I'm so hungover my face is actually gone green.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

bike ride, mcds and coke with loads of ice - buh bye hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

temply wrote: »
    bike ride, mcds and coke with loads of ice - buh bye hangover

If you're able to ride a bike, you're clearly not hungover.
    A decent hangover should generally involve a near inability to walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Karamoja wrote: »
    I swear there's a greenish yellow tinge to my face, and my eyes are hanging out of me. And it's exacerbated by the miserable grey murkiness of the weather I look like a corpse. Why the hell do we drink so much that it changes the structure of our faces? Can we not just be like normal Europeans and have 2 beers and converse for the whole night in an orderly manner. Why do we always have to get in bits? Is it only Ireland that does this? I'm actually drinking a pint of tea in bed. Too hungover to sleep too hungover to stay awake.

Who's this "we" ?

If you want to act stupidly, fire away, but less of the pretending that we all do it in order to lessen the idiocy.

Its actually impossible to leave a pub in Ireland after only drinking 2 pints. Go on, try it some time. People just don't allow it. When you tell them you want to leave they look at you like your scum then they decide that your just not leaving and buy you another drink. The only way you can leave is by going to the toilet, jumping out the window and then legging it home.

Get a better dictionary and look up the word "impossible"

It's not "impossible" because I've done it. Numerous times.

Other times I've stayed for a few more drinks but that's because I want to / chose to.

P.S. How do they know what "your scum" looks like, and why do you know how they look at it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

double GG wrote: »
    Yeah it's sooo bad! I mean everyone in Ireland is forced to drink 10 pints a night and all.... Grow the f**k up!

Woah easy. The guy is in enough pain as it is without you giving him the 'being sober is cool' lecture. Didn't you read, the poor man has turned green FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

double GG wrote: »
    Yeah it's sooo bad! I mean everyone in Ireland is forced to drink 10 pints a night and all.... Grow the f**k up!

I wish it was only 10!!!

Hair of the dog is the best cure, just be sure you stop early enough!

Oh, oh, oh......no praise for me thank you. Keep that for the often abused ambulance personnell on the streets; The Shopkeepers whose livelihood is urinated on; The Guards who get spat on (better than stabbing.....well, sometimes); The grieving families; The mainly Polish cleaners who clean our vomit and security guards who protect me (all minimally paid); The sick people in the waiting room (Note: It's the quiet ones who are sick); Their angry relatives; Sick tourists wittnessing proceedings; The tax-payers (Oh, that's me!); Employers; Need I go on?

If there were no drunks wouldn't there be less Security, Nurses, Doctors, Gardai and cleaners employed? Also you mention the tax payers but aren't the people you look after tax payers too?

There are too many serious granny people on this thread.

You posted saying that you were stupid enough to drink too much.

Did you seriously expect no posts suggesting that you cop the f&*k on ?

Insulting people - the same people who, I'll remind you, aren't sick and green because of their stupidity - isn't hard or clever.

Either you're sick enough to make you want to cop on, or you're not; no skin off our noses if you want Darwin's law to apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Insulting people - the same people who, I'll remind you, aren't sick and green because of their stupidity - isn't hard or clever.

Either you're sick enough to make you want to cop on, or you're not; no skin off our noses if you want Darwin's law to apply.

OP is either a teen looking for adulation for over drinking (Part of the culture) or as you say.

Fair play for telling it straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Its actually impossible to leave a pub in Ireland after only drinking 2 pints. Go on, try it some time. People just don't allow it. When you tell them you want to leave they look at you like your scum then they decide that your just not leaving and buy you another drink. The only way you can leave is by going to the toilet, jumping out the window and then legging it home.

You should really change your name to 'gonehome'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Bella mamma

ColeTrain wrote: »
    If there were no drunks wouldn't there be less Security, Nurses, Doctors, Gardai and cleaners employed? Also you mention the tax payers but aren't the people you look after tax payers too?

Unlikely there're be less people in employment in those positions. Instead we wouldn't be continually abused, vomited on etc; there'd be beds for people that 'really' need them and waiting lists would get shorter. Unless you've been where we've been, you couldn't even imagine The War Zone that is The ED of a weekend on this Island.

Picture this - start work Sat 9am, multiple head injuries, alleged assaults, fractured limbs from falling off walls in the early hours, scattered Strokes, maybe MIs.......trolleys left right and center, CT scanner in overdrive with CT of brains (€€€€€), patients/relatives sick and upset. Smell of vomit and urine ++

Picture this - finish work Sun 9am, as above x 2. Head injury patients are under Ortho. Ortho beds now gone. Elective surgery admissions cancelled on Monday, into Tuesday. Patients/relatives sick and upset.

Re tax-payers, I think you know I was meaning it's all such a waste.

Classic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Drunk people say the strangest things :pac::pac:

Unlikely there're be less people in employment in those positions. Instead we wouldn't be continually abused, vomited on etc; there'd be beds for people that 'really' need them and waiting lists would get shorter. Unless you've been where we've been, you couldn't even imagine The War Zone that is The ED of a weekend on this Island.

Picture this - start work Sat 9am, multiple head injuries, alleged assaults, fractured limbs from falling off walls in the early hours, scattered Strokes, maybe MIs.......trolleys left right and center, CT scanner in overdrive with CT of brains (€€€€€), patients/relatives sick and upset. Smell of vomit and urine ++

Picture this - finish work Sun 9am, as above x 2. Head injury patients are under Ortho. Ortho beds now gone. Elective surgery admissions cancelled on Monday, into Tuesday. Patients/relatives sick and upset.

Re tax-payers, I think you know I was meaning it's all such a waste.

There definitely would be less employment if alcohol was wiped out in the morning. Take the Gardai for instance, a large part of their detail is being around nightclubs and pubs across the country every weekend. With your job even, if the warzone you've described is that busy then surely there would be staff laid off if it were to stop ?!
    From what you've described it seems like a very hard job you have tbf but surely you knew what you were getting yourself into? Every job could be made easier by nature.

As for the tax payers money well where does the VAT on alcohol go? Probably to cover such events.

I'm delighted to have a job. I'm saying it doesn't have to be this way. We'll have had all walks of life in over the weekend found collasped by the canal. And we'll have been f'd and blinded at by the same accountant who today is either having his jaw wired; his fibula fixated; has rung in sick (if he's lucky); or is back in work (if he's really lucky) with another great story from the weekend. Ourselves, The Guards et Al. would rather be solving genuine cases than wasting resources. There's enough work without this.

As for the VAT on alcohol, you think any of the above 'patients' pay The ED charge? Or bill they get? (Assuming they manage to give a correct name and address). The cost of alcohol intoxication is obscene, not to mention the cost of the knock-on-delays for other patients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Why the hell do we drink so much that it changes the structure of our faces? Can we not just be like normal Europeans and have 2 beers and converse for the whole night in an orderly manner. Why do we always have to get in bits?

Says the one whose face has turned green from binge drinking. Yeah :pac:

No seriously though, i agree. And i hope you learned your lesson OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

my sympathies OP.

free bar on a sunday night followed by work at seven is not a happy series of events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

That sucks OP, I feel your pain though...

I'm still hungover from Saturday... Damn you Club Hell and your 2 euro shots!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Dont worry I was all the colours of the rainbow on saturday. Was VERY sick, at which point my dad was giving me a lift home and he had to slow down to a **** for me:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Karamoja

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Jeeeaaaaayyyyzus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Man the f8ck up you amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

For gawds sake OP who do you think your are .....Richard Burton ,Oliver Reed ...the Incredible Hulk ?

I'm delighted to have a job. I'm saying it doesn't have to be this way. We'll have had all walks of life in over the weekend found collasped by the canal. And we'll have been f'd and blinded at by the same accountant who today is either having his jaw wired; his fibula fixated; has rung in sick (if he's lucky); or is back in work (if he's really lucky) with another great story from the weekend. Ourselves, The Guards et Al. would rather be solving genuine cases than wasting resources. There's enough work without this.

As for the VAT on alcohol, you think any of the above 'patients' pay The ED charge? Or bill they get? (Assuming they manage to give a correct name and address). The cost of alcohol intoxication is obscene, not to mention the cost of the knock-on-delays for other patients.

Hundreds, no, thousands of people go drinking every weekend in Ireland without causing any hassle.

Those who can't handle it need to be punished. Heavily.

So for you nurses, gardai, others, please direct your cribbing to the judiciary of Ireland.

Now lets get back to the drinking stories !

salonfire wrote: »
    Hundreds, no, thousands of people go drinking every weekend in Ireland without causing any hassle.

Those who can't handle it need to be punished. Heavily.

So for you nurses, gardai, others, please direct your cribbing to the judiciary of Ireland.

Now lets get back to the drinking stories !

OK. No more cribbin :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I swear there's a greenish yellow tinge to my face, and my eyes are hanging out of me. And it's exacerbated by the miserable grey murkiness of the weather I look like a corpse. Why the hell do we drink so much that it changes the structure of our faces? Can we not just be like normal Europeans and have 2 beers and converse for the whole night in an orderly manner. Why do we always have to get in bits? Is it only Ireland that does this? I'm actually drinking a pint of tea in bed. Too hungover to sleep too hungover to stay awake.
    Ha. Switzerland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭n900guy

Why the hell do we drink so much that it changes the structure of our faces? Can we not just be like normal Europeans and have 2 beers and converse for the whole night in an orderly manner. Why do we always have to get in bits? Is it only Ireland that does this? I'm actually drinking a pint of tea in bed. Too hungover to sleep too hungover to stay awake.

What's the "we" business. Don't try and share the blame......if you are jaundiced, go to a doctor FFS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

n900guy wrote: »
    What's the "we" business.

Yeah, whats this we business... pale green face!!