After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Looking at the photos of the protesters it looks like the usual bunch of lost junkies, scumbags hanging around the inner city and those who still think its 1974.

Care to share :) what happened in Parnell Street on Sunday

sorry, just noticed your post .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    The point is should 30 million be spent on this visit when we have nothing or on things to help the homeless, the addicted etc?

Maybe you should volunteer to help them then. It would go some way to helping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

The point is should 30 million be spent on this visit when we have nothing or on things to help the homeless, the addicted etc?

Lol. That could be a Glen Beck speech.

Person 1- Look at this amazing fellow, probably reformed addict, politically aware
    Person 2- Eh no, he is an addict and dangerous
    Person 1- Oh no, thats not the point,
    Person 2 - Eh yeah, it is, he is the danger
    Person 1 - The point is we should not be spending the money being spent on Gardai and Army to protect the Queen from guys like the fellow in the picture, it is wrong, it should be spent on guys like the fellow in the picture.
    Person 2- :confused:

Heroic former drug addict recovers and becomes politically aware.

Embracing his nationhood he took to the streets today asserting his rights as an Irish citizen. Protesting against the gross waste of public money on the state visits of Elizabeth the second and the American president Barack Obama, Deco, 40, called for further investment to be put into drug rehabilitation and shelters, the like of which rescued him from the brink of destruction. 'It's a disgrace' he says, 'there are people in Ireland struggling just to exist, struggling with addiction, these people need help, these people need front-line services. The government is cutting back on these, we have no money they say. How come they have 30 million to spend on state visits?'
    Decrying the hypocrisy of the government the proud Irishman went on to say 'I mean, who is more important? Vulnerable Irish people, the homeless, the depressed or the British Queen? Why is there no money for the vulnerable and the needy yet millions for her?'

30 million on a junkie euthanasia program would be money well spent
    probably save us alot with the drop in crime :D

Seriously though I have no sympathy for useless heroin addicts reformed or otherwise they would be right down at the very bottom of my priorities in fact they wouldnt be a priority they can die screaming for all i care :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Since I was a young kid I have volunteered each summer for a charity which helps the disabled.

30 million on a junkie euthanasia program would be money well spent
    probably save us alot with the drop in crime :D

Seriously though I have no sympathy for useless heroin addicts reformed or otherwise they would be right down at the very bottom of my priorities in fact they wouldnt be a priority they can die screaming for all i care :mad:
    Lovely chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Jake1 wrote: »
    Care to share :) what happened in Parnell Street on Sunday

sorry, just noticed your post .

Can't. A mod locked a thread I had started. This is the internet so cannot accuse and identify people like that. The mod was right. I was wrong to start the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

Is it wrong to call people protesting scum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

How much do Bord Failte spend every year promoting Ireland attracting tourists to this country? 30 million was cheap for the amount of positive exposure we received today. Positive exposure that the dirtbags you're defending and dissident republicans did their best to **** up! :mad:

Hopefully the next three days go off more smothly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Since I was a young kid I have volunteered each summer for a charity which helps the disabled.

Fair enough then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

A few years ago when the country was awash with cash you'd still have something to complain about. We could play they money game all day, it goes nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

That was the point? No disrespect, but I didn't get that. It's probably me, but what I got from your post was you admonishing people for judging a book by it's cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

What if one of them wanted to go see the Queen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

some of the most compassionate nations to the plight of the down trodden on this earth ( norway - sweden - cananda ect ect ) have homeless and drug addicts as we do , your telling me 30 million yo yos would have done ANYTHING to solve this issue ??? not on your life

another thread but you want to help these people , make society safer and save a ****ing fortune for the state - legalize drugs but as i said another thread

30 million is a huge amount on security - but a absolute drop in the ocean in the grand scale of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

I'm not normally one for being proud of something like my nationality, but I came close today, we did alright, hopefully the rest of the visit goes as well as it did today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Have they learned nothing from mr. no to foreign games? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Looks the junkies, scum bags were out in force today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Dissident republicans are mentally disabled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Mad Benny

The country is on it's knees and has spent 30 million Euro on this. It's a chance to show Europe that we are holding it together.

Everybody has a right to protest but these idiots are not patriotic. They cannot see beyond their own agenda. It's like throwing paint on Mary Harney. You loose the argument immediately. Thugs.

Does anybody on boards support these people?

tbh wrote: »
    That was the point? No disrespect, but I didn't get that. It's probably me, but what I got from your post was you admonishing people for judging a book by it's cover.
    I was doing both.

They were judging a book by its cover. In addition I feel that more needs to be done to help the vulnerable in society. We have no money to do so, yet we have 30 million to spend on this visit.

Leaving my republican objections aside, I feel that this money could be much better spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

What a really crass, snide and ignorant comment.

Shown up even more by the fact that Wolfe Tone does actually volunteer for a charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

dj jarvis wrote: »
    some of the most compassionate nations to the plight of the down trodden on this earth ( norway - sweden - cananda ect ect )

You mean the Kingdom of Norway, the Kingdom of Sweden and the constitutional monarchy that is Canada? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Mad Benny wrote: »
    The country is on it's knees and has spent 30 million Euro on this. It's a chance to show Europe that we are holding it together.

Everybody has a right to protest but these idiots are not patriotic. They cannot see beyond their own agenda. It's like throwing paint on Mary Harney. You loose the argument immediately. Thugs.

Does anybody on boards support these people?

Celtic FC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

My girlfriend and I can 100% assure you, Wolfe Tone's guesses are a million miles away from reality. Sorry, I wish it was true too. Met this fellow on Parnell Street on Sunday.
    dj jarvis wrote: »
    funny funny funny - but no cigar - he was out for a rumble and hiding behind the tri color to do it - nice try at pricking our Social Consciousness but i would say 99.9 % did not have a political inkling between them ,
    brits out and up the ra is the mantra but no deeper

dont insult us and yourself by pretending otherwise - i have been to many republican marches and you know as well as i do the percentage of trouble making gimps that turn up hugely outnumber the true " politically aware "

bunch of Neanderthal Muppets hijacking a noble cause
    It certainly bloody does. Your sainthood of the guy is a million miles off reality. He is a menace.
    tbh wrote: »
    If that were true, there would be nobody more proud than I. In my experience, however, it's far more likely that our friend doesn't give a toss about any of that and just didn't want to miss his chance to throw stuff at the cops. Mind you, I'd much rather be able to look at that pic and think what you thought, rather than what I thought.

"Oui, Monsieur Wolf Tone", said Napoléon, "Eithér you're éxtremely naïve or éxtremely biaséd, I won't send in le rest de mes soldats until I see some hard évidènce."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

TheZohan wrote: »
    Jesus...what happened to his nose?!

It looks like some other rapscallion took a bite out of it one merry night.

"Oui, Monsieur Wolf Tone", said Napoléon, "Eithér you're éxtremely naïve or éxtremely biaséd, I won't send in le rest de mes soldats until I see some hard évidence."
    His soldiers would probably land at the wrong place anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

MrMatisse wrote: »
    Looks the junkies, scum bags were out in force today.
    Not just the junkies!

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/6389/cooeee.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

Hear of any of the fools throwing bricks at the guards in parnell sq getting arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Almost all of the protesters I encountered today were violence junkies, discussing how they "got a smack at a copper", "Leamo was nicked", total scum trying to make something of themselves, they can chat about while they drink, smoke and whatever else the money they get for nothing.