After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Seanchai wrote: »
    Interesting. We haven't had a thread about the Catholic Church here in how long- a week? Or are you contending that it's not possible to have an issue with the British monarchy and the Catholic Church at the same time? Ha, I'll gladly prove you wrong there, should you set up the thread.

In fact, given that the greatest allies of the British government in Ireland since the end of the Penal Laws have been the Catholic Church, it's really not clear at all what your point is here.

Im sure its possible for certain people (you know the sort) to have lots of 'issues', with a wide array of different goups and people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

TheZohan wrote: »
    Jesus...what happened to his nose?!
    Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Whats with his nose?

Probably Henry the Hoover syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

sorry i had to go and do **** - when i left i was laughing and this thread was quite amusing
    but just scanned last few pages and feck me looks like a fun bypass was done in my absence

it only takes one clown to turn up i suppose ..... carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

1) "accepting" it's a positive step forward will be a possibility when it's proven that it is a step forward. You haven't done so. You've merely claimed this. Not the same thing - not at all.

2) Following royalty is a "cop-out" and "cowardice" because people abnegate responsibility for changing their own lives and instead live them vicariously through "perfect" people and dream of being those "perfect" people. It's always the people who have least going for themselves who look up to royalty. "Hello!" readers and the like, in other words.

1. Prove it isn't a positive step forward.
    I believe its a step forward because Irish Republicanism is more and more embracing the political way forward. In doing so and abandoning the gun, you can take your place at the table before an electorate in a democratic state. Part of that process is to send our head of state abroad and to welcome heads of states from other nations. Welcoming the British head of state to the Republic of Ireland sends out a clear message that we don't want a violent conflict. We want to resolve our differences in a peaceful and democratic fashion. We want respect for our differing cultures and intertwined history, an appreciation, understanding and forgiveness for past atrocities on both sides. A time to build bridges. A genuine stepping stone. I watched the Queen today in the Gardens of Remembrance, show respect to those who fought for Irish freedom. She stood there as the Tri-Colour was raised and our National Anthem was played. This was the Republics very first opportunity to stand proud amid the British Monarchy. Its not a conclusion, its a beginning.

2. Following Royalty is not a cop out or cowardice.
    This is pure nonsense. As someone who is very patriotic and does not live a life through worshipping perfect people, I find that remark ill thought out and more akin to a description of stereotypes and not people like myself. I'm nearly 40 years of age, run a business, struggle to survive in this economic chaos and yet I can comprehend the significance of this visit in a positive fashion. All of this, despite my appreciation and knowledge of Irish History.

I'm not unique.

hondasam wrote: »
    Tea and cake for ye two.

Don't forget the crumpets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Just look at the state of them - dirtbags! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 HRH_The_Queen

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Yeah pop quiz time folks, how many WW2/Nazi shows are there typically on British television?

Rather less than there are on RTE anyway. Do the Maths. We'd love to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Tell you one thing, you would have made a killing if you set up a doughnut stall on College Green this afternoon, don't think I've ever seen so many Guards in the one place at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

prinz wrote: »
    Maybe you could refresh my mind, where was the fighting with gardaí when Prince Albert of Monaco was here?

Maybe you could refresh my mind; where was Queen Beatrix/Queen Silvia/Queen Sonja/Queen Margrethe/Queen Sofia when people talked about "the Queen" today? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Thankfully Eirigi and RSF are plainly constituted of losers.

Setting bins on fire, letting off bangers and getting rowdy after 8 cans of poor mans lager is of no real merit unless you plan to finish the evening with a digit inserted in a local lovely, sheltered only by a dumpster 'neath the Stillorgan Omniplex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Maybe you could refresh my mind; where was Queen Beatrix/Queen Silvia/Queen Sonja/Queen Margrethe/Queen Sofia when people talked about "the Queen" today? :rolleyes:

So that's a no then is it? Thought so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Heroic former drug addict recovers and becomes politically aware.

Embracing his nationhood he took to the streets today asserting his rights as an Irish citizen. Protesting against the gross waste of public money on the state visits of Elizabeth the second and the American president Barack Obama, Deco, 40, called for further investment to be put into drug rehabilitation and shelters, the like of which rescued him from the brink of destruction. 'It's a disgrace' he says, 'there are people in Ireland struggling just to exist, struggling with addiction, these people need help, these people need front-line services. The government is cutting back on these, we have no money they say. How come they have 30 million to spend on state visits?'
    Decrying the hypocrisy of the government the proud Irishman went on to say 'I mean, who is more important? Vulnerable Irish people, the homeless, the depressed or the British Queen? Why is there no money for the vulnerable and the needy yet millions for her?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

2 double deck Dublin busses full of Gardai just passed by me on the Naas Road,heading to Baldonnel presumably,would make a killing if you set up a chip van up around there tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Embracing his nationhood he took to the streets today asserting his rights as an Irish citizen. Protesting against the gross waste of public money on the state visits of Elizabeth the second and the American president Barack Obama, Deco, 40, called for further investment to be put into drug rehabilitation and shelters, the like of which rescued him from the brink of destruction. 'It's a disgrace' he says, 'there are people in Ireland struggling just to exist, struggling with addiction, these people need help, these people need front-line services. The government is cutting back on these, we have no money they say. How come they have 30 million to spend on state visits?'
    Decrying the hypocrisy of the government the proud Irishman went on to say 'I mean, who is more important? Vulnerable Irish people, the homeless, the depressed or the British Queen? Why is there no money for the vulnerable and the needy yet millions for her?'

Or the likely alternative. Eirigi guy offers a junkie a tenner to hold a tricolour and march in the protest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Just look at the state of them - dirtbags! :mad:
    http://img805.imageshack.us/img805/1831/me3b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Philip to say 'Mick' no more than eight times
    17-05-11
    PRINCE Philip will be allowed into Ireland today on condition he calls them all 'Micks' no more than eight times during the four day visit.

'Gosh, you're all surprisingly tall'
    The historic trip was only agreed after intense negotiations between London and Dublin, with the Foreign Office stressing that he was going to say it and there was nothing that anyone could do about it.

Prince Philip will say 'Mick' for the first time when he meets President Mary Macalese at her official residence in Phoenix Park. He is expected to say that he 'did not know Mick houses had roofs'.

He will then use an average of two Micks a day culminating with a visit to the Tyndall Institute in Cork on Friday when he will say 'Christ almighty, not more ****ing Micks'.

It will be the first time Prince Philip has met an Irish person since 1984 when he told Eurovision song contest winner, Dana: "You're not so bad. The worst is the half-Irish, half-Chinese. I met one once. He was called Declan Wu and he stole my horse."

The visit is the first by a British sovereign in a century and the Queen is understood to be very excited about meeting hundreds of people who, according the British Constitution, are not good enough to be married to her.

The Royal Household has acknowledged the sensitivity of the visit and made key changes to protocol, including replacing the Queen's Official Royal Question of 'What do you do?' with 'Are you going to kill me?'.

During the trip the Queen will view the Book of Kells and say it is 'very nice' as well as visiting the Irish National Stud in Kildare where she will attempt to drug key rivals in advance of next month's Epsom Derby.
    And sources say the Queen is also keen to try out her Irish accent and has been rehearsing phrases including 'a very top of the good morning to you' and 'one is being sure, one is being sure'.

Meanwhile, in addition to his eight Micks, Prince Philip has also been given an allowance of three 'bogtrotters', two 'fenians' and a completely unacceptable joke about Bobby Sands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Don't forget the crumpets!

I miss crumpets so much, toasted, with butter. Why can't I get crumpets in Ireland?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

I met that guy on Sunday. Your paragraph is way way way off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 HRH_The_Queen

100,000 of us Brits in Ireland call her "The Queen" and we aren't going to change our ways for you or anyone else. I don't care what you call her - though I do appreciate that you spent at least one minute on Google researching your clever little post.:)

I met that guy on Sunday. Your paragraph is way way way off.
    Doesn't matter it makes a point.

Heroic "former" drug addict recovers and becomes politically aware.

Wow, there seemed to have been a lot of those on the streets today - coincidence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Biggins wrote: »

I always love that they're so proud of their convictions they cover their faces.:pac: This thread is full of win.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

If that were true, there would be nobody more proud than I. In my experience, however, it's far more likely that our friend doesn't give a toss about any of that and just didn't want to miss his chance to throw stuff at the cops. Mind you, I'd much rather be able to look at that pic and think what you thought, rather than what I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

The deep, explicit anti-Catholicism of the British monarchy still in 2011
    Ah, this old chestnut. I guess you just completely missed this.

Doesn't matter it makes a point.

It certainly bloody does. Your sainthood of the guy is a million miles off reality. He is a menace.

ah come on this is cruel ....................these people should be put down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

funny funny funny - but no cigar - he was out for a rumble and hiding behind the tri color to do it - nice try at pricking our Social Consciousness but i would say 99.9 % did not have a political inkling between them ,
    brits out and up the ra is the mantra but no deeper

dont insult us and yourself by pretending otherwise - i have been to many republican marches and you know as well as i do the percentage of trouble making gimps that turn up hugely outnumber the true " politically aware "

bunch of Neanderthal Muppets hijacking a noble cause

tbh wrote: »
    If that were true, there would be nobody more proud than I. In my experience, however, it's far more likely that our friend doesn't give a toss about any of that and just didn't want to miss his chance to throw stuff at the cops. Mind you, I'd much rather be able to look at that pic and think what you thought, rather than what I thought.

My girlfriend and I can 100% assure you, Wolfe Tone's guesses are a million miles away from reality. Sorry, I wish it was true too. Met this fellow on Parnell Street on Sunday.

tbh wrote: »
    The point is should 30 million be spent on this visit when we have nothing or on things to help the homeless, the addicted etc?

Wow, there seemed to have been a lot of those on the streets today - coincidence?

A lot of them get employed by their real bosses.