If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[CoD Black Ops] - MegaBitch thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

Leeg17 wrote: »

Plus, 3/5/8 beats 8/9/11 any day ;)

absolutely

I prefer 3/4/8 coz its better for team play and dominating the opposition but napalm is ridiculously handy if you use it tactically!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Why the **** am I the only one who really bothers taking down air support!? I still put in consistently good scores and do my part for the team!

Amuses me when people question why they die so much. Truly amuses me -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Ghost pro silenced famas solves all that.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Ghost pro silenced famas solves all that.

I dislike Ghost as I've stated many many times, but if another team is beating us (as rare as it is) and has UAV's, choppers and what not you'd think people would at least switch to ghost for the obvious benefit of staying undetected.. if not ghost then at least take out the air support. Seems fairly logical I would have thought.

I'm a high K/D player and I take the time out to take out the majority of enemy air support I reckon. If I can do it, why can't others?.. I can't get my head around it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I'm a high K/D player and I take the time out to take out the majority of enemy air support I reckon. If I can do it, why can't others?.. I can't get my head around it tbh.

That's the community of this game ade, its just very rubbish. If they got rid of ghost we wouldnt have this problem imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

What is with all the hate for the Famas? I know it's very widely used but it is no way near as annoying as the Ak-47. Way more people use the ak than famas in my opinion and they pretty much have rapid fire on it. I get killed so much more by the ak than any other gun I reckon, especially with rapid fire. I was playing a game on Villa the other night and I was using a Famas and usually it takes me almost a full clip to kill someone, I put this down to me constantly having a ****e connection (it could be me being a sh*te shot though:pac:) anyway I got seven kills in a row and was out of ammo so I picked up an ak. As soon as I did this 2 guys appeared around the corner and I let rip and I killed the two of them no problem with half a clip and I ended up getting a Huey ( I'd rarely get these). If I was still using the Famas there is not a chance in hell that I would of been able to kill the 2 of those guys.

I've started to notice alot more grenade launchers being used lately than before and every MOTHER F**CKING second person is useing last stand or second chance or whatever the f*ck it's called and then turning into a grade a marksmen with their pistol the second they hit the ground!!!:mad::mad:

Also lately I keep getting kicked from games and then getting disconnected from XBL and this is also annoying as f*ck. Anybody notice this on Eircom?

As I said earlier my connection is dirt the majority of the time, last week I was playing a game of domination on Summit and the game started and i actually had a five bar connection:eek: and I was doing great, I captured 3 flags and my k/d was 10-1. As I was doing so well the whole lobby got disconnected and everyone was brought back into the same game only this time I was down to a 3 bar and I ended up with a k/d of around 4/18, I could'nt do anything. How the hell does the connection just change in the space of 30 seconds from me having a brilliant connection to a piss poor one.

Rant over.

Headshot wrote: »
    That's the community of this game ade, its just very rubbish. If they got rid of ghost we wouldnt have this problem imo

Oh I full well know that mate. But you'd like to have to think people would eventually cop on to their idiocy. The community gets increasing more stupid and cretinous every year.. not just kids too these days. Mind boggling stuff.

You know my thoughts on ghost but if enemy air support is up, I have absolutely zero quarrels about someone switching to ghost/ghost pro to take out enemy air support. Only one other person I know besides me does this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Why the **** am I the only one who really bothers taking down air support!? I still put in consistently good scores and do my part for the team!

This directed at the boards parties ? If so.. i mean it kind of works both ways, you take down air support... i cap/defend more flags(When its needed). Simples. Besides... what air support are you talking about ? UAV's ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

I dislike Ghost as I've stated many many times, but if another team is beating us (as rare as it is) and has UAV's, choppers and what not you'd think people would at least switch to ghost for the obvious benefit of staying undetected.. if not ghost then at least take out the air support. Seems fairly logical I would have thought.

Yeah but it's too easy for your typical scrub to just put on the ghost pro and they can simply disregard any responsibilities of shooting the CG down, even if it is their 3-14 kd that's the reason why the enemy has all their f*cking air support.

You get punished in this game for having bad players around you. That's why it is not a fun game if you're not in a party.

Magill wrote: »
    This directed at the boards parties ? If so.. i mean it kind of works both ways, you take down air support... i cap/defend more flags(When its needed). Simples. Besides... what air support are you talking about ? UAV's ?
    • Directed at the entire COD community. Thought that was fairly obvious when I slated the community as a whole just there and numerous times before be it on here, Twitter or PSN... and yes that includes boardsies.
    • I cap, defend, take down air support and get the amount of kills I do. Occasionally I'm a bit lax in Domination, it's not my strong suit playing Dom but but I provide constant UAV and a lot of the times when a couple of guys join me in capping a flag with me I'll more forward to stop the enemy from advancing. This happens with B flag a lot especially.. act as first line of defence if you will. Obviously red mist comes into factor every now and again as it does playing COD for most people, not just me.
    • Enemy air support as a whole.

My rant is about people not being aware of how to improve but yap on about how they struggle to achieve this or that stat, killstreak, winstreak and son. Many people just continue using the same class for the entire match if the enemy is dominating or not. If there is a stream of UAV's, choppers or whatever up in the air. First thing I do is switch to ghost, take it out unless Lee (;)) beats me to it and carry on until I die, then I switch back to the classes I want to use. The majority who want to improve make this game so utterly overcomplicated for themselves and their team. I for one like seeing people improve and be all the better for it.

Enemy air support up -> switch to ghost and take that **** down -> resulting in less deaths and more than likely resulting in more kills thus more wins.

Really isn't that difficult to comprend, but clearly it is.

• Directed at the entire COD community. Thought that was fairly obvious when I slated the community as a whole just there and numerous times before be it on here, Twitter or PSN... and yes that includes boardsies.

Since you've played almost entirely with boardsies for the last few days then i assumed it was directed primarily at boardsies... regardless of what you've said in the post.
    • I cap, defend, take down air support and get the amount of kills I do. Occasionally I'm a bit lax in Domination, it's not my strong suit playing Dom but but I provide constant UAV and a lot of the times when a couple of guys join me in capping a flag with me I'll more forward to stop the enemy from advancing. This happens with B flag a lot especially.. act as first line of defence if you will. Obviously red mist comes into factor every now and again as it does playing COD for most people, not just me.

Indeed it does.
    • Enemy air support as a whole.

My rant is about people not being aware of how to improve but yap on about how they struggle to achieve this or that stat, killstreak, winstreak and son. Many people just continue using the same class for the entire match if the enemy is dominating or not. If there is a stream of UAV's, choppers or whatever up in the air. First thing I do is switch to ghost, take it out unless Lee (;)) beats me to it and carry on until I die, then I switch back to the classes I want to use. The majority who want to improve make this game so utterly overcomplicated for themselves and their team. I for one like seeing people improve and be all the better for it.

This is what im questioning tho, when was the last time someone actually got a chopper against us ? Is that why you guys lost on sabo or something ? Im a little confused as to why you've decided to have a rant over this when clearly enemy airsupport is not a problem in the majority of our games. I don't pay attention to UAV's, and frankly don't care if they're up or not. Im not the type of player that sneaks about anyway, especially in our pub stomping sessions.

Also, who exactly yaps about not getting KS or achieving stats ? I've not seen/heard anyone on PS3 doing such things
    Enemy air support up -> switch to ghost and take that **** down -> resulting in less deaths and more than likely resulting in more kills thus more wins.

Really isn't that difficult to comprend, but clearly it is.

The root of this rant ? It was going to happen sooner or later, no need to get upset over a silly stat.

P.S Sorry if im being a dick, Im probably missing something as to why your angry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Think I'll pop in the Black Ops disc and have some fun.

3460128_f260.jpg

This is going well so far I think I mig.....wait what's this?

Perk_second_chance_256.png

fuuuuuuuuu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭thefa

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Napalm not CP, I should have specified. Handy for locking them into their spawn, or throwing over an objective to cap/defend it.
    On certain maps it can be preferential alright but I prefer the all round annoyance of the counter. Between blocking their spy planes and bringng those ghost users who think their in their element when an enemy spy plane's up back down to earth, I think its pretty effective for the whole team. Being on the end of a Counter is pretty confusing too since its a struggle to figure out which flags the other randoms on your team are covering. You can say it can be shot down but shur if one or two of their team wants to take time out to bring it down then fair play to them. They're probably going to have to take a spy plane down while their at it and it's all time away from playing the objective. Handy for all the teams unsupressed non ghost users too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

I really wish the game would let you choose if you want to join a game thats already in progress or not. Maybe tell you the score and you can say yes/no.

Turned on the xbox there, put into a lobby on firing range. Run 15 feet - game over. Go into another lobby straight away on stadium and the final scoreboard is on screen. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Really wish there was a better way they could deal with the cheating in this game. Came across a particular bunch of Irish players that were really obviously using lag switches twice today. Irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 DayumSon

Really wish there was a better way they could deal with the cheating in this game. Came across a particular bunch of Irish players that were really obviously using lag switches twice today. Irritating.

They're going to be banned soon so. Lag switchers never last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

thats the brds lot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Was playing with some randomers doing nuketown 24-7 on sunday whilst I was waiting for a space in the main party to open up. I decided to try help them as best I could but god there are some awful players out there who just don't want help.

There were 2-3 guys in the lobby constantly running second chance pro, noone having a clue about how to take out spyplanes or not go out into open areas where seconds before you were shot from all angles. I first tried telling people where enemies are, where I was shot at, etc and was told to shut up by teammates saying I was distracting them. Distracting them from the pretty butterflies? I bit my tongue and let the carnage ensue.

Going from playing in a party to playing publicly is just torturous. You can accept the odd chopper gunner coming in when against decent players or party but for your team to give away a blackbird, chopper gunner and dogs when you're in the back garden taking out spyplanes is ridiculous. If they shot at the "big black butterflies" in the sky they wouldn't have given the enemies all their killstreaks!

I have no qualms saying this but I dashboarded. Through no fault of my own I was being punished by my selfish/poor teammates. It's like playing a totally different game, where once in a party you had to 4 or 5 people taking out a single spyplane now there is only one person trying to take out a chopper gunner. Altruism be damned.

I've been against 6 player parties with 5 other randomers but what sickened me was it was 6 randomers on their team that managed it. I could hold my hand up and admit you were the better team and players, well done and good game but it was so much infuriating losing not because they were better than me but by chance. I got lumped in with the lobby weaklings purely by chance. I tried helping them, they scorned me, I scorned them.

I don't think I can go back to enjoying playing outside of a party in black ops. I'm not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Listen to this load of bull.. no fault of my own. So your man thinks he's the best player in the world when it comes to black ops..

If your as good as what your blowing on about I think you would be in some top class clan

Cork24 wrote: »
    Listen to this load of bull.. no fault of my own. So your man thinks he's the best player in the world when it comes to black ops..

If your as good as what your blowing on about I think you would be in some top class clan

No fault of my own = best player in the world.

Good logic there. Now I can use my most hated smilie. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 FearComplex

Am I the only one that finds a flashed/stunned enemy's aim actually improves? I'm not talking wild spraying from 3ft away in the same room, I'm talking enemy firing from the hip from 20ft when you're not directly in front of him. Seems to happen ALL the time to me :confused: Worst of all was the other day, I was playing on Grid, upstairs in a building, stunned an enemy below me, he started randomly firing and killed me with a headshot. I just don't get it, the character animation shows him covering his face and his gun pointed towards the ground yet he can shoot upwards and with perfect aim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Am I the only one that finds a flashed/stunned enemy's aim actually improves? I'm not talking wild spraying from 3ft away in the same room, I'm talking enemy firing from the hip from 20ft when you're not directly in front of him. Seems to happen ALL the time to me :confused: Worst of all was the other day, I was playing on Grid, upstairs in a building, stunned an enemy below me, he started randomly firing and killed me with a headshot. I just don't get it, the character animation shows him covering his face and his gun pointed towards the ground yet he can shoot upwards and with perfect aim.

Yeah get that all the time. Also seems when you're flashed/stunned it seems to last forever & y'er completley helpess but when you catch an enemy with one the screen goes a little blurry for a couple of seconds only.... I know tac mask pro does this but it's not used that often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

yimrsg wrote: »
    Was playing with some randomers doing nuketown 24-7 on sunday whilst I was waiting for a space in the main party to open up. I decided to try help them as best I could but god there are some awful players out there who just don't want help.

There were 2-3 guys in the lobby constantly running second chance pro, noone having a clue about how to take out spyplanes

I understand there is more to what your saying than just this.. and I'm not a hater..

Taking out spyplanes.. fair enough.. and counter-spyplanes = most definitely!
    But taking out spyplanes in nuketown I feel is quite unproductive.. You spend bout 5-10 seconds taking out a spy plane and then bam.. enemy is in your spawn..

There were 2-3 guys in the lobby constantly running second chance pro, noone having a clue about how to take out spyplanes or not go out into open areas where seconds before you were shot from all angles. I first tried telling people where enemies are, where I was shot at, etc and was told to shut up by teammates saying I was distracting them. Distracting them from the pretty butterflies? I bit my tongue and let the carnage ensue.

Going from playing in a party to playing publicly is just torturous. You can accept the odd chopper gunner coming in when against decent players or party but for your team to give away a blackbird, chopper gunner and dogs when you're in the back garden taking out spyplanes is ridiculous. If they shot at the "big black butterflies" in the sky they wouldn't have given the enemies all their killstreaks!

I have no qualms saying this but I dashboarded. Through no fault of my own I was being punished by my selfish/poor teammates. It's like playing a totally different game, where once in a party you had to 4 or 5 people taking out a single spyplane now there is only one person trying to take out a chopper gunner. Altruism be damned.

I've been against 6 player parties with 5 other randomers but what sickened me was it was 6 randomers on their team that managed it. I could hold my hand up and admit you were the better team and players, well done and good game but it was so much infuriating losing not because they were better than me but by chance. I got lumped in with the lobby weaklings purely by chance. I tried helping them, they scorned me, I scorned them.

I don't think I can go back to enjoying playing outside of a party in black ops. I'm not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing.

Playing with randomers can be the most frustrating thing in the world ! Some times you'll be grand and have even teams and then for 5 games in a row you'll be stuck with 5 non prestegers against a full party or 6 decent randomers. I play ALOT on my own and pretty much every game ends with me completely carrying my team.

It sort of proves how pointless stats are and how easily they are inflated when you play in a decent party. My K/D is never really that high when i play on my own as i'll be trying to play objective by myself most of the time, I die alot but i'll still be getting the 40-60 kill games while capping flags and providing spy planes. I love playing groundwar solo tho.
    hypermuse wrote: »
    I understand there is more to what your saying than just this.. and I'm not a hater..

But taking out spyplanes in nuketown I feel is quite unproductive.. You spend bout 5-10 seconds taking out a spy plane and then bam.. enemy is in your spawn..

Yeah lol, taking out spyplanes in nuketown is probably more pointless than looking at the butterflys :D You can be half way across the map with each swipe !

hypermuse wrote: »

That particular game was of Dom and they had A and just capped B so I was in the fenced area and the very back behind C and shot at two spyplanes, can't remember if they were counters or normal ones and then after firing twice I heard all their killstreaks arrive in the 30 or so seconds it took me to leave the house and fire twice.

I had hoped that taking out the spyplanes would allow us to retake B easier as in nuketown you can tell where the majority of the enemy team is with a simple spy plane and would leave us susceptable to napalm or a grenade spam if we tried en masse to take B.

In hindsight, I should have switched counterspy to sam turret but since I was running hardline and an unsilenced gun, jammer and strella I felt they work best in conjuction. Perhaps it's overkill but the convenience of having instant counter spy planes and the only counter to a blackbird over the delay of a sam turret which can eat up time better spent doing other things. Using a strella or sam turret takes you out of the fight so both have flaws.

Looking back, the best hope for most non party matches is to get that all important first blackbird in so your team can build a lead in kills and points. Had I managed that I mightn't have left but it's still frustrating as fcuk having useless players impeeding you when you're trying to help them.

@ Magill

Playing in a party is completely different to being a lone wolf and obviously you're going to be better in a team rather than a group of individuals. I didn't expect to win the game singlehanded but I expected to do well and be a good teammate. Perhaps I've become too accustomed to playing within a party that it was a shock to the system to see how bad some players really are even against a randomly thrown together team.

@ Magill

Playing in a party is completely different to being a lone wolf and obviously you're going to be better in a team rather than a group of individuals. I didn't expect to win the game singlehanded but I expected to do well and be a good teammate. Perhaps I've become too accustomed to playing within a party that it was a shock to the system to see how bad some players really are even against a randomly thrown together team.

Yup, my only point with that was that it proves how pointless stats are because obviously someone who plays in a party 90% of the time will have far better stats than they would if they only played in a party 50% of the time, so most people aren't on a level playing field etc. Not saying you didn't know that or anything.

And yeah.... the majority of randoms are quite bad, kind of brings to light why its so easy to absolutely steam roll the majority of lobbies when playing in a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭keithc83

Magill wrote: »
    And yeah.... the majority of randoms are quite bad, kind of brings to light why its so easy to absolutely steam roll the majority of lobbies when playing in a party.

I think the majority are absolutely terrible. Does anyone of those idiots know that combat training is there to help before you go into a match online?! Seriously!
    Went online today and i usually do work as the lone wolf in tdm/s&d as i am not able to play set hours each day (Was in a clan but can't dedicate that much time to gaming anymore). Today and yesterday has made me hate this game even more than i already did. You always know you are going to encounter retards when playing COD but when you have to try and play a tdm with those retards on your team, every single game, hindering everything you're doing, its just too much. I was already getting pretty mad at BO but for the last couple of days it has really been a struggle to enjoy any of the games i've played in.

It's a completely different game playing on your own to in a group your familiar with. Once you've experienced both you release how much the group experience lifts the game far beyond the lone wolf playing in public lobbies. I'm sure this holds true for most games but I'm now only after experiencing both sides in quick succession in black ops.

What you mean ? Playing on your own is good... if you win :) Its just harder to do it.

Playing in a group can be equally frustrating in that its a chase to get your choppers and dogs in some groups (Not so much on the PS3 as no1 runs them). And then you just sit around while everyone takes turns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Public lobbies are usually filled with morons. Nothing more annoying than being 4-0, 6-0 or 8-0 and some muppet on your team going 2-8 gives away a pred that ends your streak (wrong game, I know) or a UAV/spyplane that turns you from being the hunter into the hunted.