If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Daysha wrote: »
    Wayne Hutchinson has just said on Twitter he's out of the final. Waiting for more info...

Injured?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Wayne Hutchinson has just said on Twitter he's out of the final. Waiting for more info...

Gonna post his tweet?
    It'd be a good talking point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Just got back to me there now. Broke a bone in his hand after his club game yesterday and probably out for 4-6 weeks. Link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Well thats leave FB a decision between Brick and Lawlor. Though knowing Davy, he's got a plan of sorts to play someone else in there so God help us all.

On the Munster Final venue, it should always be played in Thurles as its the right venue. Pairc Ui C is a terrible venue and a health and safety accident waiting to happen.

Cork GAA should have built a 40,000 seater 20 years ago in a decent location rather than buying Flower Lodge and Murphy and co. should be take their heads out of the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Where are your journalistic instincts, Daysha? The money tweet is "gut wrenching, miss munster final. **** club games in middle of championship anyway". Not that I agree with him, it's easy to say you want rid of club games while Waterford are in the Championship if you're on the panel. Spare a thought for those not on the panel. But in the context of recent conversations on this thread, it made me smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Cake Man wrote: »
    Chris Kervick was the captain for the Tipp game, wonder who will be captain on Saturday now that he's not starting. Good to see Gavin O'Brien back, he played well for Roanmore yesterday in senior championship against Dungarvan. Best of luck to the lads,would be great for another minor/senior double for the third year running.

The Minor team has joint captaincy with Chris Kervick and Gavin O Brien so I would assume that Gavin is captain for the Limerick game . Yeah it's a huge bonus to have Gavin back , he's got a great engine and a good free taker ( will be interesting to see if it's Gavin or Jake that's on free taking duties ) .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Cake Man wrote: »
    Chris Kervick was the captain for the Tipp game, wonder who will be captain on Saturday now that he's not starting. Good to see Gavin O'Brien back, he played well for Roanmore yesterday in senior championship against Dungarvan. Best of luck to the lads,would be great for another minor/senior double for the third year running.

Gavin O'Brien is captain against Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Et Cetera

deiseach wrote: »
    Where are your journalistic instincts, Daysha? The money tweet is "gut wrenching, miss munster final. **** club games in middle of championship anyway". Not that I agree with him, it's easy to say you want rid of club games while Waterford are in the Championship if you're on the panel. Spare a thought for those not on the panel. But in the context of recent conversations on this thread, it made me smile

So we shouldn't play club games from June - Aug/Sept? What an IDIOT.

chinguetti wrote: »
    Well thats leave FB a decision between Brick and Lawlor. Though knowing Davy, he's got a plan of sorts to play someone else in there so God help us all.

On the Munster Final venue, it should always be played in Thurles as its the right venue. Pairc Ui C is a terrible venue and a health and safety accident waiting to happen.

Cork GAA should have built a 40,000 seater 20 years ago in a decent location rather than buying Flower Lodge and Murphy and co. should be take their heads out of the sand.

There is plans (i think) to redevelop the paric.

I agree with you on the getting rid of club games. The club is the bread and butter of the gaa and it should never be forgotten. Players that go on to play at the highest levels should never forget that they had their club before many inter county manager or selector knew they even existed.

Et Cetera wrote: »
    I wouldn't call him an idiot, he's obviously sore (both figuratively and literally) after the injury. Tweet in haste, repent at leisure. Still don't agree with him though

Or maybe is listening to someone that is one for too long.

Well, I'm still going to consider him an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ArtVandelay76

Is he going to be the Ryan Babel of the GAA world?

The mods will have a say on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Deise Tom wrote: »
    There is plans (i think) to redevelop the paric.

The only redevelopment I can see that would rid it of it's ails would be to knock it and build it 20 minutes outside the town, or at least somewhere where there can be some traffic flow.

I agree with Daysha about a change of scenery being nice. On that note, I wouldn't mind travelling to the Gaelic Grounds too much. Sure we'll see how it goes, I guess. If it's definitely confirmed for Cork, I might take the night off work and stay over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

Or maybe is listening to someone that is one for too long.

Give it a rest Tom for God's sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

nkay1985 wrote: »
    The only redevelopment I can see that would rid it of it's ails would be to knock it and build it 20 minutes outside the town, or at least somewhere where there can be some traffic flow.

I agree with Daysha about a change of scenery being nice. On that note, I wouldn't mind travelling to the Gaelic Grounds too much. Sure we'll see how it goes, I guess. If it's definitely confirmed for Cork, I might take the night off work and stay over.

I would. It's not been kind to Waterford hurling.

STIG83 wrote: »
    The mods will have a say on that.

Are we not allowed to have personal views? IMO his statement is idiotic, I don't care if people agree or not. But I suppose everyone is hypersensitive these days. Anyway, no point in debating this here..

@daddydick - Sometimes I agree with @DeiseTom and some times disagree, but we can be sure he doesn't ever stop flogging the same view

@Mountainlad - The pitch doesn't matter one bit, they're all played on grass

nkay1985 wrote: »
    The only redevelopment I can see that would rid it of it's ails would be to knock it and build it 20 minutes outside the town, or at least somewhere where there can be some traffic flow
    Is Cork really that much worse than Thurles to get away from? It was a fecking nightmare leaving Thurles after last year's replay. Ultimately getting away is always going to be more difficult than arriving, especially on Munster final day when a lot of people will arrive early for the Minor game - hope we have reason to do that this year!

daddydick wrote: »
    Give it a rest Tom for God's sake

Did i say any names. Are you a mind reader?

If Waterford win the munster final, think people won't mind been stuck in traffic, go back to 2002, no Youghal by pass, traffic was mental that day, but no one cared, we were happy!!

We really don't have to be =P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

You didn't have to. BORING.

Are we not allowed to have personal views? IMO his statement is idiotic, I don't care if people agree or not. But I suppose everyone is hypersensitive these days. Anyway, no point in debating this here..

@daddydick - Sometimes I agree with @DeiseTom and some times disagree, but we can be sure he doesn't ever stop flogging the same view

Course it does. The players much prefer Thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

You are allowed have personal views and say I think you're post is idiotic and back it up with fact.

However you said.

Banned for 1 week, regards.

Pride Fighter

If Waterford win the munster final, think people won't mind been stuck in traffic, go back to 2002, no Youghal by pass, traffic was mental that day, but no one cared, we were happy!!
    Damn right. Remember the oul one in Youghal who covered her whole house in white and blue whenever Waterford were playing? The noise in the Jack Lynch tunnel on the way home? The people of Youghal not begrudging us our day in the sun? Getting all misty-eyed here . . .

Edit: God, I'd almost forgotten what it was like that day. If I can be so knobby as to quote myself:
    If anyone was still unaware of the enormity of Waterford’s achievement, they were surely woken from their stupor by the tsunami of car horns which filled the tunnel. The engineer must have been adding a few zeroes to his asking price, selling himself as The Man Whose Tunnel Withstood The Déise Roar. Every Waterford car was a nodule of noise which, when all added together in the confines of the tunnel, was truly spectacular. All the way through we roared our delight. We were fully aware that our personal noise was barely a pinprick amidst the general uproar, but we couldn’t help ourselves. The din generated by the cars awoke an almost primeval sense of elation in us. Emerging from the far side to the abrupt silence of the outside world, a sense of exhaustion swept over me. It was as if the tunnel had unleashed a monster, and in a way it had. We just had to let that monster out with a manic display of gratification, and boy did it feel good.

The convoy slowly groped its way through east Cork and finally crossed the Blackwater into Waterford, although not before we had slowed to acknowledge the old woman in Youghal, finally getting some reward for her years of persevering with her bunting and flags. Hopefully the team acknowledged that too when they passed through a few hours after us.

I thought I'd never be made miserable by Waterford again. I was wrong, of course. But feck it, it was the good kind of wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Platinum2010

Wexford beat Kilkenny.
    I'm still in shock over this

Course it does. The players much prefer Thurles.
    Do the Tipp players not prefer it even more?

Hard to know. I wouldn't look at it as an advantage, but it's a better venue on so many levels and the pitch is so good you'd have to think it would be a better game. We play there more than Tipp do in the championship so I don't see it being an advantage to them anyway.