Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game of Thrones [HBO & Sky Atlantic] **Spoilers** (Read Warning Post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,715 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

First rule of book club...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I would think that Ned dying would be highly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

dr gonzo wrote: »
    Its not beyond the realms of possibilty but i dont think GoT is gonna go all
    Arlington Road
    on us. Its a distinct possibility that Ned will lose in some way but to see him just summarily executed by the queen now seems pretty unlikely but as not impossible. I personally hope it doesnt happen not even for merely sentimental reasons but because i dont think it would make a very good story.

In any case the Lannister V Stark story has to wrap up to some extent considering the larger enemies on the horizon and i highly doubt that it would end with Joffrey safe on the throne.

I'm not sure the Lannister vs Stark is going to wrap up so neatly, with all the betrayal and whatnot going on I wouldn't put it pass one side to ally with Daenyrs or House Baratheon (I think the Kings brother is still in play) to crush their opponent and then turn on their ally, there might even be a four way war for the throne!

Either way I'm calling it that Ned's gonna be dead before the season end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

I think this is gonna get epic soon enough. My crazy theory is that knight who the queen relieved of duty will spring Ned from prison. Robb will get the upper hand against Tyrwin Lannisters army, but then Jamie and his army will come with reinforcements and crush them. Somewhere around then there has to be a final battle between Jamie and Ned. And then the Dorthraki come and they have to make a temporary alliance. Speculation to the extreme:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

s.welstead wrote: »
    The season will end exactly how the 1st book does. Would love to hint at it but I won't obv. Just know that it will be amazing and will leave you gripped ala Lost and the light in the hatch!

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Nothing here from the books, all speculation based on 8 TV Episodes and knowledge from there.

I think Jon Snow is more than a Stark, and will be in the running for the actual throne if/when he beats the Lannisters. We still don't know who his real mother is remember. I know Ned and The King had a conversation about some hoors, but I'm not convinced on that at all.

I also think Jon Snow will be instrumental in the defence against whatever comes over the wall, which points to him winning his particular battle (I'm basing this on the fact that there hasn't been much other character development on the Wall so far, apart from the older Lords up there, and the cowardly fella).

I definitely think Tyrion will turn against his family in the initial stages of the game, he is already wrangling his way into Jon Snow's affections, but ultimately will be the downfall of Snow, due in no small part to owing a debt elsewhere.

If Jon Snow doesnt end up on the throne himself, he will probably win it for House Stark, and be the Hand for whichever son is still alive to become King, probably Bran.

I wonder if John Arryn's son has a claim, his mad mother could come into play, trying to force him onto the throne at some stage. I reckon she may even line him up with the Lannisters in some kind of power deal. The Lannisters seem to me to to be happy to support a King, once they remain powerful behind the scenes. In fact, she may even line him up with the Targaryens/Khal Drogo when they arrive across The Narrow Sea.

Sansa will turncoat, if she hasn't already, and Arya will be left conflicted as to whether she kills her or not, while pregnant. Actually, Snow could become Queen's Hand to Arya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Des wrote: »
    Nothing here from the books, all speculation based on 8 TV Episodes and knowledge from there.

I call BS, you obviously read the books! No way could you just guess all of that! :eek:
    :D Not really

But seriously though throw enough **** and somethings bound to stick! How many theories have you got going on there???

I call BS, you obviously read the books! No way could you just guess all of that! :eek:
    :D Not really

But seriously though throw enough **** and somethings bound to stick! How many theories have you got going on there???

One long theory about Jon Snow winning his current battle and finally becoming King outright, or Hand to a Stark Monarch. With the help of Tyrion.

And another about John Arryn's son.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Are the White Walkers giants?....why wouldn't The Wall be high enough?

Still waiting for the orcs to turn up.......... :-(

Sansa, the Disney princess speak out to defend herself: http://www.tvguide.com/News/Game-Thrones-Sophie-Turner-1034079.aspx
    In other news, Peter Drinklage wife is preggers: http://www.popeater.com/2011/06/10/peter-dinklage-erica-schmidt-first-child/

Does dwarfism carry over genetically?

Des wrote: »
    One long theory about Jon Snow winning his current battle and finally becoming King outright, or Hand to a Stark Monarch. With the help of Tyrion.

And another about John Arryn's son.

Aaaaaand Arya killing Sansa and becoming queen. You also have something about Tyrion betraying Jon and some speculation about Jon's parentage.

I'm not complaining, I'm enjoying reading the speculation.

Sansa, the Disney princess speak out to defend herself: http://www.tvguide.com/News/Game-Thrones-Sophie-Turner-1034079.aspx

Leave Sansa alone!

It's already been explained in this thread why the wall needs to be so tall!
    tumblr_kvugngVw5q1qzrlhgo1_500.png
    You can see where they're going with this, Giraffes are tall. Space-based lower gravity Giraffes are really tall, Hodor penis tall.

Aaaaaand Arya killing Sansa and becoming queen. You also have something about Tyrion betraying Jon and some speculation about Jon's parentage.
    This is all just side stuff to my overall Jon Snow story arc speculation, I just think he will be extremely important.
    I'm not complaining, I'm enjoying reading the speculation.

cool.

In other news, Peter Drinklage wife is preggers: http://www.popeater.com/2011/06/10/peter-dinklage-erica-schmidt-first-child/

Does dwarfism carry over genetically?

I thought the creatures we saw at the beginning, who slaughtered that group of people, leading to the young guy running away, being caught and executed were the white walkers?

But Samwell seemed mighty scared The Wall wasn't high enough....unless a hoarde of the feckers start scaling The Wall!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

They were, the deserter guy in Ep.1 says that he "....saw white walkers" before he was beheaded.

It seems the southerners don't believe in them, as evidenced by Tyrions laughing at snarks and grumbkins to Benjen when he was at the Wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Tenger wrote: »
    They were, the deserter guy in Ep.1 says that he "....saw white walkers" before he was beheaded.

It seems the southerners don't believe in them, as evidenced by Tyrions laughing at snarks and grumbkins to Benjen when he was at the Wall.

The deserter was by no means an expert on what is a white walker and what is one of the 'infected dead' that we also saw brought into the camp at the wall.

I haven't read the book, but am I the only one getting the sickening feeling that we won't find out who the White Walkers actually are this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

ya i was thinkin the exact same thing but then i thought wed probaly get a glimpse at the last ep or something....really good series this bought the books boxset off amazon for 13 yoyos gonna launch into them as soon as this season is finished on telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The actors for Tyrion and Arya have been stars
    Superb performances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I haven't read the book, but am I the only one getting the sickening feeling that we won't find out who the White Walkers actually are this season?
    What happens beyond the Wall is largely secondary to the main plot, which is the political machinations of the main families in Westeros, and to a lesser extent, the Free Cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I still have no idea as to how they are going to vote everything into the next two episodes. I can only assume parts of the first book will be in the second series to create a cliffhanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

wait a second.. so the cops KNOW internal affairs is setting them up??

7 episodes in, will start reading the thread after i finish number 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Pter wrote: »
    The deserter was by no means an expert on what is a white walker and what is one of the 'infected dead' that we also saw brought into the camp at the wall.

White walkers are the ice creatures with the glowing blue eyes from the prologue and the "infected dead" are refered to as wights in the book .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

White walkers are the ice creatures with the glowing blue eyes from the prologue and the "infected dead" are refered to as wights in the book .

Woops...forgot he saw them in the prologue. Thought he started running when he saw the dead humans rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Is it true that after tomorrow it's gonna be two more weeks until the final episode ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,664 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Today/tomorrow is the second last episode.
    The finale is next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 miniPhil

Mr E wrote: »
    Today/tomorrow is the second last episode.
    The finale is next week.
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! What am I going to do with no GoT for the summer? I already spend most of my day sitting in a corner, staring at the clock and waiting for the next episode.

miniPhil wrote: »
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! What am I going to do with no GoT for the summer? I already spend most of my day sitting in a corner, staring at the clock and waiting for the next episode.

Read the
    books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

mikemac wrote: »
    The actors for Tyrion and Arya have been stars
    Superb performances

Everyone keeps saying this but i think its actually a far shorter list of people who arent excellent, personally i think all of the Lannisters are brilliant. Sean Bean is doing a great job as Ned, what we've seen of him lately anyway and Jon et al on the wall are fantastic as well. Its rare actually that theres such a high quality of acting i think.