If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Premierstone your your threads are always welcome your posts are always fair and to the point. Of course you are right everybody are welcome on this site to discuss any county they like concerning GAA maters. I hope the Munster Final lives up to expectations and we all have a great day. Only one team can win and I hope that the Deise prevail and if Tipp win well the best of luck to you, thats what its all about really, go to a match if you win shake hands with your opponent and if you loose do the same, that has always been my motto as I already have said you are always welcome here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭jacksie

hardybuck wrote: »
    Well, actually you can't. Thats why there are moderators, and specific threads. I'm not saying stop talking about Tipp, I'm just being pedantic!
    Of course we can, if it's the natural evolution of the thread to move onto talking about something else for a short period then it is what it is. The thread is moderated in terms of the forum rules, it's not a breach of the rules, so no - he isn't right to try and direct conversation. Though the thread was started by a Moderator, they are not official threads bound by any specific rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭jacksie

Heard Brick Walsh is being used as full back in training for Waterford this week. A sign of things to come for the Munster final?

I think this is definitely in their minds, maybe not straight away but certainly if there is any signs of weakness at full back then straight in. A shame but reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

jacksie wrote: »
    Of course we can, if it's the natural evolution of the thread to move onto talking about something else for a short period then it is what it is. The thread is moderated in terms of the forum rules, it's not a breach of the rules, so no - he isn't right to try and direct conversation. Though the thread was started by a Moderator, they are not official threads bound by any rules.

While you're correct in saying there are no specific thread rules, there is a rule regarding off-topic posting in the charter and that can be implemented whenever we think necessary.

I have no problem talking about Tipp on-goings if it's within the context of the Munster final. Their starting XV, their preparations and other events regarding the final is all fine. Their local club games or other happenings isn't. Should be easy enough!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Can I be the outcast and discuss Limerick? :pac:

Anyone know why Dec Hannon isnt on their minor team? I thought he was still under 18!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

deise_girl wrote: »
    Can I be the outcast and discuss Limerick? :pac:

Anyone know why Dec Hannon isnt on their minor team? I thought he was still under 18!

Nah he's overage. He was always in the same age category as me.

It should be a good game though, I'd say Waterford are favourites...but Limerick have some excellent players all the same.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Nah he's overage. He was always in the same age category as me.

It should be a good game though, I'd say Waterford are favourites...but Limerick have some excellent players all the same.

Ahh right thanks :)

Thats a bit of a positive going into the game.. that Dec Hannon is overage >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Was wondering if Hannon was going to be playing. Yer man Shane Dowling is another who's meant to be decent, is he underage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Cake Man wrote: »
    Was wondering if Hannon was going to be playing. Yer man Shane Dowling is another who's meant to be decent, is he underage?

He is. Was supposedly outstanding against Cork.

Its pouring rain this evening hope it dries up for tomorrow evening or Walsh Park will be like a bog. The news I'm hearing is that Limerick are favorite to progress to the Munster Final. I think its a 50 50 game with home venue giving us a slight advantage. Both teams look very impressive which is great for the future for both counties I'll be heading down to my home town for this one and I'm really looking forward to it, Come on the baby Deise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Cake Man wrote: »

Limerick Minor Hurling Waterford

Name Club

1. Pj Hall Adare
    2. Shane Irwin Bruff
    3. Barry O Connell Kildimo
    4. Brian Murphy Fedamore
    5. Liam Ryan Doon
    6. Ciaran Keogh Na Piarsaigh
    7. Barry Lynch Feohanagh/Castlemahon
    8. Dan Morrissey Ahane
    9. Diarmuid Dee Mungret
    10. David Reidy Dromin/Athlacca
    11. Shane Dowling Na Piarsaigh
    12. Mark Carmody Patrickswell
    13. Kevin O' Brien Patrickswell
    14. Mike Fitzgibbon Feohanagh/Castlemahon
    15. Jack Aherne Kileedy

Wouldn't know much of that Limerick team tbh but I'm sure a few were part of the Ard Scoil Ris Harty team this year.

Makes for a good game, the weather is meant to be grand for tomorrow evening I think. Cracking I'm going to miss it but if it's live on WLR I'll take it. Scant consolation however.

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Its pouring rain this evening hope it dries up for tomorrow evening or Walsh Park will be like a bog. The news I'm hearing is that Limerick are favorite to progress to the Munster Final. I think its a 50 50 game with home venue giving us a slight advantage. Both teams look very impressive which is great for the future for both counties I'll be heading down to my home town for this one and I'm really looking forward to it, Come on the baby Deise.

It does look good for both teams, but carrying success at underage level into senior is a total different matter. Galway always have good underage teams but they have a major problem bringing it forward to adult level. Maybe it might have been made a little easier for them if a few years back had Gort Community School been allowed into the Harty Cup when they tried to get involved. They would have more tougher games which would have brought on the players more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Heard Brick Walsh is being used as full back in training for Waterford this week. A sign of things to come for the Munster final?
    if he plays at full back then were ****ed only one place for him against tipp thats midfield you need someone serious there put stoppers on shane mc grath /prob brendan maher of course brick won ball at full back against limerick sure he would win ball no matter what all that happened against limerick was he put brick in full back and invited the whole limerick team onto us so ill put this 2 ye my team for final is A.Power.D Fives.L.Lawlor.N.Connors.R.Foley.K.Moran.J.Nagle.BRICK.S.Molumphy.P.Mahoney.S.O.Sullivan.E.Kelly.B.O.Sullivan.S.Walsh.J.Mullane now *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Anybody tell me what time the game is on trying to stay off the beer for the weekend and how much is a ticket for the game usually.

Looks like the winners of tomorrow night will be playing Clare who had a fantastic win over Tipp in Thurles

if he plays at full back then were ****ed only one place for him against tipp thats midfield you need someone serious there put stoppers on shane mc grath /prob brendan maher of course brick won ball at full back against limerick sure he would win ball no matter what all that happened against limerick was he put brick in full back and invited the whole limerick team onto us so ill put this 2 ye my team for final is A.Power.D Fives.L.Lawlor.N.Connors.R.Foley.K.Moran.J.Nagle.BRICK.S.Molumphy.P.Mahoney.S.O.Sullivan.E.Kelly.B.O.Sullivan.S.Walsh.J.Mullane now *

I would say Centre Forward.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Anybody tell me what time the game is on trying to stay off the beer for the weekend and how much is a ticket for the game usually.

Dont you pay at the turn styles. Walsh Park will hardly have its capacity tested.

The draw for the second round of the GAA All-Ireland Football championship qualifiers will take place on Sunday evening next after the Connacht semi-final at McHale Park. It will be broadcast on RTÉ's Sunday Game programme shortly after 6pm and posted on www.gaa.ie afterwards.

The format will be as follows:

2nd Round Football
    Three Bowls

Bowl A - Each of the eight teams defeated in the Provincial Semi-Finals
    Leitrim, Galway/Mayo, Waterford, Limerick, Armagh, Donegal/Tyrone, Dublin/Kildare, Carlow/Wexford

Bowl B - Eight Round 1 Winners

Bowl C– Venues; First Team Drawn (from Bowl C) shall have home venue.

Bowl A

Limerick
    Waterford
    Leitrim
    Galway/Mayo
    Derry/Amagh
    Donegal/Tyrone
    Dublin/Kildare
    Carlow/Wexford.

Bowl B

Sligo/Wicklow
    Offaly/Monaghan
    Louth/Meath
    Antrim/Westmeath
    Fermanagh/London
    Cavan/Longford
    Laois/Tipperary
    Clare/Down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Dont you pay at the turn styles. Walsh Park will hardly have its capacity tested.

I'd say there will be a good crowd there all the same! There was last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

will W.L.R be broadcasting it live

Hslaw wrote: »
    will W.L.R be broadcasting it live

I think so.

M'on the Deise!

It is on Wlr
    should be a good game H'on the Deise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

cracking weather for it now and a nice crowd building here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

KevIRL wrote: »
    cracking weather for it now and a nice crowd building here

Decent crowd from Limerick?? Couldn't go myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

v good first half. wat 3-7 lim 1-4.

great game it had everything in it Hon the deise

get some payback this year after clare beat us last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

final score?

we won by 6 points 4 17 to 3 14 i think that was the final score