Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Just saw your pics and aimanns in the old before and after thread. Chrsit on a stick - you and aimann lost some serious feckin weight. Seems like most of ART is now full of former biggies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Just saw your pics and aimanns in the old before and after thread. Chrsit on a stick - you and aimann lost some serious feckin weight. Seems like most of ART is now full of former biggies.
    yeah we were bit fells alright. I personally was 22ish stone at my biggest but i didnt weight myself till i lost some weight so i dont know exactly how big i was. Was the guts of a stone lighter than this when i started running but my legs have tripled in size since.

Stuck in work so did 3 slow, untimed again just to get the legs moving. 6,10,6 hopefully the weekend nothing to fast and a few 10ks during the week before cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    yeah we were bit fells alright. I personally was 22ish stone at my biggest but i didnt weight myself till i lost some weight so i dont know exactly how big i was. Was the guts of a stone lighter than this when i started running but my legs have tripled in size since.

What's even more impressive is not just loosing the weight but keeping it off sth I've struggled with, fantastic stuff Oisin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

and i though my old 16 stone was big. Jaysus, fair play.

Left leg is in bits all week. Calf, i.t. band, hamstring ect...
    Sports massage this morning, jesus ****ing christ i have never felt so much pain in all my life.
    Left calf, it band, hamstring and glute and both quads, right glute were very very tight. when i tod the guy i dont stretch he nearly fainted haha. He also noticed my left calf was much bigger than my right claf and said he had never seen such a difference. 1h30 mins for 30 squids;)
    Run after it to loosen up the legs
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/88287179

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Left leg is in bits all week. Calf, i.t. band, hamstring ect...
    Sports massage this morning, jesus ****ing christ i have never felt so much pain in all my life.
    Left calf, it band, hamstring and glute and both quads, right glute were very very tight. when i tod the guy i dont stretch he nearly fainted haha. He also noticed my left calf was much bigger than my right claf and said he had never seen such a difference. 1h30 mins for 30 squids;)
    Run after it to loosen up the legs
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/88287179

That's the Guy Ken got felt up by in Limerick?

yeah the same one. legs feel like someone else owns them at the moment:D

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/89008527
    First run after a couple of rest days after the physio. Legs are fine but i ate just before going out so had brutal heart burn during the run.
    Amzing how it effects your breathing. Wasnt to bad although it was hot enough.
    A few more like that during the week and a few rest days before cork.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

menoscemo wrote: »
    That's the Guy Ken got felt up by in Limerick?
    yeah the same one. legs feel like someone else owns them at the moment:D

I could tell he was into boys. 30 quid for 90 minutes :eek:

Yeah was great value. The cnut nearly crippled me. Happy ending to:p

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/89306193
    10k as slow as i could go.
    Cantwait to get cork out of the way and get into the really long stuff. legs are itching to run long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Wow. 22 stone is chunky in anyones language. Fair play frank. Where can I find the pics? :D

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/89473107
    wanted to do a 10k about my marathon pace from barca and see how the legs were.
    Stomach was still at me but not as much as the last couple of days. First mile was about 7.20 in reality but my garmin measured it about .05 long, bit of a pain but the rest seemed ok.

10k recovery pace. Rest now till cork.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/89716822

3 days rest? :confused:

yep:D

3.29.14 down in cork, 3.30 pacer. Good day all around. Good course and well meaured and good water stations. Could have done maybe another 10 miles at that pace at a stretch but the legs were sore at the end.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/90623940

Last weds 5 miles without the garmin, recovery from cork
    Last friday 10 miles, felt absolutly **** even though i was going really slow
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/92260403
    Last saturday, still feeling **** although i was able to go a little faster. 10 miles. Have some sort of mild cold thats effecting my chest so breathing not great.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/92260397
    2 rest days while i was working and didnt feel well at all.
    Yesterday felt alot better and decided to just take it handy. Another 10 miles.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/92606028
    Today 10k handy
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/92606019

2 rest days now and a handy 62 mile run:D

Good luck in Portumna. Can't believe how quickly thats come around. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

+1 good luck, you crazy crazy man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Sure it will be a walk in the park for you mate.........a very very long walk in the park:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Best of luck on saturday. text me how you get on.

Edit, See you're down as a Brit in the Ultra Marathon Statistics page : http://statistik.d-u-v.org/getresultperson.php?runner=174901

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

All the best.

Thats actually a nice site.
    Ill text you if im still alive:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Best of luck Frank..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

See you tomorrow Frank, for a few pre race drinks to calm the nerves :rolleyes:

I know what the true meaning of pain is now. Went through every pain and emotion today.
    10.20.5x
    ill do a report when I get home

Well done again. Whole different story to Connemara isn't it - mentally the 50 miles was so can't imagine how much different the 100k is. 39 is like a light jog...

Bet yee enjoyed the beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I know what the true meaning of pain is now. Went through every pain and emotion today.

According to Yiannis Kouros that means you just ran your first ever "real" ultra. ;)