Weird phonecalls

• 07-06-2011 09:16PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Where you ever a victim of weird phones calls or voice mail messages...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

*breathes heavily*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

F off you ould Goose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭AnnaGram85

No .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Got a call from this indian guy professing the dangers of the internet and asking me to allow windows remote access. Told him I was running OpenVMS(lie). He hung up:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Hello Fran. <shudders>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Got a call on mobile today which I didn't get time to answer but other than 'caller unknown ' no .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I get calls saying "pay your overdraft" and things like that. Perverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭markc1184

Got a call on the house phone at 3:30 on Saturday night. Some lad singing down the phone and saying he was sorry for everything and he didn't mean for it to happen. Put the phone on loud speaker and he only stopped when my girlfriend burst out laughing. He Realised then he had the wrong number. Weird call but a funny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Naikon wrote: »
    Got a call from this indian guy professing the dangers of the internet and asking me to allow windows remote access. Told him I was running OpenVMS(lie). He hung up:cool:
    I had 3 of them in one week..
    I took great pleasure in playing the silly computer illiterate lady, and hope it cost him on his next phone bill..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Yes, 3.

Not 3 calls, 3 the company :D

BengaLover wrote: »
    I had 3 of them in one week..
    I took great pleasure in playing the silly computer illiterate lady, and hope it cost him on his next phone bill..

That is a good one. Bunch of scammers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I've gotten a few of them in my Dads. Kept them on the phone for ages. I know they were pretty much trying to take me for all I as worth (wasted their time there), but I must say, even when I told them they were scammers, they were very polite!

Actually, this thread reminds me of something that happened about 10 years ago in Galway. I was walking past a phone booth (they still had them back then) and the phone was ringing.

I know it sounds a bit like a movie, so I said to my friend, should I answer it? She said, yeah go on. So I answer the phone and say hello and some guy asks to speak to someone. I replied (in my Australian accent) 'Sorry, I think you have the wrong number, this is Sydney, Australia'.

He screamed 'WTFFFFFFFFFF' and immediately hung up.

Ah, good times :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Weeding out the venerable?

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I've gotten a few of them in my Dads. Kept them on the phone for ages. I know they were pretty much trying to take me for all I as worth (wasted their time there), but I must say, even when I told them they were scammers, they were very polite!

You need to worry about the polite ones alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

Got a few weird txt messages from someone once but I just ignored them, maybe they were mistaken identity but I wasn't bothered enough to contact them back.

My dad was the victim of nasty calls. Previous employers of mine were also. Just cowardly c^nts who can't say what they want to your face. Change your number & don't waste your energy wondering about them.

I have some friends with pretty quirky senses of humour too that did some weird things like put ads in buy&sell for something mad cheap and give someone elses phone no. so that person was inundated with calls from people looking to buy X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Hoof_Hearted

Scammer calls: I like to say, in my best 'old lady' voice "Sorry dear, I can't hear you properly, just hold on and I'll get my glasses", then leave them holding, and holding...

Where? Yeah, usually my mobile :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭madison2011

I always do, I even store the no's as 'pranks' in my contacts on mobile in case I'm murdered at some stage. Had a weird call on land line last Saturday. Also, weird people are attracted to me on public transport, in the street and when I'm at any do. I have the weird magnatron built in because I don't have the heart to tell anyone to feck off - and they can smell that. There but for the grace of god...and all that. BUT I'm gonna get meanner and meanner real soon.

You need to worry about the polite ones alright!

One of them sounded REALLY educated, really good English still had an Indian accent, but it was really clear. I got him talking about his mother, and I told him he was disappointing her, and that she was thoroughly ashamed of him! It was such a laugh. Well it was a laugh for me cos I knew what the call was, but I kinda hoped with the amount of time I kept him on the phone that I delayed him calling someone who was on their own, and not so savvy, and that maybe by the time they got around to calling them they weren't alone. Maybe not, but I'd like to hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

My missus was getting some weird and abusive calls, but they stopped after she had a restraining order put on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Where? Yeah, usually my mobile :)
    well, if it wasnt the house phone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

RachaelVO wrote: »
    but I kinda hoped with the amount of time I kept him on the phone that I delayed him calling someone who was on their own, and not so savvy, and that maybe by the time they got around to calling them they weren't alone. Maybe not, but I'd like to hope so!
    i remember one day i was at home all day, just sitting around with my mam, at some stage i went out to meet up with a few mates, i had been on the computer, and didnt turn it off, my mother wouldnt be the most computer literate person, but she likes to play freecell
    anyway, found out later i was only out the door when one of these guys called the house, my mother answered and was chatting away to him, said he sounded really educated, a bit of an Indian accent, but very good english, and it was really clear.
    he got her onto the computer anyway, and shur im sure you can imagine what the end result was...

*goes off to google what these guys actually do

i remember one day i was at home all day, just sitting around with my mam, at some stage i went out to meet up with a few mates, i had been on the computer, and didnt turn it off, my mother wouldnt be the most computer literate person, but she likes to play freecell
    anyway, found out later i was only out the door when one of these guys called the house, my mother answered and was chatting away to him, said he sounded really educated, a bit of an Indian accent, but very good english, and it was really clear.
    he got her onto the computer anyway, and shur im sure you can imagine what the end result was...

*goes off to google what these guys actually do

Aw, your poor mam, I'd say the thought she was doing the right thing!

Obviously my ploy didn't work then :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

o2 got my number wrong when i moved back to them, they changed one digit and for an hour i had somebody elses phone number. One of the messages i got was informing this person that his/her uncle had got through the operation successfully. Felt bad as he/she might have been worried waiting for that message.
    o2.......what a useless shower of pricks. They did send me a hamper for the mistake;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

He rang me too. I told him I used Linux and he hung up. What's Linux? :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I left myself a drunken voicemail telling myself to get milk and other jibberish. Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

When I first got a camera phone, an unknown number sent me a very blurry naked pic... I deleted it, then a week later got a text saying "What, not talking to me now?" - No, as it happens!

Another time a girl rang my number by mistake and thoughtI was answering her boyfriend's phone. "Where's Sean, ye tramp? Put him on right now! What are you doin answerin his phone? I know he's with you, ye slut!". When I pointed out that she had the wrong number, she called out a number to me and I said "No, that's not what you dialled". She retorted "We'll see about that!", hung up and pressed redial. Idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

I got txt raped once, it was cool :cool: