You are an arsehole...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

= no disability?

= no entitlement to park there.

If they have a disability and no permit they will get a ticket

on top of the fact that i sincerely doubt that there were 2 women in 20 mins in a small tesco express that had disabilities that didnt have parking permits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They all have a crippling disability...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

It's stories like these that make me wish I was a traffic warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

snyper wrote: »

on top of the fact that i sincerely doubt that there were 2 women in 20 mins in a small tesco express that had disabilities that didnt have parking permits

You're wrong!

Would your crusade extend to tackle a man?
    Hey you prove you're disabled, no, no, no, show me your bluecard! Likely result:an incremental increase in the disability figures!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It seems silly arguing over micro instances and demanding proof. We all know that a depressing amount of people do whatever they want in society, including fraudulent parking. It's a safe enough bet that at any given time, a number of people are at it. Arguing about edge cases is missing the point.

Furthermore I don't recall tackling anybody being discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Meh, it's Sonnenblumen - a graduate of the FlutterinBantam School of Arguing for no Real Reason.

If a person has a disability permit, it's safe to say they're gonna have it visible when parking in a disabled person's space.
    Ellis Dee wrote: »
    These things don't bother me. I stopped being an octane fascist and got rid of my car quite some time back. Now I walk or cycle almost everywhere, or take a taxi on the rare occasions that I really need to. :)
    Smug post is smug. I drive the fuk outta my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Skunkle wrote: »
    In fairness tesco has more disabled spaces than there are disabled people in Ireland so I doubt anyone was gonna be put out.

In the smaller Tescos it would not be unusual to see cars double parked and loads of disabled spaces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

No tickets in private car parks. Might get clamped if it's in operation.

stovelid wrote: »
    It seems silly arguing over micro instances and demanding proof. We all know that a depressing amount of people do whatever they want in society, including fraudulent parking. It's a safe enough bet that at any given time, a number of people are at it. Arguing about edge cases is missing the point.

Furthermore I don't recall tackling anybody being discussed.

Sorry I think you've missed the point which is calling someone an arsehole on the assumption that he/she is not disabled when in fact they might be is not an edge case. Also the anger which in this instance was targetted at women, would probably not apply if the drivers were male.

Far from being silly, it's worse when somebody makes an even bigger hotheaded mistake?
    Are we now expecting Disabled persons to answer/verify their disability each time to some nosey-nothing-else-to-do-suspicious public joe?

There are people employed to do just that: Parking Wardens.

Dudess wrote: »
    Meh, it's Sonnenblumen - a graduate of the FlutterinBantam School of Arguing for no Real Reason.

If a person has a disability permit, it's safe to say they're gonna have it visible when parking in a disabled person's space.

Smug post is smug. I drive the fuk outta my car.

Waffle on Dudess, what a perfect life you enjoy at the end of a line:(

Are we now expecting Disabled persons to answer/verify their disability each time to some nosey-nothing-else-to-do-suspicious public joe?
    Shur, by that logic, get rid of the mandatory permit on display so...

Nah, I'll leave the waffling to you. Something isn't waffle just because it's in disagreement with you btw...

Dudess wrote: »
    Shur, by that logic, get rid of the mandatory permit on display so...

Nah, I'll leave the waffling to you. Something isn't waffle just because it's in disagreement with you btw...

Would that be the School of Ring Ring Ring Ring logic?

Anyway... waffling... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Would that be the School of Ring Ring Ring Ring logic?

Banana phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Aswerty

That being said, my dad did once park in the parent and child spaces in Tesco, when we last went there. I was 27 at the time, though.
    The parent and child spaces are a load of b0llix. Your da did nothing wrong.

Meh, a parent with two small kids, a load of shopping to carry... it just makes life easier for them for a few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Disabled people have it easy with their parking spaces. Fúck them. I park lenghtways across 3 disabled spaces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Well there's a generalization if I ever saw one!

No, that's an exaggeration. This is a generalisation:
    orourkeda wrote: »
    Women Drivers. Tut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I don't understand the thinking behind this type of behaviour. When I had my wheelchair-bound son living at home I didn't park in these spaces because I didn't have a permit. My sister told me to get a permit from the IWC, which I did, and then suggested I could use it anytime, not just when I had my son with me. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Disabled people have it easy with their parking spaces. Fúck them. I park lenghtways across 3 disabled spaces

Your joking or your trolling or both,if not what a horrible person you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Add fckwits who yell inane crap at cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

mikom wrote: »
    This thread seems to have developed a bit of a limp.
    but does it have a permit???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Inconsiderate tesco parking has nothing on this..

My mums apt block consists of 5 apts and has 8 Spaces out front with one handicap space right by the front door to the complex.

Every time I visit my mum the same Jaguar is parked in the handicap space. One of my mum's friend is in his 80's and had polio years ago. He can barely walk and has a handicap sticker. He regularly parks on the street a good bit away as the 8 spaces are taken. My mum herself has a very bad knee and finds it difficult to walk herself but refuses to get a sticker!

The two of them were giving out about the lack of spaces one night and I asked about the Jaguar and how come it's always taking up the handicapped space. An English couple who come to Ireland about 2 months of the year own the Jag. Neither are handicapped. They leave it there for up to 10 months at a time gathering dust.

I rang police and they wanted nothing to do with it. Rang management company and they couldn't get in touch. Left notes on the car calling him an ignorant cnut. Haven't heard anything and the car is still there. If I find out he's been in country and has continued to park there, the next note will be an autoglass repair phone number!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

ocallagh wrote: »
    Inconsiderate tesco parking has nothing on this..

My mums apt block consists of 5 apts and has 8 Spaces out front with one handicap space right by the front door to the complex.

Every time I visit my mum the same Jaguar is parked in the handicap space. One of my mum's friend is in his 80's and had polio years ago. He can barely walk and has a handicap sticker. He regularly parks on the street a good bit away as the 8 spaces are taken. My mum herself has a very bad knee and finds it difficult to walk herself but refuses to get a sticker!

The two of them were giving out about the lack of spaces one night and I asked about the Jaguar and how come it's always taking up the handicapped space. An English couple who come to Ireland about 2 months of the year own the Jag. Neither are handicapped. They leave it there for up to 10 months at a time gathering dust.

I rang police and they wanted nothing to do with it. Rang management company and they couldn't get in touch. Left notes on the car calling him an ignorant cnut. Haven't heard anything and the car is still there. If I find out he's been in country and has continued to park there, the next note will be an autoglass repair phone number!

What you need to do is dump an oul bucket of paint over it to show them you mean business :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

You're wrong!

Would your crusade extend to tackle a man?
    Hey you prove you're disabled, no, no, no, show me your bluecard! Likely result:an incremental increase in the disability figures!

i didnt "tackle" anyone.

Both people were women, hence i used the term lazy bitch - if it were a man i would use the term bastard - This behaviour is not exclusive to women, but on this instance, both cases were women.

They didnt have a ticket, its not a crusade, my post is more to reflect on the ignorance and lack of consideration of some people, i also mentioned those people that for some reason decide to park right on the path at the front door, rather than use the dozens of free spaces that are empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

I'm confused :confused:

Post 2 (by Dr Bollocko) says "Banned" but the OP can still post? Is the doc going soft in his/her old age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

.....Lazy inconsiderate ****ers

Lazy.... no
    Inconsiderate .... yes
    Wan*ers..... big time.

Alot of people are like this op. If not with parking spaces, in other aspects. All just out to suit themselves in anyway they can.

Same person would think another person was an "absolute wa*ker" if someone cut her off :rolleyes: ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

lol this reminds me of the time I had a customer come over to me in the car park near where I work giving out that she was clamped. Stupid cow parked in the disabled spot. served her right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Wonder is this just an Irish thing or is it International? I have never come across it in the States or Europe where designated spots are treated appropriately

I remember in Total Fitness many the highly fit individual parking in disabled spots ahead of their workouts (bad as the was actually a rehab pool in the place so likely those spots would have been used)

Personally not something I would do. Dont even use the parent and childs when I dont have the kids with me. Not overally bothered as there are usually plenty of spots to be had and the extra walk is minimal and wont do any harm.

Dont understand why people park in designated spots (disabled or P&C). Dont get it at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I confronted a guy on this subject last week-he pulled into a disabled space and 3 of his mates jumped out and headed into the store-plenty of free spaces literally feet away.
    I pointed out the fact he was parked in a disabled space and his reply was "so fyckin' what".And went about stepping out to square up to me but thought better of it as I strode towards him and locked himself in his car.My missus was mortified but I was so pissed off seeing people constantly doing this at my local supermarket he was the unfortunate victim of my wrath.Other people park right at the doors with only the fact there's bollards to stop them they'd actually try and drive through the doors.