thiefing scoundrals!

• 14-06-2011 03:01AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭

ok so my beloved motorbike was stolen tonight, the bastards and i am just wondering how may of you have had to deal with or report a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

you'll never be as good as face kicker but i laughed :rolleyes:

aww they banned him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

FatherLen wrote: »
    ok so my beloved motorbike was stolen tonight, the basterds

Were they inglourious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

FatherLen wrote: »
    ok so my beloved motorbike was stolen tonight, the bastards and i am just wondering how may of you have had to deal with or report a crime.

second gear is bolloxed on this, and the smoke from the exhaust is a funny blue colour! I'm leaving it back op!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

my cbr was robbed from my underground carpark in may, got it back next day in finglas. fookin scum, last monday, big magnum lock and chain through rear wheel, they took it again, never recovered it this time.

no theft insurance on it as i couldnt afford it. (1400 on a cbr250)

first time the guards were complete rtards, second time they were very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

They took yer'e HOG !!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

125cc of pure muscle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

I'd not one but 2 cars broken into one night in our estate, one was a fixer upper.
    The neighbour seen them at it at 4am & rang the guards who took 45 minutes to make it out (she didn't have my number & wasn't going to approach them).
    They destroyed the locks, ignition barrel, wiper stalks, steering locks, ripped off whole consoles etc. in the time it took the guards to arrive.
    I rang the guards about it a couple of days after & was told not to ring them again, they'd be in touch with any developments.
    That was over a year ago & I've heard nothing :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Did it happen in tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I've reported 2 things, one a minor bike accident and another more serious issue, have had no help from the guards on either issue, frustrating.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Whatever the reasons, understaffed, underfunded etc(all valid) it has been my experience that the Guards are as much use as a chocolate teapot when it comes to property theft. Protect yourself as best you can basically.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Wibbs wrote: »
    Whatever the reasons, understaffed, underfunded etc(all valid) it has been my experience that the Guards are as much use as a chocolate teapot when it comes to property theft. Protect yourself as best you can basically.
    Gardai usually rely on the public reporting suspicious behaviour when it comes to finding stolen motors, ie a car left in an unusual place or someone acting the maggot in it etc.

I had a vintage motorbike recovered by Gardai when it was reported to them that idiots were trying to push start it. You cant expect them to be driving about all day looking for your property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

god forbid people expecting them to do their job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

In fairness my brothers car was nicked from outside his house in Dublin about 15 years ago. They found it the next day in the Phoenix park. Probably beside the papal cross or somewhere obvious like that! But they found it. They being the gardai.

Hope you get it back all the same. Try donedeal.ie, gumtree.ie, adverts and the buy and sell to see if anyone is trying to sell it there. Also call around to garages that purchase bikes from walk ins..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Robbed things usually show up in Finglas. Try Finglas, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Did it happen in tallaght?

why yes. yes it did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭boomchicawawa

Just thought I'd share a story of something that happened to my mother recently. The house attached to her's was advertised to be rented. One day a very nicely dressed and spoken 30's something guy knocked on her door and introduced himself as the new tenent for next door. He went on to say that he had just been in the house and that there was bad flooding
    in one on the rooms and he asked if she had any problems. When she said she hadn't he volunteered to check her pipes :rolleyes:! she never let him in and luckily she had presence of mind to say that her son was a plumber and he would have a look, he then left with a cheery goodbye. At that stage she wasn't really suspicious but on recounting the story to me I thought it was a bit fishy. So she phoned up the landlady and of course the house was not let at all.:eek:...I shudder to think what would have happened if she had let him in....so pass this story around and tell any elderly relatives especially to be on their guard !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Some fucker put a brick through the window of one of our downstairs rooms yesterday afternoon. Fortunately the alarm (installed after the previous time, about two years ago, someone smashed the same window and burgled the place) seems to have scared them off and nothing was taken.
    Called the guards, but they were worse than useless.

I presume that if someone does break in some day when I'm here and I put a hammer through the back of their skull, the Gardai will then no doubt succeed in giving me grief over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I've reported 2 things, one a minor bike accident and another more serious issue, have had no help from the guards on either issue, frustrating.

They're too busy sitting on their holes waiting to reach 50 years of age to retire while watching Jeremy Kyle & Come Dine With Me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Ficheall wrote: »
    I presume that if someone does break in some day when I'm here and I put a hammer through the back of their skull, the Gardai will then no doubt succeed in giving me grief over it.

That's exactly how it works. If there is ever a burglary in progress and you need a fast response, tell the Gárdaí that you struck the burglar with a hurley and that you think he might be dead.