Race hate gang in Temple Bar orgy of violence [mod note #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

saatana wrote: »
    does the word "Donegal" ring a bell?

No, but the word 'priest' does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

twenty two wrote: »
    i think if the guards were actually able to give these morons a slapping things would be nearly half as bad.

Many years ago that's what guards did,doesnt seemed to have solved anything,
    People in Ireland dont have the same respect for guards, something else has to be tried as has been pointed out this sort of carry on is not widespread in many other european countries,as far as i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

realies wrote: »
    Many years ago that's what guards did,doesnt seemed to have solved anything,
    People in Ireland dont have the same respect for guards, something else has to be tried as has been pointed out this sort of carry on is not widespread in many other european countries,as far as i know.

It solved plenty of things the problem is the law now

EVENFLOW

How did it solve anything ?

It hasn't or didn't stop crime or assaults being carried out,

All it did was turn more people against the guards and created no go areas for a lot of them.

Anecdotal evidence that no go areas for the Garda Siochana exist in our largest cities illustrates the need for emphasis on community policing. I've heard that in Limerick guards were helicoptered in to a no go area because it was too dangerous to enter by car. And a friend of a recently qualified guard told me that he has spoken of no go areas in Dublin. If the anecdotal evidence is true, it suggests a breakdown in relations with these no go communities comparable to the poor relations between the RUC and Catholic ghettoes in Northern Ireland.

Insufficient community policing may reflect the mismanagement of Garda personnel that places too many guards in admin jobs filling out forms instead of street level policing. The Garda need to establish their authority firmly in these no go areas,if necessary by establishing mini police stations in them. They also need to cultivate closer relations with people in these areas,especially the youth,who could look to the guards as role models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

Amber lamps No, but the word 'priest' does

Ring a bell? Yes, some of them do, but I think they have other people to do that, vergers or whatever they are called.

Are you in favour of people being beaten up by the police without due process of law? If you are, you'd probably love North Korea - if you could get by without Guinness, sausages, rashers, tea --- ROFLMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

LighterGuy wrote: »
    You have to accept that there are "crusaders" out there who jump out of woodwork to add politcally correct arguments. Weather you accept it or not there are a good number of people who just talk s*ite. Especially when it comes to racial or of sexuality topic.
    I'd agree ... there are those on both sides of such arguments who tend to polarise to one extreme or another based more on pre-conceived prejudices and opinions than on any rational judgement of the facts (or indeed, who don't wait for the facts to actually emerge). A lot of them seem to find their way to AH for some reason.
    LighterGuy wrote: »
    But if people are skeptical of reports. I can accept that. I too take everything with a pinch of salt... but why stop here?
    How come we dont question other things? ... like if these were "junkies" instead. Would we have a big 25 page+ thread debating? we wouldnt. we have dozens of posts with "scumbag junkies" etc. How would you know they were junkies by the same logic? :rolleyes:)
    Actually, I agree. We need far more questioning and far less assumptions and reliance on a tabloid media that likes to feed the rabble.

That said, sometimes a fork is just a fork (pace Herr Freud).

And unfortunately there are racists and bigots in all societies and groups, no one group seems to be immune from that particular virus.

Like you, though, I prefer to wait for all the facts before judging, and I don't really consider a "senior source" quoted in a tabloid as evidence of anything except that paper never refuses ink.
    No, but the word 'priest' does

Please explain?
    ... as has been pointed out this sort of carry on is not widespread in many other european countries,as far as i know.
    Um ... violence orchestrated by or between gangs of young people is far from being a solely Irish problem, in fact we've seen very little of it comparatively speaking, which is probably why it still shocks us.

Marseilles, Paris, London, many of the bigger English cities, just from personal knowledge. Lots of other examples out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

When Ali G tries play the race card it's funny.
    When scum like these guys do it, it's beyond disgraceful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

Ring a bell? Yes, some of them do, but I think they have other people to do that, vergers or whatever they are called.

haha funny guy :pac:
    Are you in favour of people being beaten up by the police without due process of law? If you are, you'd probably love North Korea - if you could get by without Guinness, sausages, rashers, tea --- ROFLMAO

I'm in favour of a bit of this guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Anecdotal evidence that no go areas for the Garda Siochana exist in our largest cities illustrates the need for emphasis on community policing. I've heard that in Limerick guards were helicoptered in to a no go area because it was too dangerous to enter by car. And a friend of a recently qualified guard told me that he has spoken of no go areas in Dublin. If the anecdotal evidence is true, it suggests a breakdown in relations with these no go communities comparable to the poor relations between the RUC and Catholic ghettoes in Northern Ireland.

Insufficient community policing may reflect the mismanagement of Garda personnel that places too many guards in admin jobs filling out forms instead of street level policing. The Garda need to establish their authority firmly in these no go areas,if necessary by establishing mini police stations in them. They also need to cultivate closer relations with people in these areas,especially the youth,who could look to the guards as role models.

The law is useless in another aspect,ireland seems to have issue of overtime being paid for everything or suspended sentences would be handed down,prisons are overcrowding so offenders can be back on the streets as quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

The law is useless in another aspect,ireland seems to have issue of overtime being paid for everything or suspended sentences would be handed down,prisons are overcrowding so offenders can be back on the streets as quick.
    Free Legal Aid. The bain of the Paye worker.Nirvana for the scumbag(and the defendant;))Get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

How did it solve anything ?

It hasn't or didn't stop crime or assaults being carried out,

All it did was turn more people against the guards and created no go areas for a lot of them.

Yes people before got a few smacks for being out of hand plenty of things guards did they would not do in million years now.

What changed is the law

It has not stopped crime you say? I am afraid as long as people are still able to breed in this earth there will always be criminals of some sort sad to say but thats why the world is not a perfect place.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Disleksic

So exhortations to deport all members of a particular ethnic group has no connotations of Nazism for you?

Please Google 'history'.

Deportations and/or hatred of other races and religions did not start or end with the Nazis. That is the whole point of Godwin's Law.

Please google "History before Hitler".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Jonmac101

Has anybody noticed the 'Racism Wrong' billboards that have popped up all over the country.
    They usually depict a sullen looking male or female of african descent under the heading - "Racism Wrong"
    Anyway, My problem with this advertisement campaign is that it is depicting Racism as an offence commited towards people of African descent by presumably people not of African descent.
    To me the orchestrators of this advertisement campaign are sending out the wrong message to the people of Ireland and more importantly the children of Ireland by conveying the message that Racism only afflicts people of African descent. To me this is very wrong, Racism is a two way street!

You said it solved plenty of things, how and where did it solve anything ?

The guards are a much more professional force now than they ever where before & going back to giving a few slaps to anyone is not the way forward.

Ps what does a few slaps mean to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

[/B] Ps what does a few slaps mean to you.

One of my sons was at a stag do in Spain's Alicante in the past couple of months. He was a bold boy, nothing too serious just ossified out of his mind and he gave the Policía the finger.

He was bundled into the back of the police car and driven out of town where three of them laced into him with punches and slaps, he awoke the following morning, bloddied, ashamed, broke [no money left, either spent or taken or robbed] and he had to rely on the generous people of Spain to get him back to the hotel and airport.

He's been home since and if his last night on the town is anything to go by, he's changed for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Jonmac101 wrote: »
    Has anybody noticed the 'Racism Wrong' billboards that have popped up all over the country.
    They usually depict a sullen looking male or female of african descent under the heading - "Racism Wrong"
    Anyway, My problem with this advertisement campaign is that it is depicting Racism as an offence commited towards people of African descent by presumably people not of African descent.
    To me the orchestrators of this advertisement campaign are sending out the wrong message to the people of Ireland and more importantly the children of Ireland by conveying the message that Racism only afflicts people of African descent. To me this is very wrong, Racism is a two way street!

Racist: Wow look at that billboard, I must change my ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

gbee wrote: »
    One of my sons was at a stag do in Spain's Alicante in the past couple of months. He was a bold boy, nothing too serious just ossified out of his mind and he gave the Policía the finger.

He was bundled into the back of the police car and driven out of town where three of them laced into him with punches and slaps, he awoke the following morning, bloddied, ashamed, broke [no money left, either spent or taken or robbed] and he had to rely on the generous people of Spain to get him back to the hotel and airport.

He's been home since and if his last night on the town is anything to go by, he's changed for the better.

The guards could learn something from the Spanish police then. Maybe we'd have less of a delinquency problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

sollar wrote: »
    The guards could learn something from the Spanish police then. Maybe we'd have less of a delinquency problem.

I'm sorry, but what gated community do you live in? please take your head from your ar$e and wise the fook up! The guards are too soft is that what's been implied here? You should venture out of the safety bubble your residing in and spend some time in the underbelly that is 'lower class' Dublin (and more than likely other cities & towns lower class area's) and watch how the 'guards' act,it's like a fookin sport to them.

I'm speaking from experience! my crime? been from a 'lower class' area apparently, having the cheek to dare tell a man in uniform that what he was doing amounted to bullying and I had rights......well apparently I don't ...I have the right to "shut yur fookin mouth ya little bollix or i'll shut it for ya" & the right to scream or not scream as they slap the head off ya after been dragged to a waiting car for a "little drive" up Mount Seskin to be hit by a torch,kicked between the legs,have shoes rubbed across my mouth,be lifted off the ground with both arms held up against my back and walloped off a squad car (to be told "thats a section 30 damaging a police vehicle"),dragged by the hair,thrown across a road,kicked and hit repeatedly and have the contents of a bottle (lucozade if memory serves me right) poured over my head by a pillar of the law simulating as though he was pi$$ing on me!

Then having to try walk home in agony and have to tell your parents you "got started on over in the next estate" because you darent tell them,them make a complaint and have them fookers swing by intimidating you ..... I was 17 ..... the scumbags wouldn't get away with it now I tell ya,coz I'd stand bollock naked in front of the camera's to show what those bastards did.

I grew up hating the bastards for how they acted around here,they bred fear turning to resentment turning to hate & anger in my generation,you become untrusting of them all and you find yourself wanting to lash out, sure if your running scared of been hit by them ya may aswell do something to deserve it! They are the very reason why many people in housing estates dont trust them,dont want to assist them,dont call them and look to eachother to sort out issue's in the area.

The sick thing is, I can sympathise (to a degree) with the guards out there tonight,catching little toe rags mugging,stabbing,beating people only to have them turfed out on the street after a few hours or walk away from the courts smiling........because the law is a joke,I wouldnt spend the time writing a report on a matter only to watch the little fooker walk free,must frustrate the life out of them! (oh,maybe....hmmm :rolleyes:)

In my experience,how 'The Guards' conduct themselves is anything but softly softly nicey nicey and people dont die of natural causes in custody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

What happened to your son is completely unacceptable. The Spanish police have a long sordid history of extrajudicial beatings (and worse), and I don't think that is something to be proud of.

That said, I've noticed living in Madrid that there is a much more visible police and security presence in tourist areas, and there are FAR fewer problems on the streets with angry drunks, fights, etc. The police are actually pretty chill, but when they tell you to stop doing something or move it along, they expect you to do it - and they will only tell you once.

There has to be a happy medium between the do-nothing guards and police beat-downs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Well generally racism occurs against a minority of a different race-since Ireland has only recently had people of different races come to live here, generally racism is comitted against those of African descent. I agree with what you're saying but like come on, use a bit of common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Well generally racism occurs against a minority of a different race-since Ireland has only recently had people of different races come to live here, generally racism is comitted against those of African descent. I agree with what you're saying but like come on, use a bit of common sense

No!!That's codswallop! Racism occurs when one perceives itself to be above another (regardless of wheter it's a minority or majority group)racism isn't measured by figures! Please refer to the below definitions in particular point 3.

a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one's own race is superior and has the right to rule others.
    2. a policy, system of government, etc., based upon or fostering such a doctrine;discrimination
    3. hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.

And you also believe there was no racism in Ireland before African immigrants started arriving here? and that racism is only or mainly aimed at Africans?

I can respect your wanting to be a liberal but you really have to understand the subject before throwing out rubbish replies like above!

I'll finish on a quote you might recognize

"Like,come on, use a bit of common sense"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

This is just the beginning....racial conflicts are a reality of "multiculturalism"..it stretches all the way back to pre-history,before the word "racism" was invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

Enjoy being 'culturally enriched' by Africans, Ireland, oh by the way if you complain about it, DASS RACISS. It seems the politically correct brigade will happily discuss abstract concepts of racism, equality and society in some convoluted dance to justify why massive immigration and huge amounts of refugees and asylum seekers should be allowed here in the first place, for the sake of your liberal consciences while our welfare system is milked dry and the future of our society piece by piece taken from our control in the name of progressive liberal multicultural future and political correctness.

I don't want to live in a multicultural society, in most of your eyes that probably makes me a bigot, and it's a taboo thing to say out loud, which is a very sad state of affairs when it comes to our future, another two decades Dublin is probably gonna end up like the other 'multicultural utopias' like London (lol brixton) and Detroit (lol shootings)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

sounds like a parenting issue:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

bacon? wrote: »
    So now it's not only a random unprovoked attack from our local scumbags we have to worry about, we have this carry on.

Yet another reason not to go back.

I've been living in China for over a year and a half, and there's no scumbags here, it's great. You don't have to worry about getting smashed over the head with a bottle, for no reason when out on the town.

seen many films this year.....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

thebullkf wrote: »
    sounds like a parenting issue:confused:

He left home 15 years ago, he's not answerable to me, he's an adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

If this was a neo nazi type group that carried out, would the reaction would be different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Degsy wrote: »
    This is just the beginning....racial conflicts are a reality of "multiculturalism"..it stretches all the way back to pre-history,before the word "racism" was invented.

It's not simply about race. People always look to identify and find something wrong with an 'out' group, whether because of their religion or culture or whatever.

It's unrealistic to expect a modern Western liberal democracy with an open economy to remain homogeneous. But countries can control how they respond to demographic changes, and the 'sure it'll solve itself' approach by Irish politicians isn't particularly useful or effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Gneez wrote: »
    Enjoy being 'culturally enriched' by Africans, Ireland, oh by the way if you complain about it, DASS RACISS. It seems the politically correct brigade will happily discuss abstract concepts of racism, equality and society in some convoluted dance to justify why massive immigration and huge amounts of refugees and asylum seekers should be allowed here in the first place, for the sake of your liberal consciences while our welfare system is milked dry and the future of our society piece by piece taken from our control in the name of progressive liberal multicultural future and political correctness.

I don't want to live in a multicultural society, in most of your eyes that probably makes me a bigot, and it's a taboo thing to say out loud, which is a very sad state of affairs when it comes to our future, another two decades Dublin is probably gonna end up like the other 'multicultural utopias' like London (lol brixton) and Detroit (lol shootings)

I agree. This issue cannot be discussed in any meaningful way as any non pc stance will be shot down,