If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

egpower wrote: »
    Can't believe I didn't think of it before now. We need two goalies, one for the high balls and one for the shot stopping. Just to comply with GAA regulations, let's play one of them at FB. Kill two birds with one stone.

QED

1. C Hennessey
    2. D Fives
    3. A Power :D
    4. N Connors

Sorted...

Suggested this a long while back, but swapped Clinton and Adrian from the way you have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Deise Tom wrote: »
    A question for those that want a change in goals for the Munster Final, If Clinton is as poor as some are making him out to be, how come he was nominated for an All-Star last year. Full marks to Davy for sticking with him. Davy was one of the best keepers in recent years, and obviously knows about goal keeping and sees something in Clinton.

End of discussion lads, if Tom is backing a Davy decision and giving him credit then its gotta be the right one :pac:

In all seriousness though, fair play for giving him credit on this Tom despite your oft stated dislike for him. I agree with you here as well for what its worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

A question for those that want a change in goals for the Munster Final, If Clinton is as poor as some are making him out to be, how come he was nominated for an All-Star last year. Full marks to Davy for sticking with him. Davy was one of the best keepers in recent years, and obviously knows about goal keeping and sees something in Clinton.

Nothing wrong with Clinton, he should have been on the team sooner, we could have won the big one if he was.
    Ive nothing against Stevie Brenner but he left in some howlers of goals over the years.

KevIRL wrote: »
    End of discussion lads, if Tom is backing a Davy decision and giving him credit then its gotta be the right one :pac:

In all seriousness though, fair play for giving him credit on this Tom despite your oft stated dislike for him. I agree with you here as well for what its worth.

I would give Davy credit for alot, giving the young lads a go etc and sticking with them no matter what etc, its his tatics or lack of that i have a problem with.

STIG83 wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with Clinton, he should have been on the team sooner, we could have won the big one if he was.
    Ive nothing against Stevie Brenner but he left in some howlers of goals over the years.

He was out of the country for the early part of our good years run want he. Maybe we could have done it with Brendan Landers in goals. Hes still a fine keeper.

Landers was another choice too, wasnt it Gerald MacCarthy who drove him out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

My views on the Waterford team performance against Limerick

Clinton Hennessy hadn’t a hope with the first goal, a hard shot just inside the post which took a bounce off the wet surface. I’m sure another goalkeeper would have stopped one of both of the other goals. Clinton just doesn’t know how to make himself big in situations like these. Some of his puckouts were poor, flying over the heads of the intended targets. Some of his clearances in the second half were also poorly directed down the middle.

While his inexperience caught him out on a couple of occasions, I thought Darragh Fives had a good game. His first touch is excellent, he has quick hands and is a lovely striker of the ball. Hopefully, this year he is serving an apprenticeship in the corner and will be moved further out next year.

I thought Davy hung Wayne Hutchinson out to dry following just one mistake (even if an expensive enough one). How are you supposed to build a player’s confidence if you treat them like this? Another case of Davy shifting the blame for his own inadequacies onto the players. Hutchinson (or Darragh Fives) should not have been left in isolation the way they were. Davy bought O’Grady’s bait hook, line and sinker.

Noel Connors: Still possibly troubled by leg injury, but good second half and no worries here.

Tony Browne did okay and was tight on his man under puckouts, but he largely confines himself to a covering role these days and we really need more dominant and offensive wingbacks.

Brick Walsh: What can I say except please don’t play him at full back.

Kevin Moran: In and out of the game without ever appearing to be dominant.

Stephen Molumphy: Best game for a long time and really provides leadership when needed. However, inclined not to look up when hitting long balls. Must stay in midfield.

David O’Sullivan: I thought he had a good game overall. His use of the ball (low and weighted balls into the forwards) was very good.

Maurice Shanahan: Had a very good first half but ran out of steam after half-time (understandable given he has been out of action for most of the year) and should have been taken off earlier. He should definitely start in the final – he can score (2-8 for Lismore last weekend) and earn frees through his ability to run at defences.

Shane O’Sullivan had a better game than some people on this site have given him credit for. Kept going right to the end and gave some good ball into the forwards.

Paudie Mahony dominated Wayne McNamara in the first half but was blown away by him in the second. Got two loose second half points but McNamara did terrible damage. Seamus Prendergast should have been put on McNamara when he was brought on with Paudie shifting to the other wing. Nevertheless, a fine display overall.

John Mullane could easily have scored 3-8 given the chances he got. I was surprised to see someone so experienced shooting hastily and without looking. But you still can’t argue against 2-2, including the winning goal.

Shane Walsh: What was he doing out around the sideline late in the game? Davy’s preoccupation with rotating the forwards is getting on my nerves. Different forwards require different types of ball and it helps those outfield if they know in advance who is where. Besides, hitting balls into the corner for Shane to chase is pointless given his lack of pace. Leave him at full forward!

Brian O’Sullivan: Excellent game. Scored two great points, earned the penalty and a couple of other frees and set up several scoring chances.

For the final, assuming Richie Foley is back, I would obviously play him in midfield with David O’Sullivan as a good backup for both wing back and midfield. I presume Liam Lawlor will start at full back with Hutchinson injured. Eoin Kelly looked like he was interested when he came on (he even chased a Limerick player down late in the game and prevented a likely score) but I still wouldn’t start him against Tipp.

There has been no mention at all here of the disgraceful showing of the Waterford intermediate team against Limerick. I wouldn’t blame the players who I believe were recruited less than a fortnight before the game. If the county board aren’t going to take this competition seriously then they shouldn’t enter it. It would be good if the competition were used as a kind of reward to good and dedicated club players who are never going to make the county senior team. Alternatively, it should be used for player development purposes, combining say those players on the senior squad not on the senior match-day panel with under-21 players not in the senior squad. This would provide the players with an incentive to perform and experience of playing in big stadia. There might be a case for having the seniors, intermediates and under-21s under single management with, for example, the senior selectors acting as managers of the other teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,745 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Tickets are on sale for the final on ticketmaster now.

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180046D6A8A7222A?artistid=1102932&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=729

bit annoyed as all the good seats are gone in the Covered Stand only Blocks J and A left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

PTH2009 wrote: »

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180046D6A8A7222A?artistid=1102932&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=729

bit annoyed as all the good seats are gone in the Covered Stand only Blocks J and A left

Block J don't look too bad in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Speak Now

PTH2009 wrote: »

Hopefully all the decent seats in the covered stands are going to be sent out to season ticket holders.

Landers was another choice too, wasnt it Gerald MacCarthy who drove him out?

I think it could have been Justin. Did Landers play up to and including 2001, Justins last year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Thread cleaned up of trolling posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

If anyone knows what terraces are allocated to what supporters please let us know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

I see Lar Corbett's pub are having Munster Final Celebrations the day after: https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=119122494843051

Ha Tipp seem very sure of themselves!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Just on the Pub event, Im sure they mean celebrating the Final itself, not necessarily Tipp winning it...yet.

Wonder will Babs Keating say anything about the final? He might keep his thoughts to himself after his comments in 2002!!
    He had to eat humble pie that day when Waterford won!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Just on the Pub event, Im sure they mean celebrating the Final itself, not necessarily Tipp winning it...yet.
    Of course they are. Let's celebrate 'the Final' on the 11th even if we lose :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Ha Tipp seem very sure of themselves!!

As always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Wonder will Babs Keating say anything about the final? He might keep his thoughts to himself after his comments in 2002!!
    He had to eat humble pie that day when Waterford won!! :d

Well, it's rare he says anything positive about Tipp these days. Probably bitter that they lost that day and that he was made look such a fool.

He had to eat humble pie that day when Waterford won!! :d

I dont think it was much of a secret that Babs did not mind, and it may have been into his barrow to make such noises then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Well, it's rare he says anything positive about Tipp these days. Probably bitter that they lost that day and that he was made look such a fool.

John Leahy is the same. Shame to see two former legends having a bitter attitude to the current setup.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Jaysus lads, this is the Waterford thread not the Tipp thread, why not concentrate on your own county and not others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭deisebhoy17

Clareman wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, this is the Waterford thread not the Tipp thread, why not concentrate on your own county and not others?

Ever hear of double standars Clareman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

The Waterford minors must have some forward line if they can leave Chris Kervick, Donie Breathnach, Cormac Heffernan, Michael Harney and Cormac Curran on the bench, or are any of these injured? Heffernan was full forward on the team last year but suffered a bad injury. However I heard he was going very well in training. Breathnach impressed me in the pre-championship challenge games with his pace and running power. Given Jamie Barron's recent scoring exploits with Fourmilewater seniors, is he wasted at corner back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

With all due respect Clareman, Waterford are playing Tipp in a Munster final, biggest game of the year so far, of course Tipp are going to be part of the conversation in this thread for the next 3 weeks, and how boring and onesided would individual county threads be without contributions from posters from other counties, I really fail to see what the problem is here, maybe im missing something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭jacksie

Really, we can discuss whatever we want, we don't need direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

jacksie wrote: »
    Really, we can discuss whatever we want, we don't need direction.

Well, actually you can't. Thats why there are moderators, and specific threads. I'm not saying stop talking about Tipp, I'm just being pedantic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭deisebhoy17

Heard Brick Walsh is being used as full back in training for Waterford this week. A sign of things to come for the Munster final?