Mushrooms - love 'em or hate 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

Fried on the pan with some butter, garlic and thyme. Nom nom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

love mushrooms especially in blackbean sauce chinese cook them lovely
    always have them with a fry ah mushroom soup my fav as a kid I hated them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Hate them. Insta puke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Christ on a cross ..

Each day we discuss one ingredient.

Will someone just start:

The Great Big After Hours Fry Up Thread!

Include 25 of the most popular ingredients such as: Sausages, Boxty, Tea , Coffee, Black Pudding, White Pudding, Rashers, Toast, Soda Bread, Fried Bread, Maple Syrup covered Pancakes, Scrambled Eggs, Poached Eggs, Hash Browns, etc bloody etc - make it multiple choice and public and the top ten ingredients win!!

Then I will open up a cafe in town (haven't decided which one yet) call it The After Hours Cafe and the first ****ing item we will serve with be ten item all day breakfast called: The After Hours Fry Up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

123balltv wrote: »
    love mushrooms especially in blackbean sauce chinese cook them lovely
    always have them with a fry ah mushroom soup my fav as a kid I hated them

I was the other way around, didn't mind them when I was a kid, I took a turn against them many years ago and now I DESPISE them, absolutely despise them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

A fry isn't a fry without mushrooms.

And a dinner isn't a dinner without them.

They go with everything.

Love 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I LOVE them. One of my favourite foods. Just throw them into a pot with butter. Perfect :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Will we just have one big fúckoff thread "If Obama and the Queen were having a cooked breakfast before the rapture, in town, on O'Connell Street, what would the junkie unemployed black non Irish-speaking Polish waitress wearing skinny jeans, who allegedly had an affair with a footballer, serve them of the ingredients that could make it through the Palestinian blockade and what would the Daily Mail have to say about the fact that the Irish taxpayer has to pay for it, given the shocking prices in this rip-off joke of a country?"

A few additions. That should cover it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

11 posts before someone mentioned the "magic" variery

AH is not what it used to be I tell ye !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Mmmm. Mushrooms with garlic butter. *drool*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Love 'em! I was accused of being a picky child when it came to food. Nonsense! I loved mushrooms right from the start when my contemporaries turned their noses up.*

* I assume the OP wasn't asking about hallucinogenics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Tasty as fook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Love mushrooms - especially when they are done under the grill with a pinch of salt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Lillylilly wrote: »
    The texture is the thing I can't stand when it comes to mushrooms. The smell and taste aren't much more appealing though.

I thought mushrooms were a love or hate thing- I'm surprised 2 people voted "indifferent".
    They taste ok but the texture is horrible. Like I could drink mushroom soup or eat a mushroom flavoured sauce, but I'd never eat an actual mushroom. They're too.....rubbery or something,

So I'll go with "indifferent" I guess.

I have a similar problem with oranges, peppers and hazelnuts; taste is fine but texture is horrible.

Glad to read these posts. I love mushrooms but dislike a few foods solely because of their texture and often get this kind of reaction - :rolleyes: - as if it's not a valid reason. It IS valid, FFS. :mad: /rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Love 'em. Especially fried in butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Fried mushrooms FTW

or even raw dipped in BBQ sauce! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

Love 'em

Fried in Butter & some Garlic Puree, or in Soy Sauce!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

Can't stand them :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I like mushrooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I can't really decide if I like mushrooms or not. I like them right before and after you bite into them, but the moment you're actually biting it, it seems...alive or something!

But I do love them in Satay sauce. Mmmmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

The last time I ate mushrooms, the grass turned into cartoon grass, multicoloured vortexes appeared before my eyes and the next thing I knew I was on the surface of the moon talking to a belly dancing tree covered in glowing chinese lettering.

That was some Tuesday evening I can tell you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Love them mmmm delish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

They're a fungus!!!!

Manky filthy ugly horrible yokes. Who was the first person that thought "oh these look nice"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

They're a fungus!!!!

Manky filthy ugly horrible yokes. Who was the first person that thought "oh these look nice"

I don't think choice was a luxury for the first person who discovered mushrooms, same reason why the french ate snails in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Disgusting, slimy things. BLECK.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

used to not like em, not can't live without!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

A great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Hate them most of the time, only two ways i can stand them 1. Garlic mushrooms yum. 2. The magic type now there great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

hate them but love mushroom soup

Was never too gone on the Irish one, though,
    Love the Mexican and Hawaiian variants.