After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

nattyguest wrote: »
    "Journalist Kevin Myers says he never thought he would hear God save the Queen played at the place of tribute to men who fought against the British crown - "a moment of solemnity and beauty"

Jesus we'll never hear the end of it now from Kevin. His proudest moment no doubt, despite not getting an invitation to dinner :D

ah yeah but everytime kevin myers hears god save the queen he suddenly gets the urge to dip his willy in sunflower seeds and dangles it over a chicken coup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Have you ever seen the Book of Kells - it may be historic but it is mind numbingly boring, boring, boring!!!! :D

It doesn't do anything, just lies there, and I'm glad that I didn't have to part with hard cash for the privilege of seeing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

She'll want that painting back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Dunny! wrote: »
    To add to that, it's like the great hall in Harry Potter..:D

What a coincidence! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Who is the guy doing the narration with John Bowman?

I recognize his voice but wrecking my head trying to remember where?
    Anyone know? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Fago! wrote: »
    This commentator guy can't say library. libilry. pillock!

:pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    and is she going for a pint in Temple Bar?

Sure the Pav's only 2 minutes away.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Mod: At this point I would like to remind any posters that it would be beneficial to the site as a whole if any abusive PMs were reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Anyone else think that John Bowman is a wonderful broadcaster? He is definitely streets ahead of Dobbo and those apes over in Sky IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

shhhhh whats phil saying??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

That was a great painting of a probably great queen,

Aw hell **** it, lets ask to go back to the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

It's humourous to read that US and Irish flags have been raised in Moneygall for Obama's visit but there were no Union Jacks on display today :D

Also funny is the accent on yer man from Trinity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

If she want's to take a p*ss, where do they take her???

If you knew anything, you would know that she has someone else take one for her. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

stop wrote: »
    None of the registration numbers of the BMWs & Range Rover show up on cartell.ie/ motorcheck.ie hmm

They arent Irish cars, I assume they all were brought over. as they are probably personal vehicles armoured specific for royal use.

We stuck some irish regs on so as to make it look more acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Philip is a legend. Waiting for a remark from him about "them blacks".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Not at all, so please take off the blinkers and engage in the actual discussion.

Some people may have been of the mindset to have a genuinely peaceful process.

Others have planted bombs.

The first grouping are entitled to their actions; the second are not.

Because of the second group, the first cannot protest, as it would be impossible to identify who was who.

So no, despite you yet again attempting to imply that I'm stereotyping both groups into one, you're wrong again. The second group are the ones that necessitated the blanket security measures.

In fact, if you looked at it logically, those who would have actually gone out and cheered the Queen of England were also prevented from reacting to today, again because of the second group.

So no, I'm not linking any of the three groups; just pointing out the facts.

That's bollix and you know it.
    People aren't being allowed to protest, fullstop.
    The state has decided that that would be embarrassing and the foot soldiers of shame on Boards and other forums, are busy defending that decision.
    Peaceful protesters are being dragged off our streets. Pathetic.

mod: Excessively personal and unnecessary.
    Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Sure the Pav's only 2 minutes away.

she hasnt left that black handbag down all day, definately stashing a naggin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It doesn't do anything, just lies there, and I'm glad that I didn't have to part with hard cash for the privilege of seeing it.

be great if it did something like the ark in Raiders of the Lost Ark

The shinners would love it anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Applauding her fine walking skills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

She must have a tediously boring life.....

After going to 2 museums in a week I feel "all museum'd out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In other news, Arnold Schwarzenegger has admitted to fathering a child 10 years ago with one of his household staff. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

The other guy is Dr. Patrick Geoghegan of TCD's history dept; he also presents a programme on Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Hope Philip rings Adrian Kennedy tonight.

poor woman must be exhausted by the end of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Question for you: If somebody murdered a member of your family or community and you knew that somebody had information about that....would you, after.... lets say, 20 years, just forget about it? Would you feel in the slightest bit aggrieved?

That's got nothing to do with your comment regarding history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

gutenberg wrote: »
    The other guy is Dr. Patrick Geoghegan of TCD's history dept; he also presents a programme on Newstalk.

Thank you sir
    I love that show and get the podcasts

I knew I recognized the voice but couldn't place him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Happyman42 wrote: »
    That's bollix and you know it.
    People aren't being allowed to protest, fullstop.
    The state has decided that that would be embarrassing and the foot soldiers of shame on Boards and other forums, are busy defending that decision.
    Peaceful protesters are being dragged off our streets. Pathetic.

If you're so worried, why aren't you out protesting yourself instead of being a keyboard warrior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

and calls him Chris :D ( older posters will know what I mean ;) )

i hope he meets some taxi drivers. itll be like an episode of in sickness and in health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

Lovely bit of lounge music going on in the background.