After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

Seanchai wrote: »
    Actually you do if you're going to say something as obtuse as "because there were only 100 or so Celtic soccer jersey wearers therefore most Irish people support this visit". Your reasoning is so clearly faulty it's risible that you expect to be taken seriously.
    OK, they were not all wearing Celtic jerseys. I apologise to Celtic FC for any unwarranted link link that may be made with the football club.
    Given your own ill-thought-out ideas, the more you talk about people who disagree with you as being "fools" "morons" and the like, the more you in particular denude those words of meaning.
    They are fools. That has nothing to do with their opinion being different to mine or anyone else though. Purely down to their foolish way of protesting. they are making a shameful image of Ireland get broadcast around the world.
    Can you give evidence that you have the intelligence to read a thread correctly: I didn't "claim that most people do not approve of the visit" - rather, I asked the British royalist poster with the user name Audrey Hepburn to support her contention that most people support this visit. Now, is this very basic distinction lost on you? In future, get your facts straight before talking shíte. Thank you.
    Not sure that anyone has claimed that the majority of people would like to be out on the street waving flags in support. The majority of people are most certainly indifferent to it though, and it is still relatively safe to say that the majority of people hope that nothing bad happens during the visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭moonboy52

Some people in this thread are living in the last century in their heads.

I thought that so far the visit has been a sucess.

Proper normalisation of relations between the two countries is paramount.

All this pettiness is very small minded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,687 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

tbh wrote: »
    Who are you, chap? Don't remember addressing you at all.

Who do you think you are, the Queen? A public forum means members of that forum can reply to anybody else on that forum. This is not a place for 'speak to me only if I want you to'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

Your making a fooking tit of yourself.

You're.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    150 or so morons from eirigi and not a job between the lot of them.

this guy looks like he just got out of Dundrum Central Mental Hospital
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323564/size/800

:D Genuine belly laugh there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

that really is retarded logic of the highest degree, telling me you are just trolling and dont ACTUALLY believe that.

Eh, he said

Protesters protesting British involvement and presence in Ireland
    Protesters seen wearing British clothing
    Protesters stupid.

Logic seems fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭moonboy52

robinph wrote: »
    they are making a shameful image of Ireland get broadcast around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Veles wrote: »
    That is quite sad...
    "who are ya" is that a chant hooligans use too?

They should have been singing "You are whom?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Can you give evidence that you have the intelligence to read a thread correctly: I didn't "claim that most people do not approve of the visit" - rather, I asked the British royalist poster with the user name Audrey Hepburn to support her contention that most people support this visit. Now, is this very basic distinction lost on you? In future, get your facts straight before talking shíte. Thank you.

When did Audrey Hepburn claim to be royalist?
    Pretty sure she just said she welcomes the British Queens visit.
    Whats wrong with that. Their our "best friend" internationally, our bigest trading partner and a country we have massive historic and cultural links with.
    800 years of stuff that happened before you were born, yawn. What about the scotti invasion of Scotland, the Irish slavers who raided Britain constantly, again long time ago but least they dont seem to have the shoulder chip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Copper face Jacks is going to be jammers tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Who do you think you are, the Queen? A public forum means members of that forum can reply to anybody else on that forum. This is not a place for 'speak to me only if I want you to'.

Never said he couldn't adress me, did I? Just wondering why he's so aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Taking attention off the Éirígí fouls (they don't deserve a full blown conversation), let's talk more about the good aspects of today.

%
    %%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

%%%%%%%%
    To Peace and Good Relations!%%%%%%
    %%%%%%
    Do Chaidreamh Maith agus Síocháin!%%%%

Jesus.. how long did it take you do write that post?! =p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

super-rush wrote: »
    "Who art thou?"

Perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Taking the day off work to see a foreign Queen in a car for a few seconds. Lord have mercy.

Jesus.. how long did it take you do write that post?! =p
    He does requests too! Did a giraffe last night

Eh, he said

Protesters protesting British involvement and presence in Ireland
    Protesters seen wearing British clothing
    Protesters stupid.

Logic seems fine.

Actually, the chances are they are Asian clothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

They wouldn't actually let him into Dundrum Mental Hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    "Who art thou?"

Perhaps?

How come you havent answered what they where ment to do with the flags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

super-rush wrote: »

No, they shouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Actually, the chances are they are Asian clothing

CELTIC jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

ShagNastii wrote: »
    What would you suggest the Gardaí do with the thousands of dumped flags by all thoses gallant jersey wearing protesters. Leave them where they are?

dumped or confiscated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Taking attention off the Éirígí fouls (they don't deserve a full blown conversation), let's talk more about the good aspects of today.

%
    %%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

%%%%%%%%
    To Peace and Good Relations!%%%%%%
    %%%%%%
    Do Chaidreamh Maith agus Síocháin!%%%%

You did just copy and paste that, I hope!!

Anyway, once the visit is over, and the dust settles; I sincerely hope that the tension between the British establishment and the Irish people will be somewhat diffused.
    Who knows, one day an event such as this may even pass off without the fanfare.
    It's just another stepping stone. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I have an image of herself and himself arriving back to their suite in Farmleigh and putting their feet up with a nice cup of Barry's Gold Label.

At six o clock Her Maj asks Phil to stick the telly on so they can see themselves on the news.

Splendid, says he, as he clicks RTÉ 1 on the remote control only to be greeted by images of people praying and the sound of Bong Bong Bong......

At this point a baffled Phil turns to his wife and says..

"Jesus Liz, I knew our visit was symbolic, but I wasn't expecting the natives to cancel the news and turn to prayer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

150 or so morons from eirigi and not a job between the lot of them.

Does the guy on the left fancy the guy in the middle.( What is the guy in the middle doing anyway? )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Does the guy on the left fancy the guy in the middle.( What is the guy in the middle doing anyway? )

He looks like an obese Joaquin Phoenix.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,735 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

dumped or confiscated?

Dumped of course. I can't see the reason why they confiscate any flags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

I for one welcome the Queen's visit to Ireland, It is a great thing and can only do good, fvck anybody who says otherwise.

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Dumped of course. I can't see the reason why they confiscate any flags.
    If you read through he thread you will see that one poster saw a flag being taken.

CELTIC jersey.

Whoosh