Do You Check for Fire Exits?

• 11-06-2011 05:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I watched a video yesterday that was posted on Boards that changed how I'm going to act in nightclubs, at gigs, concerts and other mass gatherings.

It's pretty shocking but it really hit home because what happened in that video could happen to any of us. Within seconds the club is filling with smoke as hundreds of people try to make their way out the main entrance. Pushing shoving and eventually being engulfed in thick black smoke.

I cant think of a worse way to die - in a panic filled room with hundreds of people pushing and shoving as you suffocate on thick black smoke. :(

I'm glad I watched it though as it opened my eyes. Most of the people died that night because they went for the main entrance they were familiar with instead of using the fire exits mere feet away. I couldn't tell you where the fire exits are in venues I frequent regularly, let alone clubs and venues I'm not familiar with. From now on I'm going to have a quick glance around.

Do you know where fire exits are in clubs and pubs your frequent and would you actually use them if the place caught on fire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Do you know where fire exits are in clubs and pubs your frequent and would you actually use them if the place caught on fire?

No, Id rather die in a fire :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Well of course I'd use them!
    But yeah, I would always have a quick check on ways out of a place. Rammed pub or nightclub, sometimes in low lighting, full of drunk punters, if a fire breaks out the place is almost guaranteed to erupt into mass panic. Most people don't die or pick up injuries from the fire itself, it's the crowd crushing as people try to force their way out the main entrance and people trapped further in are overcome by smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Q: Do I check for fire exits?
    A: No

Q: Do I check for exits if, say, a team of terrorists/ninjas/whatever come flying through the door?
    A: Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭James Forde

how many people died?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

But does research not tell us that when in a venue that begins to fill with both smoke and panic, people tend to turn on their heels and try to use the exit they came in thus blocking it up.

Would the average person, with a few pints on them, overcome the hysteria and look around to see if there was a fire exit nearby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I don't know where the exits are but luckily I don't like bands that need to resort to cheap pyrotechnic theatrics either, so I should be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I always check where all exits are, just in case the FBI* come in the front door-I will sneakily vanish out the back, Bourne like. Just as an aside, next time you are in a nightclub, small dribble of sick running down your t-shirt, bouncing madly on the spot to "your favorite song", so pi55ed that you reckon Angelina Jolie herself would surely give you one there and then, trying madly to focus you vision "cos if I concentrate, I can make myself less drunk", just ask yourself: "even if I knew where the exit was, could me and this other bunch of spaced out ravers really make it to it without falling over each other".
    And don't forget, there will be 100 other equally pi55ed people all heading in the same direction, in the dark, some wearing heels. Doesn't really bear thinking about, does it?

*Feckers Bringing Invoices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Q: Do I check for fire exits?
    A: No

Q: Do I check for exits if, say, a team of terrorists/ninjas/whatever come flying through the door?
    A: Yes.

We will have booby trapped the fire exits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Yes always. My mum and dad both lost friends in Stardust, so its something that kind of sticks in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I'd use the fire exits so long as they weren't on fire.

bryanjf wrote: »
    how many people died?

100 out of 400 people. Tragic.

The fire started because of a faulty pyrotechnics machine. But in reality all it takes is some gob****e to try have a crafty fag in the toilets or one exposed electrical connection to start a small ember smoldering. If that video thought me anything is that in the time it takes to do a shot a club can go from lively atmosphere to a smoke filled hysterical mess.

Agricola wrote: »

Judging by the time you posted, and the time I made the original post, I think it's safe to assume that you didn't read my OP or watch the video. Rather you quickly replied in a shamless Thanks Whore fashion. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Honestly, I didn't before, but having seen that video the other day I will do in future.

I used to think that all the 'fire drills' and 'crowd control during fires' that we did in work were pointless - people aren't stupid, they can see where the exit signs point, i thought.

After watching that I can see why just having one calm head in the group of 200 could make all the difference. For example if a member of staff was to start redirecting customers to the fire exits instead of them all running for the door, it might have been different. (Obviously, I cant know that for sure, may have made no difference whatsoever)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I make sure to be long gone by the time the fire starts.

Honestly, I didn't before, but having seen that video the other day I will do in future.

I used to think that all the 'fire drills' and 'crowd control during fires' that we did in work were pointless - people aren't stupid, they can see where the exit signs point, i thought.

After watching that I can see why just having one calm head in the group of 200 could make all the difference. For example if a member of staff was to start redirecting customers to the fire exits instead of them all running for the door, it might have been different. (Obviously, I cant know that for sure, may have made no difference whatsoever)

That's exactly how I felt having watched it an was the kind of attitude I was hoping to instill in those who read the OP. It could happen to any of us and knowing how quickly things can go downhill is important.

You're totally correct. If the few people who actually used the fire exits had instructed even a few others to do so then things might have been entirely different.

The band who were playing can be seen jumping off the stage and running out the firedoor next to the stage. Meanwhile people who were right in front of the stage (2-3 meters from a fire exit) had their backs turned from the fire exits as they tried to push towards the main exit. They mostly all died. If the band (or anyone else) had pulled even a few people with them to get the crowd moving then fatalities could have been avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Jesus christ, not often a video hits me but that has left me shocked. Poor people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

would you actually use [fire doors] if the place caught on fire?

I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Judging by the time you posted, and the time I made the original post, I think it's safe to assume that you didn't read my OP or watch the video. Rather you quickly replied in a shamless Thanks Whore fashion. :rolleyes:

No, I really would like to die in a fire. Im a pyromaniac.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Ever since i saw a programe on tv about Stardust i locate the exits in pubs and clubs! It always crosses my mind but im sure i one of very few.

Another show that made a huge impact on me was the Manchester Runway Disaster! Was about a plane that caught fire before takeoff and turned into an inferno in seconds! Alot of people died trying to find the exits in thick smoke!
    Most of us have flown before and have seen the crew point out the exits but we dont appreciate this info at all because we dont realise, like the OPs video how fast smoke and fire spreads and how dangerous it is!
    Also the "trollie Dollies" play a vital role in directing and evacuation , i have so much more respect for the role they play in ensuring safety after that show!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrTHgEs4rwc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Everywhere I go. I used to do fire cert applications in work for new buildings, so once you know the regs you realise how important it is. Every hotel I'll check the plan on the back of the door, every club/venue I'll check where the nearest exits are, I do it subconsciously at this stage.

I was in a pub in Italy once and the jacks were downstairs in the basement, but there was no stairs, just a ****ty lift. No one with me seemed concerned in any way, and thought it was odd that I went to the pub next door when I needed 'the facilities'. Chances of a fire breaking out while in the basement were slim, but chances of getting out if there was a fire was zero.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Danbo! wrote: »
    I was in a pub in Italy once and the jacks were downstairs in the basement, but there was no stairs, just a ****ty lift. No one with me seemed concerned in any way, and thought it was odd that I went to the pub next door when I needed 'the facilities'. Chances of a fire breaking out while in the basement were slim, but chances of getting out if there was a fire was zero.
    my god are you for real ? Surly there are european regulations that outlaw this? If not there should be! There should always be a stairs with a lift as an option! Thats madness!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Agricola wrote: »

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

In hotels I normally check the back of the door and then take a walk to the exits. I also sometimes count the number of doors to the exit.

On a plane I always count the number of seats in front and behind me to the nearest exit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

The fire started because of a faulty pyrotechnics machine.

I doubt the machine was faulty, more the genius who decided to use the machine indoors with curtains beside it :confused:

manslaughter right there :( 100 deaths on his conscience :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

The fire started because of a faulty pyrotechnics machine. But in reality all it takes is some gob****e to try have a crafty fag in the toilets or one exposed electrical connection to start a small ember smoldering. If that video thought me anything is that in the time it takes to do a shot a club can go from lively atmosphere to a smoke filled hysterical mess.
    The pyrotechnics machine was set off near highly flammable sound insulation behind the stage - the material was not fireproof, should not have been used for what it was and there's no indication pyrotechnics were even permitted to be used.

Factor in then it was an old building, primarily wooden construction, wasn't built to modern fire regs, had no modern fire proofing, poorly marked fire exits, was not cleared for use as a high crowd density nightclub and most critically did not have a sprinkler system, it was just a fatal combination.

I think most places with high density crowds here have a sprinkler system in place now? So if a fire did start, it should be contained long enough to stop it spreading rapidly and get everyone out safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

We didnt start the fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Feckfox

I always check. Bit dumb not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

That was terrifying to watch I never really noticed fire exits before but will now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I watched that vid in the original thread and it horrified me.

I can only really speak from regularly going out in dublin bu think of all the nightclubs in dublin that are in old converted buildings, or down narrow stairs to places with low ceilings etc.

baggot st, harcourt st, leeson st all have a number of these type that spring to mind along with plenty others round the city. now add in how insanely packed dublin nightclubs can get........no way everyone would get out.

Im sure they all have firedoors, but in most of them off the top of my head I dont know where they are....and in a panic like that youd head straight for the way ye know id imagine.