Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Is David Norris Toast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

zuroph wrote: »
    Yet its proven to be the case in portugal.

Link ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    If he attracts a lot of Gay votes, it will be a problem for the other gay candidate.

You are a gas chap.

delos wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but does anyone know exactly how the FG council members have been told to vote? Have they been told not to vote for non-FG people or to vote against non-FG people? It could have a large impact on any independent looking for support from councils....

You could well be right.

I think Norris would do well to finish in the top 5, people tend to vote for a safe pair of hands regarding this job, not somebody who keeps drawing attention to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

delos wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but does anyone know exactly how the FG council members have been told to vote? Have they been told not to vote for non-FG people or to vote against non-FG people? It could have a large impact on any independent looking for support from councils....

They've been told to block any nomination bids from non fg candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Quote:
    Originally Posted by zuroph viewpost.gif

Link ??

Decriminalise drug use........ why not try a little light reading from today's independent Tayto lad........ http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/does-portugal-have-the-solution-to-our-drug-epidemic-2672102.html
    Portugal now has one of Europe's lowest lifetime usage rates for cannabis and heroin abuse has decreased among vulnerable younger age-groups.
    The share of heroin users who inject the drug has also fallen -- from 45pc before decriminalisation to 17pc today.

Portugal's previously high rate of HIV has also plummeted with drug addicts now accounting for only 20pc of all new cases, down from 56pc before. In 2001, new diagnosis of HIV was running at about 3,000 a year. Now, it's down to fewer than 2,000 per annum.

Furthermore, recent surveys in schools suggest an overall decrease in drug experimentation. It's estimated that as much as €400m has been taken out of the illegal drugs market, with Portuguese police now focusing their attentions on high-level dealers rather than small-time operators.

"It's been a resounding success," says Jose Pinto, Chancellor of the Embassy of Portugal, Dublin. "Walk around any of the cities and you will see that it is different to 10 years ago.

"There is a great deal we can learn from Portugal," Bingham, chairman of the Irish Needle Exchange Forum, says.
    "Here, we criminalise anyone caught in possession of drugs. In Portugal, people are treated humanely and they are helped to overcome their addiction without fear of being considered a criminal.

"Here (in Ireland), if you're caught in possession, you will have a stain on your record for life," Tim Bingham says. "Think how hard it is to rebuild your life if you've got a criminal record, especially in a climate like this where jobs are now so hard to come by. In the UK, it's a bit more progressive because some records are erased after five or six years."

Portugal's success story, meanwhile, has attracted the attention of some of the world's most successful people. Luminaries such as billionaire investor George Soros, former UN secretary general Kofi Annan and entrepreneur Richard Branson are part of an influential think-tank, the Global Commission on Drug Policy, and they are advocating decriminalisation in the so-called 'war on drugs'.

And Ireland is set to join the list of admiring onlookers. Joao Goulao, the architect of the policy, will be the keynote speaker at the National Drugs Conference to be held in Dublin on November 3 and 4.

mikom wrote: »
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by zuroph viewpost.gif

Decriminalise drug use........ why not try a little light reading from today's independent Tayto lad........ http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/does-portugal-have-the-solution-to-our-drug-epidemic-2672102.html

Thanks for that too as i didn't get a paper today yet. I might try to get to that conference too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Thanks for that too as i didn't get a paper today yet. I might try to get to that conference too.

If do go then please let us know what you thought of it.

mikom wrote: »
    If do go then please let us know what you thought of it.

If i get to it i certainly will let you know how it went, thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

There's a great quote in the paper from an American director of elections "If you are explaining then you are losing".

Norris needs to drop this academic discussion immediately. Both straight and gay people have problems with some or all of what he is saying. The subject matter of which is not an election issue, it is not anything that I would imagine would be on the Norris manifesto but it will be an issue for de-selection if he's not careful. He won't get nominated as a result of the way he's behaving. the academic debates belong in the lecture hall.

I'm happy to see Norris in the race but he really needs to cop on.

BrianD wrote: »
    There's a great quote in the paper from an American director of elections "If you are explaining then you are losing".

Norris needs to drop this academic discussion immediately. Both straight and gay people have problems with some or all of what he is saying. The subject matter of which is not an election issue, it is not anything that I would imagine would be on the Norris manifesto but it will be an issue for de-selection if he's not careful. He won't get nominated as a result of the way he's behaving. the academic debates belong in the lecture hall.

I'm happy to see Norris in the race but he really needs to cop on.

Good points there.

Will he even get the chance to be in the race ? Could be touch and go.

Hes not helping himself at the moment, not very presidential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

ebbsy wrote: »
    Hes not helping himself at the moment, not very presidential.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

after watching Vincent Browne tonight, on Mross and SHill again, I'm more convinced than ever that our drug policy is wrong. a legalisation, or changed legislation to control, would take all the money away from these gangs, and change life in this country for so many people. Its a topic we cant ignore any longer, every day on the news theres a new shooting or drug related murder. Nevermind how many unreported daily crimes there are, committed by junkies massively strung out and desperate for money for their next fix. Just tonight, a friend in Dublin was mugged by three junkies. yesterday I was told of another story elsewhere in the country where a gang held a man at gunpoint because his son owed them some drug money.

Something needs to change, and I firmly believe its better to have a politician that is ready to approach the subject frankly and without the curtain of party politics. It shows a remarkable honesty and quest for the greater good for Norris that he would stick his head out and admit legalisation may be a better option, knowing that this would be an unpopular statement with so many who prefer to pretend there is no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

They've been told to block any nomination bids from non fg candidates.
    For a party that wanted to reform politics, they are certainly not leading by example. David Norris is a high profile Independent politician who Fine Gael are effectively blocking from running in this election by leveraging a system that was designed to place as many obstacles in front of Independent candidates as possible. By no means do I support David Norris but I think he deserves a fair crack of the whip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

AdMMM wrote: »
    For a party that wanted to reform politics, they are certainly not leading by example. David Norris is a high profile Independent politician who Fine Gael are effectively blocking from running in this election by leveraging a system that was designed to place as many obstacles in front of Independent candidates as possible. By no means do I support David Norris but I think he deserves a fair crack of the whip.

+1 If he fails to secure a nomination then this country will be the poorer for it, regardless if he wins.

I'm suprised at the amount of candidates. A year ago I would have thought this was a shoe-in for David.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 JMcG92

Just listened to the interview. I'm absolutely appalled at that woman's lack of comprehension.
    Obviously Norris doesn't condone pedophilia. What he is suggesting is that consent is much, much more important than age when it comes to sexual legislation. I mean, everyone matures at a different age so an arbitrary figure should only act as a guideline. Case in point: consensual sex between an 18 year old and a 16 year old. Technically illegitimate but if both parties consent then it doesn't matter really. I completely agree with him there.
    His second point about the sexual mentor makes absolute sense to me. We live in a society where the act of reproduction, the most wonderful thing about being a self replicating organism is seen as being wrong and dirty. Completely stupid! It should be seen as an important a milestone in one's life as a first car, kiss, home, if not even more so.
    In my opinion, Helen Lucy Bitch is being obstinately ignorant and destroying this fine man's reputation.

Also, she's a food critic? HA! So so used to being literal that she's likely never had a proper academic conversation in her life. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

If Gay Mitchell runs they are all toast.

It could split the Gay vote all right. Just as long as Gay Byrne doesn't run. That would really confuse them.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

2wsxcde3 wrote: »
    So basically it's alright to suggest pedophelia is ok if you're a gay popular man in this country?

Honestly, some of the people on here need to stand back from the situation. Just because david norris is a generally likable and popular man, does not give him the right to go around saying underage sex is ok. If any other politician said it they'd have to resign :rolleyes:

He never said anything like that. Very ignorant blinkered view you have.

Norris is wasting his time running anyway. Mitchell and Higgins will duke it out for the prize. Two very credible candidates, who have not spent the last month on the back foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭InigoMontoya

There seems to be a sentiment around (in parts of the media, here also) that David Norris has the right to be on the ballot paper. He doesn't. He has the right to seek nomination just like anyone else, and I don't see why any particular party should be expected to facilitate his nomination to run in opposition to a candidate of their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I don't see why any particular party should be expected to facilitate his nomination to run in opposition to a candidate of their own.

I would vote for Norris if he's on the ballot, but I agree that there's no particular reason for any of the parties to put him there if they have a candidate of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Norris is wasting his time running anyway. Mitchell and Higgins will duke it out for the prize. Two very credible candidates, who have not spent the last month on the back foot.

Nah, you either have to be called Mary or be an ex.RTE hack to become President - the present incumbent ticked both boxes - and therefore by my reckoning the only hopefuls are Pat Cox (Today Tonight) and Mairead McGuinness (Ear to the Ground).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0616/1224299000055.html
    Campaign against Norris stinks of homophobia

The treatment of the Joycean scholar is analogous with the calculated destruction of Oscar Wilde, writes DAVID ADAMS

CASTING MY mind back to when I was, say, 14 or 15: if an attractive, older woman had offered to initiate me in a loving, gentle way into the joys of sex, would I have refused?

Like hell, I would.

I’d have been into her arms like a flash, in case she changed her mind. In fact, forget about her being attractive, loving and gentle. Such were my sexual yearnings at that age I’d have succumbed to virtually any older female who didn’t look and act like an extra from a horror film (and even then I wouldn’t bet on it).

Any heterosexual man who claims otherwise is either deluding himself or suffering from severe memory loss. Would the woman have been wrong in taking advantage of me? Emphatically, yes. What would my reaction have been if someone had “initiated” one of my sons at that age? I’d have been outraged, and dragged her or him through every court in the land to get justice.

But that is not the point. Although I am no longer a barely post-pubescent youngster, I can still remember what it was like to be one – and so can David Norris. Heterosexual males should substitute “mature woman” for “mature man” in what Norris said in that Magill interview, and they’ll realise the degree to which he understated the case.

Apparently he would have “greatly relished” such an encounter.

Greatly relished?

I’d have felt as if all my birthdays and Christmases had come at once. As for Norris pointing out that there is widespread confusion between paedophilia and pederasty: of course there is, reflecting a (wholly understandable) public near-hysteria about child safety.

Pederasty is as described above, only involving two males. Norris mentioned this in the context of what he and presumably most other gay lads fantasised about at 14 or 15, in the same way that I and my heterosexual classmates worked ourselves into a lather of excitement over Mrs Ever-so-sexy, the English teacher.

Norris made perfectly clear in his Magill interview, and has done many times since, that what he would have liked when he was a frustrated, highly hormonal youngster bears no resemblance to the thoughts and desires of the mature person he is today.

Again, he spoke for every other right-thinking adult male on the planet.

Norris also claimed in Magill that there are degrees of sexual abuse, and even of rape. Is any rational person seriously trying to argue that there aren’t?

Let’s not even bother with the obvious instance of a young lad who by virtue of being only a couple of months older than his girlfriend can be guilty of statutory rape.

To allow for no distinction between the horrendous crime of rape and the even more horrendous crime of beating someone to a pulp while raping them is absolute lunacy. Ken Clarke, the British lord chancellor and secretary of state for justice, got into some bother a few weeks ago for saying essentially the same thing as Norris.

However, like me, Clarke was always on far safer ground in stating what should be self-evident to anyone with sufficient wit to tie their own shoelaces.

As a heterosexual, he was never going to be accused of anything more serious than muddled thinking, whereas the unstated but carefully constructed inferences against Norris are of a different, more sickening order altogether.

Nor should we be surprised, given that the dirty little campaign against him stinks to the rooftops of homophobia (don’t kid yourself there isn’t a campaign, the dots aren’t that hard to join up). The homophobe believes that at best homosexuality is a (reprehensible) lifestyle choice, at worst a terrible fundamental flaw in the essential make-up of a person.

According to this bizarre thinking, someone who either chooses or is driven by nature to sleep with a member of his or her own sex is capable of just about any sexual perversion.

Hence the persistence of homophobes in trying to link gay men to paedophilia, despite every statistic showing that while the overwhelmingly majority of paedophiles are indeed male, they are also heterosexual (the remainder are either not attracted to post-pubescent people at all, or are attracted to virtually anything with a pulse).

Statistically, therefore, contrary to what the bigots try to intimate, it is far safer to leave your child in the care of a gay man than with his heterosexual counterpart. It’s worth remembering that Norris’s only “crime” has been to put himself forward as a prospective candidate for the presidency. While in many respects democracy is dependent upon the freedom to throw mud, there have to be limits to the depths to which politics are allowed to sink.

Imagine for a second how it must feel to be publicly smeared in the way that Norris has. The treatment of this Joycean scholar is somewhat blackly analogous with the calculated destruction of Oscar Wilde. I have never met Norris, but he strikes me as a fundamentally decent person – his major weakness, it appears, is to presume that everyone is as fair-minded and decent as himself.

I'm inclined to agree with most of what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,509 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

meglome wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0616/1224299000055.html

I'm inclined to agree with most of what he says.

Of course, and so would I, I guess the issue is would the two marys have been elected if the same thing happened to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Of course, and so would I, I guess the issue is would the two marys have been elected if the same thing happened to them?

The problem is as soon as the word gay is heard all reason goes out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,509 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

meglome wrote: »
    The problem is as soon as the word gay is heard all reason goes out the window.
    no i think it was pederasty?
    he was a shoe in until that came up. My point was if Mary Mc or Robinson talked about their desire to be "brought into womanhood by an older man" they may not have been successful. To be president you have to sidestep the joe duffy brigade and Norris ran head first into them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

JMcG92 wrote: »
    Just listened to the interview. I'm absolutely appalled at that woman's lack of comprehension.
    Obviously Norris doesn't condone pedophilia. What he is suggesting is that consent is much, much more important than age when it comes to sexual legislation. I mean, everyone matures at a different age so an arbitrary figure should only act as a guideline. Case in point: consensual sex between an 18 year old and a 16 year old. Technically illegitimate but if both parties consent then it doesn't matter really. I completely agree with him there.
    His second point about the sexual mentor makes absolute sense to me. We live in a society where the act of reproduction, the most wonderful thing about being a self replicating organism is seen as being wrong and dirty. Completely stupid! It should be seen as an important a milestone in one's life as a first car, kiss, home, if not even more so.
    In my opinion, Helen Lucy Bitch is being obstinately ignorant and destroying this fine man's reputation.

.[B" ]We live in a society where the act of reproduction, the most wonderful thing about being a self replicating organism is seen as being wrong and dirty. .[/B]"
    Excuse me being pedantic ! But isnt this about same sex couples ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

He's not toast........................ but he is gay. Not a popular thing to be, even in one of the most tolerant and forgiving parts of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

newmug wrote: »
    He's not toast........................ but he is gay. Not a popular thing to be, even in one of the most tolerant and forgiving parts of the world.

Which Ireland certainly is not! To be honest, I don't believe we deserve a fine man like David Norris as our President. :cool: