Special Olympics

13»

................. What do you think?

I do volunteer work for Special Olympics Munster once or twice a year, just stewarding and the like, bringing athletes to the starting line for their events or whatever. The absolute delight that you'd witness at the prize giving after the races is genuinely amazing. Wouldn't be overly interested in watching the actual Special Olympics on TV though, so too the actual Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Yahew wrote: »
    Anyone get the impression that strokemyclover posted to see if there would be an anti-special olympics reaction, confirming himself in his moral superiority?

No not really.

Well there hasn't been a reaction, and he's still now asking the mods to close his thread down. What?

Still now asking? Only asked once that i can see, early on, a different poster then asked again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ah I think it's great. I didn't even realise it was on, and was in the gym watching the news on one of the cross trainer things, and they reported on a girl who had one a medal in swimming. I wasn't in a particularly good mood, but the joy on her face, and the delight and pride she felt in getting the medal was infectious, and I ended up grinning like a goon. The other people in the gym probably thought I was abusing the steroids or something!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Fair play to all that are taking part in the Special Olympics.

Its a pity more people don't put in as much training as these competitors, then we mightn't have the obesity problem we have in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Whats the fastest special olympics 100 metre time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

jugger0 wrote: »

It really doesn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Ringer in this context is a guy pretending to be retarded so he can win in the special olympics

thats so retarded though... oh yeah I see how that works now wink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

What I would love to see actually is an 'olympics off' between people with special needs, and the bast@rds in power who continue to reduce their financial, educational, and therapeutic resources, along with assistance for those who care for and assist them.

What would you be blowing on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Yahew wrote: »
    Anyone get the impression that strokemyclover posted to see if there would be an anti-special olympics reaction, confirming himself in his moral superiority?

Well there hasn't been a reaction, and he's still now asking the mods to close his thread down. What?

I'm hardly going to get up on my high horse over some volunteer work I did when I was a teenager, chief! Calm down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

BickNarry wrote: »
    What would you be blowing on about?

Yore ma.

Seriously though, I don't understand what you don't understand.
    It's fairly self-explanatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_IPC_world_records_in_athletics#100_m_2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I'm hardly going to get up on my high horse over some volunteer work I did when I was a teenager, chief! Calm down!

You should express your own opinion first, without asking for everyone elses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I know a guy who won a gold medal representing Ireland in the special olympics, fair play to him I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

ayeboy wrote: »
    Ireland play England this morning in the Final of the soccer. KO at 9:30am our time I think.

Come on you boys in green!!

Is it being televised or is there anywhere online you can watch it live, do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

I know a guy who won a gold medal representing Ireland in the special olympics, fair play to him I say!

I've never met any disabled person who didn't get a medal in the Special Olympics - they give them to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

when you have a baby with a disability you get sick of hearing " sur he can compete in the special Olympics". Its later on you realize how great they actually are, especially if your child has a real talent in some sports. Its all about giving them the chance to be the best they can be. People with an intellectual disability are just as competitive as anyone else.

Can I just say that the R word ( Retard ) is absolutely "the" most offensive word possible for anyone with an intellectual disability or their loves ones. Its as bad as it gets There are huge campaigns to try and stamp out the use of this word.
    You can wrap that word up in bows and hang fecking bells out of it and it would still be bad bad bad . It would be bad in any thread but totally out on line in a thread like this. I am though going to exercise my right to walk away from this thread and not read any further. At least that way I wont be offended again and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

katiebelle wrote: »
    when you have a baby with a disability you get sick of hearing " sur he can compete in the special Olympics". Its later on you realize how great they actually are, especially if your child has a real talent in some sports. Its all about giving them the chance to be the best they can be. People with an intellectual disability are just as competitive as anyone else.

Can I just say that the R word ( Retard ) is absolutely "the" most offensive word possible for anyone with an intellectual disability or their loves ones. Its as bad as it gets There are huge campaigns to try and stamp out the use of this word.
    You can wrap that word up in bows and hang fecking bells out of it and it would still be bad bad bad . It would be bad in any thread but totally out on line in a thread like this. I am though going to exercise my right to walk away from this thread and not read any further. At least that way I wont be offended again and again.

Well said. I agree re the R word. I absolutely hate it.

Growing up in Australia, sports coverage was always pretty extensive and that included the Special Olympics. A big deal was always made about it for the competitors.

I saw a brief mention of it here on the news yesterday, but that is the first time I have seen anything on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Einhard wrote: »
    Ah I think it's great. I didn't even realise it was on, and was in the gym watching the news on one of the cross trainer things, and they reported on a girl who had one a medal in swimming. I wasn't in a particularly good mood, but the joy on her face, and the delight and pride she felt in getting the medal was infectious, and I ended up grinning like a goon. The other people in the gym probably thought I was abusing the steroids or something!:D

Juicer:pac:

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

In response to the general question about what this thread's discussion is, its about the Special Olympics and the usual snobbery.

I like many dislike the title "Special Olympics". Having said that I think it is a magnificent idea and a great source of pride for all people with disabilities.

The fact that many people have a problem with the SO just goes to show you the more bitchy side of Ireland. This is people who look down on you for not being as talented or smart in one area and those who think they are better in general.

"Retard" is to me the most insulting word you could use to describe anyone, disabled or otherwise.

Out in Cork Institute of Technology about 3 or 4 weeks ago at the Munster Special Olympics a lad ran the 100m in 12 ish seconds, that's from a standing start not out of blocks.

I've never met any disabled person who didn't get a medal in the Special Olympics - they give them to everyone.

They don't give a gold medal to everyone, 1st gets Gold, 2nd Silver etc. Everyone may well get a medal of participation.
    karaokeman wrote: »

"Retard" is to me the most insulting word you could use to describe anyone, disabled or otherwise.

Indeed, it's apt enough for some of the numpties posting in this thread though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭wee bey

Mary Ellen Synon had a quite interesting article re special olympics. Main points were that it was patronising etc. She got massacred because of it by the PC brigade. Wasn't far off imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

RoverJames wrote: »
    Indeed, it's apt enough for some of the numpties posting in this thread though.

Yes, i hate to hear it used at all myself in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

wee bey wrote: »
    Mary Ellen Synon had a quite interesting article re special olympics. Main points were that it was patronising etc. She got massacred because of it by the PC brigade. Wasn't far off imo.

It was the Paralympics she had a pop at.

Its a bit of an insult to the participants in both events when people can't even make the effort to differentiate between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

RoverJames wrote: »
    They don't give a gold medal to everyone, 1st gets Gold, 2nd Silver etc. Everyone may well get a medal of participation.

No, they all get Gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I remember the last time we hosted the special olympics and the town I live in hosted a country, nothing will ever beat the smiles on the faces of the teams as we waved their countries flag, made me feel proud to be Irish :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've trained with Olympians, both able bodies and handicapped, and the level of dedication on behalf of the athlete is probably comparable between the two.

And again speaking with some experience on the matter, the level of pride felt by the families and friends of those Special Olympic's Olympians far exceeds that of the able bodied.