Cork, Dublin or Galway - best city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Im a Galway girl for sure.

Well, I'm not, but would move there from Dublin if I got the chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Seloth wrote: »
    It may be just magical rumours but I've heard Galways is meant to be a magical hippy town that lacks "Knackers" for the most part...Does this "Insectopia"(Antz reference ftw) Exist?Or am I just hearing so heavenly rumors?

It's true, for the most part. It's actually quite rare to hear of anything bad happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Dublin, by a country mile.
    Seloth wrote: »
    It may be just magical rumours but I've heard Galways is meant to be a magical hippy town that lacks "Knackers" for the most part...

Are you kidding? Galway is full of scummers.
    Lapin wrote: »
    Its all there waiting for you.

Dublin - Congested and stuffy
    Cork - Up its own arsé
    Limerick - Too many no go areas
    Waterford - Quaint little village
    Derry/Londonderry - Identity crisis
    Belfast - Meh

Galway - congested, up its own arse, too quaint, meh

FYP. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭MmmmmCheese

As an unbiased Limerick person I'd say Galway or Dublin. Galway for the atmosphere and lovely surrounding countryside and Dublin for all the big city amenities.

I really hate Cork, it just depresses me. (I can't even explain why, it just does.)

I wouldn't completely discount Limerick though, its not a bad ol' place, it just has a less than desirable reputation. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Galway without a doubt, great city, great people and great atmosphere. I always felt more like Irish citizen in Galway than any other city in the country.

Second to that would be Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

If you happen to like sexy accents give Dundalk a try, you won't be disappointed!*

*You will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

I like Galway the most, but then I've only been there a few times (would I get sick of it if I lived there?), Dublin has its pros/cons, and never been to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Galway if I want to go away for the weekend with the buds and spend a few nights on the lash. But there's too many maaaad students.

Dublin if I want to do something or buy something, I find I have to have a purpose there. But the people are too smug.

Cork for living, the right size to have variety between rural quietness and the comforts of a city. But you can't escape the feens and beors.

Limerick if I want to watch the rugby. But Munster have been crap lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

1. Galway - have always spent the most time in that city and I'm living here now. It's full to the brim with hippies / hipsters but the relative low count on knackers make up for it and the fact that it's big but not too big that you can't go anywhere with ease. It's easier to get the gang from back home up for a piss-up too is an advantage.

2. Cork - only been there a handful of times but I enjoyed every time I've been there.

3. Dublin - Mad expensive, a bastard to get around the place, fackin' scummers every 30 metres asking me for fags / tee-yoo yoro far dee Louis!! Place to go when you need to see an event, though. Last time I was there was for that Bodies exhibition, dried out Chinese corpses :pac:

Galway without a shadow of a doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I've lived in Dublin my whole life but I'd definetely put Cork or Galway above it.

Cork is a beautiful city and definetely the nicest people in Ireland.

Galway is fantastic too but a little small for me to want to live there. I used to visit friends regulary years ago and it seemed everyone knew everyones business. A bit more difficult to find work but mega chilled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Berns wrote: »
    You forgot Derry and Belfast :rolleyes:

& a poll :p

Also Limerick, Waterford & Kilkenny.

Questionnaire fail.

Lapin wrote: »
    Its all there waiting for you.

Dublin - Congested and stuffy
    Cork - Up its own arsé
    Limerick - Too many no go areas
    Waterford - Quaint little village
    Derry/Londonderry - Identity crisis
    Belfast - Meh

Galway is the place to be.

"Too many" ? As someone who believes that a single no-go area is one too many, I agree, but the same could be said for any city worldwide.

How many (a number) do you think is too many in order to reach the above conclusion ? How many are in the cities that you didn't say that about ? Or are you just trotting out fictional soundbites?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I find galway a nice place, nice pubs etc... but I found the people a little snobbish..

Cork is alright, pubs again are nice and people are sounder than galway but still a little snobbish..

I've lived in Dublin and I couldn't stand the place! I found a lot of people to have a superiority complex! but there is a lot to do up there (gigs, sports, clubs etc,) and there is a mix of people from everywhere up there so it should be easy to make friends. One thing I really dislike personally, is that the city is very dirty and everyone seems to be in a mad rush and that just bothered me a lot. IMO it's grand in small doses but wouldnt live there again.

Limerick(I know it's not on the list but it's bigger than galway city! :D) I live here and grew up here. I love the place. There are loads of really good pubs here(the locke, jj bowles, nancys, cobblestone joes, dolans etc..). Sport in Limerick is a major part of life (european city of sport 2011), days out for munster matches are great craic. people are always friendly here contrary to popular belief. just stay away from the ****ty looking estates and youll be grand! same as any city. UL also holds good events such as concerts and boxing etc...

Out of all the irish cities, i'd definitely pick limerick.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

G g g g... galway

even if only for its proximity to Craggy island

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

Galway, by far. There's a great vibe to the place.

Galway usually always seems to win these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

I live in Galway. It is a nice city. The problem is that it is a bit small. You can get bored pretty easily.

I am from Dublin. It is a great city. Like any large city, there are rough areas. People stereotype and say that the enitre city is full of scumbags but that's not true. There are a lot around the boardwalks though.

I don't know Cork that well. I have only spent a few days there. It seems nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

As an unbiased Limerick person I'd say Galway or Dublin. Galway for the atmosphere and lovely surrounding countryside and Dublin for all the big city amenities.

I really hate Cork, it just depresses me. (I can't even explain why, it just does.)

I wouldn't completely discount Limerick though, its not a bad ol' place, it just has a less than desirable reputation. :P

Have you taken a look at Limerick City recently?!!!

grenache wrote: »
    Have you taken a look at Limerick City recently?!!!

Have you ?

Going back to the question, I've always thought that if I ever had to move away from Limerick it would be to Cork or Galway.

Galway's smaller, so feels better.

Cork is friendly and has more to do because it's bigger.

Dublin - wouldn't and couldn't......too inward-looking and anal, and too difficult to get around to make life in anyway bearable. It might get the big acts and sporting events (apart from the fact that we've had the best rugby team and stadium for years) but even if you were living there the pain in the hole getting to any such event means that you may as well be 2 hours away via motorway - it makes no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

I lived in Dublin for two years and moved back home to Cork. Lived in Galway for a year and moved back to Cork. Now in Cork and would move to either Galway to Dublin again no probs but I'd then come back in a year or two. All three are greats spots in their own right. Horses for course etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Im from Galway, so its home.
    Im living in Cork now and im loving it. The people are nice and i love the accent.
    Spent a summer working in Wicklow, so it was close to Dublin and spent alot of time in Dublin but i didn't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Waterford!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Have you ?
    I have to work there every weekend. It is not a nice city, in my opinion.

grenache wrote: »
    I have to work there every weekend. It is not a nice city, in my opinion.

And I presume you also have to work in Cork every weekend, so that you can compare like with like ?

Or were you just taking a typical cheap shot at an easy target ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

theboss80 wrote: »
    What? you think the city centre is filthy? I'm from Cork myself btw aswell.
    Yup
    It is like, no doubt about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I pick Cork purely for the accent :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Limerick is quite under-rated, the city-centre is quite big and nice looking especially coming over the sarsfield bridge side on a sunny day, they have really redeveloped the city in recent years and it has a great range of pubs/clubs and restaurants plus a lot of sporting venues near the city too.....i am kind of glad in some ways that it still has a dodgy reputation as it means the place never gets too crowded with stag/hen nights or out of towners who visit places based on a write-up in lonely planet......like almost all cities it has a few rough estates but you'd hardly be visiting them

I live in Galway now and love the access to the beach and the general vibe in town but I am starting to find it a bit small where everything seems to be concentrated on a few areas and that's it, thankfully there's lot to do if you're prepared to drive out of town

dublin and cork aren't my cup of tea

i think we need to build a new city