Female gardai pose as prostitutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

they must have either hired new bangards or those men were arrested for having no standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Presumably as male prostitutes yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

jimmynokia wrote: »
    ...So does this mean its ok for the hundreds of brothels to remain open?
    The gardai know where these are and some are right under their noses.
    Knowing something and proving it in the eyes of the legal law, to the point jury/judge conviction criteria, is another matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Ah lads, some of them are hot. Not €200 an hour hot, but still pretty decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

Do you think its wrong for men to use escorts?
    So they are targeting the men/women that want to use these 'services' but not the service providers.

Bravo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Should be easy enough spot with the fat camogie playing cankles, the 4 stone extra they'd be carrying on the regular junkie cum dumpsters and the "how's she cuttin, would you like me to suck ya off" approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

"They were propositioned by males in cars and were subsequently arrested," said Insp Healy.

Was this before or after the sex and the cash exchange? I'm sure the man briefly felt ar mhuin na muice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

So it's okay to be a prostitute but not to avial of their services? Is this the principle that the Gardai are working with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Is the way the poll is set with questions as choices confusing to others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm confused by your poll

Am I voting yes or no with the options?

The title should be a question but not the options, bit of a mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Is it wrong to have a poll option that's a question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Why not target the hundreds of vice dens?

They probably don't want to risk accidentally arresting a TD or High Court Judge by mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Presumably as male prostitutes yeah?

TRY keep it on a mature level we are talking female gardai posing as street walkers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Poll needs to be scrapped and redone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

Prostitution has been in civilised history for a loooooooooong time. Far better to regulate it and give the women freedom and support rather than the current half-starved beaten up preggo junkies a lot of them unfortunately are. If it's regulated, the sex trafficking crimes would lessen and hey, it could pay off some of the bailout debt.

Tis frightening life on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Do ye get charged after the shag or before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

That "Poll" is might confusing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

So it's okay to be a prostitute but not to avial of their services? Is this the principle that the Gardai are working with?

yes, yet another law (like the age of consent law) which just serves to punish men

The questions in the poll are simple its just a basic feel for what the public thinks im after.
    my personal opinion is its wrong for the gardai to go out like kids and trap men,other than that its the oldest profession in the world and the government could cash in if at was legalized,yet they target kerb crawlers(cheap way for quick relief)
    And there is hundreds or brothels/independants making a small fortune every week.....TAX FREE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Tbh ever since i found out Ruhama are a Catholic organization i've started taking what they say with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Today in the new 60 men where arrested and charged as female gardai posed as escorts in the north inner city.
    http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBkQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fm104.ie%2Fnews%2Fnews-item.aspx%3FID%3D0c01bb4b-e9dd-4c30-92af-c593619b9fc0%26audio%3Dtrue&ei=Xpb3TZ_qNoaAhQftpr2RDA&usg=AFQjCNEV286-kJ5Rlf-s0KcMIwbXKes3tw&sig2=P47VCr4u7OjYd5fh_ytwTw

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=4&ved=0CCoQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishexaminer.com%2Fireland%2Fcrime%2Fgarda-strategy-focuses-on-men-soliciting-prostitutes-157738.html&ei=Xpb3TZ_qNoaAhQftpr2RDA&usg=AFQjCNGKkgPjM3HtWLijvCR_Re8M133TKw&sig2=YxkW1AO0B-dAFY6KXxH4eg

So does this mean its ok for the hundreds of brothels to remain open?
    The gardai know where these are and some are right under their noses.

So is it fair to go about this this way by sending in actors so to speak.
    Why not target the hundreds of vice dens?
    Would legalizing prostitution be better or worse.

read before,cant quote it, but it was a UN report or something like that which claimed that the prostitutes were victims and as such they are not prosectuted as much.

the same for brothels, finding the bosses is what matters not the women inthem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

I don't see a problem with the tactics being used by the gardai. If they quell the demand the supply will stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nanny state. Your body your choice. If something is consensual then the government should butt out.

read before,cant quote it, but it was a UN report or something like that which claimed that the prostitutes were victims and as such they are not prosectuted as much.

the same for brothels, finding the bosses is what matters not the women inthem

There is alot gone independent now,more risky but more takings for them.No pimp to pay.

Nanny state. Your body your choice. If something is consensual then the government should butt out.

quite true if its consensual.nobodys business but the two concenting adults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

OP: I think the Swedish model of prostitution is much better. Criminalise the pimps and those purchasing, but allow the prostitutes to inform the police about what they are doing. It makes much better sense as many are prostitutes under coercion rather than out of their own free will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Now, now. People must fúck for the future, not for profit or personal amusement. It is your duty to drop as many new hungry mouths out into this world in order to fuel the fake economy and keep yourself in an eternal debt trap.

Every sperm is sacred!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

Any legal buffs know if this is entrapment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Marguerite Tonery

I find that a very degrading way to treat your fellow garda officer. If you dress women in attire that lures people to engage with them for prostitution, what is that saying about the way women are being treated in the Garda Siochana? There was a study done in the U.S. a number of years ago, where college students were given two roles in a prison setting, one half of the students were assigned the role of prisoners, the other half assigned the role of officers. This was a social psychology experiment. The experiment had to be stopped because the students who were assigned the role of officers became too violent towards their fellow students, whom they had perceived as less than them. I could see how this could go wrong. Would those officers who posed as prostitutes be seen in a lesser light by their colleagues (it happens, social psychology experiments have proven it), and if so are they open to harrassment and would they be less likely to be promoted than other female gardai who did not dress as prostitutes. The other thing to consider is this: Has this already affected the self-esteems of those officers who engaged in the garda operation? I believe that it will definitely have changed their outlook on the situation that exists for prostitutes and on men/women in general to some degree.

Marsden wrote: »
    Any legal buffs know if this is entrapment?

my thoughts too.