After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323576/size/800

Look at the feckin heads on those two!

Sitcom in the making

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭RoryMac

has it? or have people just said that without backing it up at all

Im all for the visit, Im p*ssed off about the cost and the inconvenience, but i put that blame firmly at the door of dissidents.

I think we should send the bill to Celtic soccer club as they seem to have been very heavily involved in the protest

These tools wearing Celtic jerseys couldn't name one player if asked!! Celtic have tried hard over the years to dis-associate themselves from these hangers on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Hendrixfan

humanji wrote: »
    Because it pisses off the knuckledraggers?

So Eirigi people dwell on the past, their is nothing wrong with that. Are people only to dwell on selected parts of history and forget the rest? What about the 1.1 billon Catholics who dwell on the past, are they all knuckle dragging neanderthals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Voltwad wrote: »
    People are enttled to protest against that woman's arrival. They are not, however, entitled to burn union flags and cause violence.

What's wrong with burning a flag? It's a legitimate (if emotive) form of protest. Freedom of speech and all that. I don't know where entitlement comes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Seanchai wrote: »
    That's your view, and you're entitled to it. They, however, would contend that the sort of idiots who are fawning over this visit are people with a deep inferiority complex to all things British. The cheerleaders for this British royalist visit are more often than not ignorant bandwagon jumpers who would have been cheering property investments back in 2007. In every period of Irish life, they're craving to "fit in", God love the poor insecure schmucks.

Give me the "morons" who know they're morons over those who have delusions of sophistication and superiority when they support sectarian British royalism in this democratic Irish republic.

To be honest i saw no evidence of people taking to the streets to fit in or fawn over the visit. I saw deserted streets that were necessary to protect a visiting dignitary from the small minority who refuse to let go of this pointless hatred of Britain, who are willing to go to the lengths of harming their own to make a point with which for the most part nobody agrees with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Lapin wrote: »
    The sad thing is - Its that photo that will probably end up on the front pages of many newspapers around the world tomorrow.

Why is he on his knees anyway? Feckin' showboater.

Bet he never gets his game for Celtic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 stinkfisting

bleg wrote: »
    Actually Discover Ireland have stated that the number of column inches they are expecting out of the Queen's and Obama's visits will be twice the amount that Ireland usually gets abroad in one year.

Really? Discover Ireland, who are responsible for attracting tourism to Ireland, are hyping the visit and saying it will...attract tourism? :eek: In other news, Microsoft say their latest Windows update is their safest and most secure ever...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Drumpot wrote: »
    I just wish the rest of us had the right to drown out their protests with celebration of the visit (ie visually applauding the Queen on her travels).
    +1. The scangers are ruining things for us Irish as well as trying to destroy this opportunity to promote Ireland as a friendly , peaceful country around the world, a country which has moved on and is in the 21st century and friendly with our neighbouring country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Why do a lot of the protesters look like they've been ravaged by drugs and drink over the years?

http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323632/in/album/410291

Someone's been wiping his snotty nose on the inside of his jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

Funny how thick looking the people protesting were. I bet most of them failed Irish history in school. If they even went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Unfortunately the opinions of those people dont matter to republicans and they just get lumped together as being "West Brits".

Tbh if being pleased to see this country get to a point where the Queen of England can arrived to smiles and waves and cheers and being able to see this visit as the symbol of moving forward and looking to the future that it is makes me a West Brit then so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

DingChavez wrote: »
    Funny how thick looking the people protesting were. I bet most of them failed Irish history in school. If they even went.

school? you're joking right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

I hereby withdraw my post earlier about the eirigi protestors all looking like inbred skangers.

They all look like heroin addicted inbred skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323576/size/800

Look at the feckin heads on those two!

Sitcom in the making

And they're holding the flag up backwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

People can protest all they want. Unfortunately a lot of them seem to do it in unintentionally hilarious attire.

I've no real problem with the protesters, it's those who are threatening violence that I reserve my ire for.

What's wrong with burning a flag? It's a legitimate (if emotive) form of protest. Freedom of speech and all that. I don't know where entitlement comes in.

I'd hazard a guess that the two lads burning that flag know sweet FA about Irish history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I think we should send the bill to Celtic soccer club as they seem to have been very heavily involved in the protest

Bloody hell, there are people out there who actually think this? :rolleyes:

More like nonsensicalken

Calibos wrote: »
    I hereby withdraw my post earlier about the eirigi protestors all looking like inbred skangers.

They all look like heroin addicted inbred skangers.

Absolutely, i think the first picture sums them up perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

Predalien wrote: »
    Publicity dividend? I really doubt there'll be any boost to tourism just because the Queen of England visits, don't get me wrong, I have no major issue with the visit for any historical or political reasons but I think this stuff about boosting the countries image is a load of nonsense. Rest of the world is probably paying no attention.

Australia is about as far away as you can get and they are paying attention:
    http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/queen-defies-threats-to-visit-ireland/story-e6frg6so-1226057805504

Now, you'll obviously claim that Australia is actually very close to Britain, so how about France:
    http://www.france24.com/en/20110517-britain-queen-elizabeth-ireland-dublin-state-visit-bomb-peace-process

Now the unfortunate bit is that both those stories include the word "bomb".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

And they're holding the flag up backwards.

Nah, you can tell by the faces that they're Ivorian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Why do a lot of the protesters look like they've been ravaged by drugs and drink over the years?

http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323632/in/album/410291

That answers the question of where and what all the heroin addicts did for the day. Its seems like they just rounded up all the junkies and local scummers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

That's your view, and you're entitled to it. They, however, would contend that the sort of idiots who are fawning over this visit are people with a deep inferiority complex to all things British. The cheerleaders for this British royalist visit are more often than not ignorant bandwagon jumpers who would have been cheering property investments back in 2007. In every period of Irish life, they're craving to "fit in", God love the poor insecure schmucks.

Give me the "morons" who know they're morons over those who have delusions of sophistication and superiority when they support sectarian British royalism in this democratic Irish republic.

Classic. Everyone bar the dregs out there chucking stuff at the police is just craving to fit in and was a property bandwagon jumper ....pfft.

Err..yeah, we'll give you the morons. They're all yours. Enjoy.

I'd say the people who aren't out shouting on the streets are possibly the ones without an inferiority complex. The headers wailing at the guards because the head of our neighbours country has turned up for the day.

Since SF have stated this visit is a positive event, are they craving to fit in, property moguls, victims of an inferiority complex !

Your posts are great craic !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭aarond280

K-9 wrote: »
    It is a recognition that she is their head of state and is officially recognising and honouring our patriot dead.

It's a bit emotional alright but it's very symbolic, the Queen commemorating Connolly, Pearse etc.
    she may have been commemorating them alright, but i still don't see it necassary to play the british anthem, the reason these men died was for Irish freedom not for a british anthem to be played on the land of ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

DingChavez wrote: »

The thick people are on After Hours posting anti-free speech comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

They should use that photo to identify all the protesters and sterilise them so that they can never reproduce. We have enough idiots in this country with out fundaMENTAL repulicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Welcome to the official AH Queen thread.

I love Queen! "Im just a poor boy...nobody loves me!.........dah dah dadu dah!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Get over yourself would you?!

Being pleased to see The Queen here has nothing to do with feeling inferior and everything to do with this country and Britain being equals and friends. It is about the future and not the past you and others seem determined to stick to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

im a republican through and through, i think some people on here will know that from my posting. But watching some of the things today, ive never been so embarrasssed to be a dub and an irishman. the fúcking eejits out there protesting in man utd jersey, celtic jerseys... complete and utter junkies holding signs with no clue wtf is goin on.

Watching that video burning the flags.. and these out and out muppets in the background chanting "who are ye who are ye!!" Have they any idea???!?!?! :mad: like.. isnt that what british football teams shout at eachother? :confused:

god.. ive never cringed so much in my life... i need a pint after work..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I'd hazard a guess that the two lads burning that flag know sweet FA about Irish history.

Thats usually the way.

flash1080 wrote: »
    The thick people are on After Hours posting anti-free speech comments.

We're the thick people? Thats it, I'm grabbing an empty six pack of bud and a length of wood for tomorrow....:D