After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Seanchai wrote: »
    1) "accepting" it's a positive step forward will be a possibility when it's proven that it is a step forward. You haven't done so. You've merely claimed this. Not the same thing - not at all.

2) Following royalty is a "cop-out" and "cowardice" because people abnegate responsibility for changing their own lives and instead live them vicariously through "perfect" people and dream of being those "perfect" people. It's always the people who have least going for themselves who look up to royalty. "Hello!" readers and the like, in other words.

Boundless stupidity. Not only do you manage to insult many people, you grossly underestimate their intelligence. Don't fool yourself, the vast majority know who the real cop-outs and idiots are. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Balmed Out wrote: »
    1) International news reports on the British monarch coming to Ireland, having a pleasant few days and returning home will help dispel the myth abroad that we're still somehow at war with Britain. Met plenty of people whos only knowledge of Ireland comes from bomb reports. Look at it any way you want its a step forward.

Seanchai and company are still at war in their own minds.

BBC News at 6 devoted the first 10 mins solid to the visit, the pity of it (and commented upon) was the high level of security until inside TCD, so the place looked deserted. Wonder will things be so bad outside Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Of course you don't. That's more than clear. The deep, explicit anti-Catholicism of the British monarchy still in 2011, its extraordinary record against the Irish people and much more - you don't have a problem with it. We are well aware of that. Sure, don't they look "pretty" and don't they have fascinating lives and don't you dream of being just like them. Isn't it a relief from the mundaneness of the existence of the average pleb, otherwise known as cowardice and a cop-out. :rolleyes:

You must be fun at parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

The self-righteousness and arrogance you display are incredible.

Ah, and there you were thinking you had a monopoly on self-righteousness and arrogance. "Those peasants resisting her maj!"... "they're embarrassing Ireland!"
    Smacks of a hidden inferiority complex to be honest.

Indeed, everybody who doesn't lower themselves to lauding the sectarian anti-Catholic British monarchy that you laud "smacks of a hidden inferiority complex", at least in your view.

Did you ever think that in your support for the British monarchy you could be misguided (at best)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

mike65 wrote: »

BBC News at 6 devoted the first 10 mins solid to the visit, the pity of it (and commented upon) was the high level of security until inside TCD, so the place looked deserted. Wonder will things be so bad outside Dublin?

Hope not, a good visit would help tourism for years to come. Protesters obviously dont work, in that industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

watching the news tonight I had more anger for Brian Cowen than for any queen . He let us down and I expected more from a leader of our people .He and Bertie standing there looking smug made my blood boil .
    The Queen laid a wreath and fair play to her .

Beefy78 wrote: »
    You must be fun at parties.

If only you were invited to parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I'm sorry my willingness to move into the 21st century is such a hardship for you but that's the way it is and I am not ashamed to welcome this historic event.
    Yeah pop quiz time folks, how many WW2/Nazi shows are there typically on British television?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I must say I'm expecting more of the same tomorrow when she's at the War Memorial Gardens.......i hope they keep the "protesters" a fair way away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Balmed Out wrote: »
    1) International news reports on the British monarch coming to Ireland, having a pleasant few days and returning home will help dispel the myth abroad that were still somehow at war with Britain. Met plenty of people whos only knowledge of Ireland comes from bomb reports. Look at it any way you want its a step forward.

Maybe you missed it but sky news and all the major US new sites and that covered her queenieness visit had the word "bomb" in their headlines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

What would Wolfe Tone think? Neither of us can say and it makes me ill having comments like yours with that name representing them. As a proud protestant nationalist myself, Theobald Wolfe Tone is someone I respect very much. This is all this visit is about. Respect. This island has changed so much in the past 100 years. Some people haven't but most have. I'm no fan of the Queen myself but I acknowledge the respect she is showing for those that fought for freedom here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

You are American yes? What would happen if an American cop threw the stars and stripes like that in a bin?

Well, US cops would never clean up after protesters. And in two years of organizing political protests in the US, I never once saw people leave flags on the ground. And if that did ever happen at any rally I'd organized, I would be sure to pick them up myself and make sure they were stored away or disposed of properly.

Technically flags are supposed to be "burned in a dignified manner" when disposed of. But if people are ignorant enough to leave them on the ground (which I think other people would call them out on in the US) then it's not surprising that they then get chucked in the bin. The ire should be with the people who left them there, not with the police in this instance.
    If you read through he thread you will see that one poster saw a flag being taken.

Yes and we saw a greater number of people waving tricolors on poles (including your man with the packet of ham), so the Gardai were clearly not confiscating everyone's flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My mate was just called an "Orange Bastard" on theway home from work...

The funny part is his great grand uncle was a person called Sean Connolly who was killed on easter monday in 1916...

Ya just got love some people...

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

22594610150187169103526.jpg

Irony!?

Ah, and there you were thinking you had a monopoly on self-righteousness and arrogance. "Those peasants resisting her maj!"... "they're embarrassing Ireland!"

Indeed, everybody who doesn't lower themselves to lauding the sectarian anti-Catholic British monarchy that you laud "smacks of a hidden inferiority complex", at least in your view.

Did you ever think that in your support for the British monarchy you could be misguided (at best)?

why dont you leave the girl alone FJS. She's explained herself more than once and you still miss the point. Why cant you see people are glad this happened and that to be glad does not make you a Royalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

IngazZagni wrote: »
    What would Wolfe Tone think? Neither of us can say and it makes me ill having comments like yours with that name representing them. As a proud protestant nationalist myself, Theobald Wolfe Tone is someone I respect very much. This is all this visit is about. Respect. This island has changed so much in the past 100 years. Some people haven't but most have. I'm no fan of the Queen myself but I acknowledge the respect she is showing for those that fought for freedom here.
    "From my tenderest youth I have considered the union of Ireland with Great-Britain as the scourge of the Irish nation."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Really? again?

Boundless stupidity. Not only do you manage to insult many people

hehe. Nice attempt. Must do better on the irony front.
    you grossly underestimate their intelligence.

Actually, now that it's clear you've been reading, it would seem the opposite is true.
    Don't fool yourself, the vast majority know who the real cop-outs and idiots are. :(

Alas, you have no statistics to support your hyperbole. Nice rant, nevertheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

If only you were invited to parties.

Good one:rolleyes:. Seriously though. How can you side with a group that can be quite clearly seen to be made up of Dublin's heroin addicts and the scumbags who attack Irish people and foreign people in Dublin's streets every day? How? Did you look at these pictures and say "they represent me" and "those are my type of people"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Eirigi and the likes ARE an embarresment to the country but that's another thread.

There you go again twisting my words and presuming to know what I am thinking. Arrogant self-righteous idiot!

No I don't think I am misguided in think that the visit is a step forward and living in the past has proven time and time again to cause only pain and suffering.

The misguided ones are those who would incite violence against an 85 year old woman and 90 year old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Alas, you have no statistics to support your hyperbole. Nice rant, nevertheless.

A few hundred junkies and scum protested. A few million people went to school, work and had no objection. What else do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

Sorry if already posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Well, US cops would never clean up after protesters. And in two years of organizing political protests in the US, I never once saw people leave flags on the ground. And if that did ever happen at any rally I'd organized, I would be sure to pick them up myself and make sure they were stored away or disposed of properly.

Technically flags are supposed to be "burned in a dignified manner" when disposed of. But if people are ignorant enough to leave them on the ground (which I think other people would call them out on in the US) then it's not surprising that they then get chucked in the bin. The ire should be with the people who left them there, not with the police in this instance.

Yes and we saw a greater number of people waving tricolors on poles (including your man with the packet of ham), so the Gardai were clearly not confiscating everyone's flags.
    I agree it was a disgrace if flags were ditched, but you didnt answer my question, what would happen if an American cop was photographed throwing American flags in the bin like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Yeah pop quiz time folks, how many WW2/Nazi shows are there typically on British television?

What has this to do with anything?

My mate was just called an "Orange Bastard" on theway home from work...

The funny part is his great grand uncle was a person called Sean Connolly who was killed on easter monday in 1916...

Ya just got love some people...

I suppose that must mean he'd be in Dublin City Hall himself organising resistance because his great grand uncle was? Or wait, maybe he's his own man with his own life and own views and not a prisoner of the actions of some distant relation? Radical, eh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Eirigi and the likes ARE an embarresment to the country but that's another thread.

There you go again twisting my words and presuming to know what I am thinking. Arrogant self-righteous idiot!

No I don't think I am misguided in think that the visit is a step forward and living in the past has proven time and time again to cause only pain and suffering.

The misguided ones are those who would incite violence against an 85 year old woman and 90 year old man.

Don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Stats would be wasted on you, you're in serious need of an education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I agree it was a disgrace if flags were ditched, but you didnt answer my question, what would happen if an American cop was photographed throwing American flags in the bin like that?

Americans wouldn't dump their flags in the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Jesus.. how long did it take you do write that post?! =p

800 seconds.