Do you believe in the psychics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

It's a load of bollox. Anyone watch John Edwards he tries to connect with someone in his audience by giving an initial of their dead relatives first name. When he finds someone he still has difficulty getting the dead relatives name as he says they aren't very clear, yet when he finishes he can relay a message in plain clear english from the dead relative to the person in the audience :rolleyes:
    Cold reading is what they call it. Some of them do a background check on their future audience and know exactly where they will be sitting on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

omen80 wrote: »
    Psychics are assholes who take money from vulnerable people who are looking for answers or have lost someone in their lives. I loathe them, no one has psychic powers.

You're quite right. They are, without exception, charlatans. (and that's putting it nicely)

bnt wrote: »
    No; a more interesting question is whether or nor the psychics believe in me ... :cool:

That isn't really a very interesting question at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Only if they are from Mars and were exposed to damaging rays due to cheap domes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

Psychics are cons.
    While I still remain open to the fact that a person might be in touch to be able to see things (after all, theres a popular word in the english dictionary: intuition) I believe 99.9 percent of so called "Psychics" are cons.

Which further proves the point that while your average person can be smart... they can be totally stupid at the same time.

But hey, if you can create a business charging 1.50 a min on a phone call? ... can you blame them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

themadchef wrote: »
    Then i saw her face............

This is what came to mind http://youtu.be/3s3aUlb5fWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

Absolute con artists the lot if em. Maybe some of them actually believe they have "psychic powers", probably influenced by the obscene money the suck from vulnerable people.

Look up cold reading and it's various techniques and you'll see how it's done. Some of these charlatans are absolute experts at this and can pick up information from the slightest body signals.

Fuppin baxtards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

My friend uses them and to a degree, lives her life based on what they say. Kinda sad really. :cool:

Bunch of con artists!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Back in the '40s and '50s my Grandmother was a fan of ouija boards and tarot packs, and my Grandfather maintained that her un-Godly works led her to an encounter with the devil somewhere in the process... who apparently has cloven feet, seven feet tall, wears a priests hat, and is followed everywhere by a black pig. For years my Grandad himself claimed to see black pigs on his farm.

Anyway she supposedly predicted many strange events in our family, for example a premonition about the death of her son who died in France, caught appendicitis at the same time as my mother, had a premonition that she would be extremely disabled near to death, which she was, and predicted that her family line would have no issue after the turn of the century, and that the last son would die before his thirtieth birthday... that is me and I am currently 24!

It's a bit of a spook story that always gets told in our house at funerals and weddings, and I don't necessarily believe any of it is supernatural. I still mull over my birthdays and look twice crossing the street though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

I almost had a Psychic girlfriend once, but she left me before we even met.

" oh he will have a rapist wit, and he will be psychic like me
    But alas he will not be good in bed, not packin the meat so we
    Will never meet "

Starbelgrade's psychic girlfriend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Load of b,ollix as far as I can see. Apart from psychics not all being betting zillionaires there's the problem that if they can see the future then it is preordained somehow, so no effort we make to do anything is of any use, as it's all been set in stone for us, or something man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

later10 wrote: »
    Back in the '40s and '50s my Grandmother was a fan of ouija boards and tarot packs, and my Grandfather maintained that her un-Godly works led her to an encounter with the devil somewhere in the process... who apparently has cloven feet, seven feet tall, wears a priests hat, and is followed everywhere by a black pig. For years my Grandad himself claimed to see black pigs on his farm.

Anyway she supposedly predicted many strange events in our family, for example a premonition about the death of her son who died in France, caught appendicitis at the same time as my mother, had a premonition that she would be extremely disabled near to death, which she was, and predicted that her family line would have no issue after the turn of the century, and that the last son would die before his thirtieth birthday... that is me and I am currently 24!

It's a bit of a spook story that always gets told in our house at funerals and weddings, and I don't necessarily believe any of it is supernatural. I still mull over my birthdays and look twice crossing the street though:)

Easy way to break that would be to knock someone up. 10 years without a birth in the family wouldn't be that unusual depending on how the various ages worked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BASHIR

I thought this said physics :( thank **** this is my last exam
    Nah those guys are frauds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

later10 wrote: »

You need to break the curse. Off to tLL with ye now and ask if anyones willing to go halves on a bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

If I could predict the future or talk to the dead I wouldn't be doing it on LivingTV. I might actually try and better the world.

Anybody who falls for this sh*t deserves to get fleeced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I know many who swear by these,im bit of sceptic,i think it's just down to luck and half confirmation of answers by those who go to see them,usually hear stories of a birth or death being accurately predicted

Any personal stories?

How difficult is that? I predict my friend will give birth in or around the 7th June.

Accuratley predicting a death reminds me of the tale of a supposed miracle by St Columba where he acurately predicted the death of a man within g3 days of his arrival on Iona. I think he had plague

omen80 wrote: »
    Psychics are assholes who take money from vulnerable people who are looking for answers or have lost someone in their lives. I loathe them, no one has psychic powers.

i knew youd say that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Just started watching some of Derren Browns stuff in the last few days. Interesting stuff. Definitely one for all believers to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

BASHIR wrote: »
    I thought this said physics :( thank **** this is my last exam
    Nah those guys are frauds

Sorry to tell you now but if you can't even tell the difference between physics and psychics then you're royally screwed! Good luck though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

How difficult is that? I predict my friend will give birth in or around the 7th June.

I predict your friend's baby will have an arse.

I'm seeing an arse...is there anyone in the audience who's lost someone recently who had an arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

mconigol wrote: »
    Definitely one for all believers to watch.
    No, those people are just stupid or were manipulated. That couldn't happen to me, I'm certain I couldn't make such mistakes in my beliefs and if I did I believe I'm rational enough to look at them objectively and correct them.
    Babooshka wrote:

I'm seeing an arse...is there anyone in the audience who's lost someone recently who had an arse?
    I once saw an unedited Colin Fry show where he stood on front of 5000 people and go "A novel, I see a novel, anyone here reading a novel?" 5000 hands go up. "It's a classic, an old one. Anyone reading a classic?". 2000 hands go up. "It was made into a movie, anyone here reading a classic novel that was made into a movie?" 100 hands go up. "It's 'Little Women', anyone here reading Little Women?". 2 hands go up. "Hmm", points at lady in crowd who doesn't have her hand up, "are you reading Little Women miss?" "No, I'm not" "But you know someone who has?" "Yes, my mother read it" "And your mother has passed on?" "Yes, last year".

The crowd was stunned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭hacked

I had my gallbladder removed a week ago, and they let me go a couple of hours after surgery. Obviously still in a great deal of pain, my boyfriend drove me to the chemist and helped me hobble in to fill my prescription.

On the way out, this crazy woman comes running over and grabs my arm. "Darling! What's wrong?" she cries before announcing she is a psychic. She began giving me bogus medical advice and telling me to perform crazy rituals to banish negativity, capture positivity and speed recovery. She then began talking about my ex who was "not very good for me" that I needed to "let it go and leave it in the past" and commented on my boyfriend standing next to me saying "he is an angel who fell from heaven" and that he would "not be like the last, he will treat you well".

She then proceeded to guess I was 16....I'm 22. Had to pinch the boyfriend a few times to remain serious haha! Load of ****e and guesswork thatcould be true of literally anyone. After this experience I did find it's value in comdey though...

Babooshka wrote: »

dude thats a mirror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I don't believe in any of that mullarkey, spirits or the future and all that horseshìte. We're human beings, not magical entities with a window to another side of existence. That barmy stuff would work in literature and film but not reality.

Psychics had filled my GF head up with all sorts of gobble-dee-gook, of course her past life was of a good spy in WW2................funny, everyone's "past life" is always something noble and not just plain :pac:

"Meh, you grew up on a farm. Lived with your mother until she died, you farmed for a few more years before you died too"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

My relations were visiting from england about two years ago and me and my sister were talking to my cousin,she is roughly in her mid thirties. We were chatting away about whatever when she brought up those phone psychics you see advertised on tv. We were expectin her to start going on how they were a crock but instead she told us she spent at least an hour every day talking to them. I rarely see my cousins so I just left it off but for f**ks sake.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I don't believe in any of that mullarkey, spirits or the future and all that horseshìte. We're human beings, not magical entities with a window to another side of existence. That barmy stuff would work in literature and film but not reality.

Psychics had filled my GF head up with all sorts of gobble-dee-gook, of course her past life was of a good spy in WW2................funny, everyone's "past life" is always something noble and not just plain :pac:

"Meh, you grew up on a farm. Lived with your mother until she died, you farmed for a few more years before you died too"

thats not true. in my past life i was a pizza delivery boy....by day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Now lets all join hands and contact the living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

The mind can do lots of powerful stuff, and there are many levels of consciousness. Some people have access do a deep level of consciousness and are more aware of things than others, even things they shouldn't know. It does not mean they know how to use the function in itself or they can tell the future. Some people call it psychic power, I wouldn't say it's that. But a heightened awareness and perception in some more than others is definitely a fact.

Then there are people like Derren Brown who harness mind manipulation and display it to prove that self proclaimed psychics are hacks. And they are, and are just weedling money out of vulnerable people. But it doesn't mean there aren't people with a certain intuition or knowing in the world either. Even the handful that genuinely have some heightened perception, I think it's wrong for anyone to charge money for using it when they don't really know what they're using themselves.

That's what I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

When I was around thirteen or fourteen spoons and forks used to bend around me Uri Geller-style. First happened when I was feeding the cat took a fork out of drawer, held it for a moment while looking for the tin, looked at fork, poor Mr. Fork's head it bent right over.

It happened a couple of times when I'd be holding a spoon and doing something else, my mother started giving out to me for bending the cutlery. So I looked up Uri Geller etc. to see what the jazz was.

Doesn't happen anymore damn it. Would be kind of cool if I could still do it. Maybe we had really ****ty cutlery or maybe it's something to do with electrical energy or something, I dunno don't know much about physics (yeah physics, I'm not one of those brain dead people who can't spell psychic).

As for psychics... I wouldn't trust the ones who demand payment for money or TV mediums. But it's a big world and strange things are possible. I mean for God's sake Brian Cowan was Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

strange isent it boardies are calling anything to do with the paranormal,and saying people who tell your future and take money are con artists ,yet are quite happy to go in to a church to speak to a god,and put money into the churches coffers ,i can assure you i have personally seen things , after one of my sightings [in wicklow] the family in question confirmed what i had seen had happened over 50 years ago,in the same village a old woman[stranger] came over to say to ask me if i was enjoying my holiday,instantly without thinking ,i said you have a problem in one of your bedrooms, she confirmed that in one of the bedrooms no one will enter because she has a ghost,a picture came into my head,of a old woman hanging herself,this she also confirmed as being correct,she even knew the grave,i dident go back to that village this year because i imagine that i would no get any rest,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Wtf!

Physics is a natural science that involves the study of matter and its motion through spacetime, as well as all related concepts, including energy and force. More broadly, it is the general analysis of nature, conducted in order to understand how the universe behaves.

How can you not believe in it :confused:

But those studies are all just based on a sample of repeated experiments. Statistically, they may accurately be used to predict the outcome of a particular event, but that school of thought could equally be applied to psychics. Just because a dropped piece of toast will fall to the ground with more reliability than a psychic will predict the winning lottery numbers does not mean that the methods used are inherently different. Where does one draw the line? Weather forecasting? Gambling? Extispicy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

themadchef wrote: »
    Then i saw her face............

Ahhhh Ill never get that Fu4king monkey song out of my head now:(