Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Best Donegal Slang

• 20-05-2011 11:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭

I'll start it off "your aul doll" for your mother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

Ye Whoor

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

"the Gap"

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭mk2

''How's she goin''.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

yes lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

vite vine
    Ye know who ye are

• Registered Users Posts: 32,951 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Keep 'er lit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Brave(n)

That's a braven big farm.

or

He has a brave wee bit o' money.

Very unique to the NW.

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭Helmet

Jesus, it'd founder you outside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Hai sur

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

That's a quare yock.

aYE BOY She is a quare yock

• Registered Users Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Firblog

In through (i.e west of killybegs)

Gimme a lock a them

Or

Gimme a wheen a them!

Its a wild day clean cat altogether

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Hap yersel up;)

mk2 wrote: »
    Its a wild day clean cat altogether

Eh? Sorry I don't get that wan!!!:)

Madam wrote: »

Somethin about cleaning his cat:D

Oh wait .. MADADM

Is not a JUCK

Not fornenst the wain;)

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭RMDrive

Staish the shape of the juck with the yock

goodluck goodluck gluck gluck gluck gluck(and the end of a phone conversation)

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭smugchik

I once heard someone say "amn't" instead of 'I'm not' as in "I amn't going."

I was really shocked as he was quite articulate in other areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

"any craic?"
    "naw, naw damn a hait!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Tha' wane got wile wet whin he fell inte the shuck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

"Ach your oul hole"

The yock calved(broke down car)

Dinny No Sur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

means terrible...

top of the morning to ya! haha joke

not so bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭irlpic

gondifuk antake aweena them goodfirnaethin hures way ye when yeradit. (be on your way and take a few of those unsavory fellows with you when your going)

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

I've heard "it's a wild day,cat altogether!"

But never heard "it's a wild day, clean cat altogether!"