Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The Alcohol Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭LilMissCiara

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    The 'deep' in DMC should be replaced with drunk for me!!

Same for most people! You wake up the next morning and it's like ''did I really tell ______ about the time I ______?''.

I'll put my hands up and say that I need drink when I'm out, especially when it involves a dancefloor, or else I'm so self-conscious.

It's an awful way to be! :(

I seem to have escaped that trap, in that I'm amazingly self-conscious even with a bit of drink in me. :P

Oh lord that can't be good..! Suppose your lucky though in that you're better off not drinking at all if that's the case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Same for most people! You wake up the next morning and it's like ''did I really tell ______ about the time I ______?''.

I'll put my hands up and say that I need drink when I'm out, especially when it involves a dancefloor, or else I'm so self-conscious.

It's an awful way to be! :(

I know EXACTLY what you mean! I hate when that happens me though coz random people are probably like ''Oh, there goes another dramatic teenage girl!!'' I absolutly love my best friend though, he got it in one go what I was upset about.

Oh lord that can't be good..! Suppose your lucky though in that you're better off not drinking at all if that's the case!

Nah, I still enjoy a drink. It loosens my tongue anyway, even if I'm still self-conscious. And I like the taste of lots of drinks.

I know EXACTLY what you mean! I hate when that happens me though coz random people are probably like ''Oh, there goes another dramatic teenage girl!!'' I absolutly love my best friend though, he got it in one go what I was upset about.

I want a friend like that! :( :P

The thing that annoys me most, is not 40 year olds who have the opinion of the drunken teenage girl, but those in their 20s. It's as if they were always so classy and never had a bad drinking experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I still drink. I only drink mainly with my mates or people on my course. I took a few weeks off drinking during the year and to be honest it wasn't as hard as I thought it would be. The joys of waking up not having a hangover make it very worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

A lot of people don't even like what they drink when they do so. They just do it for the sake of it, and I've done it myself many times, but now that I do, it seems childish.

that's because way to many people just drink the mass produced mass advertised piss on sale on tap in most bars... try going to your local offie or even supermarket and pick up some of the german/polish/european in general beers... try out a few new beers and then try to drink a Bud or a Heineken or a Miller- you probably won't be able too :p basically try any beer you've never seen an add for and the chances are it's better than the ones your drinking now (except Hackenberg - that's just god damn awful stuff :() they might be a wee bit more expensive for some of them but the alcohol content is usually a good bit higher so a 4 pack usually ends up hitting you like kinda like a 6 pack would...

for me there's nothing better than just chilling out on a nice day having a few good beers - i used to be one of those that didn't really like beers but once you realise the stuff you get in pubs is terrible you'll really start to appreciate a nice beer and start to enjoy drinking :)

I want a friend like that! :( :P

The thing that annoys me most, is not 40 year olds who have the opinion of the drunken teenage girl, but those in their 20s. It's as if they were always so classy and never had a bad drinking experience.

And the 20-somethings that 'go out to ger trashed', dear lord they annoy me. Pretty sure I stopped doing that when I was 17 before the first year of college even ended :rolleyes: it makes me wonder, can they not stand each others company unless absolutley oblierated?
    And people who claim to drink more than they do. Nobody cares what you drink!!!!

And the 20-somethings that 'go out to ger trashed', dear lord they annoy me. Pretty sure I stopped doing that when I was 17 before the first year of college even ended :rolleyes: it makes me wonder, can they not stand each others company unless absolutley oblierated?
    And people who claim to drink more than they do. Nobody cares what you drink!!!!

Yeah it's like I had 3 shots last night! Ha, lightweight, I had 30!

I think once you turn 18/19 you should be past the 'let's get locked' stage. You go out to meet up with friends and old school mates you don't get to see that often. You drink but you drink for enjoyment.

Amount of 15 year olds that go out in my town is absolutely disgusting!

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    that's because way to many people just drink the mass produced mass advertised piss on sale on tap in most bars... try going to your local offie or even supermarket and pick up some of the german/polish/european in general beers... try out a few new beers and then try to drink a Bud or a Heineken or a Miller- you probably won't be able too :p basically try any beer you've never seen an add for and the chances are it's better than the ones your drinking now (except Hackenberg - that's just god damn awful stuff :() they might be a wee bit more expensive for some of them but the alcohol content is usually a good bit higher so a 4 pack usually ends up hitting you like kinda like a 6 pack would...

for me there's nothing better than just chilling out on a nice day having a few good beers - i used to be one of those that didn't really like beers but once you realise the stuff you get in pubs is terrible you'll really start to appreciate a nice beer and start to enjoy drinking :)

Oh, I do. That's why I'm giving out about the way I used to be suddenly.

My favourites among beers I've recently tried are Brooklyn Lager and Kirin Ichiban. Great beers. I'm glad I'm not the only one who likes to chill out with a cold one.
    Oh, and don't knock all beers you get in pubs. Most big towns usually have one pub with different international beers. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Ok, I've went drinking once at this stage and I will be 17 in August. It was about a month ago to celebrate end of 4th year, with about half my year from school there, in a field. I told my Dad what was happening and the general area just to be safe side in case anything happen. Went to the field with 2 cans of Bulmers(felt it was enough for my first time) and was there for about 3 hours.

The first time you have alcohol in your system is a very weird feeling. I was glad I limited my intake to 2 cans as they were strong enough to have me flaming without being too messy.

All pictures of me from it look like this, with the big grin plastered across my face.
    6D24FB005D28481586F130DF42F1AECF-0000328125-0002414243-00461L-450AD04AA9F9448BA834091A1210965C.png

Although, I think there may be one picture that hasn't surfaced yet of my head in a girl's *ahem* chest and her hand... elsewhere. :pac:

So ya, I'm glad I waited until now to start. I feel that, for me, this is old enough that you can drink (semi)responsibly, but young enough that you aren't completely left out by your peer group. I'm happy I waited until now because I have had the opportunies to start younger.

Also, I tried some actual beer there as well, to get an idea of the taste for next time and it tastes like piss. I don't know why people drink it. I'm be staying on cider for a while yet.

Amount of 15 year olds that go out in my town is absolutely disgusting!

Limerick is awful for it :( In my defence, Iwent out before I was 18 but I WAS in college. An 18 y/o fresher is far more mature than an 18y/o 6th year IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I'm 18 and I don't drink. I don't know if I ever will. Generally speaking I disapprove of alcohol. I'm not in-your-face about it, and I won't say anything to anyone who drinks, but honestly I do feel uncomfortable about it and sometimes paranoid that my friends would put alcohol in my drink to try get me drunk. There has been a history of alcoholism in my family. I suppose it left a deep impact on me when it got to the point where someone in my family was in a deep bout of alcoholism, and I had to pull them to a couch so they wouldn't hurt themselves. Their eyes were blank and lifeless, and they had soiled themselves and were having delirium tremens. It was a horrifying experience. I've had to live with foster parents during my childhood for my own safety because that person became so rampant with alcohol. Thankfully they've been recovering for a number of years now but stuff like that doesn't just escape you. I wish I could tell people this when they ask why I don't drink but it's something I do find hard to tell people in person. If anyone has gone through some of the experiences I had growing up you'd never want to look at the stuff again. I go out with my friends and I do enjoy myself, and I don't mind them drinking, but I don't think I'd be comfortable drinking myself, not for a little while longer at least.

To anyone who does know someone who doesn't drink, don't feel alienated or bother them as to why they don't, because they will have their own personal reasons. They can enjoy themselves too, don't forget that!

Jackobyte wrote: »
    Also, I tried some actual beer there as well, to get an idea of the taste for next time and it tastes like piss. I don't know why people drink it. I'm be staying on cider for a while yet.

That used to be me. See johnmcdnl's post. Most of the mainstream beers taste quite bad.
    Mainly it's an acquired taste though, whereas cider is familiar enough.

Limerick is awful for it :( In my defence, Iwent out before I was 18 but I WAS in college. An 18 y/o fresher is far more mature than an 18y/o 6th year IMO.

I went out for the first time when I was 17, New Years of 5th year. Once you're in 5th year you're past the immaturity of TY and your starting to mature properly. I think going out in 5th year is grand but TY or younger it's like get back to your teenage disco.

I was 15 for most of 5th year :o it is when we started going knacker drinking though! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Oh, and don't knock all beers you get in pubs. Most big towns usually have one pub with different international beers. :)

I'm knocking the sterotypical pub that gets the huge crowds every weekend that serve pints of piss for €5 :mad: - that could get me 2 bottles of some really good quality stuff in the local supermarket... I know there's some great pubs around.. unfortunately none around where I live..

but when you do find a pub that has a good selection of beers it really is a good feeling :cool: also love if it's quiet and you get to have a chat with the barman who knows a bit to see have they any recommendations...

so much better than going out to a packed bar and just ordering a pint of Heineken because you can point at the tap because it's too loud to try to ask for something different... and then having to be battered round the place as you try to get back to your seat while listening to some crappy dance music...

really don't like the "going out" craic at all anymore... and can't see why I ever liked it either tbh :confused:

I was 15 for most of 5th year :o it is when we started going knacker drinking though! :p

You poor thing! That's so young!

I never went knacker drinking, just wasn't something I was in to and not many of my friends were either!

Cydoniac wrote: »

To anyone who does know someone who doesn't drink, don't feel alienated or bother them as to why they don't, because they will have their own personal reasons. They can enjoy themselves too, don't forget that!

So true. My friend who doesn't drink actually drinks coke when we play drinking games, and he's better craic than most of the people drinking. He's got a stock of jokes about not drinking too, that he's accumulated over the last few years.

You poor thing! That's so young!

I never went knacker drinking, just wasn't something I was in to and not many of my friends were either!

We were classy though, we didn't do it in a field/estate. We did it under a bridge where it was warm and dry. Like trolls!

try going to your local offie or even supermarket and pick up some of the german/polish/european in general beers... try out a few new beers and then try to drink a Bud or a Heineken or a Miller- you probably won't be able too :p basically try any beer you've never seen an add for and the chances are it's better than the ones your drinking now (except Hackenberg - that's just god damn awful stuff :() they might be a wee bit more expensive for some of them but the alcohol content is usually a good bit higher so a 4 pack usually ends up hitting you like kinda like a 6 pack would...
    That used to be me. See johnmcdnl's post. Most of the mainstream beers taste quite bad.
    Mainly it's an acquired taste though, whereas cider is familiar enough.
    As well as the Heineken/Budweiser/Coors Light that I tried, there were a few people drinking odd/cheap brands. Karpacki is horrible stuff altogether. Whiel the others left a horrible taste, it almost caused me to retch. A load were drinking it because it was 4 cans for €5. *shudders*

Jackobyte wrote: »
    As well as the Heineken/Budweiser/Coors Light that I tried, there were a few people drinking odd/cheap brands. Karpacki is horrible stuff altogether. Whiel the others left a horrible taste, it almost caused me to retch. A load were drinking it because it was 4 cans for €5. *shudders*

4 for €5? Yeah, I'd say it was awful alright.

really don't like the "going out" craic at all anymore... and can't see why I ever liked it either tbh :confused:

Either do I. I'd like to think of myself as quite sociable and I enjoy having a drink but I hate the whole going out scene. There's no comfort in it and I end up drinking to get confidence and it usually leaves me feeling shít. I'd be much more comfortable going to a movie or having the girls round for a few drinks and a chat. Unfortunately my friends (don't get me wrong I love them to bits) don't feel the same way!
    We were classy though, we didn't do it in a field/estate. We did it under a bridge where it was warm and dry. Like trolls!

:D Made me smile!

Going out is such a waste of money too. You get overcharged for any drinks that aren't poxy shots, and you can't have a conversation over the noise, unless you venture into the haze that is the smoking area. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

I seem to get 'classier' as i age. (Only 23 though,yet still havent learnt the concept of when too much is too much)

Had a work do last weekend, had a fair amount of shots (8 in one hour, clever) and ended up passing out in the smoking area. Got carried to a taxi. Puked in the taxi, expensive night. And cuts all over legs from where i fell multiple times.

Mortified.

Never want a repeat of that. I'd would have expected this a few years ago, but i get awful silly when i'm in full swing.

Tbh i have a love/hate relationship with alcohol. Used to find it relaxed me, but now it doesnt seem to agree with me, next day i'm almost suicidal in my mood. And it can make me irritable as a drunk.

I can drink in moderation, but sometimes i over step the mark and this crap happens :(

I much prefer late bars to night clubs, better atmosphere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Going out is such a waste of money too. You get overcharged for any drinks that aren't poxy shots, and you can't have a conversation over the noise, unless you venture into the haze that is the smoking area. Ugh.
    Yeah, planning out a good night in with friends is cheaper and definitely a lot more fun when you do it right.

4 for €5? Yeah, I'd say it was awful alright.

The cheapest stuff Centra sold. Truly horrible.