After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Mod: FYI Seanchai banned upon review of his posts. They were unnecessarily personal and aggressive.

Please PM for clarification on any moderator decisions today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I was doing both.

They were judging a book by its cover. In addition I feel that more needs to be done to help the vulnerable in society. We have no money to do so, yet we have 30 million to spend on this visit.

Leaving my republican objections aside, I feel that this money could be much better spent.

there is money to spend, it's just that we have to be more careful where we spend it. My own opinion is that, having spent a lot of time working in the UK, this will actually make money from the amount of Brits that will come to Ireland as a result of this. If we were contributing money to the Royal Wedding, and were not likely to get a return on it, I'd agree with you, but I actually think, again, having spoken to plenty of people in the UK, that we'll get a return on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I was doing both.

They were judging a book by its cover. In addition I feel that more needs to be done to help the vulnerable in society. We have no money to do so, yet we have 30 million to spend on this visit.

Leaving my republican objections aside, I feel that this money could be much better spent.

And what profits could the Irish state and business make in terms of tourism and improved trade relations from the visits of the British Monarch and the U.S. President - has that entered your mind? I'd say it should well surpass €30 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

http://www.twitvid.com/U1P8F

These dopes can't even burn a flag properly. I cringed watching it.

Lovely chap

says the guy with the convicted terrorist in their sig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

says the guy with the convicted terrorist in their sig
    nice cheap dig there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 iHeartSaraQuin

I'm a republican, nuff said!

Mod: Take the personal stuff to PM or bans will follow.
    Fair warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

I'm a republican, nuff said!

I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Dean820 wrote: »

Fine upstanding members of society. Your man's probably holding his t-shirt over his face to stop the spread of germs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

I think they gave up and beat it to death instead. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

The point is should 30 million be spent on this visit when we have nothing or on things to help the homeless, the addicted etc?
    Should every penny in the country be spent on the homeless and addicts or just some of the money. If just some of the money then who decides ?
    Is it you?
    Is it just money spent on things you object to that should be diverted to charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Totally discombulated by this visit, I'm English and living in Ireland. I feel warm and fuzzy about the UK/Irish love in on the media. But also object to the monarchy in general, and also as Wolfe Tone points out, its a crazy amount of money to spend on a couple of OAPs sightseeing. Surely they should be on a coach tour of the Ring of Kerry or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I love the fact that they're 'burning' a Union Jack with William & Kate on it. It has nothing to do with the whole situation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

earlier on people were wondering where they threw all the junkies from the garden of remembrance. I guess we have our answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

The point is should 30 million be spent on this visit when we have nothing or on things to help the homeless, the addicted etc?
    So which is your forte? Economics or Politics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

If it wasn't for republicans threatening her life, the bill would be a lot lower.
    Put the responsibility for the high cost where it really belongs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

2v2tsw7.jpg

yer man with the packets of ham:D

How do i get the actual photo in the post?

Ha yer man with the Man U shirt.:pac: Let's call a spade these people are just a shower of tramps,junkie and skanger bastards looking for a handy excuse to cause trouble.Looking at the state of them im beginning to think to myself that a lot of my favourite bands are british like Yes and Jethro tull etc.They may be english so what it' a lot better than lsitening to the ****ing wolfe tones.:pac:They say they love there country yet they endanger the irish public by leaving bombs on bus eireann buses.**** them i say and if you hate the queen then don't attend a protest against her royal highness while wearing a Man U shirt one of her majestys british teams at the same time.:pac: I just hope that nothing happens in Cork that will destroy it's reputation it would be terrible to see such scum bring shame on our city.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

darragh16 wrote: »
    I love the fact that they're 'burning' a Union Jack with William & Kate on it. It has nothing to do with the whole situation!

They only used that flag because they got it for free with The Sun.

They wouldn't splash out on a real Union Jack because it would eat into the Dutch Gold and Celtic jersey budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭douglashyde

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/images/2011/0517/274160_1.jpg?ts=1305658378?ts=1305658378

Mad that freedom fighting republicans also dress like scumbags... must be a coincidence :confused:

ocallagh wrote: »
    So which is your forte? Economics or Politics?
    Man of many talents, I can take a mean free kick too

dvpower wrote: »
    If it wasn't for republicans threatening her life, the bill would be a lot lower.
    Put the responsibility for the high cost where it really belongs
    If it wasnt for centuries of British oppression there would be no republicans

Oh my gawd loike seriously - someone's just after deleting the picture I text picture I drew earlier even though lots of people liked it, it had loads of thanks and it wasn't provocative in anyway. It took me like ages to do too. I was trying to take attention of the Éirígí discussion.

%%%%
    %!%^%;%
    % '%%%%
    %~~~~~%

This one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

werent you supposed to be studying young man. wasnt that your excuse for missing the protest!

us tax payers are paying for your education you know:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Pity you weren't playing in Croke Park on the 21st November 1920.

mod: poster banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

laugh wrote: »
    Almost all of the protesters I encountered today were violence junkies, discussing how they "got a smack at a copper", "Leamo was nicked", total scum trying to make something of themselves, they can chat about while they drink, smoke and whatever else the money they get for nothing.

all the ones causing the hassle were local teenagers on nothing but adrenaline.

guards handled it very well and it died down 30 mins after the first flash when they went after a paddy wagon.

werent you supposed to be studying young man. wasnt that your excuse for missing the protest!

us tax payers are paying for your education you know:pac:
    Multitasker, wrote out around 4000 words of notes today so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭hunnybunny

I think its hilarious that some of the people protesting the Queens visit to Dublin were shouting "Brits out" whilst wearing Celtic shirts :D Duhhhhh!

Geography obviously not a strong point for these types of people! ;)

Another classic I enjoyed was so called Republicans shouting "Go back to the Free state" at people from Love Ulster (whilst in Dublin of course) :rolleyes: Maybe some history lessons needed?

Ah the ignorant ..... I just find these types of people are great for a laugh (obviously at their expense)

Its frightening that they are being represented on TV stations in the UK and abroad though! Ah the price of the freedom of speech........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mad Benny wrote: »
    The country is on it's knees and has spent 30 million Euro on this. It's a chance to show Europe that we are holding it together.

Everybody has a right to protest but these idiots are not patriotic. They cannot see beyond their own agenda. It's like throwing paint on Mary Harney. You loose the argument immediately. Thugs.

Does anybody on boards support these people?

Do they even have an agenda? I doubt very much that those protesting today have the slightest grasp of Irish history. If they have any agenda, it's solely to cause mayhem.

I've no problem with protests, it's a sign of a functioning democracy. But the guys involved today are nothing but a sub-class of scumbags. Anyone genuinely protesting against something would realise that they instantly fail by resorting to the behaviour we witnessed today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Pity you weren't playing in Croke Park on the 21st November 1920.

Oh, now thats harsh