House break in - No police response

• 11-06-2011 01:34AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭

Just wondering if other people have had the same experience as me. 2 weeks ago I heard some guys breaking into my house so I called 999 and informed them and they assured me that a car was on the way. Anyway I opened the window and the guys attempting to break in were scared off. However I never informed the gardai of this.

So I waited and waited and still no Garda response. They never sent a car!! As far as they knew I was being burgled with the culprits in the house. Is this a common occurrence? It would'n't make me feel so good about the safety of elderly relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No, you see first, you get burgled, then after they've gone, well gone,the police come and then, well that's it, you don't hear from them again, if you're lucky you might get a look into that type message that usually comes to nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

What would have happened if they attacked you or killed you and then no response from the guards? Hoping it's not a common occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

As the old joke goes you should have said you had a shotgun and you were about to shoot the burglars.

The ERU would be out to you in no time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

maybe it is a drugdealers house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Yakult wrote: »
    What would have happened if they attacked you or killed you and then no response from the guards?

We'd be a thread short for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Why did you not ring them back up and give out s**t to them, i know for certain i would.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭cusackd

I work in an industry where i call emergency services and the Garda on a regular basis and it is very common, who's your local garda station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Are you for real?
    Gardai at your beck and call.
    That was the the last election MANIFESTO.
    Vote ??????

Was it this time two weeks ago?

So Friday night/Saturday morning?

They'll be very busy at those hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

Karona wrote: »
    Why did you not ring them back up and give out s**t to them, i know for certain i would.:mad:

I probably should have in hindsight. I just thought if i did it wouldn't bring a squad car but still it should have been raised.
    cusackd wrote: »
    I work in an industry where i call emergency services and the Garda on a regular basis and it is very common, who's your local garda station?

Maybe I'm being naive but I'm disappointed to hear that. My local garda station is howth road.

mikemac wrote: »
    Was it this time two weeks ago?

So Friday night/Saturday morning?

They'll be very busy at those hours

It was Sunday morning at 6 o clock so they were probably quite busy alright. I get the whole under resourced arguement but I still think it's not unreasonable to expect some response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Crime.ie

I probably should have in hindsight. I just thought if i did it wouldn't bring a squad car but still it should have been raised.

Maybe I'm being naive but I'm disappointed to hear that. My local garda station is howth road.

The best thing you can do in this situation is call your local Garda station as you will be speaking to some one with an identity and they take ownership over this, as with many call centres or control rooms there is always the issue of passing the book. I know it might be a bit strange but in a situation like this i would always take out the middle men and go straight to the station.

A burglary at 6am

So unlikely to be opportunistic junkies out for an easy target.
    Could well be experienced burglars.

I'd watch out OP, a good chance they'll be back. Give a heads up to the neighbours, some will heading off on holidays

It was Sunday morning at 6 o clock so they were probably quite busy alright. I get the whole under resourced arguement but I still think it's not unreasonable to expect some response.

Under Resourced or not a burglary taking place in someones home with people inside should always be at the top of the priority list for the Garda.

A burglary at 6am

So unlikely to be opportunistic junkies out for an easy target.
    Could well be experienced burglars.

I'd watch out OP, a good chance they'll be back. Give a heads up to the neighbours, some will heading off on holidays

There have been quite a few break ins in the neighbourhood the last while so you probably have a very valid point.

Crime.ie wrote: »
    The best thing you can do in this situation is call your local Garda station as you will be speaking to some one with an identity and they take ownership over this, as with many call centres or control rooms there is always the issue of passing the book. I know it might be a bit strange but in a situation like this i would always take out the middle men and go straight to the station.

Appreciate the advice. It seems to be a common enough theme recently so I'll be sure to inform the neighbours.

Another Options is to put a panic alarm beside the bed and get your alarm monitor by a reputable company that have been granted a PSA(Private Security Authority).

What Happens Here:
    • Press the Panic Button
    • Sends Signal to Control Room
    • Control Room calls garda control
    • Garda control issue a panic alarm to the local station

I have yet to see this type of procedure fail and is quite quick given the amount of steps all done in under a minute.

Do you have a car outside? A nice one?
    There was a big thread in motor forum on burglaries for the purpose of getting car keys.

Has to be done as with modern electronics you can't just simply hotwire a modern car as I understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

There was a group on Facebook a while ago called "Living in a society where a pizza arrives quicker than the police" - loads of people thought it was funny, but, scarily, it's true!

A break-in where the house-owner is in the house with the burglar should take precedence over most other calls - A) They should not leave people in this sort of danger and B) they have a chance (like no other) to catch the burglar red-handed.

This country is so backwards sometimes...:mad:

Do you have a car outside? A nice one?
    There was a big thread in motor forum on burglaries for the purpose of getting car keys.

Has to be done as with modern electronics you can't just simply hotwire a modern car as I understand

Actually my car is quite old, I think it's more a case of the neighbourhood being targetted to be honest.
    There was a group on Facebook a while ago called "Living in a society where a pizza arrives quicker than the police" - loads of people thought it was funny, but, scarily, it's true!

A break-in where the house-owner is in the house with the burglar should take precedence over most other calls - A) They should not leave people in this sort of danger and B) they have a chance (like no other) to catch the burglar red-handed.

This country is so backwards sometimes...:mad:

I agree it's very frustrating, I don't blame the gardai themselves, I have a lot of friends that do it. It just seems to be the whole management of things that's disorganised e.g. my call being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I agree it's very frustrating, I don't blame the gardai themselves, I have a lot of friends that do it. It just seems to be the whole management of things that's disorganised e.g. my call being ignored.

Oh I know, the gardai are under-resourced - especially now that the whole year's budget went on the Queen of England and Obama's visits. It's just completely unacceptable that this sort of call goes unanswered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Robbed 3 times .
    Gardai Useless.
    Insurance Useless.
    Why pay tax or insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

It depends on the guards, a violent drunk from the area that i used to live tried force his way into the apartment complex i was living in at the time, the garda got there in about 10 mins with about 8 guards, now this guy was very well known to the guards and was mentally ill so that might have shifted them but it's very unusual that no one turned up at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

This is the exact same as the problems with O'Connell street. Not enough Gardai
    I have mates in the force, they hear this on the radio and would truly like to go out (they are human remember) but iif there's only 4 on their little section who are easily caught up in other things it cannot be done
    For instance, you arrest someone for drunk and disorderly, thats a couple of hours of a garda being gone and off the street and on a weekend when that can happen quite a bit, you can be left with no gardai on an area at an early hour.

It's lack of resources lads plain and simple. Anmy garda will tell you also thaat their should be staff, non-garda, to look after a lot of the paperwork, and some sort of commisioners on the front desk

The call would have been logged.

Maybe write a letter to the superintendent and they can check what happened.

And at the same time you can highlight the burglaries in the area.

If you want, you can copy the letter to your local councillor about the burglaries. Some councillors do good work and meet the superintendent for discussions.
    Ours did anyway, he's the only councillor around here who does anything!

Crime.ie wrote: »
    Under Resourced or not a burglary taking place in someones home with people inside should always be at the top of the priority list for the Garda.

Yes it should, but do you let the lads out of the back of your car then?
    Do you abandon your posts doing breath tests where you get abused for not doing them in the first place?
    If Gardai had complete disretion on an individual basis of what they could do I would have no doubt they would call out and do something like that but they dont. Politics plays a big part in it too
    And using your own cop on, if the cops came out to a burglary on a sat night that would take at least an hour of them being off the street when people are complaining of a lack of police presence on the streets anyway

Catch 22. Lack of numbers, simple as imo

This is the exact same as the problems with O'Connell street. Not enough Gardai
    I have mates in the force, they hear this on the radio and would truly like to go out (they are human remember) but iif there's only 4 on their little section who are easily caught up in other things it cannot be done
    For instance, you arrest someone for drunk and disorderly, thats a couple of hours of a garda being gone and off the street and on a weekend when that can happen quite a bit, you can be left with no gardai on an area at an early hour.

It's lack of resources lads plain and simple. Anmy garda will tell you also thaat their should be staff, non-garda, to look after a lot of the paperwork, and some sort of commisioners on the front desk

I agree and I have said that as well. I just don't think that's good enough though, I'm absolutely not blaming Gardai on the frontline but I think that house break ins should be prioritised from higher up.

I'd never blame gardai on the frontline alright, they're just doing their job, but I just honestly can't see any sort of a solution unless there were gardai in abundance. Which there isn't, and wont be for 15 years anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

''Get a dog'',that was the un-official advice from the Gardai that arrived nearly two hours after my uncle had rang them after he heard two lads trying to break in at the back of his house.