After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

aarond280 wrote: »
    i dont think it was necassary at all to play the british national anthem. it was a disgrace to play it where the men and women who gave their lives for national freedom.

Sigh.....of course it was necessary, the Queen was present.

And no it was not a disgrace. But you know that really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Not this crap again! How many times does it need to be spelt out that the publicity dividend for Ireland of this visit, if it is allowed to proceed peacefully, is going to far outweigh the costs.

has it? or have people just said that without backing it up at all

Im all for the visit, Im p*ssed off about the cost and the inconvenience, but i put that blame firmly at the door of dissidents.

I think we should send the bill to Celtic soccer club as they seem to have been very heavily involved in the protest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

The majority of people who turn out over the next few days to cause a bit of a disturbance and behave like hyperactive teenagers are going to be the same stereotypical idiots that we saw today...

They seem to think that a protest involves throwing bottles and sticks so the poster above was quite right to call them "knuckle dragging morons".

That's your view, and you're entitled to it. They, however, would contend that the sort of idiots who are fawning over this visit are people with a deep inferiority complex to all things British. The cheerleaders for this British royalist visit are more often than not ignorant bandwagon jumpers who would have been cheering property investments back in 2007. In every period of Irish life, they're craving to "fit in", God love the poor insecure schmucks.

Give me the "morons" who know they're morons over those who have delusions of sophistication and superiority when they support sectarian British royalism in this democratic Irish republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Seanchai wrote: »
    On this day in 1974, 33 people lost their lives (will the pro-British royalist posters object if we say "murdered"?) in Dublin and Monaghan and almost 300 were injured in the biggest loss of live in a single day during the troubles.

On this day in 2011, more people would have lost their lives in Dublin and Monaghan if the neaderthal thugs had gotten their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Did I just read someone complain that news coverage was not biased entirely?

I think it's highly bias of skynews to consentrate to almost the same extent on small incident (to stir the shite) a bit more than a highly historical incident. RTÉ's coverage only gave a small mention of the protesters, which is all they deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

Not this crap again! How many times does it need to be spelt out that the publicity dividend for Ireland of this visit, if it is allowed to proceed peacefully, is going to far outweigh the costs.

If you really believe that then you need to take yourself away into a quiet darkened room for a few hours and have a good lie down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

flash1080 wrote: »
    Who are the knuckly-dragging morons, the people who glorify a monarchy, or the people who complain about people exercising their freedom of speech despite attempts to censor them?

The ones not involved in peaceful protest, which seems simple enough to understand for most people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

Just found a packet of Union Jack pencils lying around the computer here. Don't know where they came from but I'm gonna stick one up my knob and go run around the city nekkid, swinging my dick around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

"To hell with the present,
    We'll live in the past.
    And the lord in his mercy
    be kind to Belfast"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

So invoking a democratic right to protest and express displeasure at acts insitgated by the government is acting the moron and not being grown up? Guess only kids and idiots protest. No surprise this country gets raped on a daily basis by those in charge.

Invoke your democratic right by all means, but do it in a dignified manner. Burning flags and lobbing missiles at the Gardai does no favours for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭decies

Lol at the teenage Dublin scumbags !!
    http://www.twitvid.com/U1P8F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

I think it's highly bias of skynews to consentrate to almost the same extent on small incident (to stir the shite) a bit more than a highly historical incident. RTÉ's coverage only gave a small mention of the protesters, which is all they deserve.

Totally agree. Sky News for want of a better word are tabloid driven to the nth degree. 50 protesters and they try to make something of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

Not this crap again! How many times does it need to be spelt out that there is likely to be no publicity bonus from this, a huge bill for the visit that will be footed by the public, and massive disruption to local business on the days that the queen is here.

Actually Discover Ireland have stated that the number of column inches they are expecting out of the Queen's and Obama's visits will be twice the amount that Ireland usually gets abroad in one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Seanchai wrote: »
    Why would anyone give the likes of the queen of England the time of day?

How about the vast majority of people in this country who are not stuck in the past and can see that visit is about moving forward and building bridges?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭aarond280

i am guessing that you are saying that Ireland will get tourism from other countries due to her visit. i cant see this to be true just because she visited here doesnt mean people are going to just come here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

banjopaul wrote: »

Brought to you in association with Umbro, Adidas and Reebok.

I love the way these people who have such pride in the country seem to be the ones who (some could argue) aren't getting much out of living here.

(BTW I'd like to agree with the guy who said it was nice of their employers to give them the afternoon off work.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why do a lot of the protesters look like they've been ravaged by drugs and drink over the years?

http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323632/in/album/410291

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Its the morons who are giving the country a bad name again, by being discourteous to the visiting head of our neighbouring state. Had a pal email from the States and he asks are the small minority of violent republicans in Ireland "mentally deprived" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Skynews did pay quite a bit of attention to protestors alright, bunch of **** stirrers that they are! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

And there'd be no massive bill if the troglodytes weren't trying to kill her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Publicity dividend? I really doubt there'll be any boost to tourism just because the Queen of England visits, don't get me wrong, I have no major issue with the visit for any historical or political reasons but I think this stuff about boosting the countries image is a load of nonsense. Rest of the world is probably paying no attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

mike65 wrote: »
    Listening to BBC radio news right now, they did a vox pop - the skanger accents opposed the visit (one sounded like he needed his fix) while the well educated approved.*

*obviously no small sample can be extrapolated to cover all people.

But is is very noticeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

DWCommuter wrote: »
    Invoke your democratic right by all means, but do it in a dignified manner. Burning flags and lobbing missiles at the Gardai does no favours for anyone.

Agreed. I have no problem with peaceful protests, but these kind of people know that the thing that will be played around the world will be them acting the F^^k at the expense of the MAJORITY of this country that dont have the same belief.

Again, I believe that they have the right to protest, I just wish the rest of us had the right to drown out their protests with celebration of the visit (ie visually applauding the Queen on her travels).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

aarond280 wrote: »
    i dont think it was necassary at all to play the british national anthem. it was a disgrace to play it where the men and women who gave their lives for national freedom.

It is a recognition that she is their head of state and is officially recognising and honouring our patriot dead.

It's a bit emotional alright but it's very symbolic, the Queen commemorating Connolly, Pearse etc.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

How about the vast majority of people in this country who are not stuck in the past and can see that visit is about moving forward and building bridges?

Unfortunately the opinions of those people dont matter to republicans and they just get lumped together as being "West Brits".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Are you still talking about the ignorant uneducated dross that joins the murderous British Army or are you on another subject now?

How could I still be talking about them when I wasn't talking about them in the first place. You should really keep up with the programme:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

People are enttled to protest against that woman's arrival. They are not, however, entitled to burn union flags and cause violence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Mister Britain Out of Ireland looks like he scored a cracking goal for Celtic - here he is celebrating.

The sad thing is - Its that photo that will probably end up on the front pages of many newspapers around the world tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

flash1080 wrote: »
    the people who glorify a monarchy,

What glorification of a monarchy? We're simply showing respect to our neighbours. I think it would be a bit presumptuous of us to tell them they shouldn't have a king or queen because we don't want a king or queen.