Fuppin house party next door...

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭IT-Guy

Lapin wrote: »
    I'd have a problem with that. A breach of the peace is a breach of the peace.

In most other countries, your neighbour would be hauled in for the remainder of the night and probably released again in the morning with a caution for a first offence.

A second offence would probably result in a speedy court appearance with a fine handed out.

A third offence would result in another visit to court and this time the book would be thrown at the offender.

Here in Ireland the Gardaí will spout búllshít about civil issues.

And that is why your neighbour was able to go apeshít and keep you up all night.
    And that is why crime in this country is going out of control.

I'd love if Sean had been detained the first time he kicked and pounded on my door but again without the Gardai witnessing it firsthand I doubt there's much they can do. It would be great if someone acting the maggot like that was detained overnight until sober but a common sense law like that would more likely be viewed as 'radical' and not passed. That said there's a bit of a leap in linking my neighbor from hell story with crime levels across the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Crime levels could be dropped to the floor with zero tolerance policies on all anti-social behaviour. If that lad spent 24 hours in a cell with his boss not knowing why he hadn't reported for work and then the guards to inform said boss why his employee was indisposed maybe he might realise that his actions have a consequence.

that is all it takes is to make people aware that there are consequences.

This morning on the bus into town (9am) 4 scumbags drinking cans taking up four seats midway down the bus, generally being dicks and intimidating the PAYING customers. A consequence free existence each and everyone of them had and their behaviour reflected that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

IT-Guy wrote: »
    That said there's a bit of a leap in linking my neighbor from hell story with crime levels across the country!

True. Perhaps I should have used the phrase anti social behavour instead.

But the two are interlinked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Seachmall wrote: »
    Do the same thing tomorrow night and leave your door unlocked. When they break in shoot them dead. Then look at their bodies and say "Party's over, asshole" or something to that effect.

You're out of line McBain - in this department we do things by the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭IT-Guy

Crime levels could be dropped to the floor with zero tolerance policies on all anti-social behaviour. If that lad spent 24 hours in a cell with his boss not knowing why he hadn't reported for work and then the guards to inform said boss why his employee was indisposed maybe he might realise that his actions have a consequence.

that is all it takes is to make people aware that there are consequences.

This morning on the bus into town (9am) 4 scumbags drinking cans taking up four seats midway down the bus, generally being dicks and intimidating the PAYING customers. A consequence free existence each and everyone of them had and their behaviour reflected that.

Unfortunately the parts in bold are all too true, I've a simplistic outlook in general that gets specific when necessary - don't be a dick. End of (without getting all Team America on it!). Is it that hard to live a normal life? By normal I mean do whatever it is you want but when it interferes with or prohibits others (or even yourself!) from doing what they want then you need to change your behavior or deal with the consequences. Man up. Unfortunately that phrase is still attached to an older vision of manliness - unthinking, unfeeling, machismo which doesn't see anything outside those traits as being manly. It's very much possible to live a healthy, productive life, have loads of fun, be a man and not break the law! Gonna get flamed by the haters for it but f**k em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Have assholes living next door to me, there is a load of them in the house a mixture of Irish and foreign nationals. Cars coming and going the whole time, half 4 in the morning they start revving their cars with those huge exhausts and their stupid moped. Then come the parties.... They go on till about 6am with people out the front of the house smashing bottles. Its ridiculous. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    You've got to be kidding me. I've been further even more decided to use even go need to do look more as anyone can. Can you really be far even as decided half as much to use go wish for that? My guess is that when one really been far even as decided once to use even go want, it is then that he has really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like. It's just common sense.
    that is brilliant:D:D i can't stop laughing, i cant wait for tonight when i've a few glasses of wine in me to read it again:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

casio4 wrote: »
    that is brilliant:D:D i can't stop laughing, i cant wait for tonight when i've a few glasses of wine in me to read it again:D:D

Glad you enjoyed it but I'm not claiming I made it up myself, I just copy pasted it from somewhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭kiwipower

angel01 wrote: »
    I know that feeling, we used to have a polish couple staying in a flat below me, we went through hell... contact the PRTB and be prepared to keep going with this..

We got them evicted in the end. It was pure hell. :(

What did you get them evicted for?

Being Polish? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

OP, just gatecrash the party with a stereo playing Cliff Richard music, that'll clear everyone quick enough