House break in - No police response

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

hondasam wrote: »
    I hope you are not in work now on boards & facebook, drinking coffee etc:D

None of the above! But I might just have that coffee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

OutlawPete wrote: »
    These lads are well know thugs, regularly involved in shootings and two of them have been murdered.

So two of them were Zombies? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Dual account troll fail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Bosco boy wrote: »
    None of the above! But I might just have that coffee!

sure thing plain or chocolate donut ? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You quoted yourself

Did you forget to log out and log back in with your troll account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Dual account troll fail?
    mikemac wrote: »
    You quoted yourself

Did you forget to log out and log back in with your troll account?

You caught me lads. Go easy on me, don't leave any marks.

Self-deprecation is communication that expresses something negative about its originator, without this being called for in context by some other person. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Actually my car is quite old,

Is it a vintage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

The one time i had to ring (rang the local station not 999) they were pretty quick in responding. You would wonder if the the dispatchers actually inform the local Garda or if they haven't called by say 30 minutes and haven't heard back from you are they simply embarrassed to turn up an hour or two later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 iseeyouu

but seriously did u actually expect them too respond:confused: like straight away:eek: wow someone actually thinks they serve and protect:o u must be a foreigner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

What's strange is, (when discussing public sector pay cuts) the usual mantra of "well that paycut will apply to the same gardai who you call when your house is broken into". Or "the same garda who will help when someones downstairs at 3am". It's a load of crap. In this respect the gardai are as useless as a midget with a yoyo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

money the reason. overtime payments are too good to pass it to civilians.

No-one gets overtime worth talking about for paperwork! tut tut silly silly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

My dads office was broken into twice. The Garda station is 1 block from the building . It took 3 hours the first time for 2 guards to walk up.

The second time we got a phone call from a tenant at the top of the building saying someone had broken into all of the offices and was now trying to break into the guys flat. He was holding the other side of the door. He said he had rang the police and rang us because he didn't know who else to call.

I rang the guards and told them that there was a guy in the building right now trying to smash down a tenants door. We needed assistance immediately . By the time we arrived in the thief was gone and hadn't gotten into the lfat above.

5 Hours later a guard arrived up.

The worst thing you can do is tell the guards that there's someone there right now. In what country in europe would it take the police 3-5 hours to walk down the block in a major city in response to a break in.

Tehachapi wrote: »
    What's strange is, (when discussing public sector pay cuts) the usual mantra of "well that paycut will apply to the same gardai who you call when your house is broken into". Or "the same garda who will help when someones downstairs at 3am". It's a load of crap. In this respect the gardai are as useless as a midget with a yoyo.

I was at a circus lately and there was a midget with a yo yo and he was class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

My dads office was broken into twice. The Garda station is 1 block from the building . It took 3 hours the first time for 2 guards to walk up.

The second time we got a phone call from a tenant at the top of the building saying someone had broken into all of the offices and was now trying to break into the guys flat. He was holding the other side of the door. He said he had rang the police and rang us because he didn't know who else to call.

I rang the guards and told them that there was a guy in the building right now trying to smash down a tenants door. We needed assistance immediately . By the time we arrived in the thief was gone and hadn't gotten into the lfat above.

5 Hours later a guard arrived up.

The worst thing you can do is tell the guards that there's someone there right now. In what country in europe would it take the police 3-5 hours to walk down the block in a major city in response to a break in.

its terrible alright.
    theres no excuse for them not coming asap when a person is in a serious situation. a house robbery can easily turn violent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

LighterGuy wrote: »
    its terrible alright.
    theres no excuse for them not coming asap when a person is in a serious situation. a house robbery can easily turn violent.
    I wouldn't be surprised that, if you scared them away/attacked one of them with a weapon, the guards would probably be straight up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Happened on our street a few times. Middle of the City and I could probably hit the Garda Station throwing a stone from my house.
    Different times theyve been called (couple of domestics, people trashing cars & bikes, break ins) and I can never remember them taking less then 30 minutes to get here.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    its terrible alright.

The examples given are the exception rather than the rule, I think asap is the key, I have never served with anyone who wouldn't respond to a call like that where they we available to go to it. Some stations are busier than others and calls dealt with as they come in or in the seriousness that they occur, but some people think they are the only one on the planet looking for the police at that time, often people with petty calls are the most demanding, joe public can sometimes be an obnoxious pri*k, but most are decent folk and you try to do the best you can for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Yup something very similar happened to me a few years ago. My friend was staying over with us as she had left her very violent and disturbed boyfriend. He found out where she was and turned up trying to break down the door at 9pm.

We were terrified so I called 999 immediately. The operator said they would be there in 15 minutes and hung up. They never turned up.

He ended up going away then himself so I didn't call them back.

He then turned up again even angrier at 2am and was again trying to break down the door, yelling and screaming blue murder.

I rang 999 again and they said they would be down in 15 minutes and hung up. (I thought they were supposed to stay on the line with you???)

At that point I was ****ting it so I called my now ex and he and his three mates came down to try calm him down.

An hour later theres still no sign of the gardai, the psycho's still outside with my ex and his friends keeping him at bay.

I rang 999 again, they seemed annoyed that I was calling back and said that instead of sending the gardai to Maynooth as they were supposed to they had accidentally sent them to Naas. :mad They told me not to ring back again.

The gardai eventually turned up at around 4am. Only for the ex and his mates the guy would have broken in and caused some serious damage.

Then to top it all off, the gardai took him off but didn't arrest him for some reason. They instead brought him a few miles down the road and dropped him off. Obviously he just walked back and was back at the house by 6am.

We were all asleep at this point. My friend was so embarrassed with all the trouble he had caused that when she heard him outside she decided to go out without waking us and try to calm him down. He ended up beating the lard out of her.

Before this incident I always had 100% faith in the Gardai. I thought if I was in trouble they were at least guaranteed to show up within 30 mins max if I called for help. I do not feel as safe now staying home alone at night etc.

The next time I will ring the local station first before I resort to 999, I was in such a panic that night it never occurred to me (plus I was only 17 at the time and naive)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

I heard the Gardai sit in the station, eating their free sandwiches and coffee from the local shop and when a call comes in they IGNORE it intentionally EVERY...SINGLE....TIME!!!!!:eek:x2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

I rang 999 again, they seemed annoyed that I was calling back and said that instead of sending the gardai to Maynooth as they were supposed to they had sent them to Naas. :mad
    :eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Thats true OP, not in all circumstances (i hope) but in many its just words to make you feel better that a garda car is on its way. Thats what makes me scared sometimes, you kind of have to take care of yourself if that situation occurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

LiamN wrote: »
    :eek::confused:

I know! Almost 6 years later and I still can't get over that.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Another Garda bashing thread. Has it been a week already?

Op if you think that's bad, I went into the butchers the other day and asked for some chicken breasts and he said they were all out. When I asked when he'd be getting some in he said "not til tomorrow". How am I suppose to make chicken wraps with no chicken? These butchers think they are above the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Another Garda bashing thread. Has it been a week already?

Op if you think that's bad, I went into the butchers the other day and asked for some chicken breasts and he said they were all out. When I asked when he'd be getting some in he said "not til tomorrow". How am I suppose to make chicken wraps with no chicken? These butchers think they are above the law.

Lucky you were able to go to another butcher and get what you wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

House broken into - person calls cops - no response. Upset - 'stop bashing the gardai.' Christ.

I posted this in a previous thread - extremely relevant here.

Originally Posted by tails_naf viewpost.gif
    In fairness though, the Gardai at a local level seem pretty useless.

Friend had a car stolen - was told hard luck. You'd imagine the Gardai if they had any sense would at least try be on the look out to see if it was being lined up to be used in another crime, but no - they didn't care. Turns out it was only joy riders - but no effort was made to recover it for him.

Myself - I bought a car from a dealer - and after a few months suspected it was clocked. Went to the Gardai after a bit of looking into it. Was told 'What were they supposed to do - it was a civil matter'? Last I heard clocking was illegal - therefore a criminal matter - but they couldn't be arsed.

Tax and Insurance, and Drink Driving checks around Christmas are the only things I've seen them do.

Can anyone relate a story where a crime they know of WAS investigated by the Gardai - I don't mean murder or anything that serious - I mean theft, fraud, etc.

A burglary. A few years ago I was sitting in my back garden with friends enjoying beers and a BBQ. It was a gorgeous day and we were having a great time. Then, out of the corner of my eye I see this bright green fluorescent flash. I turn and see a guard climbing over the gate at the side of my house. Before I could say anything he said 'did you see anybody come through here?'
    'No,' I said and then I realized there were guards everywhere - there were some in the neighbour's garden and when I went to the bottom of my own garden I could see guards on walls and in other people's gardens.
    Out on the road, there were more - a lot of detectives too. Then, overhead I hear the whirring of a helicopter; it was the garda chopper scanning the area. We counted 18 cops in total looking for a burglar. They checked every garden along a long stretch of my road, front and back and eventually caught him trying to swim across the grand canal.

I couldn't believe how seriously they took the crime and the resources they used to catch him. After all, my house had been burgled before - as had others I knew and there was no effort like this.

I found out later it was a guard's house.
    Last edited by Dangerous Man; 29-05-2011 at 13:38.
    user_online.gifreport.gif quote.gifhttp://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72474219

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

It seems you can't criticise Garda without the usual idiotic "yore Garda bashing!!!111" response.

Lucky you were able to go to another butcher and get what you wanted.

At that stage it was too late for dinner.

It seems you can't criticise Garda without the usual idiotic "yore Garda bashing!!!111" response.

It seems you cant criticise a Garda without criticising the 14000 others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

It seems you cant criticise a Garda without criticising the 14000 others.

Oh really? How did the OP do that then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

At that stage it was too late for dinner.

In all seriousness, you did try to compare the work of a Garda to the work of a butcher. It's not going to fly and I think you know that.