Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

National Boycott of Pubs/Nightclubs Day - 28/2/03

• 30-01-2003 12:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭

Just got this from the gang back home!!!

Fwd'ed email--->

> > > > > >
    > > > > > > National Boycott of Pubs/Nightclubs Day in Ireland,
    > > > > > > Friday 28th/Febuary/2003
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Please read this email and pass it on.
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Irish drinkers are being ripped off. A report conducted
    > > > > > > last September
    > > > > > > indicates as much. Prices for alcoholic drinks are a
    > > > > > > staggering 59% (and
    > > > > > > rising) above the EU average according to a major
    > > > > > > international study. Irish
    > > > > > > pubs and nightclubs, especially those in Dublin, are
    > > > > > > churning out incredible
    > > > > > > profits. These profits, earned from the toil of the
    > > > > > > Irish consumer, can be
    > > > > > > explained by none other than total greed.
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT?
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > You have a choice. You can put up with this ludicrous
    > > > > > > profiteering and
    > > > > > > continue to whinge about prices being too high, OR you
    > > > > > > can take action.
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > We propose a "National Boycott of Pubs/Nightclubs Day"
    > > > > > > throughout Ireland
    > > > > > > for Friday 28th/Feb/2003. It is about time the Irish
    > > > > > > consumer striked back.
    > > > > > > And if this doesn't get the message across, we'll
    > > > > > > strike again with
    > > > > > > something even more drastic.
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > It will only work if everyone co-operates. And it can
    > > > > > > be done ...
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Please pass this on. Thanks

couldn't be bothered taking out the >'s, sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

junk eamil - pfft

I am not a vintner :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

i'd rather go into the pub, have a few pints then complain!

• Registered Users Posts: 55,451 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Ridiculous. Thats like the "boycott shops because of the euro ripoff" a few months ago. Its not going to happen.

- Dave.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

Originally posted by TmB
    Ridiculous. Thats like the "boycott shops because of the euro ripoff" a few months ago. Its not going to happen.

agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

aye fair enuff were being ripped off , but a one night boycott , it be like Friday were all sober giving out about the prices , then Saturday we go in pay the prices and complain about it drunk ,,,,,jaysus id rather be warm drunk complaining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

The words 'boycott', 'pub' and 'Ireland' just don't really fit in the same sentence do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Call it National Offy Day instead. Would get more support. market it as "Remember those great student days of buying a naggin of vodka in the Offy cos it was cheaper than the pub. Relive it on Feb 28th. "

Could have all these cool ones for the days of cider drinking in the park and everything.