Respect for Pickpockets?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I'll ask again :

If you are so convinced of your self-declared ability to separate the two then why did you change from a "defenceless kid" to "able and ready" ?

Why did you not follow through with your original "Use A & Use B" ?

I suspect that you couldn't bring yourself to type it without the caveat.

I could be wrong about that, but it is my suspicion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I'll ask again :

If you are so convinced of your self-declared ability to separate the two then why did you change from a "defenceless kid" to "able and ready" ?

Why did you not follow through with your original "Use A & Use B" ?

I suspect that you couldn't bring yourself to type it without the caveat.

I could be wrong about that, but it is my suspicion.
    I changed it in the hopes that the argument of opponent's skill wouldn't be brought up as it's irrelevant. The point is to judge the skill independent of everything else, judge it on it's own merit.

In the example there was only one person I was interested in: The Boxer.

He has a skill worth respecting : Boxing.
    He has a respectable use for it : Competitive Boxing. (Use A)
    He has a less-than-respectable use for it : Bullying. (Use B)

The skill is the same. How can you say the skill in Use A is respectable while the skill in Use B is not?

The actions are different, the targets are different but both are irrelevant.

The actual skill, which is what we're debating, is the same. How can you judge it differently without taking it's uses into account?

(If you take it's uses into account you're judging the Boxer himself and/or his actions).

Unless of course you say that skills themselves are not respectable but only those who use them and/or how they are used, which is valid (although I disagree with it, for now anyway. I can see valid arguments being brought up).

Seachmall wrote: »
    I changed it in the hopes that the argument of opponent's skill wouldn't be brought up as it's irrelevant.

No, it's not.
    The point is to judge the skill independent of everything else, judge it on it's own merit.

That's not possible. Part of a skill is knowing when it is appropriate to use it.

I know how to use a screwdriver and a hammer......if it's a screw, I don't use the hammer.

A soccer player will know when it's appropriate to head the ball and when to kick it. Getting that judgement call right during matches is what earns him respect and gets his skills recognised.
    The skill is the same. How can you say the skill in Use A is respectable while the skill in Use B is not?

For the reasons outlined above.

You shot yourself in the foot with the thread title, anyway. It says "respect for pickpockets", rather than "recognising the skill involved".

Respect is earned, and as I said part of the skill is knowing when something is appropriate.

I'll flip this away from criminals for a second.....you say you talked to a Garda for 30 mins re an accusation......would you have respected the Garda (remember : it's your thread title) had he demonstrated his baton skills ?

Or do you respect him more because he - as part of his skillset - used his discussion/interview/negotiation skills instead ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

erm, wow. being able to pickpocket may be a skill - sleight of hand style o thing - but its not a skill id encourage, praise or want to see adult ed classes on. you can respect that sure - being able to do it without the victim noticing is certainly deft handed. BUT its a skill you wish more people did not know.

its only a skill a scumbag wants and like most skills it is attained with practice - which is a Bad Thing.
    with the exception of magicians that use it in magic shows, not to fleece some poor g*bsh*te

i dont think e.g the pickpockets that operate in town generally give a toss who they take from. as an example: its common enough in Shuh on o'connell street. they sell men and womens shoes but more so the latter so the clientelle is mostly women (with the odd boyfriend in tow) - so a lot of the victims must be women too. ive seen many a 'known pickpockets operate in this store' signs in womens stores. - anyone with something in their pocket, a bag that isnt fully clothed and things in their coat pocket seems to be fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

They are still thieving filth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

tiger55 wrote: »
    They are still thieving filth

Do they have no filth of their own?

That's not possible. Part of a skill is knowing when it is appropriate to use it.
    I think knowing when to apply something is an issue of morals and understanding the problem (which is a separate skill, e.g critical thinking).

Earlier an example was given of a dissident republican shooting a PSNI officer. Regardless of the moral issue, or if discussion would have been a better solution, getting a bullseye from 1000 yards is a skill.

If that sniper was an Olympic athlete instead his skill would be respected, regardless if it's essentially the same shot.

We're not discussing the morals of individuals, just their specific abilities.
    You shot yourself in the foot with the thread title, anyway. It says "respect for pickpockets", rather than "recognising the skill involved".
    Ya I know, can't change it now though. I think the fact that it's badly titled is clear now.
    I'll flip this away from criminals for a second.....you say you talked to a Garda for 30 mins re an accusation......would you have respected the Garda (remember : it's your thread title) had he demonstrated his baton skills ?
    Would I have respected the Garda? No.
    Would I have respected his baton skill (presuming he was a skilled stick-fighter)? Yes.

Of course in the moment I wouldn't have, but it's difficult to remain objective when you're being beaten on. But if he was in a riot or something and used those same skills I could objectively admire the skills.
    Or do you respect him more because he - as part of his skillset - used his discussion/interview/negotiation skills instead ?
    If he's a skilled interviewer I would have respected that too.

I would also respect his ability to act appropriately to the situation, but that's a separate skill as far as I'm concerned.

I would argue that Mike Tyson is a skilled boxer but not so disciplined when it comes to arguments and has, I believe, used his skills outside of the ring. I don't think that takes away from his boxing ability though.

I guess it boils down to how you define a skill. Do you take situation reading into consideration or define that as a separate skill? I'm obviously the latter.

I think knowing when to apply something is an issue of morals and understanding the problem (which is a separate skill, e.g critical thinking).

It's partially separate, and partially the same skill. As I said, no-one recognises a skill if the soccer player uses it inappropriately often enough.....it'll get viewed as "luck" at best.

So the question of how "appropriate" it is is definitely a factor, and that's subjective.
    If that sniper was an Olympic athlete instead his skill would be respected, regardless if it's essentially the same shot.

Not really. One is application of the skill in an appropriate environment with the safety of others in mind - similar to a twit doing circles on a dual-carraigeway or driving at 200mph......fine for Schumacher or The Stig, idiotic for a boy-racer.
    We're not discussing the morals of individuals, just their specific abilities.

.....and application of those abilities.
    Ya I know, can't change it now though. I think the fact that it's badly titled is clear now.

Well at least that's some progress.
    Would I have respected the Garda? No.

Again, related to the thread title, so at least we're all agreed on that aspect.
    Would I have respected his baton skill (presuming he was a skilled stick-fighter)? Yes.

Of course in the moment I wouldn't have, but it's difficult to remain objective when you're being beaten on.

And that "difficult to remain objective" (as you phrase it - not the phrase I would use when it comes to criminals and scumbags) is the nub of the issue....you're saying yourself that you couldn't be "in the moment", but I doubt you would afterwards either, as you sued him and went to the media or whatever.
    But if he was in a riot or something and used those same skills I could objectively admire the skills.

....assuming that they were used appropriately....if he used them on innocent people caught up in the riot (whether you or a friend or just random innocents) I once again doubt that you would.
    If he's a skilled interviewer I would have respected that too.

Agreed. Because it's appropriate.
    I would also respect his ability to act appropriately to the situation, but that's a separate skill as far as I'm concerned.

You're not separating them that much if you admit yourself that you wouldn't do so "in the moment".

I would argue that Mike Tyson is a skilled boxer but not so disciplined when it comes to arguments and has, I believe, used his skills outside of the ring. I don't think that takes away from his boxing ability though.

Again, agreed.....but that's only because you've seen him use the skills appropriately, which creates a mental separation.

I guess it boils down to how you define a skill. Do you take situation reading into consideration or define that as a separate skill? I'm obviously the latter.

As I suspected earlier, you're not completely the latter.

I am, though! ;)

It's partially separate, and partially the same skill. As I said, no-one recognises a skill if the soccer player uses it inappropriately often enough.....it'll get viewed as "luck" at best.

So the question of how "appropriate" it is is definitely a factor, and that's subjective.
    That's an issue of skills within skills I'd say. David Beckham is a skilled kicker taker, not necessarily a skilled tackler. If he confused the two regularly he wouldn't be considered a skilled soccer player but can still bend a ball, which is a skill in itself.
    Not really. One is application of the skill in an appropriate environment with the safety of others in mind - similar to a twit doing circles on a dual-carraigeway or driving at 200mph......fine for Schumacher or The Stig, idiotic for a boy-racer.
    If The Stig went for a joyride he'd still be the same skilled driver, just in a different environment.
    And that "difficult to remain objective" (as you phrase it - not the phrase I would use when it comes to criminals and scumbags) is the nub of the issue....you're saying yourself that you couldn't be "in the moment", but I doubt you would afterwards either, as you sued him and went to the media or whatever.
    Like I've said before; I've been pickpocketed, yet I respect the skill that went into it. I've been in fights and lost, but I still respect the other persons ability to kick my ass and I don't begrudge any of them. Sometimes I deserved it, other times I didn't. I don't let either of those issues get in the way of me accepting the fact that they can kick my ass with finesse.
    ....assuming that they were used appropriately....if he used them on innocent people caught up in the riot (whether you or a friend or just random innocents) I once again doubt that you would.
    I disagree, I'm confident I can remain objective when the emotions die down.
    Agreed. Because it's appropriate.
    Not because it's appropriate but because he's good at it.
    You're not separating them that much if you admit yourself that you wouldn't do so "in the moment".
    I think trying to discuss these matters from a subjective stance is pointless. Objectivity is key in discussions. I consider myself fairly objective, some might I'm cold. I've told friends their relationships won't work because they asked, and I've told other friends they wouldn't be good at specific jobs they wanted because they can't see others' perspectives. I'm the type of person who will lose their head in the moment but will easily take a step back and look at everything objectively. I've no problems for apologising when in the wrong (I did so the night I was accused after I started on a guy. I was being an idiot, pushed him, squared up to him and afterwards went over to him and apologised).

Just because I can't analyse situations in the moment doesn't mean I can't step back and think objectively. And, as far as I'm concerned, the only opinions worth discussing are objective ones. Subjective opinions can't be reasoned with making debating them a waste of time.
    Again, agreed.....but that's only because you've seen him use the skills appropriately, which creates a mental separation.
    If somebody wants to get a wallet out of someones pocket without the noticing then pickpocketing is the appropriate skill to use. It could be on or off a stage, doesn't matter. The only question there is legal and moral, neither of which I find relevant to the discussion.
    As I suspected earlier, you're not completely the latter.
    I am entirely. I admire the skills of pickpockets despite my opinion of them personally, that's not up for debate.

Well then the short answer is that we won't end up agreeing.

While you're "admiring" (which is different to "respecting" even the skills) would you mind ringing the Gardai - or even a sniper that you respect - so that we can rid the human race of these parasites ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You can admire a skill without condoning its use... (the same skill is used by magicians doing the old "I have your wallet" trick).

You can admire a blade without condoning stabbing.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

How about the strength and fitness of the thug who beats you senseless?
    Or the sexual stamina of the bas***d who rapes your sister?

Where do you draw your line?

Now in fairness this kind of comparison doesn't really make sense, i don't condone any form of theft but the crimes you're talking about are on a completely different level.

Laisurg wrote: »
    Now in fairness this kind of comparison doesn't really make sense, i don't condone any form of theft but the crimes you're talking about are on a completely different level.

Hence the "where do you draw the line" question!

The OP said that he always separated the "skill" from the act.

So as a question it made perfect sense!

Well then the short answer is that we won't end up agreeing.
    By that I meant "You can't argue my current opinion of pickpockets because it's my personal opinion". I was discussing whether that was an appropriate position to hold, I've actually changed it since (but the foundations of it, which we were arguing, has remained the same). :pac:
    While you're "admiring" (which is different to "respecting" even the skills) would you mind ringing the Gardai - or even a sniper that you respect - so that we can rid the human race of these parasites ? :D
    Note: Never said I respect snipers :P

Anyway, it's an agree to disagree situation. Thanks for the discussion, kept me from going mad from boredom and some decent points were raised :D

Edit -
    Just comment on the above posts;
    I think those examples were actually valid but did try to use emotions to push me to make a subjective response, which I didn't like tbh. No harm done anyway. Cheers.

Note: Never said I respect snipers :P

OK - "snipers whose skills you respect" :D :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Pickpockets in movies tend to be actors. They play pretend for a living. It usually looks impressive and invariably the victim had it coming.

Pickpockets in Temple Bar etc. (real world) tend do be scumbags who do not discriminate.
    Correction, they do...easy and hard targets. Like all scum they'll gravitate towards the easy / weak option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Hookah

The OP would enjoy Roald Dahl's short story ''The Hitchhiker'' which has as one of it's principle characters a pickpocket, or a 'fingersmith' as the author refers to him.

Nothing wrong with admiration of the dexterity such fingersmithery requires, in my estimation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 thingonmyback

Hookah wrote: »
    The OP would enjoy Roald Dahl's short story ''The Hitchhiker'' which has as one of it's principle characters a pickpocket, or a 'fingersmith' as the author refers to him.

Nothing wrong with admiration of the dexterity such fingersmithery requires, in my estimation.

That story was in a roald dahl book of short stories called "the wonderful story of henry sugar and more," it blew my mind when I was a kid, the stories are just class.

That fingersmith story was one of my favourites,!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭zephyrz

[Ignore Stupid Title]

No one doubts the skill involved in the Ocean's 11 styled pickpocket and likewise you can't deny it is theft. However can you make a judgement on them seperately?

Is it possible to take an amoral stance and respect the skill involved, or does your current moral stance make it impossible to do so?

Can they be treated seperately? Can you admire one aspect and despise another?

Sure you can respect the skill involved in robberies and thefts! They may have planned it to perfection and is worthy of acknowledgement, especially if it's a robin hood type of criminal! But you can't treat them differently from other robberies and thefts that were less successful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I would say I admire the skill but not what they use it for.

The skill could be used for things like magic tricks. What pickpockets use it for is not acceptable at all, but it is still a skill that I would like to have (just to annoy my friends/family, I swear :p).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Hookah wrote: »

From memory, in the TV adaptation the part of the fingersmith was played by Frank Kelly - aka "Father Jack".

Edit: just checked - it wasn't. It was Cyril Cusack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Hookah

I forgot this earlier; a video of a master fingersmith in action. One can only admire.

http://www.maniacworld.com/Derren-Brown-Robs-a-Guy-Blind.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭CharlesHaughey

To be honest, i'd be in favour of letting the pickpockets off the hook a bit...

Given your username and signature, why am I not surprised ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

From memory, in the TV adaptation the part of the fingersmith was played by Frank Kelly - aka "Father Jack".

Edit: just checked - it wasn't. It was Cyril Cusack.
    It must have been an electric car or yer man was deaf

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Pickpockets :rolleyes:

Thanks to RFID your pockets can be picked from a distance.