Repoting social welfare fraud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

why are people so bothered if some one on the dole has to go out and do a cash in hand job to make ends meet im sure if most of you were in the same position you would do the same the real thieves are our government and the imf but we are quite happy to let them keep raping us with all these tax,s, it seems we are a great nation of moaners and complainers but we do feck all about it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

hondasam wrote: »
    It's doesn't have to be a neighbour it can be anyone. The problem is we all have had to take pay cuts, working does not mean we are rich, it just means we have a job.

taking all the extra benefits into consideration people on welfare can sometimes be better of than those who are working.

i agree that some people take the piss with social welfare,working full time cash in hand and stuff but i don't think a person should be reported for example if he helps out in a neighbours back garden for €20 or something once in a blue moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As I continuously point out on these boards, if we dropped ALL social welfare spending tomorrow, taxes wouldn't come down a single cent.

It would just mean more money for banksters and bondholders.
    Given the choice, I'd rather see my tax money going to Irish people to spend on their lives rather than to a black hole of failed financial institutions which should never have been saved by governments in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 sanderelle

pmcmahon wrote: »
    you never know when you might be unemployed i wouldn't get on your high horse about who's pocket it's coming from.

we could all need it some day and thats fair enough, but beside me there are two sets of couples the ladies are claiming opfa, but they are living with their working partners, why should we have to pay for that carry on in all fairness??

i think we should all be reporting these people, but for some reason we all have a problem with doing it, i wonder why??

another poster said not to report these people as we dont no there financial position, well they dont no mine and they dont seem to care about all the tax me and every other worker is paying out:confused:

Might i add that judging by the peoples opinions in this thread that the governmental tactics of divide and conquer are playing right into their hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

superfish wrote: »
    why are people so bothered if some one on the dole has to go out and do a cash in hand job to make ends meet im sure if most of you were in the same position you would do the same the real thieves are our government and the imf but we are quite happy to let them keep raping us with all these tax,s, it seems we are a great nation of moaners and complainers but we do feck all about it

maybe just maybe, you should get a job and then that would be one less person to moan and complain about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I don't know anyone scamming the welfare but even if I did it would be a cold day in hell before id snitch on someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i agree that some people take the piss with social welfare,working full time cash in hand and stuff but i don't think a person should be reported for example if he helps out in a neighbours back garden for €20 or something once in a blue moon.

No I agree, it's the people who are working and earning €300 a week cash in hand I'm on about. The system is wrong but I also feel we are wrong to condone it. we all have to take some responsibility for it.

would you report someone who was drink driving or driving without insurance for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

maybe just maybe, you should get a job and then that would be one less person to moan and complain about

I have a job its bank holiday monday ;) I just like to think of others and how I would feel in their position before I decide to get on my high horse and put them down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I know loads of people cheating the system, mostly women claiming single mothers welfare(what ever the official name for it is) and having a partner living with them.

Dont think id be arsed reporting them thats not my job.

Anyway can the SW not tell by peoples pps numbers that there working and claiming SW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

sanderelle wrote: »
    we all no a few people who are claiming social when they are not entitled to it,
    Sorry but anyone who i know on social welfare is more then entitled to that money as they would have paid tax into the system when they were working.

we could all need it some day and thats fair enough, but beside me there are two sets of couples the ladies are claiming opfa, but they are living with their working partners, why should we have to pay for that carry on in all fairness??

i think we should all be reporting these people, but for some reason we all have a problem with doing it, i wonder why??

another poster said not to report these people as we dont no there financial position, well they dont no mine and they dont seem to care about all the tax me and every other worker is paying out:confused:

It all comes down to social politics,on one hand you have people paying taxes to help people in genuine hardship,the system for this is easily exploitable and of course you're going to get some bad fish in the barrel,that's not to say people should go looking to report people,if a person comes gloating about all the benefits he/she is getting and the wonderful life he/she is having then they should be reported.But if you see a neighbour who is clearly struggling,lost his job,sold off his car etc etc and knocks around asking people if they want their windows washed,is it really your business to bring hardship on him and his family for a grudge at genuine cheaters?

i mean report people who are taking the piss,but don't go looking for it.

charlemont wrote: »
    I don't know anyone scamming the welfare but even if I did it would be a cold day in hell before id snitch on someone.

and why would you not report them???

i myself have never reported anyone but im certainly thinking of lately. next door to me is a lady who has 2 kids and is claiming the single parents allowance including rent allowance etc... her partner and father to both kids lives there full time too, he is also on the dole. it does bug me, because i struggle to pay my mortgage etc and work damn hard to pay it aswell. it just seems they get a piggy back through life on other peoples hard work and there not short of money either, always seem to be socializing and he plays golf a good bit. fair?? not really!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I don't care about social welfare fraud, I'm more concerned about the conditions which requires people to claim social welfare. Actually it's the banking fraud and scum bankers I would be more interested in 'targeting'. Rather than the victims of their incompetence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Typical Ireland. People taking money out of your pockets, same as the crooks at the top, but nobody is willing to do anything about it. :rolleyes:

two wrongs dont make a right

johngalway wrote: »
    I've worked with people who've gloated about it, but, in the long run it's their risk. Things catch up with people.
    99.9% of them get away with it. Ask Seanie Fitz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

and why would you not report them???

i myself have never reported anyone but im certainly thinking of lately. next door to me is a lady who has 2 kids and is claiming the single parents allowance including rent allowance etc... her partner and father to both kids lives there full time too, he is also on the dole. it does bug me, because i struggle to pay my mortgage etc and work damn hard to pay it aswell. it just seems they get a piggy back through life on other peoples hard work and there not short of money either, always seem to be socializing and he plays golf a good bit. fair?? not really!!
    How do you know she's claiming the SPA?

two wrongs dont make a right
    So now it's wrong to report a crime? Holy sheet. No wonder this place is such a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Just who is screwing the system though? I listen to politicians spouting off about social welfare fraud but if you ask me they're the ones who are screwing the system left, right and centre with their massive salaries, expenses, pensions, disappointment money, retirement lump sums and such like. It seems like it's double standards to me, i.e. do as we say, not as we do.
    I heard a politician last week talking about a need for everybody in the country to make sacrifices yet he himself opposed a cut to his own bloody salary not so long ago!

And it also seems to me like the Social Welfare can't even be arsed to check on people anyway. I know women who are claiming Lone Parent Allowance yet their boyfriends are living openly with them. The Welfare don't have to employ Detective Columbo to find out this stuff. All they have to do is sit in a car down the road from their houses to see exactly what's going on but they don't bother their barnacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'll report anyone who boasts about how clever they are at milking the dole system whilst working cash-in-hand just to shut them up.

IME, if you need the job to tide you over, you don't boast about it.
    I know women who are claiming Lone Parent Allowance yet their boyfriends are living openly with them. The Welfare don't have to employ Detective Columbo to find out this stuff. All they have to do is sit in a car down the road from their houses to see exactly what's going on but they don't bother their barnacle.
    They do, and they are, but most of the catching is done after they are tipped off. They have a limited number of people doing this job, thus it may not be looked at immediately.

the_syco wrote: »
    They do, and they are, but most of the catching is done after they are tipped off. They have a limited number of people doing this job, thus it may not be looked at immediately.

They'd better get their skates on. I know somebody with a 16 year old son who's been claiming "Lone Parent" Allowance since the kid was born but she's never even spent one night on her own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Just who is screwing the system though? I listen to politicians spouting off about social welfare fraud but if you ask me they're the ones who are screwing the system left, right and centre with their massive salaries, expenses, pensions, disappointment money, retirement lump sums and such like. It seems like it's double standards to me, i.e. do as we say, not as we do.
    I heard a politician last week talking about a need for everybody in the country to make sacrifices yet he himself opposed a cut to his own bloody salary not so long ago!

And it also seems to me like the Social Welfare can't even be arsed to check on people anyway. I know women who are claiming Lone Parent Allowance yet their boyfriends are living openly with them. The Welfare don't have to employ Detective Columbo to find out this stuff. All they have to do is sit in a car down the road from their houses to see exactly what's going on but they don't bother their barnacle.

That's saying they should investigate everyone on SW just in case they are defrauding the system. I assume the do this if some one is reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

ananas wrote: »
    What? This is a thread about reporting social welfare fraud, not about people who are unemployed and entitled to it.

And just for your information, I couldn't find a job in the field I wanted to go into when I finished college so I worked in a chipper instead of signing on the dole!

If that was aimed at me I'm confused. I said nothing about people who were entitled to it or not. I just stated that you cannot know another persons financial situation well enough to know whether it's fraud or not.

And as for the second part... at the minute I imagine people can't even find work in a chipper because of the sheer levels of unemployment. What does that have to do with anything? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Yup and I have done so twice!

It's people like that who're th reason my grant is being cut and why I can't use all the damn PRSI I've worked for to get me an eye test or a dental check!

hondasam wrote: »
    That's saying they should investigate everyone on SW just in case they are defrauding the system. I assume the do this if some one is reported.

Hondasam, it would be like shooting fish in a barrel if the DSW decided to focus their investigation teams on unmarried mothers claiming Lone Parents Allowance by putting them under surveillance. Obviously not everybody who claims LPA is abusing the system but a large proportion of them are.

Put it this way: The mother claims her Lone Parent Allowance, gets a rent-free house and all the ancillary benefits that go with this. The boyfriend moves in, claims the dole but gives his address as his mother's house. They're quids in. Contrast that with a married couple struggling to pay a mortgage where the wife stays at home to mind the kids but gets shyte all for it while the husband who's working is saddled with the universal social charge and wage reductions and they've got the prospect of water charges, household charges and property taxes coming down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

This is what annoys me,you are correct,retired bankers/td lied to the country about its financial state,but yet retired on a massive pension,now that's fraud itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

so would you and should you??

is it something we should all be doing, we all no a few people who are claiming social when they are not entitled to it, but we all sit back and let it happen even though it cost us a fortune:confused:

Its their business. If they can get away with it fair play. So you report someone for it....while we are all paying for it , will you see much of a difference in your pay cheque.....NO.

How do you know she's claiming the SPA?

she has been my neighbor and am friendly with her but not really her partner, she is not one bit ashamed to tell me.

its the main reason i havent reported it, i would only do it if it was confidential. cowardly perhaps but its still very wrong what they're doing

So now it's wrong to report a crime? Holy sheet. No wonder this place is such a dump.

no thats not what i meant, i thought you meant its ok because the people at the top were doing it. misread your comment.