i would have my own strategy and would not be influenced by fast starters. The course was 4 x 10.55k laps that passed your bag every lap so it was handy. This and the next 2 would be 6pm start so i decided to wear and illumonus yellow bib.

We got going and boom myself and tom enright who were both chasing 5 sub 4s were in last place. Never ceases to amaze me how many people go out way to fast. I knew i would be seeing most before the end and hoped mick wouldnt lap me tbh. We settled in and it was pretty uneventful tbh. Lots of banter and i was getting a feel for the course. Because there was no marshalls at the turns i was trying to get it down in case i was running on my own later. Myself and tom ran together for about 18 miles when he needed to bog and i was to far ahead of him for us to reunite so on the last 10k lap i decided to speed up a little bit as i was fairly hungry at this stage. Caught person after person who urged me to go on because they were in bad shape. All the fast starters felling the pain at this stage. I got a fair bit of leg soreness in the last 10.5k but i knew this was down to the 100k in portumna more than anything else so it didnt worry me. Race finished in 3.54 and i was happy enough. Mick rice 2.58 (jesus). Had a good bit of grub and 1 pint and went to bed. Got a half decent sleep and woke at 10 for my breakfast. Nice fry and back to bed. Back up at 2pm. Couldnt have asked for better prep for that night race.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98436993

6pm flew around and de ja vous we were at the starting line but this time with a much smaller filed of about 12 people. The novelty had worn off and we were getting down to business. There was actually a few drop outs on the first night. Myself and tom had agreed to go for another sub 4 with my running mate for 35 miles in portumna paul brunnock who was down for this race only (Didnt pan out that way). We got to the first corner and the fast starters of the first night were gone and everyone settled in which was nice to see. Got chatting to paul and he was asking how the legs felt after last night. Grand i said, then i realised where is tom. Dropped off the face of the earth. We had a nice little group of 4 for the first lap and were ticking along at 9 min miles. Myself, paul a guy called steve and ger664 of of boards. I realised after the first lap i had forgtten my gels but had 4 x 500ml of lucozade so wasnt to bothered. How much could it effect me? Ger headed off after the first lap to pursue 8 min miles till the end (fair play) so we were down to 3 I realsied approaching the last k in the second lap i felt absolutly ****. Coudnt put my finger on it but i felt really bad. The third chap in the group was fairly quiet and there wasnt much banter. My breathing became a bit laboured and i thought i was in trouble. I needed more energy than the lucozade could provide if i was going to get in under 4 hours. The weather was absolutly brutal at this stage also. Torrential rain that continued for the whole race. I dug in my bag at half way for something to eat. I had 3 chocolate rice cakes so i took them with me and eat them over the next mile. Felt even worse after eating them to be honest. The legs were hurting kinda bad at this stage so it was into survival mode. The third lap went by and drank 4 cups of powerade and grabbed my last bottle of lucozade. I ticked the miles of and realised after about 22 miles the third guy in out group was hanging on by a thread. At this stage i knew i was ok for 4 hours and i had recovered a little so we slowed a little for him to get to the end with us. We crossed at 3.57 and i had to lay on the ground. Very bad sign of things to come i thought. For the first time i was worried about the next days race. I was depleted of energy. I ate about 15 slices of cake at the finish and was still hungry. I had gotten my nutrition all wrong. Mistake i would not make again.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98436980

Friday rolled around and i got another decent sleep that night, woke for my breakfast and went back to bed in the afternoon for a nap. Ken byrne was down for tonights race and just as well as i forgot the cradle of my garmin so it was out of power. I had something to eat an hour before the race and packed my gels safely. Didnt want a repeat of last nights maddness. Afew more peole down for this one. Myself ken and dennis looney decided on 9 min miles or so i thought. We set off with iveagh jameson just behind us. He had the fastest average time in the first 2 races and i thought if i could keep him behind me it would be nice. We got a mile in and i thought, jesus this is a bit tastier than 9 min miles. My right ankle was killing me. No bother from it even at the end of last nights race. I thought sure ill run it off. Just curious i asked for a mile 1 split. 8.3x i was told. Ahh ffs lads i said to much laughter. Ok we will slow down. Seocnd mile split more of the same and im doing my nut at the lads. I decide to say adios as the lads are as fresh as a daisy and this is the pace they will maintain i reckon. I dropped back to the next little group which contained iveagh and connor. Ran a few miles with the lads who are on 9 min mile pace. Bit of banter and hellos ect... and we get about 6 miles in and the lads inform me the last lap was 9.22 and i thought jesus from 1 extreme to the other. Dennis and ken had gotten about 90 secs ahead of me at this stage but i made a desision to catch them. For the first time of the week i would see how the legs would hold up with a bit of speed. Dropped the pace down to about 7.45 a mile and eat up the ground on the 2 lads. Took me 2 miles to catch them and actually felt great. Took 500ml of lucozade and a gel and we settled into a pace just under 9 min miles. Thats more like it i thought. The legs aside from the right ankle felt grand. Dennis bailed over a fence for an emergency pit stop and that was his race over with stomach problems shortly after. We completed another lap and started the last and ken was full of beans. I had taken gels at 5,10, 15 and took another at 20 and i had 1 ken gave me for 22.5. As we started the last lap iveagh pulled up beside us. Serious increse in pace from him but he didnt look the best coming into the lap start point. I had a quick pitstop at about 21 miles and ken was still full of energy and i said to him go for it. Do whatever pace you can maintain till the finish and if im in trouble ill let you know. The pace dropped below 8 min miles and i felt ok. Took last gel at 22.5 as planned and a couple of miles just over 8 mins and 1 at about 7.50 but felt ok. We came near the finish and ken got a small cramp but we kept up a decent pace and last lap 8.11. Finished in great nick. Not even breathing and not hungry, not even thirsty. Got the nutrition spot on today. We finished in 3.49. We stood there and waited for the other lads to finish. Iveagh finished in 3.55 i think and i hoped this was the start of things to come (haha). This is were the maddness starts. As ken was only down for one night it was party time. Quick shower and a bite to eat and drinking time. Suffice to say laws about drinking down the country are very lax and i had about 10 pints and we were drinking till 3 in the morning. Ken got a takeaway for 4 cans after about 15 pints. Off to bed and was just falling asleep when i heard a bang on my door. Ken wanting to know if i had a telly in my room. No **** off was my reply haha.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98437528

Got about 4 hours sleep and woke for breakfast at about 9. Had breakfast with ken and he headed off about 10. This was always going to be the hardest race of the week. First daytime race with a 14 hour turnaround and a small hangover. To make things worse it was on a different course which was about 10 miles away. The other start is 1 min from my b and b. I had bummed a lift which was collecting me at 11 for the 12 start. I had heard it was going to be a scorcher today and the night before the rain had gone and it was kinda clammy but nice. I thought that was a precursor to an absolute scorcher and i was right. Right time to adapt. I brought 4.5 litles of lucozade with me and 5 gels, ecectrolytes in the lucozaze and iburprofen. It was absolutly boiling when we got to the start. Sorted out my stuff near the lap turnaround and chatted to paul brunnock who had decdied to come back with his grilfriend to do the weekend double. Did the rounds and had the crack with alot of the 100 marathon club lads. All the kamikazees from wednesday night were back and having great crack. I had a little laugh to myself about the carnage i reckened would ensue. We started and myself and iveagh settled in at around 9 min miles pace just behind paul and another chap. Legs were screaming and the right ankle which was badly swollen at this stage. This course was out and back 4 times. I started with 500 ml of lucozade in each hand and i was milling throught it. I was sweating like ive have never sweated. We got to the end of the first lap. No real chance to get lost so happy days on that front. First lap over and i grabbed my 1 litre of luozade again. Drank 1 bottle in 1 go and kept the other for sipping. Near enough to half way intothe second lap and nearing the turnaround point i saw ruthanne sheehan and she looked badly dehydrated. Drenched in sweat and looking abit distressed. Before i knew it i had given her my 500ml of sports drink. She needed more than me. Struggled for the next 4 miles without anything tbh and was very relieved to get to half way and the changover point. Got my 1 litre and drank half. 2 slat tablets, 2 gels and 2 pain killers. Legs were creaking to be honest. If i could with stand the pain i would be ok for sub 4 and a decent finish but it was getting very very painful. The lads i was running with decided to incrase the pace about 17 miles and i wisely drop off the back of them. They slowly pulled away but not any major distance. This was the first real time of the week i would run solo. Head down ignore the pain keep it steady. Even though i was in a fair bit of pain i had increased the pace to keep the lads within a couple of hundred metre. Got to the chanover point and caught the 2 lads refueling. 2 gels , 1 litle lucozade and 2 salt tablets. We were strung out at this state. Paul 100 metres ahead of iveagh and me 100 metres back. It got so hot on the last lap my foot got stuck on the road. The tar was ****ing melting. Got to the turnaround point on last lap and all the gels, painkillers and hydration i had taken all kicked in together. Felf strong. Pulled leven with iveagh about 24 miles and passed him. 8.15 in mile 25-26 and 6.53 a mile for the last .3 of a mile.. Very very hard day. 8 drop outs from a field of about 20 that day. Straight back to sixmilebridge for grub and sleep. Spent most of that day sleeping. Had 5 pints throughout the day watching gaa ect.. in the boozer and went to bed around 1 am but had slept about 4 hours during the day
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98437510

Woke up on the last day and very little pain in the legs esp the right ankle. Had been taking anti inflamitries for 2 days which had done the trick i think. Had a very light breakfast of cereal and walked to the start an hour early. The weather was alot better. Still a small bit hot but nice and overcast with a small breeze keeping it mild. All sorts of tactics were running through my head. Had agreed to run with paul brunnock again just under 9 min miles. Even he was feeling bad at this stage:D If iveagh started slow and looked rough i had decided to empty the tank in every way. Risk a major blow up to get ahead of him. I needed about 12 min by my calculations. A few more new people down for the last one and more banter and craic. We started, iveagh started off like a freight train well under 8 min miles. Right plan b, finish in good nick and keep something for the 24 hours in belfast. Just under 4 hours would be the order of the day to get my origional goal. 4 x 500ml locozade with electrolytes and 4 gels would be consumed. A new problem raised its head during the first lap. Right knee was very painful. My right foot had swollen and i couldnt tie my lace on that shoe but it wasnt that painful. First lap it got a bit hot so ditched the running top and put on a very light comprssion top. We had company for the first lap or 2 but they dropped out steady enough and the kamikazees were out in force again. Most would be picked off throughout the day. To be honest aside from the right knee the last day was very uneventful. Halway in 1.58 bang on and i knew i was grand for sub 4. We coasted through the third lap and i got to the changover point and i went to grab my last 2 gels and last bottle of lucoazde and someone had moved my bag. Are ouy ****ing serious i thought. Noone has touched my **** all week and someone decides to move it on the very last lap of the last day. Found it eventually and grabbed my stuff. Took me a half a mile to catch paul and we laughed about it eventually but i didnt find it funny at the time i can asure you:D
    We were absolutly coasting at this stage and we dropped the pace to about 8.40 a mile and picked off the miles and the runners alike. Even lapped a few. I remember coming into the last mile and all i could think was, i cant wait to get home haha. 5 days is a long time to spend soemwhere and esp putting yourself throught the stuff we were doing. Should be some good photos of me finishing. Got to the finish and there is iveagh showered, feed and looking like he had just woke up from a relaxing nap. Hats off to him to be honest. He destroyed the field on the last day. We waited for everyone to finish and there was an award ceremony where every that did the 5in5 got 5 nice picture frames with medals in each 1. Each one had a different picture of the village. Nice momento to be honest. Got a lift the train station of paul brunnock and his girlfriend and got home within a couple of hours which was nice..
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/98437499

Things i have learned from this are i can go alot further in alot more pain than i thought i could. I have better endurance that i though i had. I reckon i was good for 10in10 the way things stand. Weathed or not they would all be under 4 is up for debate but deffo another few at that pace in me.
    24 hour race in belfast now coming up. Hope i can get rid of whatever niggles i have and do myself justice. All out for 100 miles:D
    Last 3 races even the hot one on day 4 were negitive splits. 4 mins negitive split on day 3
    Lost another nail:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Great running man. Sounds like you had a great (and painful at times) time.

Fisrt run since sunday. No leg pain so all is good:D
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/99168502

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What time does the 24 hour start at next week? Gunna try head up and abuse support yee.

6.45pm i think. They reckon its easier to get the night section out of the way first:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Fantasticially savage achievements lately Frank. Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Some endurance Frank well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Best of luck with the plod 24 hour :p

Just trying to keep the legsgoing ahead of next week. Nice easy run tonight.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/99598913
    Legs even better than thursday. One more run tomorrow then 5 rest days.

Same as yesterday. 10 nice and handy. Rest now till belfast.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/99918948