Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post for everyone who QUIT evil fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Guess who just went to a wedding and reception and didn't smoke?

Yep, that would be me :)

Now; fair enough, I wasn't boozin' but still I am proud of myself as it was a long day and the people I was hanging out with were all puffing fags like nobody's beeswax.

I'm (hopefully) (oh dear CHRIST hopefully) recovering from vertigo at the mo so wasn't in top form, hence why I'm home so early but still, another day down. Coming up on almost two weeks now.

Yay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

mojesius wrote: »
    Hi all. I quit two days ago. Pack a day for 12 years. I was okay until i drove this evening and had to sit in traffic. It was torture! I think tomorrow may be bad...but I don't want another smoke.

Thanks for your stories and insight, it helped me a lot this evening.

aaahhh I remember car journeys being the worst. I used to leave work a bit later to avoid the traffic jams as I couldn't cope. I don't even think of them now though. Keep at it. One day, one journey at a time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I posted here first on the 11-01-2011 and am happy to say I have remained smoke free!

I found this thread very useful in the first few weeks as it gave me a daily/weekly goal to post my positive update on here. You know you're beating the weed when you stop counting the days since your last smoke.

I still get cravings though, and still chew the odd piece of nicotene gum, but the thought of smoking nauseates me now. Still, I regard myself as a nicotene addict and never assume that I wouldnt ever smoke again if i let my guard down. I would like to quit the gum completely. Thats the next mountain to climb, i suppose. But at the moment i'm too scared to try.

Well done to those of you who have just quit. Keep it going,you can do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Still going - nearly a week now. I feel great - I've had meals, sat in beer gardens, got quite drunk. Now one ciggy. Nor have I really wanted one! :)

I have good vibes about this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

4 weeks today - have tried countless times before but i think i can do it this time. chewing gum helps as does avoiding alcohol.

Saw this over in the YLYL thread in Cool Vids. :D

1809tobacco-will-kill-u.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Yay, still off the evil fags! Just back from a week in Portugal. I had a day where I didn't think about it once. Looking forward to when those days become more frequent...

mojesius wrote: »
    Yay, still off the evil fags! Just back from a week in Portugal. I had a day where I didn't think about it once. Looking forward to when those days become more frequent...

Very well done mo, holidays are tough I'd say. How long are you off them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 taldar

Its been a while since i have had a read of this thread. Guess that is a side effect of thinking about smoking less & less. Its great to see so many have stayed off them since. I am in my 6th month off them now - just recap, i smoked 20 a day for 20 years. Hope you all stick with it and the neewbies thinking about it join in.. Dont worry if you have fallen off the wagan, we all have at some stage in an earlier quit, you will get there eventually. Best Wishes

I am a Nicotine Addict!

Time Smoke-Free: 157 days, 22 hours, 38 minutes and 49 seconds trans.gifCigarettes NOT smoked: 3159 trans.gifLifetime Saved: 24 days, 3 hours trans.gifMoney Saved: €1,350.90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭susanweir

Just passed the 5-month mark. Not a puff since 7th January, and I don't really miss the cigs much to be honest. However, I'm really worried about two things. First is putting on weight. Have gained a stone in 5 months and getting very down about it. The second is going on holiday in 3 weeks to Spain. Apart from having to put on a swimsuit as a fat person, every other holiday I have been on has been as a smoker. I'm worried that I won't enjoy it, and will resent people sitting out in the sun smoking and having coffees and drinks. I know they should envy me, but there seems to be something wrong with my mindset at the moment.

Anyone else feel like this?

Sorry for being a whinger! Well done everyone who has quit and is trying to quit!

susanweir wrote: »

Just passed the 5-month mark. Not a puff since 7th January, and I don't really miss the cigs much to be honest. However, I'm really worried about two things. First is putting on weight. Have gained a stone in 5 months and getting very down about it. The second is going on holiday in 3 weeks to Spain. Apart from having to put on a swimsuit as a fat person, every other holiday I have been on has been as a smoker. I'm worried that I won't enjoy it, and will resent people sitting out in the sun smoking and having coffees and drinks. I know they should envy me, but there seems to be something wrong with my mindset at the moment.

Anyone else feel like this?

Sorry for being a whinger! Well done everyone who has quit and is trying to quit!

Hiya, ok, first things first. You've only gained a stone which should be easy enough to shift so don't worry about that.

Drink loads of water, cook all your food yourself (no take-aways/sweets etc)walk for 45-60 mins a day and it will fall off.

When you are on holidays I imagine that feeling of being removed from normality could be a trigger but read mojesus' post above, he managed fine :)

You've done so well and come so far that hopefully you will stay strong and simply not smoke.

I'd imagine at this stage if you smoked you would feel rotten and that could put a real downer on your holiday.

And you're right, they will be jealous of you as a non-smoker!

All the best, come back again if you want to chat :)

Thanks so much mud,

Been feeling so bad that I almost talked myself into smoking yesterday. Totally crazy, I know. When rational, I know that stopping smoking is the most important thing, and I can shift the weight eventually. The problem is I seem to be increasingly irrational about it!!:mad: I don't blame him at all, but my husband still smokes and I just can't picture us on holiday having a glass of wine on the balcony and me NOTsmoking!

Thanks for the really good advice about diet and exercise though. I will try to follow your suggestions!:)

susanweir wrote: »
    Thanks so much mud,

Been feeling so bad that I almost talked myself into smoking yesterday. Totally crazy, I know. When rational, I know that stopping smoking is the most important thing, and I can shift the weight eventually. The problem is I seem to be increasingly irrational about it!!:mad: I don't blame him at all, but my husband still smokes and I just can't picture us on holiday having a glass of wine on the balcony and me NOTsmoking!

Thanks for the really good advice about diet and exercise though. I will try to follow your suggestions!:)

God that is tough that your hubbie is still smoking :( I went to a birthday party today that was held outdoors so naturally there were several people puffing away. I must admit that I considered smoking (I'm human!) but dismissed the thought fairly easily by remembering how rotten it is to be a smoker, how the couple of seconds of feeling fulfilled quickly turn into increased heart rate and depressed lung function and of course the horrible stink that makes up the experience of smoking a fag.

At the end of the day the choice is totally yours but honestly, I think you can do this. The craving only lasts a couple of minutes then it's gone whereas the effects of smoking last much longer than that. Oh, and smoking will NOT make the extra pounds magically disappear ;)

I believe that if we could actually see our heart and lungs there would be no smokers :)

I am almost at the 28 day mark which (allegedly) is when the habit is broken. Tuesday evening will be a proud time for me :) as an aside, I have been taking cod liver/omega capsules for the last month or so and there is a marked improvement in my eyes, teeth, skin and all that good stuff. I assume that being off the fags is playing a major part in this also but I swear I look at least 2 or 3 years younger already.

Also, and this is my final boast of the day! I went for a walk this evening that I hadn't done in ages. Basically it is half a mile of grand walking, half a mile of crucifying uphill slog, then 2 miles of gentle downhill slope that brings you around in a circle to where you started. I managed the second 1/2 mile with zero stops, zero gasping and huge, huge joy :) my lungs are growing stronger and stronger and I just love it! You actually couldn't pay me to smoke a cig now. I am so proud of me. I rock. :)

Wow Mud! I am well impressed with your walking - amazing. And also your positive mental attitude. And your capacity to resist outdoor smokes. I know everything you said is true, and feel more upbeat today.:)

Have got out my list of advantages and disadvantages of not smoking. There are about 15 advantages on my list but only one disadvantage - weight gain! Will try to keep the list near for when my faith is wavering (and bring it with me on holiday).

Thanks for taking the trouble to post, and I hope you have something nice planned for Tuesday:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

Well done everyone who has managed to quit :)

Today is my first anniversary - 12 months free of the weed!! :D

I was a 20-B&H-a-day man for 19 years and thought I'd never survive without them. Not only have I survived, I haven't missed them at all! Life is so much better without cigarettes. It makes me annoyed that I didn't quit sooner!

So good luck to everyone attempting to quit. You CAN do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Well done Sasquatch

I remember your early days last year

Great achievement!

Thanks dollie - I'm delighted to have done it :) How are things with yourself?

Four weeks today! Habit = broken. Hoooooraaaaaay :D

6 weeks yesterday and so far not a bother - so proud of myself!!!! :)

mud wrote: »
    6 weeks yesterday and so far not a bother - so proud of myself!!!! :)
    Fair play to the both of you. Ye have every right to be proud of yourselves :D

Well done everyone who has managed to quit :)

Today is my first anniversary - 12 months free of the weed!! :D

I was a 20-B&H-a-day man for 19 years and thought I'd never survive without them. Not only have I survived, I haven't missed them at all! Life is so much better without cigarettes. It makes me annoyed that I didn't quit sooner!

So good luck to everyone attempting to quit. You CAN do it!

very very well done - I know i'm going to get to my first anniversary this time. cant belive the new found energy I have. I'm starting to run next week - there is no way I'm going back this time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Good stuff westies - running is what kept me off them - 17 months now. If you're new to running try the Couch 2 5K program - it's great.

Way to go Mud!:D

Orion wrote: »
    Good stuff westies - running is what kept me off them - 17 months now. If you're new to running try the Couch 2 5K program - it's great.

cheers orion - i've looked at that program and a few similar ones, hopefully the oul lungs are up to it! is it really hard in the beginning??

The program builds you up to 5k slowly. You'll be amazed how quickly your body adapts. I actually ran my first 5k 6 weeks after starting it.

cheers orion - i've looked at that program and a few similar ones, hopefully the oul lungs are up to it! is it really hard in the beginning??

Just jumping in with my 2 cent. I'm starting week one of c25k on Monday next. Tried it last week and while it's tough, it's not your lungs I'd be worried about. You're a couple of weeks ahead of me in the smokes stakes so you should be grand there.

What you do need is a fairly decent pair of runners, not mad expensive just comfy, and also, if you are a ladeee a decent sports bra.

If you have somewhere that you could run on grass instead of concrete that would be a bonus but it's not necessary.

I'm starting yoga on Friday, I'm splashing out on some 1 to 1 lessons rather than a group class. Hope to pick it up fairly quickly and practice for the summer then maybe join a more advanced class in the autumn.

Yay for no ciggies. Gives me loads of cash to spend on nice things and loads of energy to enjoy them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

I have been off cigarettes for a little over two years. In that time I've gotten fit, lost three stone, taken up running. and am about to have my first ever boxing match. I only wish I'd given them up sooner!

Just jumping in with my 2 cent. I'm starting week one of c25k on Monday next. Tried it last week and while it's tough, it's not your lungs I'd be worried about. You're a couple of weeks ahead of me in the smokes stakes so you should be grand there.

What you do need is a fairly decent pair of runners, not mad expensive just comfy, and also, if you are a ladeee a decent sports bra.

If you have somewhere that you could run on grass instead of concrete that would be a bonus but it's not necessary.

I'm starting yoga on Friday, I'm splashing out on some 1 to 1 lessons rather than a group class. Hope to pick it up fairly quickly and practice for the summer then maybe join a more advanced class in the autumn.

Yay for no ciggies. Gives me loads of cash to spend on nice things and loads of energy to enjoy them. :)

cheers mud, am going to head out to the woods near me, theres a nice trail though it. I have the runners etc. I had been going to boxercise lessons last year, even while I was smoking but I cant afford the gymn amymore. i was reasonably fit up until the start of this year so i hope I go ok.

would LOVE to try the yoga - best of luck :)

This is ahead of us :D

"He was a four-stone overweight "couch potato" and a "40-a-day" man. He vowed to shed weight and quit smoking" and last week did 10 Ironmans in 10 days! Last year he ran 32 marathons in 32 counties in 32 days.

Talk about replacing one addiction with another :D

Orion wrote: »
    This is ahead of us :D

"He was a four-stone overweight "couch potato" and a "40-a-day" man. He vowed to shed weight and quit smoking" and last week did 10 Ironmans in 10 days! Last year he ran 32 marathons in 32 counties in 32 days.

Talk about replacing one addiction with another :D

wow - def dont think i'm gonna go that far!!!! :D