What's the most dangerous situation you've ever been in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I was walking home from the pub one night with a guy i know through friends, he was very very handsy , but i brushed it off as drunk messing. All of a sudden the ****er grabbed me, bit me, and refused to let me go. Practically wrestled me, left bruises on my arms and wrists and arms. I was rescued by a taxi driver :cool:

but yea.... What a freak. I can laugh about it now but i was genuinely terrified.

Have you a thirst for blood? If the sun light bothers you I'd be very worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

My stories arent very dangerous but i'll share them anyhow.

Walking home from a nightclub one night and a old heavy roof tile fell off the roof and came crashing to the ground right in front of me, if i had been about 2 inches more it would have came down on my head.

Was outside my friends house one night watching the lunar eclipse and her drunk and drugged up foreign neighbour climbs over her wall and starts trying to drag my friend with him, he dad comes out and tells him to feck off, but your man starts screaming at my friends dad in his own language. We booted it inside and next her neighbour climbs up onto her dads car and starts stamping on the roof of it, he then decided to bang on all the windows and doors to the front of the house and then get back up on the car. We called the guards and of course they never bothered coming up to check. The next door neighbour got bored after an hour and went back to his own house but it frightened the crap outta me.

Had a few very near misses in my friends car.

Stopped breathing during an operation before... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Got talking to a drugged up scotsman in a stripclub in toronto, he offered to give me and my mates $2k when we told him we were just gonna drive across Canada and sleep in our tent. We wouldn't take it off him so he spent it all on us on private dances and champagne

He was a very dodgy character who said he was the chairman of the celtic supporters club on North America and he was coked off his tits and when he knew none of us were protestants he decided we were bestest buds

We got outside at about 4am and he was leaning into an Audi /sr4 giving some Asian fellas a bit of **** who then spen off. He asked us to stand our ground when they came back and that they would probably have guns

A few cars came back, it may have got very dodgy but I don't really know cos we blooody legged it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭sgthighway

I was driving an Ambulance in the middle of night doing an Emergency Call - going down an empty Dual Carriageway at about 70MPH and there was a lad lying down in the middle of the road as a prank. I nearly rolled the Ambulance with 3 other people inside. The Gardai caught him. He was high on drugs. Only drive fast for loss of life or loss of limb going to a hospital since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

sgthighway wrote: »
    I was driving an Ambulance in the middle of night doing an Emergency Call - going down an empty Dual Carriageway at about 70MPH and there was a lad lying down in the middle of the road as a prank. I nearly rolled the Ambulance with 3 other people inside. The Gardai caught him. He was high on drugs. Only drive fast for loss of life or loss of limb going to a hospital since.

Should have run the fcuker over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

sgthighway wrote: »

What a d1ck.
    I heard of an ambulance getting done for speeding to transport an organ a while back. Think the ambulance driver may actually have been done, I'm surprised it made it that far. Though all being fair but still..discretion
    Don't like your location btw :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I remember I was in Rome in Italy a couple of years ago, and on the same day Manchester United were playing Roma in the champions league in Rome. There was fighting between the supporters all day, I was unaware of this at the time, and I decided it would be smart to wear my Manchester United jersey as we got a tour around the city.

I then got chased by some angry skinheads who were obviously not too happy with my choice of jersey :eek:

Lazio are the right-wing skinhead team in Rome, the lads were probably just wanting to shake your hand and wish you luck against their big rivals :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Should have run the fcuker over
    I was going to Our Lady of Lourdes ;-) Could have been you? That was over 12 years ago. I remember; Daisy Hill was nearer but I couldn't go over the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

When i was 16 got attacked by 15 knackers in finglas with weapons, thankfully i'm a fast runner, but then they tried run me over in a micra (a ****ty old puke green micra, imagine getting killed by that!) and i barely managed to dodge the thing, needless to say the guards did a grand total of fúck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

As a young teen I was attacked and beaten to a pulp by a group of drunk, stoned teens. Left me in hospital for weeks, including a long stay in intensive care. Brought one of the attackers to court, but he walked free despite being convicted for the 7th time. That's the day I lost fate in Irish justice.

And during some Halloween riots in Ballyfermot years ago, I was shot at. One of the shotgun pellets got way too close for comfort.

Very unusual for someone whos stoned to attack someone! Whats with ballyer and shotguns? I saw a bus get shot at there with one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Laisurg wrote: »
    (a ****ty old puke green micra, imagine getting killed by that!) .

Laisburg got knocked down by some scummers in a car.

OMG are you serious?

Yeah, it was a green Micra

OMFG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Karamoja

I was on a flight from London to Cork. The closer we got to Cork the greyer and foggier it got. Once we reached Cork county it was pure miserable.

We couldn't see a fecking thing out the windows. Even the pilot couldn't see a thing. It was so bad that he actually announced to us that he was going to dip low a few times to try and figure out where the runway was. I looked out the window and there was literally nothing but grey.

Anyways the pilot went for the first "recon mission". I could feel the plane descending in my gut but I couldn't see anything, still fog. Waiting... silence... I'm thinking how does he even know how low to go, surely the equipment can't be so trustworthy that you can just dive down through the fog where visibility was 3 centimetres.

All of a sudden we saw a flash of green through the windows on the right - it was a bit of a field, and the field was very close. Plane went back up. We felt another descent... the pilot was going for another try. We broke through the fog, more fields, but also a road, power lines, and cars. We were getting closer - either to death or the runway - I wasn't sure.

We went for another descent and broke through the fog to see motorways and busy things happening. Finally we saw buildings and warehouses that resembled and airport, and the plane finally touched down... it was a bumpy landing but we were glad to be on the ground.

Everybody cheered and clapped their hands to tatters, it was like a big cheesy Hollywood movie.

There, I nearly died.

Ex locked me into his apartment, threw crockery at me, made me sit with both hands on the table in front of me for about three hours while he cut his arms with a knife and ran the blade (gently) up and down over my throat... long story, in the end I got out of there mostly unharmed, and the police who I managed to call (who arrived four hours later) asked me if I'd been drinking!! When they were satisfied that I was sober they advised me to just "go home and think about it".

What the fuck.... did he just flip all of a sudden or what? Jaysus, hopefully he's locked up. Or at least on a good dose of medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I fell out of a car going round a corner (door flew open LOL) probably going around 30ish. The situation between falling out and hitting the ground was a dangerous one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭superrdave

Two things....

Cycling along the quays a little too fast a few weeks ago. Bus stops, i have bad brakes to have to swerve past. There is a van there, passing very close. The gap between the van and bus is <
    > big and my handlebars are <
    > wide. I'm not Mark Cavendish, so I bounce off the side of the van a couple of times and then splat on the road behind him. The car driver behind manages to stop in time, thank Christ.

The other was walking up Dominick Street at 3am about six years ago. Four dudes drinking cans. Ask me the time. I tell them. They ask me for my phone and I say no, start walking away. Next thing, they are behind me. I walk faster and they start running. Me, also being drunk, shout that they'll never catch me and I'm fitter than they are. Clever. Cans start flying over my head and hitting the ground in front of me. I got away to the end of the street where there was traffic before they caught me. They got tired and stopped chasing.

superrdave wrote: »

The other was walking up Dominick Street at 3am about six years ago....

Dominick Street ... Dominic Street.... sorry doesn't ring a bell. Which town are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭superrdave

Karamoja wrote: »
    Dominick Street ... Dominic Street.... sorry doesn't ring a bell. Which town are you talking about?

Dublin. Just off Parnell Street, towards Bolton Street. Here. http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Lower+Dominick+Street,+Dublin,+Ireland&aq=1&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=35.547176,79.013672&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Lower+Dominick+St,+Dublin,+County+Dublin+City,+Ireland&z=16

Dodgy part of town. Some of the flats have been torn down but i think there are still some there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

If you are in a dangerous situation you really need to be Scottish.

Then you just couldnt give a rats arse.

That's the best thing I've ever seen on youtube..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

That's the best thing I've ever seen on youtube..

I have a strong dislike for you now. Cant watch youtube here.!!!!

As for me some loon shot into a crowd I was walking in over in the States recently. Killed 1 injured a few others. Not a pleasant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I went to Vegas for my stag this time last year and we ended up in the area known as "downtown" one night. So, we drank away for what felt like a couple of hours(no clocks in casinos) and ended up coming back out onto the street at like 4am.

So we start walking back up towards where the traffic is to get a taxi singing Danny boy, We get to the top of the road and a Taxi does a U turn without us flagging and tells us to hop in.

We get in and this guy who wouldn't look out of place in a spike lee film shouts in the window "Keep your Ass out a Vegas".

I discover on the way back to the strip we were being followed by like 10 crack heads who were just about to jump us and one had a knife out that's why the taxi pulled in for us he said people just don't walk that road we were on.

Apart from that I have lived a bit of a shut in life and never been in danger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Years ago I was stopped in Africa at a police roadblock miles from the nearest town. It was just to check driving licence, insurance, blue book (vehicle registration). But the policeman had a revolver in his hand. He leaned in the window about a foot from me with the blue book in his two hands flicking through it, while holding the revolver with his finger on the trigger.

Karamoja wrote: »
    What the fuck.... did he just flip all of a sudden or what? Jaysus, hopefully he's locked up. Or at least on a good dose of medicine.
    I have no idea what he's up to now, though I know where he lives, and have had a few male friends of mine ask for the address, but I wont give it, because I don't want them to end up in trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭ManofStraw

Lost in the woods in Canada, driving through what turned out to be a snowmobile track car broke down and I was 14 k away from the nearest road. Long story short a scary couple of hours spent jogging through an area notorious for coyote's eating people. I thought it was just my imagination when I heard howling and seen things moving through the trees, I was informed by the local police that I was very lucky not to have been eaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

ManofStraw wrote: »
    Lost in the woods in Canada, driving through what turned out to be a snowmobile track car broke down and I was 14 k away from the nearest road. Long story short a scary couple of hours spent jogging through an area notorious for coyote's eating people. I thought it was just my imagination when I heard howling and seen things moving through the trees, I was informed by the local police that I was very lucky not to have been eaten

You werent lucky. Its just that the ACME catapult sent him into the ground rather than after you.

beep beep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Blikes

Two travellers asked me for money, i told them No so they started saying i insulted their sister last week, me being a smart arse, i actually started to insult their whole family.

Got stabbed, hurt like a bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

Coming home in a friends car, quite drunk, feeling nauseous, trying to hold it back. Very dangerous situation as I could have got sick at any moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Got trapped in a section of a building on fire, surrounded by flames. It's amazing how courageous you can be when thrown into these situations....you'd even shock yourself! Got away with minor burns and put the flames on someone out when we were clear from the blaze. Phew!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Greentopia wrote: »
    Bloody hell...
    Hardly dangerous but I was outside an AIB bank in Waterford getting my wages out when the biggest bank robbery in the history of the state up til that time ('92) was going on inside.

IRA guys. They got over 3 million. Money was never recovered and no one was ever caught AFAIK.

The get away driver was caught I think. I know a friend of his. He said he was waiting out the Tramore road in the second car or what ever. He didn't rat the others out and he got about 20 years. Thats how I heard the story now not sure myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Laisurg wrote: »
    Very unusual for someone whos stoned to attack someone! Whats with ballyer and shotguns? I saw a bus get shot at there with one.

By stoned, I don't mean hash. They were a bunch of scumbags, so they really didn't need the drink/drugs. They guy I took to court (Joe Zambra) was arrested for manslaughter a few years ago.
    http://on-murders.blogspot.com/2008/09/man-killed-because-he-was-alleged-child.html